Response to Amendment
2. Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 10, 11, 13, 14, 18, 18, 21 and 46 are amended. Claims 5, 7, 15 and 20 are cancelled. Claims 1-4, 6, 10-14, 16-18, 21 and 45-46 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 5/21/2026, with regards to claims 1-4, 6, 10-14, 16-18, 21 and 45-46 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant asserts that the combination of Geng, Kubota and Tripathi does not teach or suggest: “the reselection time information comprises at least one of the following: second auxiliary information indicating a correspondence relation between each zone in an NTN serving cell and the cell reselection moment wherein the second auxiliary information comprises: a zone identifier of each zone, and a cell reselection moment corresponding to each zone identifier; or third auxiliary information indicating a cell reselection moment of a reference position in the NTN serving cell, wherein the third auxiliary information comprises: position information of the reference position; cell reselection moment information of the reference position; and coverage information of the NTN serving cell”. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The combination of Geng, Kubota and Tripathi, specifically Kubota, teaches, As illustrated in Fig. 4; 420, that the UE receives a master system information block (MSIB) from the base station. The MSIB may include information such as: information identifying an access network, cell, or zone; information indicating whether a UE is allowed to (or should) use the access network; or information indicating how a UE may use the access network (e.g., information indicating how a UE may use the access network when the UE powers up, or when the UE moves to a new cell or zone after detecting an out-of-service (OoS) or radio link failure (RLF) event) [Moment of cell reselection]. The information identifying an access network, cell, or zone may include a public land mobile network (PLMN) identifier (ID), a tracking area code (TAC), a cell identifier (cell ID), or a zone identifier (zone ID). The information indicating whether a UE is allowed to (or should) use the access network may include system selection or access restriction information for a cell or zone (e.g., radio quality information, congestion avoidance information, or closed subscriber group (CSG) information). The information indicating how a UE may use the access network may include access configuration information (e.g., random access channel (RACH) information, or UE-timers and constants information). Kubota, also teaches receiving a first signal, at block 3305, that may include receiving a zone identifier (e.g., an area code, a BSIC, or another cell identifier). In some cases, the zone identifier may be received as part of a synchronization signal. In these embodiments, the method 3300 may include using the zone identifier to identify that the UE has moved from a first zone to a second zone. [Therefore, Kubota teaches the network node sends a first signal at the UE, including a zone identifier, as well as information indicating when the UE moves to a new cell or zone after detecting an out-of-service (OoS) or radio link failure (RLF) event) [Moment of cell reselection]] (See Kubota; Par. [93], [169], [344] and Figs. 3 & 4)
On the other hand, Tripathi teaches, As illustrated in Fig. 6; 640, the UE receives, from the network side, configuration that may include information indicating ephemeris data (e.g., position (x,y,z) and velocity (vx, vy, vz)), Reference Point coordinates, measured elevation angles, time since last cell reselection, Timing Advance (absolute, relative to the gNB-provided value or relative to a specific Reference Point such as cell center), distance to serving and neighbor cells, and new NTN event specific parameters and measurements. In certain embodiments, UE 116 can explicitly indicate the NTN Type. [Therefore, the UE 110 receives information indicating the coverage area of the serving cell, as well as, cell reselection information, including NTN timing activation time, ephemeris and location supports, and reselection moment] (See Tripathi; Par. [62], [72], [81], [84] and Fig. 6)
Therefore, and for the reasons set above, the combination of Geng, Kubota and Tripathi teaches the claimed invention. The rejection of claims 1-4, 6, 10-14, 16-18, 21 and 45-46 is sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 10-11, 17, 21 and 45-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geng et al. (US. Pub. No. 2022/0322176 A1) in view of Kubota et al. (US. Pub. No. 2016/0234735 A1) and further in view of Tripathi (US. Pub. No. 2022/0070738 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Geng discloses a method for transmitting information (See abstract and Fig. 3), executed by a non-terrestrial network (NTN) device (See Par. [3]-[4] of Geng for a reference to a network device in the non-terrestrial network (NTN) system), and comprising:
sending reselection time information to user equipment (UE), wherein the reselection time information is at least configured to determine a cell reselection moment (See Par. [99]-[104] and Fig. 3 of Geng for a reference to the NTN network device sends the reselection configuration information including the reselection trigger time information that indicates the UE to immediately perform cell reselection), and
Geng does not explicitly disclose the reselection time information comprises at least one of the following:
second auxiliary information indicating a correspondence relation between each zone in an NTN serving cell and the cell reselection moment wherein the second auxiliary information comprises: a zone identifier of each zone, and a cell reselection moment corresponding to each zone identifier; or third auxiliary information indicating a cell reselection moment of a reference position in the NTN serving cell, wherein the third auxiliary information comprises: position information of the reference position; cell reselection moment information of the reference position; and coverage information of the NTN serving cell.
However, Kubota discloses the reselection time information comprises at least one of the following:
second auxiliary information indicating a correspondence relation between each zone in an NTN serving cell and the cell reselection moment wherein the second auxiliary information comprises: a zone identifier of each zone, and a cell reselection moment corresponding to each zone identifier (See Par. [93], [164], [344] and Fig. 33 of Kubota for a reference the network node sends a first signal at the UE, including a zone identifier, and using the zone ID to identify the time that the UE moves from a first zone to a second zone).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kubota to Geng. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving communication quality and reliability between the BS and the UE. (Kubota; Par. [79])
The combination of Geng and Kubota does not explicitly disclose the reselection time information comprises at least one of the following:
third auxiliary information indicating a cell reselection moment of a reference position in the NTN serving cell, wherein the third auxiliary information comprises: position information of the reference position; cell reselection moment information of the reference position; and coverage information of the NTN serving cell.
However, Tripathi discloses the reselection time information comprises at least one of the following:
third auxiliary information indicating a cell reselection moment of a reference position in the NTN serving cell, wherein the third auxiliary information comprises: position information of the reference position; cell reselection moment information of the reference position; and coverage information of the NTN serving cell (See Par. [68], [72], [81], [84] of Tripathi for a reference the network node sends cell reselection information, including NTN timing activation time, ephemeris and location supports, and reselection moment).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tripathi to the combination of Geng and Kubota. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving radio interface efficiency coverage, and quality of service. (Tripathi; Par. [3])
Regarding claim 10, Geng discloses a method for transmitting information, executed by user equipment (UE) (See abstract and Fig. 3; ), and comprising:
receiving reselection time information (See Par. [99]-[104] and Fig. 3 of Geng for a reference to the UE receives the reselection configuration information including the reselection trigger time information that indicates the UE to immediately perform cell reselection), wherein the reselection time information is at least configured to determine a cell reselection moment (See Par. [99]-[104] and Fig. 3 of Geng for a reference to the NTN network device sends the reselection configuration information including the reselection trigger time information that indicates the UE to immediately perform cell reselection).
Geng does not explicitly disclose the reselection time information comprises at least one of the following: second auxiliary information comprising a correspondence relation between each zone in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving cell and the cell reselection moment, wherein the second auxiliary information comprises: a zone identifier of each zone, and a cell reselection moment corresponding to each zone identifier; or third auxiliary information indicating a cell reselection moment of a reference position in the NTN serving cell, wherein the third auxiliary information indicates: position information of the reference position; cell reselection moment information of the reference position; and coverage of the NTN serving cell.
However, Kubota discloses the reselection time information comprises at least one of the following:
second auxiliary information comprising a correspondence relation between each zone in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving cell and the cell reselection moment, wherein the second auxiliary information comprises: a zone identifier of each zone, and a cell reselection moment corresponding to each zone identifier (See Par. [93], [164], [344] and Fig. 33 of Kubota for a reference the network node sends a first signal at the UE, including a zone identifier, and using the zone ID to identify the time that the UE moves from a first zone to a second zone).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kubota to Geng. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving communication quality and reliability between the BS and the UE. (Kubota; Par. [79])
The combination of Geng and Kubota does not explicitly disclose the reselection time information comprises at least one of the following:
third auxiliary information indicating a cell reselection moment of a reference position in the NTN serving cell, wherein the third auxiliary information indicates: position information of the reference position; cell reselection moment information of the reference position; and coverage of the NTN serving cell.
However, Tripathi discloses the reselection time information comprises at least one of the following:
third auxiliary information indicating a cell reselection moment of a reference position in the NTN serving cell, wherein the third auxiliary information indicates: position information of the reference position; cell reselection moment information of the reference position; and coverage of the NTN serving cell (See Par. [68], [72], [81], [84] of Tripathi for a reference the network node sends cell reselection information, including NTN timing activation time, ephemeris and location supports, and reselection moment).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tripathi to the combination of Geng and Kubota. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving radio interface efficiency coverage, and quality of service. (Tripathi; Par. [3])
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Geng, Kubota and Tripathi, specifically Geng discloses wherein the reselection time information further comprises first auxiliary information indicating the cell reselection moment (See Par. [93]-[95], [154]-[156] of Geng for a reference to the reselection configuration information comprises the moment T3, which is the moment when cell hopping/reselection occurs [First Auxiliary information]), and the method further comprises determining the cell reselection moment of the UE according to the first auxiliary information (See Par. [93]-[95], [154]-[156] of Geng for a reference to the reselection configuration information comprises the moment T3, which is the moment when cell hopping/reselection occurs [First Auxiliary information]).
Regarding claim 17, Geng does not explicitly disclose determining the cell reselection moment of the UE according to the second auxiliary information.
However, Kubota discloses determining the cell reselection moment of the UE according to the second auxiliary information (See Par. [93], [164], [344] and Fig. 33 of Kubota for a reference the network node sends a first signal at the UE, including a zone identifier, and using the zone ID to identify the time [moment] that the UE moves from a first zone to a second zone).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kubota to Geng. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving communication quality and reliability between the BS and the UE. (Kubota; Par. [79])
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Geng and Kubota does not explicitly disclose determining the cell reselection moment of the UE according to the third auxiliary information, ephemeris information associated with the NTN serving cell, and a position of the UE.
However, Tripathi discloses determining the cell reselection moment of the UE according to the third auxiliary information, ephemeris information associated with the NTN serving cell, and a position of the UE (See Par. [68], [72], [81], [84] of Tripathi for a reference the network node sends cell reselection information, including NTN timing activation time, ephemeris and location supports, and reselection moment).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tripathi to the combination of Geng and Kubota. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving radio interface efficiency coverage, and quality of service. (Tripathi; Par. [3])
Regarding claim 45, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 1.
Regarding claim 46, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 10.
5. Claims 2-4 and 12-14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geng et al. in view of Kubota et al. in view of Tripathi and further in view of Fu et al. (US. Pub. No. 2023/0239774 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Geng, Kubota and Tripathi, specifically Geng discloses the reselection time information further comprises first auxiliary information indicating the cell reselection moment (See Par. [93]-[95], [154]-[156] of Geng for a reference to the reselection configuration information comprises the moment T3, which is the moment when cell hopping/reselection occurs [First Auxiliary information]).
The combination of Geng, Kubota and Tripathi does not explicitly disclose wherein the first auxiliary information is determined by the NTN device according to at least the following information: position information of the UE; an obtainment time of the position information; and time information of the UE entering a disconnected state, wherein the disconnected state comprises an idle state or an inactive state.
However, Fu discloses wherein the first auxiliary information is determined by the NTN device according to at least the following information: position information of the UE; an obtainment time of the position information; and time information of the UE entering a disconnected state, wherein the disconnected state comprises an idle state or an inactive state (See Par. [165]-[168] of Fu for a reference to for RRC-Inactive [Disconnected] UE, the anchor base station sends RRCRelease PDCP PDU to the UE, including the location of the UE, time of obtaining of the UE location and the time when the UE enters the inactive state).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fu to the combination of Geng, Kubota and Tripathi. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving the delay and reducing the signalling overhead by implementing the 2-step RACH process. (Fu; Par. [63])
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Geng, Kubota and Tripathi does not explicitly disclose wherein the position information of the UE comprises one of the following: position information reported when the UE is in a random access process; or position information reported when the UE is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state.
However, Fu discloses wherein the position information of the UE comprises one of the following: position information reported when the UE is in a random access process; or position information reported when the UE is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state (See Par. [97]. [165]-[168] of Fu for a reference the UE position information is reported in the UE in a 4-step or a 2-step random access process (RACH)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fu to the combination of Geng, Kubota and Tripathi. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving the delay and reducing the signalling overhead by implementing the 2-step RACH process. (Fu; Par. [63])
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Geng, Kubota and Tripathi, specifically Geng discloses wherein the reselection time information further comprises first auxiliary information indicating the cell reselection moment (See Par. [93]-[95], [154]-[156] of Geng for a reference to the reselection configuration information comprises the moment T3, which is the moment when cell hopping/reselection occurs [First Auxiliary information]).
The combination of Geng, Kubota and Tripathi does not explicitly disclose wherein the sending reselection time information to user equipment (UE) comprises at least one of the following: sending radio resource control (RRC) release signaling carrying the first auxiliary information to the UE; sending a system message carrying the second auxiliary information to the UE; sending a system message carrying the third auxiliary information to the UE; sending RRC signaling carrying the second auxiliary information to the UE; or sending RRC signaling carrying the third auxiliary information to the UE.
However, Fu discloses wherein the sending reselection time information to user equipment (UE) comprises at least one of the following: sending radio resource control (RRC) release signaling carrying the first auxiliary information to the UE; sending a system message carrying the second auxiliary information to the UE; sending a system message carrying the third auxiliary information to the UE; sending RRC signaling carrying the second auxiliary information to the UE; or sending RRC signaling carrying the third auxiliary information to the UE (See Par. [165]-[168] of Fu for a reference the anchor base station sends RRCRelease PDCP PDU to the UE, including the location of the UE, time of obtaining of the UE location).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fu to the combination of Geng, Kubota and Tripathi. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving the delay and reducing the signalling overhead by implementing the 2-step RACH process. (Fu; Par. [63])
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 4.
6. Claims 6 and 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geng et al. in view of Kubota et al. in view of Tripathi and further in view of Ryu et al. (US. Pub. No. 2021/0051444 A1).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Geng, Kubota and Tripathi does not explicitly disclose wherein the second auxiliary information further comprises length information of a length of a zone in a first direction, length information of a length of the zone in a second direction, a modulo parameter of the length in the first direction, a modulo parameter of the length in the second direction, and position information of a zone reference point; or the second auxiliary information further comprises length information of a length of the zone in a first direction, length information of a length of the zone in a second direction, a modulo parameter of the length in the first direction, and a modulo parameter of the length in the second direction.
However, Ryu discloses wherein the second auxiliary information further comprises length information of a length of a zone in a first direction, length information of a length of the zone in a second direction, a modulo parameter of the length in the first direction, a modulo parameter of the length in the second direction, and position information of a zone reference point (See Par. [305]-[306], [378] of Ryu for a reference the flexible zone info comprises: the length of the zone, angle (direction) of the zone. Zone ID is determined by means of modulo operation using length, width, number of zones in length, number of zones in width and the single fixed reference point of the UE current location).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ryu to the combination of Geng, Kubota and Tripathi. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by increasing resource utilization efficiency and reducing power consumption when implementing an improved registration area tracking mechanism. (Ryu; Par. [318])
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 6.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jeong et al, (US. Pub. No. 2024/0430761 A1) discloses system information block (SIB) based cell changes in a wireless communication system.
Kuang et al. (US. Pub. No. 2024/0031972 A1) discloses a method for facilitating efficient paging for NTN communication systems with earth moving cells.
Rune et al. (US. Pub. No. 2023/0300700 A1) discloses methods for using the expected time to be served as handover target cell selection criterion in a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN).
9. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.K.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413