Election/Restrictions
Claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/2/2024.
Priority
PCT application filing date is 08/06/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/2/24 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 / 103
Claim(s) 1-13, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated or in the alternative obvious over US 20240049182 A1 Zhou; Hua et al.
Claims 1 and 16 and 19. Zhou182 discloses A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Claim 15: “A wireless device comprising one or more processors and memory storing instructions. . .”; see also ‘182 at ¶57 UE ¶227 processor and memory) and configured to cause the UE to:
receive a paging configuration (broad term, see e.g. ¶10 “ a system information block that includes a third configuration for discontinuous reception (DRX) operation for paging”, ¶84 “The PEI included in the DCI format can be a binary bit with value of “1”; and (2) in another example, the PEI indicates the UE to skip PDCCHs monitoring in the associated PO.”) and a configuration for search space (SS) set for paging early indication (PEI) (Claim 15: “. . .receive a system information block 1 (SIB1) message indicating: a first number of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasions (MOs), for receiving a paging early indication (PEI), of a PEI occasion. . .”; ¶278 “FIG. 27 shows an example of configuration of a search space (e.g., SearchSpace IE). . . . a search space time duration value (duration), a monitoring symbol indication (monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot), a number of candidates for an aggregation level (nrofCandidates), and/or a SS type indicating a common SS type or a UE-specific SS type (searchSpaceType). The monitoring slot periodicity and offset parameter may indicate slots (e.g., in a radio frame) and slot offset (e.g., related to a starting of a radio frame) for PDCCH monitoring. . . .”);
determine a target paging occasion (PO) for receiving paging message based on the paging configuration (Claim 15: “. . .monitoring. . . a second PDCCH for a downlink control information (DCI) scheduling the paging message”;
determine a SS set duration for detecting a target PEI (¶278 “FIG. 27 shows an example of configuration of a search space (e.g., SearchSpace IE). . . . a search space time duration value (duration), a monitoring symbol indication (monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot), a number of candidates for an aggregation level (nrofCandidates), and/or a SS type indicating a common SS type or a UE-specific SS type (searchSpaceType). The monitoring slot periodicity and offset parameter may indicate slots (e.g., in a radio frame) and slot offset (e.g., related to a starting of a radio frame) for PDCCH monitoring. . . .”);
determine a bit sequence (see e.g. ¶10 “decode the DCI format in a first PDCCH reception occasion from the search space set, wherein the TRS availability indication field in the DCI format provides a bitmap”) in the target PEI for the target PO (¶279 the wireless device may monitor a PDCCH for a paging DCI in one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions based on configuration parameters of the PCCH configuration configured in SIB1. . .; )based on at least an index of the SS set duration (¶86,89: “index of an associated PEI to receive, n, (n=0, 1, 2, . . . , N−1)”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Zhou to include the noted teachings of Zhou in order for of PEI based power saving for paging a wireless device (¶315 Zhou182)
Claim 2, 17 and 20. Zhou 182 teaches The UE of claim 1, wherein, the SS set for PEI is defined within a PEI detection window, which is configured in system information (see e.g. ¶10 “ a system information block that includes a third configuration for discontinuous reception (DRX) operation for paging”, ¶84 “The PEI included in the DCI format can be a binary bit with value of “1”; and (2) in another example, the PEI indicates the UE to skip PDCCHs monitoring in the associated PO.”; ¶278 “FIG. 27 shows an example of configuration of a search space (e.g., SearchSpace IE). . . . a search space time duration value (duration), a monitoring symbol indication (monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot), a number of candidates for an aggregation level (nrofCandidates), and/or a SS type indicating a common SS type or a UE-specific SS type (searchSpaceType). The monitoring slot periodicity and offset parameter may indicate slots (e.g., in a radio frame) and slot offset (e.g., related to a starting of a radio frame) for PDCCH monitoring. . . .”);).
Claim 3, 18, and 21. Zhou 182 teaches The UE of claim 2, wherein, the PEI detection window has a fixed time domain size (¶261 “ The wireless device monitors PDCCH candidates for the search space set for T.sub.s consecutive slots, starting from slot n.sub.s,f.sup.μ, and does not monitor PDCCH candidates for search space set s for the next k.sub.s−T.sub.s consecutive slot”), and ends before a paging frame (PF) that contains the target PO (¶280 “ One Paging Frame (PF) may be one Radio Frame and may contain one or multiple PO(s) or starting point of a PO.”).
Claim 4. Zhou182 teaches The UE of claim 2, wherein, an SS set offset is defined relative to the start of the PEI detection window; one SS set periodicity is defined using SSB periodicity as a unit, wherein a first SS set period starts from the end of the SS set offset; and in each SS set period, one SS set duration containing a set of consecutive slots is included (¶278 “FIG. 27 shows an example of configuration of a search space (e.g., SearchSpace IE). . . . a search space time duration value (duration), a monitoring symbol indication (monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot), a number of candidates for an aggregation level (nrofCandidates), and/or a SS type indicating a common SS type or a UE-specific SS type (searchSpaceType). The monitoring slot periodicity and offset parameter may indicate slots (e.g., in a radio frame) and slot offset (e.g., related to a starting of a radio frame) for PDCCH monitoring. . . .”).
Claim 5. Zhou182 teaches The UE of claim 4, wherein, a number of consecutive slots in the SS set duration is equal to a number of beams for PEI transmission (Claim 16: “. . .a fourth number of PDCCH Mos, of the paging occasion, per SSB. . .”; see also ‘182 at [ 0184]). Since each SSB maps to a transmission beam in multi-beam operations, making the consecutive slots in the SS set duration equal to the number of beams is a direct application of ‘182’s multi-beam mapping rules.
Claim 6. Zhou182 teaches The UE of claim 2, wherein, SS set duration(s) are indexed in the PEI detection window ((¶86,89: “index of an associated PEI to receive, n, (n=0, 1, 2, . . . , N−1); ¶270 “a wireless device may determine one or more parameters (e.g., O, M) for slot determination of PDCCH monitoring, a first symbol index for PDCCH monitoring and/or a number of search spaces per slot.”)
Claim 7. Zhou182 teaches The UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to cause the UE to: determine a number of PEI(s) associated with the target PO based on a number of SS set duration(s) in a PEI detection window (Claim 17 “17. The wireless device of claim 16, wherein the first number is equal to a multiplication of the third number and the fourth number.” Claim 18. The method of claim 15, wherein the second number is equal to a multiplication of the third number and the fourth number.”)
103 genus discloses species
8. The UE of claim 7, wherein, the number of PEI(s) associated with the target PO is equal to the number of SS set duration(s) in the PEI detection window (Claim 17 “17. The wireless device of claim 16, wherein the first number is equal to a multiplication of the third number and the fourth number.” Claim 18. The method of claim 15, wherein the second number is equal to a multiplication of the third number and the fourth number.”) where equal is a 1:1 multiplication and taught by the disclosed genus.
9. The UE of claim 7, further comprising: determining a target PEI from the number of PEIs associated with the target PO based on UE channel quality (Claim 7: “second parameters indicating average energy per resource element (EPRE) of Res that carry secondary synchronization signals (SSSs). . .”).
10. The UE of claim 9, wherein the index of the SS set duration for target PEI detection is the same as an index of the target PEI (¶86,89: “index of an associated PEI to receive, n, (n=0, 1, 2, . . . , N−1); ¶270 “a wireless device may determine one or more parameters (e.g., O, M) for slot determination of PDCCH monitoring, a first symbol index for PDCCH monitoring and/or a number of search spaces per slot.”).
11. The UE of claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to cause the UE to: determine a number of paging frames (PFs) or POs that are associated with the target PEI (¶366 “the message may further comprise, for the paging message: a paging cycle, a number of paging frames in the paging cycle, a paging frame offset in the paging cycle, a number of paging occasions in a paging frame and a PDCCH monitoring occasion of the second PDCCH.”) based on at least one of parameter A and parameter B: wherein the parameter A is the number of SS set durations or the number of PEIs in the PEI detection window; and wherein the parameter B is a maximum possible number of PFs within a length of the PEI detection window (¶281 “a wireless device may determine a radio frame for a PF based on configuration parameters (e.g., T, N, PF_offset) of the PCCH configuration and an identifier (UE_ID) of the wireless device. The wireless device may determine whether a radio frame with a radio frame number (SFN) comprises a PF, for the wireless device, based on whether (SFN+PF_offset) mod T=(T div N)*(UE_ID mod N).” where taught parameters are equivalents and meet claimed structure).
12. The UE of claim 11, wherein, the number of PFs with which one PEI is associated is equal to a minimum value of parameter A and parameter B (¶285 “When SearchSpaceId=0 is configured for pagingSearchSpace, the PDCCH monitoring occasions for paging may be same as for other system information (e.g., RMSI) reception. When SearchSpaceId=0 is configured for pagingSearchSpace, Ns is either 1 or 2. For Ns=1, there is only one PO which starts from the first PDCCH monitoring occasion for paging in the PF. For Ns=2, PO is either in the first half frame (i_s=0) or the second half frame (i_s=1) of the PF.”
[0286] In an example, When SearchSpaceId other than 0 is configured for pagingSearchSpace, the wireless device may monitor the (i_s+1).sup.th PO, wherein i_s is determined based on example embodiments described above. In an example, a PO may comprise a set of ‘S*X’ consecutive PDCCH monitoring occasions where ‘S’ is the number of actual transmitted SSBs determined according to ssb-PositionsInBurst in SIB1 and X is the nrofPDCCH-MonitoringOccasionPerSSB-InPO if configured or is equal to 1 otherwise).
Claim 13. The UE of claim 11, wherein, the maximum possible number of PFs within the length of the PEI detection window is equal to ceil (the length of the PEI detection window/PF periodicity) (¶285 “When SearchSpaceId=0 is configured for pagingSearchSpace, the PDCCH monitoring occasions for paging may be same as for other system information (e.g., RMSI) reception. When SearchSpaceId=0 is configured for pagingSearchSpace, Ns is either 1 or 2. For Ns=1, there is only one PO which starts from the first PDCCH monitoring occasion for paging in the PF. For Ns=2, PO is either in the first half frame (i_s=0) or the second half frame (i_s=1) of the PF.” [0286] In an example, When SearchSpaceId other than 0 is configured for pagingSearchSpace, the wireless device may monitor the (i_s+1).sup.th PO, wherein i_s is determined based on example embodiments described above. In an example, a PO may comprise a set of ‘S*X’ consecutive PDCCH monitoring occasions where ‘S’ is the number of actual transmitted SSBs determined according to ssb-PositionsInBurst in SIB1 and X is the nrofPDCCH-MonitoringOccasionPerSSB-InPO if configured or is equal to 1 otherwise).
Pertinent Prior Art(s)
The prior art made of record though not relied upon in the current rejection is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20220271878 A1 Lin; Qiongjie
US 20230403679 A1 Zhou; Hua et al.
CN 113163476 A MA, Xuan et al.
Conclusion
UMAIR AHSAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/UMAIR AHSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647