DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-2, 4-15, 19-23, 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (US 2020/0059282 A1) hereinafter Wu.
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses: A method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a network entity, at least one channel state information (CSI) report configuration configuring the UE to transmit, to the network entity, a base CSI report and one or more differential CSI reports that include at least some CSI values reported relative to CSI values in the base CSI report; ([0042], [0098]–[0104], FIG. 8, 11 (802–808), differential CSI according to a codebook equation (1) and (2))
and transmitting the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports to the network entity, in accordance with the at least one CSI report configuration. ([0103]–[0104], FIG. 8 (802–808), transmitting multiple CSI feedback stages with differential CSI reporting)
Regarding claim 2, Wu discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports are configured in a radio resource control (RRC) configuration message. ([0118]; BS signals config ¶[0119]–[0120], FIG. 11, Config by RRC/DCI for differential CSI)
Regarding claim 4, Wu discloses: The method of claim 2, further comprising calculating a differential CSI report based on a nearest base CSI report before the differential CSI report. ([0100]–[0104]; FIG. 8 baseline PMI1 then incremental PMI2 Differential stages computed incrementally from prior/base report; PMI2 based on PMI1 (W1/W2 staged)
Regarding claim 5, Wu discloses: The method of claim 2, further comprising skipping the base CSI report when there is no base CSI report before the one or more differential CSI reports. ([0124] [0149] and Fig 11, skipping stage 1 differential CSI feedback and replacing with last normal CSI feedback, handling when base exists; explicit “skip base if none exists” is not directly stated, but single-differential sequences and CI allow stage control)
Regarding claim 6, Wu discloses: The method of claim 2, wherein a gap between two CSI reports comprising the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports is same. ([0128]-[0130]: of periodic differential CSI feedback, FIG. 13: Shows periodic differential reporting)
Regarding claim 7, Wu discloses: The method of claim 2, wherein a gap between two CSI reports comprising the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports is different. (FIG. 11 mix of periodic normal and aperiodic differential, [0121]–[0124] Aperiodic trigger vs periodic differential implies gaps can differ switching modes and replacements)
Regarding claim 8, Wu discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports are configured in different CSI report configurations. ([0042], [0046] different configurations for CSI reporting, base and differential).
Regarding claim 9, Wu discloses: The method of claim 8, wherein the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports are triggered separately. ([0123]: After time period 1104, the BS (at 1108) signals an indication of a second codebook configuration triggering the UE to transmit an aperiodic differential CSI feedback report)
Regarding claim 10, Wu discloses: The method of claim 8, wherein a gap between two CSI reports comprising the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports is based on a trigger time. ([0123] aperiodic trigger determines start time)
Regarding claim 11, Wu discloses: The method of claim 8, wherein the one or more differential CSI reports are configured in a radio resource control (RRC) configuration message. ([0118]: “via RRC signaling” for differential CSI configuration).
Regarding claim 12, Wu discloses: The method of claim 11, wherein a periodicity and one or more offset values of the one or more differential CSI reports are configured in a CSI report configuration. ([0125]: the codebook configuration (at 1202) may indicate the period (P1) of the non-differential (normal) CSI feedback reporting)
Regarding claim 13, Wu discloses: The method of claim 8, wherein each differential CSI report is configured in a different CSI report configuration. ([0133]–[0137], [0042], [0046] different configurations for CSI reporting, base and differential and different stage/report with separate configuration).
Regarding claim 14, Wu discloses: The method of claim 13, wherein each differential CSI report is triggered separately. ([0137]–[0143], FIG. 14–16, single stage update via CI possible, but still under same session).
Regarding claim 15, Wu discloses: The method of claim 13, wherein a periodicity and an offset of each base CSI report and each differential CSI report is configured in their CSI report configuration. (Fig. 11 illustrates a codebook configuration that allows for two base CSI reports and a codebook configuration for differential CSI reporting, followed by normal CSI feedback)
Regarding claim 19, Wu discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one CSI report configuration indicates a reference report identification (ID) corresponding to the base CSI report or a differential CSI report. ([0133] CI=1 in a CSI feedback report may indicate that the CSI feedback report is for the 1st CSI feedback stage)
Regarding claim 20, Wu discloses: The method of claim 2, wherein the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports are configured in a same CSI report configuration. (Fig. 12 and [0125]: the UE may receive a codebook configuration (for both normal resolution CSI feedback and differential CSI feedback)
Regarding claim 21, Wu discloses: The method of claim 11, wherein the one or more differential CSI reports are configured in a same CSI report configuration. (Fig. 13 periodic differential under one config, [0129]: BS signals an indication of a codebook configuration triggering the UE to periodically transmit a differential CSI feedback report)
Regarding claim 22, Wu discloses: A method for wireless communications by a network entity, comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), at least one channel state information (CSI) report configuration configuring the UE to transmit, to the network entity, a base CSI report and one or more differential CSI reports that include at least some CSI values reported relative to CSI values in the base CSI report; ([0042], [0098]–[0104], FIG. 8, 11 (802–808), differential CSI according to a codebook equation (1) and (2)) and receiving, from the UE, the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports, in accordance with the at least one CSI report configuration. ([0103]–[0104], FIG. 8 , 11 (802–808), transmitting multiple CSI feedback stages with differential CSI reporting)
Regarding claim 23, Wu discloses: The method of claim 22, wherein the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports are configured in a radio resource control (RRC) configuration message. ([0118]; BS signals config ¶[0119]–[0120], FIG. 11, Config by RRC/DCI for differential CSI)
Regarding claim 25, Wu discloses: The method of claim 23, wherein a gap between two CSI reports comprising the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports is same. ([0100]–[0104]; FIG. 8 baseline PMI1 then incremental PMI2 Differential stages computed incrementally from prior/base report; PMI2 based on PMI1 (W1/W2 staged; Fig. 13 shows the same gap)
Regarding claim 26, Wu discloses: The method of claim 23, wherein a gap between two CSI reports comprising the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports is different. (FIG. 11 mix of periodic normal and aperiodic differential, [0121]–[0124] Aperiodic trigger vs periodic differential implies gaps can differ switching modes and replacements)
Regarding claim 27, Wu discloses: An apparatus for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one processor and a memory configured to:
receive, from a network entity, at least one channel state information (CSI) report configuration configuring the UE to transmit, to the network entity, a base CSI report and one or more differential CSI reports that include at least some CSI values reported relative to CSI values in the base CSI report; ([0042], [0098]–[0104], FIG. 8, 11 (802–808), differential CSI according to a codebook equation (1) and (2))
and transmit the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports to the network entity, in accordance with the at least one CSI report configuration. ([0103]–[0104], FIG. 8 (802–808), transmitting multiple CSI feedback stages with differential CSI reporting)
Regarding claim 28, Wu discloses: The apparatus of claim 27, wherein the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports are configured in a radio resource control (RRC) configuration message. ([0118]; BS signals config ¶[0119]–[0120], FIG. 11, Config by RRC/DCI for differential CSI)
Regarding claim 29, Wu discloses: An apparatus for wireless communications by a network entity, comprising: at least one processor and a memory configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), at least one channel state information (CSI) report configuration configuring the UE to transmit, to the network entity, a base CSI report and one or more differential CSI reports that include at least some CSI values reported relative to CSI values in the base CSI report; ([0042], [0098]–[0104], FIG. 8, 11 (802–808), differential CSI according to a codebook equation (1) and (2))
and receive, from the UE, the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports, in accordance with the at least one CSI report configuration. ([0103]–[0104], FIG. 8 (802–808), transmitting multiple CSI feedback stages with differential CSI reporting)
Regarding claim 30, Wu discloses: The apparatus of claim 29, wherein the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports are configured in a radio resource control (RRC) configuration message. ([0118]; BS signals config ¶[0119]–[0120], FIG. 11, Config by RRC/DCI for differential CSI)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 16-18, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2020/0059282 A1) as applied above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2017/0201308 A1) hereinafter Park.
Regarding claim 3, Wu discloses: The method of claim 2,
Wu does not explicitly disclose wherein a periodicity and an offset of the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports is based on at least one of: a system frame number or a slot number.
However, Park discloses: wherein a periodicity and an offset of the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports is based on at least one of: a system frame number or a slot number. ([0364-0366], [0574], [0577] the index ‘n_s’ of a slot unit and the index ‘n_f’ of a radio frame unit that are contiguously defined).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CSI configurations disclosed by Wu to include the CSI configurations of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because accurate channel state information in a band of strong inference such as unlicensed spectrum will improve performance, as suggested by Park [0006-0007].
Regarding claim 16, Wu discloses: The method of claim 2,
Wu does not explicitly disclose wherein the base CSI report is transmitted to the network entity, when a modulus function of a slot number and a periodicity satisfies a condition.
However, Park discloses: wherein the base CSI report is transmitted to the network entity, when a modulus function of a slot number and a periodicity satisfies a condition. ([0365]: “(10×n_f +⌊n_s/2⌋−N_OFFSET,CQI)mod(N_pd)=0”, [0367]: “(10×n_f +⌊n_s/2⌋−N_OFFSET,CQI −N_OFFSET,RI)mod(N_pd ·M_RI)=0”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CSI configurations disclosed by Wu to include the CSI configurations of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because accurate channel state information in a band of strong inference such as unlicensed spectrum will improve performance, as suggested by Park [0006-0007].
Regarding claim 17, Wu discloses: The method of claim 2,
Wu does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more differential CSI reports are transmitted to the network entity, when a first modulus function of a slot number and a first periodicity satisfies a first condition.
However, Park discloses: wherein the one or more differential CSI reports are transmitted to the network entity, when a first modulus function of a slot number and a first periodicity satisfies a first condition. [0617-0618]: “(10*n_f+floor(n_s/2)−N_OFFSET,PUSCH)mod(N_PUSCH)=0
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CSI configurations disclosed by Wu to include the CSI configurations of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because accurate channel state information in a band of strong inference such as unlicensed spectrum will improve performance, as suggested by Park [0006-0007].
Regarding claim 18, Wu discloses: The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more differential CSI reports are transmitted to the network entity during a duration between two base CSI reports, (Fig. 12 and [0125]: whether there is a single period (P1=1) or multiple periods (P1>1) of normal resolution CSI feedback prior to one subsequent multi-stage differential CSI feedback)
Wu does not explicitly disclose when a second modulus function of an output the first modulus function and a second periodicity satisfies a second condition.
However, Park discloses: when a second modulus function of an output the first modulus function and a second periodicity satisfies a second condition. ([0578]-[0588] Reporting between RI instances discussed, ([0617-0618]: in an instance (e.g., subframe) satisfying Equation 24, CSI feedback content may be previously defined in UE so that it is transmitted through a PUSCH 10*n_f+floor(n_s/2)−N_OFFSET,PUSCH)mod(N_PUSCH)=0”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CSI configurations disclosed by Wu to include the CSI configurations of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because accurate channel state information in a band of strong inference such as unlicensed spectrum will improve performance, as suggested by Park [0006-0007].
Regarding claim 24, Wu discloses: The method of claim 23,
Wu does not explicitly disclose wherein a periodicity and an offset of the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports is based on at least one of: a system frame number or a slot number.
However, Park discloses: wherein a periodicity and an offset of the base CSI report and the one or more differential CSI reports is based on at least one of: a system frame number or a slot number. ([0364-0366], [0574], [0577] the index ‘n_s’ of a slot unit and the index ‘n_f’ of a radio frame unit that are contiguously defined).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CSI configurations disclosed by Wu to include the CSI configurations of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because accurate channel state information in a band of strong inference such as unlicensed spectrum will improve performance, as suggested by Park [0006-0007].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 10757688 B2 – RRC-based CSI reporting configuration with timing mechanisms
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
NICHOLAS JENSEN
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472