Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2/2/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
3 Claims 4-6 and 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 4 and 18 recite the acronym (PRACH) without reciting the description. Claims 5 and 19 recite the acronym (PUSCH) without reciting the description. Claims 6 and 20 recite the acronym (PUCCH) without reciting the description. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-10, 13-24 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wigard et al. (US. Pub. No. 2021/0273717 A1) in view of Charbit et al. (US. Pub. No. 2020/0295824 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wigard discloses an apparatus for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE) (See Wigard; Fig. 8B; UE 20), comprising: a memory (See Wigard; Fig. 8B; Memory 24) and at least one processor coupled to the memory (See Wigard; Fig. 8B; Processor 22), the memory and the at least one processor being configured to:
receive first signaling indicating a first part of a scheduling offset associated with a common timing advance (TA) (See Par. [34], [41]-[44], [52] and Fig. 1 of Wigard for a reference to receiving, by the UE, from the network node, information identifying the service link common delay [offset] associated with the common timing advance (TA));
receive second signaling indicating a second part of the scheduling offset (See Par. [40]-[44], [52] and Fig. 1 of Wigard for a reference to receiving, by the UE, from the network node, information identifying the feeder link delay [offset] indicating adding an offset to scheduling timing to avoid UL allocation in the past slots); and
Wigard does not explicitly disclose transmit an uplink transmission based on the first and second parts of the scheduling offset.
However, Charbit discloses transmit an uplink transmission based on the first and second parts of the scheduling offset (See Par. [7]-[9], [54]-[56] and Fig. 6 of Charbit for a reference to decomposition of scheduling delay into a standard component plus a non-terrestrial networking (NTN) [delay-related] offset applied to UL transmission, and performing UL transmission according to the decomposed delay [offset]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Charbit to Wigard. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by increasing bits to be transmitted per bandwidth resource within a scheduling time interval. (Charbit; Par. [31])
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Wigard and Charbit, specifically Wigard discloses wherein the second part of the scheduling offset is associated with a service link delay (See Par. [45]-[47], [50] and Fig. 1 of Wigard for a reference to the UE receives, from the network node, information that identifies the service link common delay).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wigard and Charbit, specifically Wigard discloses wherein the first part of the scheduling offset is associated with at least a feeder link delay (See Par. [46]-[47], [49]-[50] and Fig. 1 of Wigard for a reference to the UE receives, from the network node, information that identifies the feeder link delay as a function of time based on the orbit and the position of the network node).
Regarding claim 4, Wigard does not explicitly disclose wherein the uplink transmission comprises a PRACH transmission.
However, Charbit discloses wherein the uplink transmission comprises a PRACH transmission (See Par. [21]-[24] of Charbit for a reference to the UL transmission comprises a physical random access channel (PRACH)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Charbit to Wigard. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by increasing bits to be transmitted per bandwidth resource within a scheduling time interval. (Charbit; Par. [31])
Regarding claim 5, Wigard does not explicitly disclose wherein the uplink transmission comprises a PUSCH transmission.
However, Charbit discloses wherein the uplink transmission comprises a PUSCH transmission (See Par. [27], [30], [42] of Charbit for a reference to the UL transmission comprises a UL grant for data on physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Charbit to Wigard. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by increasing bits to be transmitted per bandwidth resource within a scheduling time interval. (Charbit; Par. [31])
Regarding claim 6, Wigard does not explicitly disclose wherein the uplink transmission comprises a PUCCH transmission.
However, Charbit discloses wherein the uplink transmission comprises a PUCCH transmission (See Par. [27]-[28], [50] of Charbit for a reference to the UL transmission comprises a UL HARQ-ACK transmitted in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Charbit to Wigard. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by increasing bits to be transmitted per bandwidth resource within a scheduling time interval. (Charbit; Par. [31])
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Wigard and Charbit, specifically Wigard discloses wherein the memory and the at least one processor are further configured to determine the scheduling offset as a sum of the first and second parts of the scheduling offset (See Par. [25], [43], [45]-[47] and of Wigard for a reference to the UE determines the scheduling offset [cell-specific common delay] as the sum of the feeder link delay and the service link common delay [First and second parts of offset]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Wigard and Charbit, specifically Wigard discloses wherein the first part of the scheduling offset is equal to the common TA (See Par. [34], [52] and of Wigard for a reference to the first part of scheduling offset is equal to the common timing advance (TA)).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Wigard and Charbit, specifically Wigard discloses wherein the first part of the scheduling offset is determined based on function that involves the common TA (See Par. [34], [41]-[44], [52] and Fig. 1 of Wigard for a reference to receiving, by the UE, from the network node, information identifying the service link common delay [offset] associated with the common timing advance (TA)).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Wigard and Charbit, specifically Wigard discloses wherein the first part of the scheduling offset is determined based on ceiling function that involves the common TA (See Par. [35], [56] of Wigard for a reference to determining the first part of scheduling offset by producing a ceiling value for the common delay [Common TA]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Wigard and Charbit, specifically Wigard discloses wherein receiving first signaling indicating the first part of the scheduling offset comprises receiving an indication of the common TA as system information (SI) in a system information block (SIB) (See Par. [35], [45]-[46], [49] and of Wigard for a reference to the information indicating the cell-specific common delay [Offset] is broadcasted in a system information block (SIB)).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Wigard and Charbit, specifically Wigard discloses wherein receiving second signaling indicating the second part of the scheduling offset comprises receiving an indication of the second part of the scheduling offset via at least one of system information (SI) in a system information block (SIB) or via a random access channel (RACH) message (See Par. [35], [45]-[46], [49] and of Wigard for a reference to the information indicating both the service link common delay and the feeder delay [1st and 2nd parts of scheduling offset] is broadcasted in a system information block (SIB)).
Regarding claim 15, Wigard discloses an apparatus for wireless communications by a network entity (See Wigard; Fig. 8A; Network Node 10), comprising: a memory (See Wigard; Fig. 8A; Memory 14) and at least one processor coupled to the memory (See Wigard; Fig. 8A; Processor 12), the memory and the at least one processor being configured to:
transmit first signaling indicating a first part of a scheduling offset associated with a common timing advance (TA) (TA) (See Par. [34], [41]-[44], [52] and Fig. 1 of Wigard for a reference to transmitting, from the network node, to the UE, information identifying the service link common delay [offset] associated with the common timing advance (TA));
transmit second signaling indicating a second part of the scheduling offset (See Par. [40]-[44], [52] and Fig. 1 of Wigard for a reference to transmitting, from the network node, to the UE, information identifying the feeder link delay [offset] indicating adding an offset to scheduling timing to avoid UL allocation in the past slots); and
Wigard does not explicitly disclose monitor for an uplink transmission from a user equipment (UE) based on the first and second parts of the scheduling offset.
However, Charbit discloses monitor for an uplink transmission from a user equipment (UE) based on the first and second parts of the scheduling offset (See Par. [7]-[9], [54]-[56] and Fig. 6 of Charbit for a reference to decomposition of scheduling delay into a standard component plus a non-terrestrial networking (NTN) [delay-related] offset applied to UL transmission, and monitoring UL transmission according to the decomposed delay [offset]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Charbit to Wigard. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by increasing bits to be transmitted per bandwidth resource within a scheduling time interval. (Charbit; Par. [31])
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 6.
Regarding claim 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 7.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 8.
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 9.
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 10.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 13.
Regarding claim 28, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 14.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 1.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 15.
6. Claims 11-12 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wigard et al. in view of Charbit et al. and further in view of Shin et al. (US. Pub. No. 2023/0189088 A1).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Wigard and Charbit does not explicitly disclose wherein the first part of the scheduling offset is determined based on ceiling function applied to the common TA divided by a unit offset.
However, Shin discloses wherein the first part of the scheduling offset is determined based on ceiling function applied to the common TA divided by a unit offset (See Par. [13], [257], [272] of Charbit for a reference to determining the common scheduling delay [Offset] by dividing the TA value into service link common delay and feeder link delay).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shin to the combination of Wigard and Charbit. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by reducing signalling overhead of a BS by classifying the offset into a common offset and residual offset. (Shin; Par. [265])
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Wigard and Charbit does not explicitly disclose wherein the first part of the scheduling offset is determined based on ceiling function applied to the common TA divided by a unit offset and a positive number greater than 1.
However, Shin discloses wherein the first part of the scheduling offset is determined based on ceiling function applied to the common TA divided by a unit offset and a positive number greater than 1 (See Par. [13], [257], [272] of Charbit for a reference to determining the common scheduling delay [Offset] by dividing the common TA value into N times interval. N is an integer number greater than 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shin to the combination of Wigard and Charbit. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by reducing signalling overhead of a BS by classifying the offset into a common offset and residual offset. (Shin; Par. [265])
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 11.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 12.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Grau et al. (US 2024/0172156 Al) teaches a communication system for a user equipment (UE) communicate with a base station via a non-terrestrial network.
Qiu et al. (U.S. 2022/0217790 Al) teaches a system and method for communication between a wireless communication device and a wireless communication node based on usage of timing advance estimated by the wireless communication device.
Medles et al. (US 2021/0289460 A1) discloses user equipment (UE) timing advancement (TA) reporting in non-terrestrial network (NTN) communications.
/R.K.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413