CTFR 18/294,946 CTFR 86066 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment Abstract amended and objection withdrawn Claims 1, 22, 27 and 29 are amended. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim 1-2, 4-15, 19-23, 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( A)(1 ) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (US 2020/0059282 A1) hereinafter Wu . Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses: A method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a network entity, at least one channel state information (CSI) report configuration configuring the UE to transmit, to the network entity, a base CSI report and one or more differential CSI reports that include at least some CSI values reported relative to CSI values in the base CSI report; ([0042], [0098]–[0104], FIG. 8, 11 (802–808), differential CSI according to a codebook equation (1) and (2)) wherein the at least one CSI report configuration indicates a periodicity of the base CSI report and the one ore more differential CSI reports; ([0042] and [0046] disclose a codebook confirmation for reporting differential CSI feedback with an indication of when the UE is to report the differential feedback CSI feedback, BRI of claimed periodicity is at least once. and transmitting the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports to the network entity, in accordance with the at least one CSI report configuration. ([0103]–[0104], FIG. 8 (802–808), transmitting multiple CSI feedback stages with differential CSI reporting) Regarding claim 2, Wu discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports are configured in a radio resource control (RRC) configuration message. ([0118]; BS signals config ¶[0119]–[0120], FIG. 11, Config by RRC/DCI for differential CSI) Regarding claim 4, Wu discloses: The method of claim 2, further comprising calculating a differential CSI report based on a nearest base CSI report before the differential CSI report. ([0100]–[0104]; FIG. 8 baseline PMI1 then incremental PMI2 Differential stages computed incrementally from prior/base report; PMI2 based on PMI1 (W1/W2 staged) Regarding claim 5, Wu discloses: The method of claim 2, further comprising skipping the base CSI report when there is no base CSI report before the one or more differential CSI reports. ([0124] [0149] and Fig 11, skipping stage 1 differential CSI feedback and replacing with last normal CSI feedback, handling when base exists; explicit “skip base if none exists” is not directly stated, but single-differential sequences and CI allow stage control) Regarding claim 6, Wu discloses: The method of claim 2, wherein a gap between two CSI reports comprising the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports is same. ([0128]-[0130]: of periodic differential CSI feedback, FIG. 13: Shows periodic differential reporting) Regarding claim 7, Wu discloses: The method of claim 2, wherein a gap between two CSI reports comprising the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports is different. (FIG. 11 mix of periodic normal and aperiodic differential, [0121]–[0124] Aperiodic trigger vs periodic differential implies gaps can differ switching modes and replacements) Regarding claim 8, Wu discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports are configured in different CSI report configurations. ([0042], [0046] different configurations for CSI reporting, base and differential). Regarding claim 9, Wu discloses: The method of claim 8, wherein the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports are triggered separately. ([0123]: After time period 1104, the BS (at 1108) signals an indication of a second codebook configuration triggering the UE to transmit an aperiodic differential CSI feedback report) Regarding claim 10, Wu discloses: The method of claim 8, wherein a gap between two CSI reports comprising the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports is based on a trigger time. ([0123] aperiodic trigger determines start time) Regarding claim 11, Wu discloses: The method of claim 8, wherein the one or more differential CSI reports are configured in a radio resource control (RRC) configuration message. ([0118]: “via RRC signaling” for differential CSI configuration ). Regarding claim 12, Wu discloses: The method of claim 11, wherein a periodicity and one or more offset values of the one or more differential CSI reports are configured in a CSI report configuration. ([0125]: the codebook configuration (at 1202) may indicate the period (P1) of the non-differential (normal) CSI feedback reporting) Regarding claim 13, Wu discloses: The method of claim 8, wherein each differential CSI report is configured in a different CSI report configuration. ([0133]–[0137], [0042], [0046] different configurations for CSI reporting, base and differential and different stage/report with separate configuration). Regarding claim 14, Wu discloses: The method of claim 13, wherein each differential CSI report is triggered separately. ([0137]–[0143], FIG. 14–16, single stage update via CI possible, but still under same session). Regarding claim 15, Wu discloses: The method of claim 13, wherein a periodicity and an offset of each base CSI report and each differential CSI report is configured in their CSI report configuration. (Fig. 11 illustrates a codebook configuration that allows for two base CSI reports and a codebook configuration for differential CSI reporting, followed by normal CSI feedback) Regarding claim 19, Wu discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one CSI report configuration indicates a reference report identification (ID) corresponding to the base CSI report or a differential CSI report. ([0133] CI=1 in a CSI feedback report may indicate that the CSI feedback report is for the 1st CSI feedback stage) Regarding claim 20, Wu discloses: The method of claim 2, wherein the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports are configured in a same CSI report configuration. (Fig. 12 and [0125]: the UE may receive a codebook configuration (for both normal resolution CSI feedback and differential CSI feedback) Regarding claim 21, Wu discloses: The method of claim 11, wherein the one or more differential CSI reports are configured in a same CSI report configuration. (Fig. 13 periodic differential under one config, [0129]: BS signals an indication of a codebook configuration triggering the UE to periodically transmit a differential CSI feedback report) Regarding claim 22, Wu discloses: A method for wireless communications by a network entity, comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), at least one channel state information (CSI) report configuration configuring the UE to transmit, to the network entity, a base CSI report and one or more differential CSI reports that include at least some CSI values reported relative to CSI values in the base CSI report; wherein the at least one CSI report configuration indicates a periodicity of the base CSI report and the one ore more differential CSI reports; ([0042] and [0046] disclose a codebook confirmation for reporting differential CSI feedback with an indication of when the UE is to report the differential feedback CSI feedback, BRI of claimed periodicity is at least once) ([0042], [0098]–[0104], FIG. 8, 11 (802–808), differential CSI according to a codebook equation (1) and (2)) and receiving, from the UE, the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports, in accordance with the at least one CSI report configuration. ([0103]–[0104], FIG. 8 , 11 (802–808), transmitting multiple CSI feedback stages with differential CSI reporting) Regarding claim 23, Wu discloses: The method of claim 22, wherein the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports are configured in a radio resource control (RRC) configuration message. ([0118]; BS signals config ¶[0119]–[0120], FIG. 11, Config by RRC/DCI for differential CSI) Regarding claim 25, Wu discloses: The method of claim 23, wherein a gap between two CSI reports comprising the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports is same. ([0100]–[0104]; FIG. 8 baseline PMI1 then incremental PMI2 Differential stages computed incrementally from prior/base report; PMI2 based on PMI1 (W1/W2 staged; Fig. 13 shows the same gap) Regarding claim 26, Wu discloses: The method of claim 23, wherein a gap between two CSI reports comprising the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports is different. (FIG. 11 mix of periodic normal and aperiodic differential, [0121]–[0124] Aperiodic trigger vs periodic differential implies gaps can differ switching modes and replacements) Regarding claim 27, Wu discloses: An apparatus for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories comprising instructions; and one or more processors configured, individually or in any combination, to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a network entity, at least one channel state information (CSI) report configuration configuring the UE to transmit, to the network entity, a base CSI report and one or more differential CSI reports that include at least some CSI values reported relative to CSI values in the base CSI report; ([0042], [0098]–[0104], FIG. 8, 11 (802–808), differential CSI according to a codebook equation (1) and (2)) wherein the at least one CSI report configuration indicates a periodicity of the base CSI report and the one ore more differential CSI reports; ([0042] and [0046] disclose a codebook confirmation for reporting differential CSI feedback with an indication of when the UE is to report the differential feedback CSI feedback, BRI of claimed periodicity is at least once. and transmit the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports to the network entity, in accordance with the at least one CSI report configuration. ([0103]–[0104], FIG. 8 (802–808), transmitting multiple CSI feedback stages with differential CSI reporting) Regarding claim 28, Wu discloses: The apparatus of claim 27, wherein the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports are configured in a radio resource control (RRC) configuration message. ([0118]; BS signals config ¶[0119]–[0120], FIG. 11, Config by RRC/DCI for differential CSI) Regarding claim 29, Wu discloses: An apparatus for wireless communications by a network entity, comprising: one or more memories comprising instructions; and one or more processors configured, individually or in any combination, to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), at least one channel state information (CSI) report configuration configuring the UE to transmit, to the network entity, a base CSI report and one or more differential CSI reports that include at least some CSI values reported relative to CSI values in the base CSI report; ([0042], [0098]–[0104], FIG. 8, 11 (802–808), differential CSI according to a codebook equation (1) and (2)) wherein the at least one CSI report configuration indicates a periodicity of the base CSI report and the one ore more differential CSI reports; ([0042] and [0046] disclose a codebook confirmation for reporting differential CSI feedback with an indication of when the UE is to report the differential feedback CSI feedback, BRI of claimed periodicity is at least once. and receive, from the UE, the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports, in accordance with the at least one CSI report configuration. ([0103]–[0104], FIG. 8 (802–808), transmitting multiple CSI feedback stages with differential CSI reporting) Regarding claim 30, Wu discloses: The apparatus of claim 29, wherein the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports are configured in a radio resource control (RRC) configuration message. ([0118]; BS signals config ¶[0119]–[0120], FIG. 11, Config by RRC/DCI for differential CSI) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3, 16-18, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2020/0059282 A1) as applied above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2017/0201308 A1) hereinafter Park . Regarding claim 3, Wu discloses: The method of claim 2, Wu does not explicitly disclose wherein a periodicity and an offset of the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports is based on at least one of: a system frame number or a slot number. However, Park discloses: wherein a periodicity and an offset of the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports is based on at least one of: a system frame number or a slot number. ([0364-0366], [0574], [0577] the index ‘n_s’ of a slot unit and the index ‘n_f’ of a radio frame unit that are contiguously defined). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CSI configurations disclosed by Wu to include the CSI configurations of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because accurate channel state information in a band of strong inference such as unlicensed spectrum will improve performance, as suggested by Park [0006-0007]. Regarding claim 16, Wu discloses: The method of claim 2, Wu does not explicitly disclose wherein the base CSI report is transmitted to the network entity, when a modulus function of a slot number and a periodicity satisfies a condition. However, Park discloses: wherein the base CSI report is transmitted to the network entity, when a modulus function of a slot number and a periodicity satisfies a condition. ([0365]: “(10×n_f + ⌊ n_s/2 ⌋ −N_OFFSET,CQI)mod(N_pd)=0”, [0367]: “(10×n_f + ⌊ n_s/2 ⌋ −N_OFFSET,CQI −N_OFFSET,RI)mod(N_pd ·M_RI)=0”) It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CSI configurations disclosed by Wu to include the CSI configurations of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because accurate channel state information in a band of strong inference such as unlicensed spectrum will improve performance, as suggested by Park [0006-0007]. Regarding claim 17, Wu discloses: The method of claim 2, Wu does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more differential CSI reports are transmitted to the network entity, when a first modulus function of a slot number and a first periodicity satisfies a first condition. However, Park discloses: wherein the one or more differential CSI reports are transmitted to the network entity, when a first modulus function of a slot number and a first periodicity satisfies a first condition. [0617-0618]: “(10*n_f+floor(n_s/2)−N_OFFSET,PUSCH)mod(N_PUSCH)=0 It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CSI configurations disclosed by Wu to include the CSI configurations of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because accurate channel state information in a band of strong inference such as unlicensed spectrum will improve performance, as suggested by Park [0006-0007]. Regarding claim 18, Wu discloses: The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more differential CSI reports are transmitted to the network entity during a duration between two base CSI reports, (Fig. 12 and [0125]: whether there is a single period (P1=1) or multiple periods (P1>1) of normal resolution CSI feedback prior to one subsequent multi-stage differential CSI feedback) Wu does not explicitly disclose when a second modulus function of an output the first modulus function and a second periodicity satisfies a second condition. However, Park discloses: when a second modulus function of an output the first modulus function and a second periodicity satisfies a second condition. ([0578]-[0588] Reporting between RI instances discussed, ( [0617-0618]: in an instance (e.g., subframe) satisfying Equation 24, CSI feedback content may be previously defined in UE so that it is transmitted through a PUSCH 10*n_f+floor(n_s/2)−N_OFFSET,PUSCH)mod(N_PUSCH)=0”) It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CSI configurations disclosed by Wu to include the CSI configurations of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because accurate channel state information in a band of strong inference such as unlicensed spectrum will improve performance, as suggested by Park [0006-0007]. Regarding claim 24, Wu discloses: The method of claim 23, Wu does not explicitly disclose wherein a periodicity and an offset of the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports is based on at least one of: a system frame number or a slot number. However, Park discloses: wherein a periodicity and an offset of the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports is based on at least one of: a system frame number or a slot number. ([0364-0366], [0574], [0577] the index ‘n_s’ of a slot unit and the index ‘n_f’ of a radio frame unit that are contiguously defined). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CSI configurations disclosed by Wu to include the CSI configurations of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because accurate channel state information in a band of strong inference such as unlicensed spectrum will improve performance, as suggested by Park [0006-0007] . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 04/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 9, applicant asserts Wu fails to disclose wherein the at least one CSI report configuration indicates a periodicity of the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports. Page 9 last pagaragraph applicant asserts that Wu’s 1 st CSI feedback stage and subsequent CSI feedback stages are all part of one unified multi-stage feedback session, and they are to separately configured report types with their own periodicities. Examiner respectfully disagrees that that claim requires “at least one CSI report configuration”, which in arguendo, be taught by Wu according to applicant’s summary of Wu at page 9, last paragraph of the remarks. Examiner as updated the above rejection to show teachings at ([0042] and [0046] disclose a codebook confirmation for reporting differential CSI feedback with an indication of when the UE is to report the differential feedback CSI feedback, BRI of claimed periodicity is at least once. Subsequent arguments are a repeat of the above arguments in view of the secondary references, please see response above. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Nicholas Jensen whose telephone number is (571)270-5443. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30-5:30 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. NICHOLAS JENSEN Supervisory Patent Examiner Art Unit 2472 /NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/294,946 Page 2 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/294,946 Page 3 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/294,946 Page 4 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/294,946 Page 5 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/294,946 Page 6 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/294,946 Page 7 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/294,946 Page 8 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/294,946 Page 9 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/294,946 Page 10 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/294,946 Page 11 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/294,946 Page 12 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/294,946 Page 13 Art Unit: 2472