DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 16-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN Pub. 109474856 to Z intermediate Global Corp, English Translation via Google Patents, https://patents.google.com/patent/CN109474856A/en?oq=CN109474856 (herein referred to as Z Intermediate) in view of US Pat. 6994626 to D’Achard Van Enschut (herein referred to as Enschut).
Claims 1, 30, and 33. Z Intermediate discloses an electronic device, comprising:
at least one processor and a memory;
the memory storing computer executable instructions; and
the at least one processor executing the computer executable instructions stored in the memory, causing the at least one processor to perform a video interaction method comprising:
displaying, on a video call interface, a game interface of a target game (“game content in call image”) and camera-acquired pictures of a plurality of video call objects (Figs. 11-18, and “video camera”, and “During maintaining video calling connection, the first electronic equipment 110 can be shown over the display by user image 501 and other side's image 502 constitute video calling picture 510.”), the game interface being a shared layer (Figs. 11-18, and “game content is provided on video calling picture”; and “Real-Time Sharing game”); and
jointly controlling a process of the target game based on game instructions of the plurality of video call objects (“controlling game element by the Object identifying result of call image under video calling environment”; “control game element step, Object identifying result is used Make exercise data related with above-mentioned game content to control game element”).
Z Intermediate fails to explicitly disclose the game interface being a shared layer rendered below and/or above the camera-acquired pictures of the plurality of video call objects (emphasis added).
Enschut teaches a game interface being a shared layer rendered below and/or above the camera-acquired pictures of the plurality of video call objects (Fig. 2, elements 66, 72, and 74, and col. 3, 23-37). The gaming system of Z Intermediate would have motivation to use the teachings of Enschut in order to arrange game images in a manner that makes it easy for game players to recognize the different images presented during game play.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gaming system of Z Intermediate with the teachings of Enschut in order to provide distinct areas between the video game play and game player images in doing so would make it easier for the game players to recognize and follow the different images presented during game play.
Claim 2. Z Intermediate in view of Enschut teaches wherein the displaying of the game interface on the video call interface comprises:
rendering the game interface in subject to a size of the video call interface (see Enschut Fig. 2, game play area is presented in designated section of screen).
Claims 16 and 31. Z Intermediate discloses wherein the displaying of the camera-acquired pictures of the plurality of video call objects comprises:
determining a plurality of video areas on the video call interface; and
displaying the camera-acquired pictures of the plurality of video call objects on the plurality of video areas (Figs. 11-18, and “video calling picture”).
Claims 17 and 32. Z Intermediate in view of Enschut teaches wherein a content presented on the game interface comprises a game scene picture and/or a controllable virtual object (see Enschut Fig. 2, elements 66 and 68, and col. 3, 23-37), jointly controlling the process of the target game based on the game instructions of the plurality of video call objects comprises:
in response to game instructions triggered by recognized results of the plurality of video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures, jointly controlling a displaying of the game scene picture; and/or
in response to game instructions triggered by recognized results of the plurality of video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures, jointly controlling a displaying of the virtual object (see Z Intermediate “control game element by the Object identifying result for image”; and see Enschut Fig. 2, element 68).
Claim 18. Z Intermediate discloses wherein the displaying of the camera-acquired pictures of the plurality of video call objects comprises:
determining a plurality of video areas on the video call interface; and
displaying the camera-acquired pictures of the plurality of video call objects on the plurality of video areas (Figs. 11-118, and “video calling picture”).
Claim 19. Z Intermediate in view of Enschut teaches wherein determining the plurality of video areas on the video call interface comprises:
dividing the video call interface into the plurality of video areas arranged according to row and/or column (see Z Intermediate Figs. 11-18; and see Enschut Fig. 2).
Claim 20. Z Intermediate in view of Enschut teaches wherein determining the plurality of video areas on the video call interface comprises:
determining a plurality of discretely distributed video areas on the video call interface, the plurality of discretely distributed video areas located at an edge of the game interface (see Enschut Fig. 2, elements 72 and 74).
Claim 21. Z Intermediate discloses wherein displaying the camera-acquired pictures of the plurality of video call objects on the plurality of video areas comprises:
extracting a plurality of target images from camera-acquired pictures of the plurality of video call objects, respectively; and
displaying the plurality of target images in a same video area (Figs. 11-18, and “video calling picture being made of user image and other side's image, above-mentioned identification object step is including the use of face recognition”).
Claim 22. Z Intermediate in view of Enschut teaches wherein a content presented on the game interface comprises a game scene picture and/or a controllable virtual object, jointly controlling the process of the target game based on the game instructions of the plurality of video call objects comprises:
in response to game instructions triggered by recognized results of the plurality of video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures, jointly controlling a displaying of the game scene picture; and/or
in response to game instructions triggered by recognized results of the plurality of video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures, jointly controlling a displaying of the virtual object (see claims 17 and 32 above).
Claim 23. Z Intermediate in view of Enschut teaches wherein a content presented on the game interface comprises a game scene picture and/or a controllable virtual object, jointly controlling the process of the target game based on the game instructions of the plurality of video call objects comprises:
in response to game instructions triggered by recognized results of the plurality of video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures, jointly controlling a displaying of the game scene picture; and/or
in response to game instructions triggered by recognized results of the plurality of video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures, jointly controlling a displaying of the virtual object (see claims 17 and 32 above).
Claim 24. Z Intermediate in view of Enschut teaches wherein different video call objects correspond to different virtual objects, in response to the game instructions triggered by recognized results of the plurality of video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures, jointly controlling the displaying of the virtual object comprises:
for each individual video call object, in response to the game instructions triggered by recognized results of the plurality of video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures, jointly controlling a displaying of the corresponding virtual object (see Z Intermediate Figs. 11-18, and “controlling game element by the Object identifying result of call image under video calling environment”; “control game element step, Object identifying result is used Make exercise data related with above-mentioned game content to control game element”).
Claim 25. Z Intermediate in view of Enschut teaches wherein in response to the game instructions triggered by recognized results of the plurality of video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures, jointly controlling the displaying of the virtual object comprises:
in response to the game instructions triggered by recognized results of the plurality of video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures, controlling a displacement, a shape, a movement of the virtual object and/or a corresponding game skill (see Z Intermediate Figs. 11-18).
Claim 26. Z Intermediate in view of Enschut teaches wherein the recognized results of video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures comprises at least one of:
expressions of the video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures,
face positions of the video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures,
body movements of the video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures, or
a relative position of different video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures (see Z Intermediate “movement in gesture and facial expression portion is identified”; and “movement identification part 320 identifies face in user image and can The movement (for example, blink movement, movement of opening one's mouth, movement of mobile face etc.) of face by identification is identified”).
Claim 27. Z Intermediate in view of Enschut teaches wherein in response to the game instructions triggered by recognized results of the plurality of video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures, jointly controlling the displaying of the virtual object comprises:
in response to the game instructions triggered by recognized results of the plurality of video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures, controlling a displacement, a shape, a movement of the virtual object and/or a corresponding game skill (see claim 25 above).
Claim 28. Z Intermediate in view of Enschut teaches wherein the recognized results of video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures comprises at least one of
expressions of the video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures ,face positions of the video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures, body movements of the video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures, or a relative position of different video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures (see claim 26 above).
Claim 29. Z Intermediate in view of Enschut teaches wherein the recognized results of video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures comprises at least one of:
expressions of the video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures, face positions of the video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures, body movements of the video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures, or a relative position of different video call objects in the camera-acquired pictures (see claim 26 above).
Conclusion
/DAMON J PIERCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715