DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to applicant’s response filed under 37 C.F.R §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. Claim(s) 1-8 have been amended; No claims have been canceled; No claim(s) have been added. Claim(s) 1-8 are subject to examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Sidelink Communication Control Method in a Mobile Communication System.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 5 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 1 due to being identical to claim 3. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by FARAG et al. (US 11690048 B2).
Claim 1:
FARAG teaches a communication control method in a mobile communication system comprising a first user equipment and a second user equipment, the first user equipment and the second user equipment being configured to communicate wirelessly with each other by sidelink communication (FARAG: FIG. 6 sidelink communication), the communication control method comprising: identifying, by the first user equipment, a timing where reception of the sidelink communication from the second user equipment by the first user equipment is not available due to the timing used for other communication by the first user equipment (FARAG: FIG. 6 step 2 (“UE-A(a) determines if future transmission collide, and grant/trigger UE-B(s) SL transmission on future SL resource by indicating preferred and/or not preferred resource.”) wherein UE-A/first user equipment identifies timing of sidelink reception collision); transmitting, by the first user equipment, to the second user equipment, resource information related to the timing where reception of the sidelink communication from the second user equipment by the first user equipment is not available (FARAG: FIG. 6 step 2 (“UE-A(a) determines if future transmission collide, and grant/trigger UE-B(s) SL transmission on future SL resource by indicating preferred and/or not preferred resource.”) wherein first UE/UE-A indicates preferred and/or not preferred resources related to a timing when communication is not available/colliding); and receiving, by the second user equipment, the resource information (FARAG: col 19 line 5-15 (“In step three, after a UE-B receives a grant or trigger signal, indicating a preferred or non-preferred resource for a UE-B, the UE-B can determine whether or not to proceed with a SL transmission on a pre-indicated or reserved SL resource. Non-preferred resources are resources that have a collision or conflict with another SL or UL transmission. If the reserved resource is indicated to have a conflict…”) wherein second user equipment receives resource information related to resource collision).
Claim 2:
FARAG teaches the communication control method according to claim 1, further comprising performing, by the second user equipment, no transmission to the first user equipment at the timing (FARAG: col 19 line 5-15 (“In step three, after a UE-B receives a grant or trigger signal, indicating a preferred or non-preferred resource for a UE-B, the UE-B can determine whether or not to proceed with a SL transmission on a pre-indicated or reserved SL resource.”) wherein UE-B/second user equipment can perform no transmission to the first UE).
Claim 3:
FARAG teaches the communication control method according to claim 1, wherein the resource information is information indicating a timing where reception of the sidelink communication from the second user equipment by the first user equipment is not available (FARAG: FIG. 6 step 2 (“UE-A(a) determines if future transmission collide, and grant/trigger UE-B(s) SL transmission on future SL resource by indicating preferred and/or not preferred resource.”) wherein first UE/UE-A indicates communication at a timing when communication is not available due to collision).
Claim 5:
FARAG teaches the communication control method according to claim 1. For further limitations, see 112(d) rejection and rejection for claim 3 above.
Claim 6:
FARAG teaches the communication control method according to claim 5, further comprising performing, by the second user equipment, no transmission to the first user equipment at the timing where reception of the sidelink communication from the second user equipment to the first user equipment is not available (FARAG: col 19 line 5-15 (“In step three, after a UE-B receives a grant or trigger signal, indicating a preferred or non-preferred resource for a UE-B, the UE-B can determine whether or not to proceed with a SL transmission on a pre-indicated or reserved SL resource.”) wherein UE-B/second user equipment can perform no transmission to the first UE).
Claim 7:
FARAG teaches A first user equipment configured to communicate wirelessly with a second user equipment by sidelink communication, the first user equipment comprising: a controller and a transmitter (FARAG: FIG. 3 item 340 (“Controller/Processor”) and item 310 (“RF Transceiver”) the transmitter).
For further limitations, see rejection for claim 1 above.
Claim 8:
FARAG teaches a chipset for controlling a first user equipment configured to communicate wirelessly with a second user equipment by sidelink communication (FARAG: FIG. 3), the chipset comprising: a processor and a memory coupled to the processor (FARAG: FIG. 3 item 340 (“Controller/Processor”) and item 360 (“Memory”)).
For further limitations, see rejection for claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FARAG in view of LEI et al. (US 20230328784 A1) (see 892 06/18/2025), hereby referred to as LEI.
Claim 4:
FARAG teaches the communication control method according to claim 3, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising not waking up the second user equipment at the timing where reception of the sidelink communication from the second user equipment by the first user equipment is not available.
LEI, in the same field of endeavor, teaches not waking up the second user equipment at the timing where reception of the sidelink communication from the second user equipment by the first user equipment is not available (LEI: FIG. 4 and para 57-58 (“Therefore, UE 103 may be aware that the occupancy of the channel will not be released until the remaining duration of channel occupancy…it is not necessary for UE 103 to perform any useless channel access during the remaining duration of channel occupancy…UE103 may enter a sleep mode after determining the remaining duration of channel occupancy, and wake up after the remaining duration of channel occupancy.”) wherein the second UE/the UE103 receiving the resource information/channel occupancy info, is asleep/not woken up during the time when communication is not available/occupied).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified FARAG with LEI for the benefit of preventing data loss (LEI: para 28) and useless transmissions (LEI: para 57).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
FARAG et al. (63/083541) pg 21-22 gives priority date 09/25/2020 to the subject matter of the primary reference.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.T.N./ Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416