DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is responsive to Applicant’s claims filed 04/08/2026.
Claims 1-21 are currently pending and have been examined here.
Claims 1-20 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 12-17 of Applicant’s response filed 04/08/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the deficiencies of Dominguez, Kilburn, and Lanes regarding newly added limitations. Examiner respectfully notes that these limitations are taught by Dominguez as modified by Meadows. Applicant’s arguments are therefore unpersuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 12-17 of Applicant’s response filed 04/08/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Examiner fails to provide sufficient reason to combine the references of record. Examiner respectfully disagrees, and notes that specific rationales to combine each of the references used have been given. Applicant’s arguments are therefore unpersuasive.
Applicant argues, on pages 17-18, that Meadows focuses on privacy, rather than security and details only the broadcasting of privacy settings, and therefore cannot be said to teach the limitations recited. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner respectfully notes that Dominguez already teaches switching to a tracking mode in which location updates are sent. Dominguez, however, does not appear to teach doing so based on a tracking activation message comprising a unique code. Meadows teaches this element by teaching “Broadcasting of activation codes. . . enable police to activate controls, such as, for example,. . . broadcast location log. . . .” (emphasis added). Therefore, Meadow teaches the modification of Dominguez such that a unique activation code initiates the broadcasting of location data, which Dominguez teaches may comprise a tracking mode. Applicant’s arguments are therefore unpersuasive.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claim 11 (the second instance thereof) has been renumbered claim 21.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“cargo control means” . . . configured to store in claims 1, 14, 15
“at least one cargo supervising device” configured to receive in claims 1, 14, 15
“at least one cargo location device” which transmits in claims 1, 14, 15
“at least one wireless alarm device” configured to transmit in claim 3
“cargo control center” configured to control in claim 12
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites “A cargo location device (1), configured to be disposed at, the cargo location device comprising.” This limitation renders the claim indefinite, because it would not be clear to one of ordinary skill in the art as to whether the device is actually configured to be disposed somewhere, and, if so, where the device is configured to be disposed. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the claim, and the claim is rejected for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-16, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dominguez Latorre, Francisco Javier (U.S. PG Pub. No. 20150339902; hereinafter "Francisco") in view of Kilburn, Christopher Bjorn (U.S. PG Pub. No. 20180365771; hereinafter "Kilburn") further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow et al. (U.S. PG Pub. No. 20190230474; hereinafter "Lanes") and further in view of Meadow, William (U.S. PG Pub. No. 20160195602; hereinafter "Meadow").
As per claim 1, Dominguez teaches:
A cargo monitoring, tracking and recovery system, comprising:
Dominguez teaches a cargo tracking and recovery system. (Dominguez: abstract, paragraph [0018])
With respect to the following limitation:
at least one cargo location device (1), configured to be disposed at a cargo item or a group of cargo items or being integrated in a cargo container (29), the cargo location device (1) comprising means for wirelessly transmitting and receiving signals, a central processing unit (16) and at least one energy source (17a, 17b), the means for wirelessly transmitting and receiving signals comprising a GSM module (19) and a LPWAN module (20b) and a GPS module (20a) and a radio module (13),
Dominguez teaches a cargo location device CLD which may be configured to be disposed at or hidden in a cargo item or group of such. (Dominguez: paragraph [0012, 63]) Dominguez teaches that the CLD may comprise a means for wirelessly transmitting and receiving signals in the form of an antenna 15 and one or more modules. (Dominguez: paragraph [0067], Fig. 2) Dominguez further teaches that the CLD may comprise a CPU 16. Id. Dominguez further teaches that the CLD may comprise two batteries 17, 18. Id. Dominguez further teaches a GSM module 20. Id. Dominguez further teaches radio chip 13 which may communicate via VHF. (Dominguez: paragraph [0042, 67], Fig. 2) Dominguez, however, does not appear to explicitly teach that the tracking device may comprise a LPWAN and GPS unit.
Kilburn, however, teaches that a tracking device may comprise a common core which may comprise an LPWAN modem and a GPS unit. (Kilburn: paragraph [0211, 212-218], Fig. 18, 19) It can be seen that each element is taught by either Dominguez, or by Kilburn. Adding the LPWAN and GPS of Kilburn to the CLD of Dominguez does not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Dominguez. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Kilburn with the teachings of Dominguez, since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Dominguez in view of Kilburn further teaches:
- at least one cargo supervising device (2), configured to be disposed at a transport means (5) for the cargo items, comprising means (27) for wirelessly transmitting signals to and wirelessly receiving signals from the at least one cargo location device (1) and at least one energy source (26), and
Dominguez teaches a cargo supervising device CSD disposed at a transport means. (Dominguez: Fig. 1, paragraph [0012, 63]) Dominguez further teaches that the CSD may comprise antennas and modules for wirelessly transmitting signals to and receiving signals from the CSD and a battery 26. (Dominguez: paragraphs [0072-79], Fig. 3)
cargo control means (6), comprising means for wirelessly sending data to and wirelessly receiving data from the at least one cargo supervising device (2) and a database, the cargo control means (6) being configured to store data in the data base,
Dominguez teaches a cargo control means CCM which comprises means for wirelessly communicating with the CSD and a database which stores data received from the CSD. (Dominguez: paragraph [0007, 81-82])
With respect to the following limitation:
wherein the at least one cargo location device (1) is configured to be operated in a monitoring mode in which it wirelessly transmits a monitoring signal adapted to be received by the at least one cargo supervising device (2) and a tracking mode in which it wirelessly transmits a tracking signal which is traceable by tracking means (7), wherein the at least one cargo location device (1) is configured to switch from monitoring mode to tracking mode in response to receiving a tracking activation message 3 that is sent via at least one of a GSM network, a LPWA network and a radio, preferably a VHF radio network, in particular by the cargo control means (6),
Dominguez teaches that the CLD may operate in monitoring mode or tracking mode, wherein the monitoring mode sends signals to the CSD and the tracking mode sends signals to the tracking means. (Dominguez: paragraph [0017]) Dominguez further teaches that the acknowledge signal sent by the CSD to the CLD may be interrupted which may initiate a tracking mode at the CLD, switching it away from monitoring mode, wherein this communication may occur over the VHF channel. (Dominguez: paragraph [0042, 76-78, 87]) Dominguez, however, does not appear to explicitly teach that the message is sent from the CCM to the CLD.
Lanes, however, teaches that a gateway device 230/330 may be used to send instructions to a tracking device 320, or the server itself may send the instructions directly to the tracking device, wherein the instructions indicate changes to the times at which the tracking device is to send its GPS location including coordinates to a central device. (Lanes: paragraph [0035, 45, 50, 51]) It can be seen that each element is taught by either Dominguez, or by Lanes. Having the reconfiguration of the location reporting mode performed by the gateway (taught by Dominguez to comprise a CSD) does not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Dominguez. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Lanes with the teachings of Dominguez, since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes further teaches:
wherein the cargo location device (1) is configured such that the GPS module (20a) intermittently provides coordinates at least when the cargo location device (1') is in tracking mode, and in the tracking mode it transmits the coordinates provided by the GPS module (20a), and
Dominguez teaches that the CLD may operate in monitoring mode or tracking mode, wherein the monitoring mode sends signals to the CSD and the tracking mode sends signals to the tracking means. (Dominguez: paragraph [0017]) Dominguez further teaches that the acknowledge signal sent by the CSD to the CLD may be interrupted which may initiate a tracking mode at the CLD, switching it away from monitoring mode, wherein this communication may occur over the VHF channel. (Dominguez: paragraph [0042, 76-78, 87]) Kilburn further teaches that GPS data sent by a location tracking device may comprise coordinates provide by a GPS module. (Kilburn: paragraph [0163, 205]) The motivation to combine Kilburn persists.
With respect to the following limitation:
wherein the cargo control means (6) are configured to send tracking activation messages to the at least one cargo location device (1) that comprise a unique activation code of the at least one cargo location device (1).
Dominguez teaches that the CLD may operate in monitoring mode or tracking mode, wherein the monitoring mode sends signals to the CSD and the tracking mode sends signals to the tracking means. (Dominguez: paragraph [0017]) Dominguez further teaches that the acknowledge signal sent by the CSD to the CLD may be interrupted which may initiate a tracking mode at the CLD, switching it away from monitoring mode, wherein this communication may occur over the VHF channel. (Dominguez: paragraph [0042, 76-78, 87]) Dominguez, however, does not appear to explicitly teach that the message which causes the initiation of the tracking mode may comprise a unique activation code of the cargo location device.
Meadow, however, teaches that a unique device activation code may be broadcast to a device which causes the device to broadcast its location logs. (Meadow: paragraph [0157, 159]) Meadow teaches combining the above elements with the teachings of Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes for the benefit of allowing privacy to be maintained such that only registered owners of devices may create a request that activates controls. Id. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Meadow with the teachings of Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes to achieve the aforementioned benefits.
As per claim 2, Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches:
wherein at least one cargo location device (1) is configured to intermittently send check signals to the at least one cargo supervising device (2) in monitoring mode and the at least one cargo supervising device (2) is configured to intermittently send acknowledge signals to the at least one cargo location device (1) in response to the check signals, wherein the at least one cargo location device (1) is configured to switch from monitoring mode to tracking mode when it does not receive an acknowledge signal in predefined time period after sending a check signal.
Dominguez further teaches that the CLD may send check signals to the CSD periodically, which may then send acknowledge signals back to the CLD, wherein the CLD may switch to tracking mode if an ACK signal is not received in a predefined time period after sending the check signal. (Dominguez: paragraphs [0042, 76-78, 87])
As per claim 4, Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches:
wherein at least one cargo location device (1) is configured to switch from tracking mode to monitoring mode in response to receiving a monitoring activation message that is sent via at least one of a GSM network, a LPWAN and a radio by the cargo control means.
Dominguez teaches that the CLD may operate in monitoring mode or tracking mode, wherein the monitoring mode sends signals to the CSD and the tracking mode sends signals to the tracking means. (Dominguez: paragraph [0017]) Dominguez further teaches that the acknowledge signal sent by the CSD to the CLD may be interrupted which may initiate a tracking mode at the CLD, switching it away from monitoring mode, wherein this communication may occur over the VHF channel. (Dominguez: paragraph [0042, 76-78, 87]) Lanes, as outlined above, teaches that a gateway device 230/330 may be used to send instructions to a tracking device 320, or the server itself may send the instructions directly to the tracking device, wherein the instructions indicate changes to the times at which the tracking device is to send its GPS location including coordinates to a central device. (Lanes: paragraph [0035, 45, 50, 51]) The motivation to combine Lanes persists.
As per claim 5, Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches:
wherein the cargo control means (6) are configured to 4 send monitoring activation messages to the at least one cargo location device (1) that comprises a unique activation code of the at least one cargo location device (1).
Meadow, however, teaches that a unique device activation code may be broadcast to a device which causes the device to broadcast its location logs. (Meadow: paragraph [0157]) Meadow teaches combining the above elements with the teachings of Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow for the benefit of allowing privacy to be maintained such that only registered owners of devices may create a request that activates controls. Id. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Meadow with the teachings of Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow to achieve the aforementioned benefits.
As per claim 6, Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches:
wherein at least one cargo location device (1) comprises means for determining its spatial distance to the cargo supervising device (2) and is configured to switch from monitoring mode to tracking mode when a given value of spatial distance is exceeded and/or when a current value of spatial distance is changed and/or when a signal transmission from the at least one cargo supervising device (2) to the at least one cargo location device (1) ends.
Dominguez teaches that the CLD may operate in monitoring mode or tracking mode, wherein the monitoring mode sends signals to the CSD and the tracking mode sends signals to the tracking means. (Dominguez: paragraph [0017]) Dominguez further teaches that the acknowledge signal sent by the CSD to the CLD may be interrupted which may initiate a tracking mode at the CLD, switching it away from monitoring mode, wherein this communication may occur over the VHF channel. (Dominguez: paragraph [0042, 76-78, 87]) Dominguez further teaches that spatial distance thresholds between the CLD and the CSD may be used to activate the tracking mode. (Dominguez: paragraphs [0028, 36, 66-67, 70])
As per claim 7, Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches:
wherein the means for wirelessly transmitting and receiving signals of the at least one cargo location device (1) comprise a radio chip (13), which is configured to generate modulated radio signals and to demodulate radio signals and/or at least one antenna (15) and/or a power amplifier (14) and/or in that the energy source of the at least one cargo location device (1) comprises a primary battery (17a), a transmit battery (17b) and a battery power management system (18).
Dominguez further teaches a primary battery, a transmit battery, and a battery power management module in the CLD. (Dominguez: paragraph [0067], Fig. 2)
As per claim 8, Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches:
wherein the GSM module (19) of the at least one cargo location device (1) comprises a GSM radio modem configured to be registered to a cellular network.
Dominguez further teaches a GSM module 20 with a modem registered to a radio network in the CLD. (Dominguez: paragraph [0071])
As per claim 9, Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches:
wherein at least one cargo supervising device (2) comprises means for determining its spatial distance to the at least one cargo location device (1) and is configured to switch to an alert mode when a given value of spatial distance is exceeded and/or when a current value of spatial distance is changed.
Dominguez teaches that the CLD may operate in monitoring mode or tracking mode, wherein the monitoring mode sends signals to the CSD and the tracking mode sends signals to the tracking means. (Dominguez: paragraph [0017]) Dominguez further teaches that the acknowledge signal sent by the CSD to the CLD may be interrupted which may initiate a tracking mode at the CLD, switching it away from monitoring mode, wherein this communication may occur over the VHF channel. (Dominguez: paragraph [0042, 76-78, 87]) Dominguez further teaches that spatial distance thresholds between the CLD and the CSD may be used to activate the tracking mode. (Dominguez: paragraphs [0028, 36, 66-67, 70])
As per claim 10, Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches:
wherein at least one cargo supervising device (2) is configured to communicate with a number of cargo location devices (1) which are assigned to the at least one cargo supervising device (2).
Dominguez further teaches that each CSD may have multiple CLDs assigned to it. (Dominguez: paragraph [0050])
As per claim 11, Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches:
wherein at least one cargo supervising device (2) comprises at least one GPS receiver (21) and/or at least one GSM module (22) and/or at least one Bluetooth module (24) and/or at least one antenna (23) and/or at least one serial hub controller (25), and/or a RF cargo location device supervisor unit (27) with a radio chip, a radio power amplifier and a central processing unit, and/or in that the at least one cargo supervising device (2) comprises a LPWAN module (28).
Dominguez teaches a cargo supervising device CSD disposed at a transport means. (Dominguez: Fig. 1, paragraph [0012, 63]) Dominguez further teaches that the CSD may comprise a GPS receiver and GSM module. (Dominguez: paragraphs [0072-79], Fig. 3)
As per claim 12, Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches:
wherein the cargo control means (6) comprise a cargo control center (9), configured to control the at least one cargo supervising device (2) and/or a cargo management server (8), configured to keep data bases with information about the at least one cargo supervising device (2) and the at least one cargo location device (1), about date, time and position and/or the cargo control means (6) are configured to send information to and receive information from a customer via a software based, customer information system (10).
Dominguez further teaches a cargo control center CCC which may control the CSD. (Dominguez: paragraph [0081])
As per claim 13, Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches:
wherein tracking means (7), including stationary (11) and/or mobile (12) tracking devices, are provided, which are configured to trace a tracking radio signal transmitted by the at least one cargo location device (1) in tracking mode, wherein the tracking means (7) comprise a radio frequency direction 6 finding unit, which is configured to determine the bearing angle of the tracking signal transmitted from the at least one cargo location device (1) in tracking mode.
Dominguez further teaches tracking means 7 which are configured to trace a signal transmitted by the tracking device in tracking mode using a doppler shift. (Dominguez: paragraph [0082-83])
As per claim 14, Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow teaches the cargo location device of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches:
configured to be disposed at, the cargo location device (1) comprising means for wirelessly transmitting and receiving signals, a central processing unit (16) and at least one energy source (17a, 17b), and being configured to be operated in a monitoring mode in which it transmits a monitoring signal, which is receivable by monitoring means (2) and a tracking mode in which it transmits a tracking signal which is traceable by tracking means (7), wherein the means for wirelessly transmitting and receiving signals comprise a GSM module (19) and a LPWAN module (20b) and a GPS module (20a) and a radio module (13), and wherein the cargo location device (1) is configured to switch from monitoring mode to tracking mode in response to receiving a tracking activation message that comprises a unique activation code of the at least one cargo location device (1) that can be sent via a GSM network, a LPWAN and a radio network, wherein the cargo location device (1) is configured such that the GPS module (20a) intermittently provides coordinates, at least when the cargo location device (1) is in tracking mode, wherein it transmits the coordinates provided by the GPS module (20a), and wherein the unique activation code is programmed into the central processing unit (16) of the cargo location device (1).
Dominguez teaches a cargo location device CLD which may be configured to be disposed at or hidden in a cargo item or group of such. (Dominguez: paragraph [0012, 63]) Dominguez teaches that the CLD may comprise a means for wirelessly transmitting and receiving signals in the form of an antenna 15 and one or more modules. (Dominguez: paragraph [0067], Fig. 2) Dominguez further teaches that the CLD may comprise a CPU 16. Id. Dominguez further teaches that the CLD may comprise two batteries 17, 18. Id. Dominguez further teaches a GSM module 20. Id. Dominguez further teaches radio chip 13 which may communicate via VHF. (Dominguez: paragraph [0042, 67], Fig. 2) Dominguez teaches that the CLD may operate in monitoring mode or tracking mode, wherein the monitoring mode sends signals to the CSD and the tracking mode sends signals to the tracking means. (Dominguez: paragraph [0017]) Dominguez further teaches that the acknowledge signal sent by the CSD to the CLD may be interrupted which may initiate a tracking mode at the CLD, switching it away from monitoring mode, wherein this communication may occur over the VHF channel. (Dominguez: paragraph [0042, 76-78, 87]) Dominguez further teaches the sending of GPS coordinate information. (Dominguez: paragraph [0073]) Lanes, as outlined above, teaches that a gateway device 230/330 may be used to send instructions to a tracking device 320, or the server itself may send the instructions directly to the tracking device, wherein the instructions indicate changes to the times at which the tracking device is to send its GPS location including coordinates to a central device. (Lanes: paragraph [0035, 45, 50, 51]) The motivation to combine Lanes persists. Meadow, as outlined above, teaches that a unique device activation code may be broadcast to a device which causes the device to broadcast its location logs. (Meadow: paragraph [0157, 159]) The motivation o combine Meadow persists.
As per claim 15, Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow teaches the cargo container of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches:
A cargo container (29) comprising at least one cargo location device (1), the at least one cargo location device (1) comprising means for wirelessly transmitting and receiving signals, a central processing unit (16) and at least one energy source (17a, 17b), and being configured to be operated in a monitoring mode in which it transmits a monitoring signal, which is receivable by monitoring means (2) and a tracking mode in which it transmits a tracking signal which is traceable by tracking means (7), wherein the means for wirelessly transmitting and receiving signals comprise a GSM module (19) and a LPWAN module (20b) and a GPS module (20a) and a radio module (13) and wherein the cargo location device (1) is configured to switch from monitoring mode to tracking mode in response to receiving a tracking activation 7 message that comprises a unique activation code of the at least one cargo location device (1) and that can be sent via a GSM network, a LPWAN and a radio network wherein the cargo location device (1) is configured such that the GPS module (20a) intermittently provides coordinates at least when the cargo location device (1) is in tracking mode, and wherein it transmits the coordinates provided by the GPS module (20a), wherein the unique activation code is programmed into the central processing unit (16) of the cargo location device (1).
Dominguez teaches a cargo location device CLD which may be configured to be disposed at or hidden in a cargo item or group of such. (Dominguez: paragraph [0012, 63]) Dominguez teaches that the CLD may comprise a means for wirelessly transmitting and receiving signals in the form of an antenna 15 and one or more modules. (Dominguez: paragraph [0067], Fig. 2) Dominguez further teaches that the CLD may comprise a CPU 16. Id. Dominguez further teaches that the CLD may comprise two batteries 17, 18. Id. Dominguez further teaches a GSM module 20. Id. Dominguez further teaches radio chip 13 which may communicate via VHF. (Dominguez: paragraph [0042, 67], Fig. 2) Dominguez teaches that the CLD may operate in monitoring mode or tracking mode, wherein the monitoring mode sends signals to the CSD and the tracking mode sends signals to the tracking means. (Dominguez: paragraph [0017]) Dominguez further teaches that the acknowledge signal sent by the CSD to the CLD may be interrupted which may initiate a tracking mode at the CLD, switching it away from monitoring mode, wherein this communication may occur over the VHF channel. (Dominguez: paragraph [0042, 76-78, 87]) Dominguez further teaches the sending of GPS coordinate information. (Dominguez: paragraph [0073]) Lanes, as outlined above, teaches that a gateway device 230/330 may be used to send instructions to a tracking device 320, or the server itself may send the instructions directly to the tracking device, wherein the instructions indicate changes to the times at which the tracking device is to send its GPS location including coordinates to a central device. (Lanes: paragraph [0035, 45, 50, 51]) The motivation to combine Lanes persists. Meadow, as outlined above, teaches that a unique device activation code may be broadcast to a device which causes the device to broadcast its location logs. (Meadow: paragraph [0157, 159]) The motivation to combine Meadow persists.
As per claim 16, Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches:
The cargo container (29) according to claim 15, wherein at least one cargo location device (1) is integrated in the cargo container (29), wherein the central processing unit (16), the at least one energy source (17a, 17b), the GSM module (19), the LPWAN module (20b), the GPS module (20a) and the radio module (13) are integrated in the cargo container (29).
Dominguez teaches a cargo location device CLD which may be configured to be disposed at or hidden in a cargo item or group of such. (Dominguez: paragraph [0012, 63, 67]) Dominguez teaches that the CLD may comprise a means for wirelessly transmitting and receiving signals in the form of an antenna 15 and one or more modules. (Dominguez: paragraph [0067], Fig. 2) Dominguez further teaches that the CLD may comprise a CPU 16. Id. Dominguez further teaches that the CLD may comprise two batteries 17, 18. Id. Dominguez further teaches a GSM module 20. Id. Dominguez further teaches radio chip 13 which may communicate via VHF. (Dominguez: paragraph [0042, 67], Fig. 2)
As per claim 19, Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow teaches all of the limitations of claim 15, as outlined above, and further teaches:
The cargo container (29) according to claim 15 , wherein the cargo container (29) is embodied such that the at least one cargo location device (1) is shielded from radiation originating from within the cargo container (29) and/or from radiation originating from outside of the cargo container (29).
Dominguez teaches a cargo location device CLD which may be configured to be disposed at or hidden in a cargo item or group of such. (Dominguez: paragraph [0012, 63]) Dominguez teaches that the CLD may comprise a means for wirelessly transmitting and receiving signals in the form of an antenna 15 and one or more modules. (Dominguez: paragraph [0067], Fig. 2) Dominguez further teaches that the CLD may comprise a CPU 16. Id. Dominguez further teaches that the CLD may comprise two batteries 17, 18. Id. Dominguez further teaches a GSM module 20. Id. Dominguez further teaches radio chip 13 which may communicate via VHF. (Dominguez: paragraph [0042, 67], Fig. 2) Kilburn, as outlined above, teaches that a tracking device may comprise a common core which may comprise an LPWAN modem and a GPS unit. (Kilburn: paragraph [0211, 212-218], Fig. 18, 19) The motivation to combine Kilburn persists. In teaching that the CLDs may be hidden within the cargo pieces in the truck, Dominguez teaches that the CLDs may be shielded from radiation from outside the container. (Dominguez: paragraph [0014, 37])
As per claim 20, Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches:
A method for tracking and recovering a lost cargo item by use of the system according to claim 1, the system comprising tracking means (7), including stationary (11) and/or mobile (12) tracking devices, wherein at least one cargo location device (1) intermittently provides coordinates at least when the cargo location device (1) is in tracking mode, and transmits the coordinates provided by the GPS module (20a) to the cargo control means (6) which then provides the coordinates to the tracking means, which use them to track and recover the at least on cargo location device (1).
Dominguez teaches a cargo location device CLD which may be configured to be disposed at or hidden in a cargo item or group of such. (Dominguez: paragraph [0012, 63]) Dominguez teaches that the CLD may comprise a means for wirelessly transmitting and receiving signals in the form of an antenna 15 and one or more modules. (Dominguez: paragraph [0067], Fig. 2) Dominguez further teaches that the CLD may comprise a CPU 16. Id. Dominguez further teaches that the CLD may comprise two batteries 17, 18. Id. Dominguez further teaches a GSM module 20. Id. Dominguez further teaches radio chip 13 which may communicate via VHF. (Dominguez: paragraph [0042, 67], Fig. 2) Dominguez teaches that the CLD may operate in monitoring mode or tracking mode, wherein the monitoring mode sends signals to the CSD and the tracking mode sends signals to the tracking means. (Dominguez: paragraph [0017]) Dominguez further teaches that the acknowledge signal sent by the CSD to the CLD may be interrupted which may initiate a tracking mode at the CLD, switching it away from monitoring mode, wherein this communication may occur over the VHF channel. (Dominguez: paragraph [0042, 76-78, 87]) Dominguez further teaches tracking means 7 which are configured to trace a signal transmitted by the tracking device in tracking mode using a doppler shift. (Dominguez: paragraph [0082-83]) Dominguez further teaches the sending of GPS coordinate information. (Dominguez: paragraph [0073]) Lanes, as outlined above, teaches that a gateway device 230/330 may be used to send instructions to a tracking device 320, or the server itself may send the instructions directly to the tracking device, wherein the instructions indicate changes to the times at which the tracking device is to send its GPS location including coordinates to a central device. (Lanes: paragraph [0035, 45, 50, 51]) The motivation to combine Lanes persists.
As per claim 21, Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches:
wherein at least one cargo supervising device (2) comprises at least one GPS receiver (21) and/or at least one GSM module (22) and/or at least one Bluetooth module (24) and/or at least one antenna (23) and/or at least one serial hub controller (25), and/or a RF cargo location device supervisor unit (27) with a radio chip, a radio power amplifier and a central processing unit, and/or in that the at least one cargo supervising device (2) comprises a LPWAN module (28), and/or in that wherein the cargo location device (1) is configured such that the GPS module (20a) intermittently provides coordinates, in particular LAT/LONG coordinates, at least when the cargo location device (1) is in tracking mode, and in that wherein it transmits the coordinates provided by the GPS module (20a).
Dominguez teaches a cargo supervising device CSD disposed at a transport means. (Dominguez: Fig. 1, paragraph [0012, 63]) Dominguez further teaches that the CSD may comprise a GPS receiver and GSM module. (Dominguez: paragraphs [0072-79], Fig. 3)
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow further in view of Williams et al. (U.S. PG Pub. No. 20140330737; hereinafter "Williams").
As per claim 3, Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as outlined above. With respect to the following limitation:
wherein at least one wireless alarm device (3), which is configured to be joined to the transport means (5) for the cargo items is provided, the at least one wireless alarm device (3) comprising at least one energy source and means for transmitting alarm signals to the at least one cargo location device (1) and being adapted to be manually activated by a user, wherein the at least one wireless alarm device (3) is configured to send an alarm signal to the at least one cargo location device (1) in response to being manually activated by a user, and wherein the at least one cargo location device (1) is configured to switch from monitoring mode to tracking mode in response to receiving an alarm signal from the at least one wireless alarm device (3).
Dominguez teaches an alarm device in a PB at the transport means which comprises an energy source and a means for transmitting alarm signals, wherein when a driver manually activates the alarm device which triggers the tracking mode in the CLD. (Dominguez: paragraphs [0030-31, 49, 53, 63, 69, 79, 87]) Dominguez, however, does not appear to explicitly teach that the panic signal is sent directly from the PB device to the CLD.
Williams, however, teaches that a device at which a panic button is pressed (here, a server, but taught by Dominguez to comprise a alarm device 3 at the vehicle), may send a signal to a tracking device which initiates a panic mode at the tracking device which alters its location reporting interval. (Williams: paragraph [0045-48], Fig. 6) It can be seen that each element is taught by either Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow, or by Williams. Sending the signal which triggers the panic mode directly from the alarm device 3 to the tracking device does not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Williams with the teachings of Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow, since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow further in view of Skaaksrud, Ole-Petter (U.S. PG Pub. No. 20150349917; hereinafter "Skaaksrud").
As per claim 17, Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow teaches all of the limitations of claim 15, as outlined above. With respect to the following limitation:
The cargo container (29) according to claim 15 , comprising an inner (30) and an outer container wall (31), wherein at least one cargo location device (1) is disposed between the inner (30) and outer container wall (31), wherein the central processing unit (16), the at least one energy source (17a, 17b), the GSM module (19) , the LPWAN module (20b), the GPS module (20a) and the radio module (13) are disposed between the inner (30) and outer container wall (31), wherein the central processing unit (16), the at least one energy source (17a, 17b), the GSM module (19) , the LPWAN module (20b), the GPS module (20a) and the radio module (13) are disposed in a cavity that is formed between the inner (30) and outer container wall (31).
Dominguez teaches a cargo location device CLD which may be configured to be disposed at or hidden in a cargo item or group of such. (Dominguez: paragraph [0012, 63]) Dominguez teaches that the CLD may comprise a means for wirelessly transmitting and receiving signals in the form of an antenna 15 and one or more modules. (Dominguez: paragraph [0067], Fig. 2) Dominguez further teaches that the CLD may comprise a CPU 16. Id. Dominguez further teaches that the CLD may comprise two batteries 17, 18. Id. Dominguez further teaches a GSM module 20. Id. Dominguez further teaches radio chip 13 which may communicate via VHF. (Dominguez: paragraph [0042, 67], Fig. 2) Kilburn, as outlined above, teaches that a tracking device may comprise a common core which may comprise an LPWAN modem and a GPS unit. (Kilburn: paragraph [0211, 212-218], Fig. 18, 19) The motivation to combine Kilburn persists. Dominguez, however, does not appear to explicitly teach that the tracking device may be embedded within a wall of the container.
Skaaksrud, however, teaches that an tracking device in the form of an ID node which may comprise a processing unit and one or more sensors may be embedded into the wall of a package. (Skaaksrud: paragraph [0654, 656-658], Figs. 3, 75B, 76) In teaching that the sensor is embedded in the sidewall of the container, Skaaksrud teaches that the node may be disposed in the inner wall and protected from radiation originating from outside of the cargo container. It can be seen that each element is taught by either Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow, or by Skaaksrud. Embedding the tracker of Dominguez in the package, as taught by Skaaksrud does not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Skaaksrud with the teachings of Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow, since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow further in view of Salvat Jr., Roberto (U.S. PG Pub. No. 20110227722; hereinafter "Salvat")
As per claim 18, Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow teaches all of the limitations of claim 16, as outlined above. With respect to the following limitation:
The cargo container (29) according to claim 16 , wherein the cargo container (29) comprises a closable opening (32) for inserting and removing and/or for charging the at least one energy source (17a, 17b), wherein the opening (32) is disposed in an inner wall (30) of the cargo container (29) and/or wherein the cargo container (29) comprises a flap (33) for closing the opening (32).8
Dominguez teaches a cargo location device CLD which may be configured to be disposed at or hidden in a cargo item or group of such. (Dominguez: paragraph [0012, 63]) Dominguez teaches that the CLD may comprise a means for wirelessly transmitting and receiving signals in the form of an antenna 15 and one or more modules. (Dominguez: paragraph [0067], Fig. 2) Dominguez further teaches that the CLD may comprise a CPU 16. Id. Dominguez further teaches that the CLD may comprise two batteries 17, 18. Id. Dominguez further teaches a GSM module 20. Id. Dominguez further teaches radio chip 13 which may communicate via VHF. (Dominguez: paragraph [0042, 67], Fig. 2) Kilburn, as outlined above, teaches that a tracking device may comprise a common core which may comprise an LPWAN modem and a GPS unit. (Kilburn: paragraph [0211, 212-218], Fig. 18, 19) The motivation to combine Kilburn persists. Dominguez, however, does not appear to explicitly teach that the tracking device may be embedded in a sidewall of the container with a flap for changing the batteries.
Salvat, however, teaches a tracking device disposed within an inner wall of a container 16 with a flap 18 which may be opened to change the battery of the tracking device. (Salvat: paragraph [0055], Figs. 15A-C) It can be seen that each element is taught by either Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow, or by Salvat. Embedding the tracker of Dominguez in the package while having the flap taught by Salvat, as taught by Salvat does not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Salvat with the teachings of Dominguez in view of Kilburn further in view of Lanes and further in view of Meadow, since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EMMETT K. WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628