Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 15, 17, 20-25, 27, 29, 42-43, 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weng et al (US 20120122495 A1; Hereinafter Weng).
Regarding claim 1, Weng discloses a paging early indication (PEI) transmission method (¶[0022], fig. 17 “early paging occasion”, & ¶[0035]), comprising:
determining, by a user equipment (UE), a resource location of a paging early indication based on at least one of a target Synchronization Signal and PBCH block (SSB), a target paging occasion (PO) and a target paging frame (PF), or based on a first frame number (¶[0291] A UE enabled with the early paging indicator feature will first determine its regular paging occasion from the relevant parameters (as described earlier in section entitled "Paging Cycle and Paging Occasions") and then determine its early paging indicator occasions based on knowledge of the offset timeOffsetEpi., and fig. 19 & fig. 4, discloses the PEI is offset in a subframe of a frame, either that frame is the first frame or x number of frames from the first frame, irrespective it is based on a first frame number. Further Target Paging Occasion and Frame is disclosed in fig. 17); and
receiving or detecting at the resource location, by the UE, PEI transmitted by a network device (¶[0291] A UE enabled with the early paging indicator feature will first determine its regular paging occasion from the relevant parameters (as described earlier in section entitled "Paging Cycle and Paging Occasions") and then determine its early paging indicator occasions based on knowledge of the offset timeOffsetEpi.); wherein the PEI is used to indicate an existence situation of paging (¶[0291] A UE enabled with the early paging indicator feature will first determine its regular paging occasion from the relevant parameters (as described earlier in section entitled "Paging Cycle and Paging Occasions") and then determine its early paging indicator occasions based on knowledge of the offset timeOffsetEpi.).
Regarding claim 22, Weng discloses a paging early indication (PEI) transmission method (¶[0022], fig. 17 “early paging occasion”, & ¶[0035]), comprising:
determining, by a network device, a resource location of a paging early indication based on at least one of a target Synchronization Signal and PBCH block (SSB), a target paging occasion (PO) and a target paging frame (PF), or based on a first frame number (see Weng, fig. 20); transmitting at the resource location, by the network device, a PEI to a user equipment (UE) (see Weng, fig. 20); wherein the PEI is used to indicate an existence situation of paging (¶[0022], fig. 17 “early paging occasion”, & ¶[0035]).
Regarding claim 43, Weng discloses a user equipment (UE) (see Weng, fig. 3), comprising:
a memory, a transceiver and a processor (see Weng, fig. 3); wherein the memory is used to store a computer program (see Weng, fig. 3); the transceiver is used to transmit and receive data under the control of the processor (see Weng, fig. 3); the processor is used to read the computer programs in the memory and perform the following operations (see Weng, fig. 3): determining a resource location of a paging early indication (PEI) based on at least one of a target Synchronization Signal and PBCH block (SSB), a target paging occasion (PO) and a target paging frame (PF), or based on a first frame number (¶[0291] A UE enabled with the early paging indicator feature will first determine its regular paging occasion from the relevant parameters (as described earlier in section entitled "Paging Cycle and Paging Occasions") and then determine its early paging indicator occasions based on knowledge of the offset timeOffsetEpi., and fig. 19 & fig. 4, discloses the PEI is offset in a subframe of a frame, either that frame is the first frame or x number of frames from the first frame, irrespective it is based on a first frame number. Further Target Paging Occasion and Frame is disclosed in fig. 17); and receiving or detecting at the resource location, a PEI transmitted by a network device (¶[0291] A UE enabled with the early paging indicator feature will first determine its regular paging occasion from the relevant parameters (as described earlier in section entitled "Paging Cycle and Paging Occasions") and then determine its early paging indicator occasions based on knowledge of the offset timeOffsetEpi.); wherein the PEI is used to indicate an existence situation of paging (¶[0291] A UE enabled with the early paging indicator feature will first determine its regular paging occasion from the relevant parameters (as described earlier in section entitled "Paging Cycle and Paging Occasions") and then determine its early paging indicator occasions based on knowledge of the offset timeOffsetEpi.).
Regarding claim 2, Weng discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further includes: determining at least one of the target SSB, the target PO and the target PF (see Weng. Fig. 17, which discloses the PEI and the target paging frame and occasion).
Regarding claim 3, under the broadest reasonable interpretation applied during examination, alternative limitations recited with “at least one of” and “or” are satisfied when the prior art discloses any one of the recited alternatives. See MPEP § 2111 (Broadest Reasonable Interpretation); MPEP § 2173.05(h) (Alternative Limitations). Accordingly, for claim 2 (“determining at least one of the target SSB, the target PO, and the target PF”), the limitation is met if the prior art determines any one of a target SSB, a target PO, or a target PF. For claim 3, which further limits claim 2 by requiring “determining the target SSB according to a target parameter” and specifying that “the target parameter includes the target PO or the target PF,” the limitation is satisfied by a reference that determines a target SSB based on either a PO parameter or a PF parameter. See MPEP § 2173.05(h) (explaining that alternative formats, including “or” and “and/or,” are permissible and that meeting any one of the alternatives satisfies the limitation). In this regard, the limitations of claim 3 are met by Weng disclosing a target PO and a target PF. Therefore, Weng discloses claim 3, the method according to claim 2, wherein the determining the target SSB, includes: determining the target SSB according to a target parameter; wherein the target parameter includes the target PO or the target PF (see Weng, fig. 17).
Regarding claim 4, given that claim 4 depends on claim 3, similarly to the rejection of claim 3, Weng meets the limitations in Weng, fig. 17.
5. (canceled)
Regarding claim 6, Weng discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining the target PO or determining the target PF includes one of the following: determining the target PO or target PF according to a first parameter; wherein the first parameter includes at least one of a total number of PFs in each discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle, the number of POs included in each PF and UE_ID; determining the target PO or target PF according to a second parameter; wherein the second parameter is the number of POs corresponding to one PEI; determining the target PO or target PF according to a period of PEI (see Weng, fig. 17 PEI + timeOffsetEpi allows UE to decipher the target PF and target PO); when one PEI is corresponding to one PO, the target PO is a PO that the UE needs to monitor, and the target PF is a PF corresponding to the PO that the UE needs to monitor (see Weng, fig. 17 PEI + timeOffsetEpi allows UE to decipher the target PF and target PO).
7. (canceled)
Regarding claim 8, Wend discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining the resource location of the PEI according to at least one of the target SSB, target PO and target PF, includes: determining the resource location of the PEI according to a resource location of the target SSB, or the target PO or the target PF, and the first offset (see Weng, fig. 17 PEI + timeOffsetEpi allows UE to decipher the target PF and target PO); wherein the first offset is an offset between the resource location of the PEI and the resource location of the target SSB, or the target PO or the target PF (see Weng, fig. 17 PEI + timeOffsetEpi allows UE to decipher the target PF and target PO); wherein the resource location of the PEI includes at least one of the following: start location of the PEI; end location of the PEI; monitoring start location of the PEI; monitoring end location of the PEI (¶[0291] A UE enabled with the early paging indicator feature will first determine its regular paging occasion from the relevant parameters (as described earlier in section entitled "Paging Cycle and Paging Occasions") and then determine its early paging indicator occasions based on knowledge of the offset timeOffsetEpi.).
9.-14. (canceled)
Regarding claim 15, Weng discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further includes: determining a first frame number, wherein the first frame number is a frame number of a radio frame where the PEI is located; and/or, determining a first index, wherein the first index is an index of the PEI (¶[0291] A UE enabled with the early paging indicator feature will first determine its regular paging occasion from the relevant parameters (as described earlier in section entitled "Paging Cycle and Paging Occasions") and then determine its early paging indicator occasions based on knowledge of the offset timeOffsetEpi.); wherein the determining the resource location of the paging early indication based on the first frame number, includes: determining the resource location of the PEI according to the first frame number and the first index.
16. (canceled)
Regarding claim 17, under the broadest reasonable interpretation applied during examination, alternative limitations recited with “and/or” is satisfied when the prior art discloses any one of the recited alternatives. See MPEP § 2111 (Broadest Reasonable Interpretation); MPEP § 2173.05(h) (Alternative Limitations). Accordingly, for claim 15 “determining a first frame number, wherein the first frame number is a frame number of a radio frame where the PEI is located; and/or, determining a first index, wherein the first index is an index of the PEI”, the limitation is met if the prior art determines any one two determining steps. For claim 17, which further limits claim 2 by requiring “determining the target SSB according to a target parameter” and specifying that “the target parameter includes the target PO or the target PF,” the limitation is satisfied by a reference that determines a target SSB based on either a PO parameter or a PF parameter. See MPEP § 2173.05(h) (explaining that alternative formats, including “or” and “and/or,” are permissible and that meeting any one of the alternatives satisfies the limitation). In this regard, the limitations of claim 17 are met by Weng disclosing either of the determining steps. Therefore, Weng discloses claim 17, the method according to claim 15, wherein the determining a first frame number, includes: determining the first frame number according to a third parameter, wherein the third parameter includes at least one of a second interval, a paging frame offset, DRX cycle, a total number of PFs in each DRX cycle, the number of POs included in each PF, the number of POs corresponding to one PEI, and UE_ID (¶[0291] A UE enabled with the early paging indicator feature will first determine its regular paging occasion from the relevant parameters (as described earlier in section entitled "Paging Cycle and Paging Occasions") and then determine its early paging indicator occasions based on knowledge of the offset timeOffsetEpi.).
18.-19. (canceled)
Regarding claim 20, given that claim 20 depends on claim 15, similarly to the rejection of claim 17, Weng meets the limitations in (¶[0291] A UE enabled with the early paging indicator feature will first determine its regular paging occasion from the relevant parameters (as described earlier in section entitled "Paging Cycle and Paging Occasions") and then determine its early paging indicator occasions based on knowledge of the offset timeOffsetEpi.).
Regarding claim 21, the limitations have been addressed in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 23, the limitations have been addressed in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 24, the limitations have been addressed in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 25, the limitations have been addressed in the rejection of claim 4.
26. (canceled)
Regarding claim 27, Weng discloses the method according to claim 22, wherein the determining the target PO or determining the target PF includes one of the following: determining the target PO or target PF according to a first parameter; wherein the first parameter includes at least one of a total number of PFs in each discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle, the number of POs included in each PF and UE_ID; determining the target PO or target PF according to a second parameter; wherein the second parameter is the number of POs corresponding to one PEI; determining the target PO or target PF according to a period of PEI (¶[0291] A UE enabled with the early paging indicator feature will first determine its regular paging occasion from the relevant parameters (as described earlier in section entitled "Paging Cycle and Paging Occasions") and then determine its early paging indicator occasions based on knowledge of the offset timeOffsetEpi.); when one PEI is corresponding to one PO, the target PO is a corresponding PO when the network device transmits PDCCH scrambled by a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) for paging the UE, and the target PF is corresponding PF when the network device transmits PDCCH scrambled by a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) for paging the UE (see Weng, fig. 9, ¶[0243, 267]).
28. (canceled)
Regarding claim 29, the limitations have been addressed in the rejection of claim 8.
30.-35. (canceled)
Regarding claim 36, the limitations have been addressed in the rejection of claim 15.
37.-41. (canceled)
Regarding claim 42, the limitations have been addressed in the rejection of claim 6.
44.-59. (canceled)
Regarding claim 60, Weng discloses a network device (see Weng, fig. 14, eNb) for performing the method according to claim 22, comprising: a memory, a transceiver, and a processor (inherent to an eNb); wherein the memory is used to store a computer program (see Weng, fig. 14); the transceiver is used to transmit and receive data under the control of the processor (see Weng, fig. 14); the processor is used to read the computer programs in the memory and perform the following operations (see Weng, fig. 14): determining a resource location of a paging early indication based on at least one of a target Synchronization Signal and PBCH block (SSB), a target paging occasion (PO) and a target paging frame (PF), or based on a first frame number (see Weng, fig. 17); the transceiver is used to transmit at the resource location, a PEI to a user equipment (UE); wherein the PEI is used to indicate an existence situation of paging (see Weng, fig. 17, fig. 12).
61.-79. (canceled)
Conclusion
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648