DETAILED ACTION
Cross Reference to Related Applications
2. This This application is a U.S. national phase of International Application No. PCT/CN2021/111314, filed with the State Intellectual Property Office of P. R. China on August 6, 2021.
Claims status
3. This office action is a response to an application filed on February 10, 2024 in which claims 1-15 and 31-32 are pending for examination.
Based on the Preliminary Amendment filed on February 10, 2024, the listing of claims replace all prior versions, and listings, of claims in the application.
Drawings
4. The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on February 10, 2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The Examiner has considered the reference(s) listed on the Information Disclosure Statements submitted on February 02, 2024 and November 25, 2024.
Claim Objection (minor informalities)
6. Claims 4, 5 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 4, 5 and 7, the claim recite the term "… can be used for…." which is not a positively cited claim language. Language that suggests or makes optional/intended use (for example, “so that”; “thereby”; “capable of”; “adapted to”; “able to”; “enable to”; “can be”; “may be”; “should be”; “….able”; “combinable”; “configurable”) but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation(s). Such clauses may render parts of the claims optional (see MPEP 2106 and 2111.04). [Note: the limitation recites after “can be” clause is not given patentable weight because it is optional for the positively processing steps. The term may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim. A similar alternative term is “configured to” or a positive action verb to perform the function without any unnecessary ambiguity].
Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of examinations, the examiner will interpret the claims as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-5, 7-11 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by 3GPP TS 23.501 V17.1.0 (2021-06) (“3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; System architecture for the 5G System (5GS); Stage 2 (Release 17)”; as submitted by the applicant with IDS dated November 25, 2024), hereinafter “3GPP’501”.
Regarding claim 1, 3GPP’501 discloses a method for selecting a network slice admission control function (NSACF) (section 5.15.1, 6.2.28, 6.3.22, network slice admission control function discovery and selection), performed by a network device (5.15.1, 6.2.28, 6.3.22, NSACF deployed in a network), comprising:
selecting the NSACF for a network slice (section 6.3.22, NSACF selection for a network slice) based on service area information of the NSACF (section 6.3.22, based on serving area information).
Regarding claim 2, 3GPP’501 discloses the network device is an access and mobility management function (AMF) (section 6.3.22, NSACF selection by access and mobility management function (AMF)).
Regarding claim 3, 3GPP’501 discloses the service area information comprises any one or more of: a tracking area identity list; or AMF service area information (5.15.1, 6.2.28, 6.3.22, serving area information by access and mobility management function (AMF)).
Regarding claim 4, 3GPP’501 discloses selecting the NSACF for the network slice comprises: determining that one NSACF is selected for the network slice and the service area information of the NSACF indicates that the selected NSACF can be used for the network slice; and maintaining the selected NSACF being selected for the network slice (5.15.1, 6.2.28, 6.3.22, multiple instances of NSACF deployed in the network and network slice selection assistance information for NSACF).
Regarding claim 5, 3GPP’501 discloses selecting the NSACF for the network slice comprises: determining that more than one NSACF is selected for the network slice and the service area information of the more than one NSACF indicates that the more than one selected NSACF can be used for the network slice; and selecting the NSACF for the network slice from the more than one selected NSACF (5.15.1, 6.2.28, 6.3.22, multiple instances of NSACF deployed in the network and network slice selection assistance information for NSACF).
Regarding claim 7, 3GPP’501 discloses selecting the NSACF for the network slice comprises: determining that one or more NSACFs (5.15.1, 6.2.28, 6.3.22, multiple instances of NSACF deployed in the network and network slice selection assistance information for NSACF) are selected for the network slice and the service area information of the one or more NSACFs indicates that none of the one or more selected NSACFs can be used for the network slice; and selecting, for the network slice, the NSACF not belonging to the one or more selected NSACFs (6.2.28, 6.3.22, 7.1.4, 7.1.5, network function service authorization for e.g. policy of NF, policy from serving operator and inter-operator agreement).
Regarding claim 8, 3GPP’501 discloses wherein there is an operator service area policy, selecting the NSACF for the network slice (6.2.28, 6.3.22, 7.1.4, 7.1.5, network function service authorization for e.g. policy of NF, policy from serving operator and inter-operator agreement) comprises: selecting the NSACF for the network slice based on the service area information of the NSACF and the operator service area policy (7.1.4, 7.1.5, network function service authorization framework); wherein the operator service area policy comprises a specific rule of selecting the NSACF based on the service area information made by an operator (5.15.1, 6.2.28, 6.3.22, multiple instances of NSACF deployed in the network and network slice selection assistance information for NSACF).
Regarding claim 9, 3GPP’501 discloses the operator service area policy is pre-configured in at least one of the network device or a network repository function (NRF) (6.2.28, 6.3.22, 7.1.4, 7.1.5, utilizing NRF to discover NSACF instances; network function service authorization for e.g. policy of NF, policy from serving operator and inter-operator agreement).
Regarding claim 10, 3GPP’501 discloses selecting the NSACF for the network slice comprises: selecting the NSACF for the network slice from registered NSACFs of an NRF, wherein the NRF stores configuration information of the registered NSACFs, and the configuration information comprises single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAIs) and the service area information of the registered NSACFs (5.3.2, 6.2.28, 6.3.22, NSACF deployed in a network; multiple instances of NSACF deployed in the network and network slice selection assistance information for NSACF and registration management).
Regarding claim 31, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 32, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TS 23.501 V17.1.0 (2021-06) (“3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; System architecture for the 5G System (5GS); Stage 2 (Release 17)”; as submitted by the applicant with IDS dated November 25, 2024), hereinafter “3GPP’501” in view of LEE et al. (US 2022/0330139 A1), hereinafter “Lee”.
Regarding claim 6, 3GPP’501 discloses the method according to claim 5.
While 3GPP’501 implicitly refers to “selecting the NSACF for the network slice from the more than one selected NSACF comprises: selecting the NSACF for the network slice from the more than one selected NSACF based on a service capability of the NSACF; wherein the service capability comprises at least one of: a first service capability of supporting monitoring a number of registered user equipments (UEs) of the network slice, or a second service capability of supporting monitoring a number of protocol data unit (PDU) sessions created by the network slice”, Lee from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses selecting the NSACF for the network slice from the more than one selected NSACF comprises: selecting the NSACF for the network slice from the more than one selected NSACF based on a service capability of the NSACF; wherein the service capability comprises at least one of: a first service capability of supporting monitoring a number of registered user equipments (UEs) of the network slice, or a second service capability of supporting monitoring a number of protocol data unit (PDU) sessions created by the network slice (paragraphs [0066]-[0069], NSACF may manage the network slice, a UE ID (a list of UE IDs) of the PDU session(s) established in association with the network slice, and the list of PDU session IDs of the PDU session(s) established in association with the network slice; for example, the NSACF may identify one PDU session through a combination of the UE ID and the PDU session ID; alternatively, the NSACF may manage a list of PDU session IDs established per UE indicated by a UE ID (per UE ID); one PDU session ID may be used as a unique session identifier in one UE; for example, different PDU sessions established by different UEs may use an identical PDU session ID, and thus, each PDU session may not be uniquely identified by using only the PDU session ID, in a network supporting a plurality of UEs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “selecting the NSACF for the network slice from the more than one selected NSACF comprises: selecting the NSACF for the network slice from the more than one selected NSACF based on a service capability of the NSACF; wherein the service capability comprises at least one of: a first service capability of supporting monitoring a number of registered user equipments (UEs) of the network slice, or a second service capability of supporting monitoring a number of protocol data unit (PDU) sessions created by the network slice” as taught by Lee, in the system of 3GPP’501, so that it would provide improvement in frequency efficiency and the system network relates to a method and an apparatus for managing a network slice in a wireless communication system or a mobile communication system (Lee, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 12, 3GPP’501 discloses the method according to claim 1.
While 3GPP’501 implicitly refers to “selecting the NSACF for the network slice comprises: after receiving a registration request message from a UE, selecting the NSACF for the network slice, wherein the registration request message is triggered in a UE registration procedure or an AMF relocation procedure, and the registration request message carries S-NSSAIs and a UE identifier”, Lee from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses selecting the NSACF for the network slice (Figs. 11-12, paragraphs [0013]-[0014], [0165]-[0168], [0176]-[0184], a method of managing a number of registered terminals and a procedure for updating an availability of a slice) comprises: after receiving a registration request message from a UE, selecting the NSACF for the network slice, wherein the registration request message is triggered in a UE registration procedure or an AMF relocation procedure, and the registration request message carries S-NSSAIs and a UE identifier (Figs. 11-12, paragraphs [0013]-[0014], [0165]-[0168], [0176]-[0184], registration request for one or more S-NSSAIs, and in case that a slice availability check for the one or more S-NSSAIs is performed at a NSACF, based on a request message for a slice availability check including information regarding an access type of the UE, and a registration response for the one or more S-NSSAIs including information regarding a result of the slice availability check is received at an AMF, receive a registration response for the one or more S-NSSAIs from the AMF, based on the result of the slice availability check).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “selecting the NSACF for the network slice comprises: after receiving a registration request message from a UE, selecting the NSACF for the network slice, wherein the registration request message is triggered in a UE registration procedure or an AMF relocation procedure, and the registration request message carries S-NSSAIs and a UE identifier” as taught by Lee, in the system of 3GPP’501, so that it would provide improvement in frequency efficiency and the system network relates to a method and an apparatus for managing a network slice in a wireless communication system or a mobile communication system (Lee, paragraph [0005]).
12. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TS 23.501 V17.1.0 (2021-06) (“3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; System architecture for the 5G System (5GS); Stage 2 (Release 17)”; as submitted by the applicant with IDS dated November 25, 2024), hereinafter “3GPP’501” in view of 3GPP TSG-SA WG2 Meeting #144E e-meeting (S2-2102209; as submitted by the applicant with IDS dated November 25, 2024), hereinafter “3GPP’209”.
Regarding claim 11, 3GPP’501 discloses the method according to claim 1.
While 3GPP’501 implicitly refers to “selecting the NSACF for the network slice comprises: selecting the NSACF from pre-configured NSACFs of the network device, wherein the network device stores configuration information of the pre-configured NSACFs, and the configuration information comprises S-NSSAIs and the service area information of the pre- configured NSACFs”, 3GPP’209 from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses selecting the NSACF for the network slice comprises: selecting the NSACF from pre-configured NSACFs of the network device, wherein the network device stores configuration information of the pre-configured NSACFs, and the configuration information comprises S-NSSAIs and the service area information of the pre-configured NSACFs (4.2.11.2: number of UEs per network slice availability check and update procedure (increase or decrease); step1- step4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “selecting the NSACF for the network slice comprises: selecting the NSACF from pre-configured NSACFs of the network device, wherein the network device stores configuration information of the pre-configured NSACFs, and the configuration information comprises S-NSSAIs and the service area information of the pre- configured NSACFs” as taught by 3GPP’209, in the system of 3GPP’501, so that it would provide different logical network slice admission control functions for different one or more single network slice selection assistance information that are subjected to per network slice availability and update procedure (3GPP’209, 4.2.11.2, step1, note 1).
13. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TS 23.501 V17.1.0 (2021-06) (“3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; System architecture for the 5G System (5GS); Stage 2 (Release 17)”; as submitted by the applicant with IDS dated November 25, 2024), hereinafter “3GPP’501” in view of Velev et al. (US 2024/0147235 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosures of provisional application number. 62/154,583 field on February 26. 2021), hereinafter “Velev”.
Regarding claim 15, 3GPP’501 discloses the method according to claim 1.
While 3GPP’501 implicitly refers to “receiving a deregistration request message from a UE, wherein the deregistration request message carries S-NSSAIs and a UE identifier; after completing a UE deregistration procedure based on the deregistration request message, sending a UE number availability check and update request message to the NSACF selected for the network slice identified by the S-NSSAIs, wherein the UE number availability check and update request message comprises the S-NSSAIs, the UE identifier, and an update flag, and the update flag instructs to reduce a number of registered UEs; and receiving a UE number availability check and update response message from the selected NSACF”, Velev from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses receiving a deregistration request message from a UE, wherein the deregistration request message carries S-NSSAIs and a UE identifier; after completing a UE deregistration procedure based on the deregistration request message, sending a UE number availability check and update request message to the NSACF selected for the network slice identified by the S-NSSAIs, wherein the UE number availability check and update request message comprises the S-NSSAIs, the UE identifier, and an update flag, and the update flag instructs to reduce a number of registered UEs (Fig. 6, paragraphs [0087], in a first communication 608, the AMF 602 sends a Nnsacf_NumberOfUEsPerSliceUpdate_Request message to the NSACF 604; the AMF 602 includes in the message a UE ID, S-NSSAIs for which the number of UEs registered per network slice update is required, and the number of UEs update flag which indicates whether the number of UEs registered with the S-NSSAIs is to be increased (e.g., after UE registration and NSSAA) or the number of UEs registered with the S-NSSAIs is to be decreased (e.g., after UE deregistration or S-NSSAIs status change from allowed to rejected after AAA server triggered network slice-specific re-authentication and re-authorization procedure or AAA server triggered slice-specific authorization revocation); and
receiving a UE number availability check and update response message from the selected NSACF (paragraphs [0169], [0175], [0178], availability check message comprises information indicating to update a number of registered UEs for the NSSAI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “receiving a deregistration request message from a UE, wherein the deregistration request message carries S-NSSAIs and a UE identifier; after completing a UE deregistration procedure based on the deregistration request message, sending a UE number availability check and update request message to the NSACF selected for the network slice identified by the S-NSSAIs, wherein the UE number availability check and update request message comprises the S-NSSAIs, the UE identifier, and an update flag, and the update flag instructs to reduce a number of registered UEs; and receiving a UE number availability check and update response message from the selected NSACF” as taught by Velev, in the system of 3GPP’501, so that it would provide initiating a network slice specific authentication and authorization procedure to support network slice admission control (Velev, paragraph [0009]).
Allowable Subject Matter
14. Claims 13-14 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable contingent upon or subject to the following conditions:
(1) that after clarifying applicable issues related with claim objection under minor informalities,
(2) that the claims are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as presented by applicant and referenced herein,
(3) that the subject limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitation, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations, and
(4) that all independent claims (1, 31 and 32) were amended with similar features and the amendments were submitted in a formal response.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 13-14, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “sending a UE number availability check and update request message to a selected NSACF, wherein the UE number availability check and update request message comprises the S-NSSAIs, the UE identifier, and an update flag, and the update flag instructs to increase a number of registered UEs; and receiving a UE number availability check and update response message from the selected NSACF, and performing a UE registration based on the UE number availability check and update response message”.
Conclusion
/SITHU KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414