DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Pre-Amendment filed on Feb. 02, 2024.
Claims 28-61, 63, 65 and 67 have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 12-17, 25-27, 62, 64, and 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (2023/0072763).
Regarding claims 62, Kim discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (see abstract, fig.1, element 130-4, paragraphs [0029], [0044] and its description), comprising: a processor (see abstract, fig.1, element 210, paragraphs [0020], [0048-0049] and its description); memory coupled with the processor (see abstract, fig.1, elements 220 210, paragraphs [0020], [0048-0049] and its description); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (see abstract, fig.1, element 210, paragraphs [0020], [0048-0051] and its description); receive, from a base station, control signaling indicating at least a first random access channel resource allocation associated with a basic UE capability level, a second random access channel resource allocation associated with a first capability level, and a third random access channel resource allocation associated with a second capability level or repetition preferences, or both, wherein at least two random access channel resource allocations of the first random access channel resource allocation, the second random access channel resource allocation, and the third random access channel resource allocation at least partially overlap in an overlapping portion of allocations, both the first capability level and the second capability level are different and both have different capabilities than the basic UE capability level (see fig.1, elements 130-4, 110-1, 110-2, 110-3, fig.6, elements Terminal, Base station, step S601, fig.7, elements Terminal, Base station, step S701, paragraphs [0029], [0034-0035], [0043-0047], [0152], [0207], [0217], [0307], [0331] and its description); identify whether either of the at least two random access channel resource allocations is enabled for use by the UE to transmit capability information or repetition preferences, or both, associated with a capability of the UE (see abstract, fig.1, elements 130-4, 110-1, 110-2, 110-3, paragraphs [0008], [0022], [0043-0047], [0307] and its description); and transmit random access signaling over one or more of the at least two overlapping random access channel resource allocations, wherein whether the random access signaling includes the capability information or repetition preferences, or both, is based at least in part on whether the at least two random access channel resource allocations are enabled for the UE to transmit the capability information or the repetition preferences, or both (see fig.1, element elements 130-4, 110-1/110-2/110-3, fig.6, elements Terminal, Base station, step S602, fig.7, elements Terminal, Base station, step S702, paragraphs [0008], [0029], [0034-0035], [0043-0044], [0152], [0217], [0307], [0331] and its description).
Regarding claim 2, Kim further comprising: receiving an indication enabling the second random access channel resource allocation associated with the first capability level, wherein the capability of the UE is the first capability level, and wherein the first capability level is a reduced capability UE capability level (see abstract, fig.1, elements 130-4, 110-2, fig.6, step S603, paragraphs [0156-0162], [0330-0331] and its description).
Regarding claim 3, Kim further comprising: identifying the overlapping portion of allocations is a partial overlap between the first random access channel resource allocation associated with the basic UE capability level and the second random access channel resource allocation associated with the reduced capability UE capability level, wherein the random access signaling is transmitted on a non-overlapping portion of the second random access channel resource allocation and includes the capability information (see abstract, fig.1, elements 130-4, 110-1, 110-2, paragraphs [0008], [0022] [0307], [0330-0331] and its description).
Regarding claim 4, Kim further comprising: identifying the overlapping portion of allocations is a partial overlap between the third random access channel resource allocation associated with the second capability level or repetition preferences, or both, and the second random access channel resource allocation associated with the reduced capability UE capability level (see abstract, fig.1, elements 130-4, 110-2, 110-3, paragraphs [0008], [0022] [0307], [0330-0331] and its description).
Regarding claim 5, Kim further comprising: transmitting the random access signaling including the capability information on the overlapping portion based at least in part on the overlapping portion being enabled for reduced capability UE capability reporting (see paragraphs [0157-0161], [0330-0331]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim further comprising: transmitting the random access signaling including the capability information on a non-overlapping portion of the second random access channel resource allocation for associated with the reduced capability UE capability level based at least in part on the overlapping portion being disabled for reduced capability UE capability reporting (see abstract, fig.1, elements 130-4, 110-2, fig.3 elements 350-1, 360-1, paragraphs [0031], [0152], [0217], [0307], [0331] and its description).
Regarding claim 7, Kim further comprising: identifying the overlapping portion of allocations based at least in part on the third random access channel resource allocation associated with the second capability level or repetition preferences, or both, being a subset of the second random access channel resource allocation associated with the reduced UE capability level (see abstract, fig.1, elements 130-4, 110-2, 110-3, paragraphs [0008], [0022] [0307], [0330-0331] and its description); and transmitting the random access signaling including the capability information on a non-overlapping portion of the second random access channel resource allocation associated with the reduced capability UE capability level based at least in part on the third random access channel resource allocation being enabled for capability information or repetition preferences reporting for the second capability level or repetition preferences, or both (see abstract, fig.1, elements 130-4, 110-2, 110-3, fig.3 elements 350-1, 360-1, paragraphs [0031], [0152], [0217], [0307], [0331] and descriptions).
Regarding claim 8, Kim further comprising: identifying the overlapping portion of allocations based at least in part on the third random access channel resource allocation associated with the second capability level or repetition preferences, or both, being a subset of the second random access channel resource allocation associated with the reduced capability UE capability level (see abstract, fig.1, elements 130-4, 110-2, 110-3, paragraphs [0008], [0022] [0307], [0330-0331] and its description); and transmitting the random access signaling including the capability information on a non-overlapping portion of the second random access channel resource allocation associated with the reduced capability UE capability level or on the overlapping portion based at least in part on the third random access channel resource allocation being disabled for capability information or repetition preference reporting for the second capability level or repetition preferences, or both see abstract, fig.1, elements 130-4, 110-2, 110-3, fig.3 elements 350-1, 360-1, paragraphs [0031], [0152], [0217], [0307], [0331] and descriptions).
Regarding claim 9, Kim further comprising: receiving an indication enabling the third random access channel resource allocation associated with the second capability level or repetition preferences, or both, wherein the second random access channel resource allocation at least partially overlaps the third random access channel resource allocation, the UE is additionally associated with the second capability level or repetition preferences, or both, and the second capability level or repetition preferences is a coverage enhancement UE capability level or repetition preferences level (see abstract, fig.1, elements 130-4, 110-2, 110-3, paragraphs [0008], [0022] [0307], [0330-0331] and its description).
Regarding claim 12, Kim further discloses wherein transmitting the random access signaling comprises: transmitting the random access signaling to indicate the capability information including a reduced bandwidth capability, a reduced receive antenna number capability, a reduced receiver antenna gain capability, a reduced number of receive chain capability, a reduced hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processing capability, a reduced channel state information (CSI) processing capability, a reduced beam measurement or reporting capability, a half-duplex frequency division duplexing capability, or any combination thereof (see paragraphs [0097-0098], [0101-0102], [0331]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim further comprising: identifying that capability reporting associated with the first capability level is disabled for the second random access channel resource allocation, wherein the random access signaling is transmitted without the capability information (see abstract, fig.1, elements 130-4, 110-2, paragraphs [0097], [0309], [0331] and its description).
Regarding claim 14, Kim further comprising: receiving, from the base station, an indication that the capability reporting associated with the first capability level is disabled (see paragraphs [0097], [0309], [0331]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim further discloses identifying the second random access channel resource allocation associated with the first capability level is a subset of the first random access channel resource allocation associated with the basic UE capability level (see abstract, fig.1, elements 130-4, 110-1, 110-2, paragraphs [0097], [0309], [0331] and its description).
Regarding claim 16, Kim further discloses wherein the identifying comprises: identifying the second random access channel resource allocation associated with the first capability level is a subset of the third random access channel resource allocation associated with the second capability level or repetition preferences, or both (see abstract, fig.1, elements 130-4, 110-1, 110-2, 110-3, paragraphs [0097], [0309], [0331] and its description).
Regarding claim 17, Kim further comprising: receiving an indication enabling the third random access channel resource allocation associated with the second capability level or repetition preferences, or both, wherein the UE is associated with the second capability level or repetition preferences, or both, and wherein the second capability level is associated with a coverage enhancement UE capability level or repetition preferences level (see abstract, fig.1, elements 130-4, 110-3, paragraphs [0008], [0022] [0307], [0330-0331] and its description).
Regarding claim 25, Kim further comprising: identifying that the capability information and the repetition preference reporting associated with the second capability level or repetition preferences, or both, is disabled for the third random access channel resource allocation, wherein the random access signaling is transmitted without the capability information or the repetition preferences (see abstract, fig.1, elements 130-4, 110-2, paragraphs [0097], [0309], [0331] and its description).
Regarding claim 26, Kim further comprising: receiving, from the base station, an indication that capability or preference reporting associated with the second capability level or repetition preferences, or both, is disabled (see paragraphs [0097], [0309], [0331]).
Regarding claim 27, Kim further discloses wherein the identifying comprises: identifying the third random access channel resource allocation associated with the second capability level or repetition preferences, or both, is a subset of the first random access channel resource allocation associated with the basic UE capability level (see abstract, fig.1, elements 130-4, 110-1, 110-2, paragraphs [0097], [0309], [0331] and its description).
Regarding claims 1, 64 and 66 recite limitations substantially similar to the claim 62. Therefore, these claims were rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11, 18-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Conclusion
UNITED STATES PATENT AND TRADEMARK OFFICE
/CONGVAN TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647