Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Publication No. 2024/0048962 (“Holla et al.”).
Regarding claim 1, Holla et al. discloses a method of providing an electronic subscriber identity module (eSIM) profile to a wireless communication device, comprising:
receiving, by a subscription manager–data preparation plus (SM-DP+) server, an eSIM profile provisioning request, wherein the eSIM profile provisioning request comprises device parameters including an embedded UICC identifier (EID) number, a type allocation code (TAC), and an International Mobile Equipment Identifier (IMEI) number (fig. 5, 506 send an inquiry to an SM-DP+ server associated with a carrier to determine if the SM-DP+ server stores an eSIM profile associated with a unique identifier of the wireless communication device; [0038] the device ID may include one or more of the following: an embedded universal integrated circuit, card (eUICC) identifier and an international mobile equipment identity (IMEI), and any other unique device identifier);
determining, by the SM-DP+ server, whether the eSIM profile associated with the device parameters is available for download to the wireless communication device ([0045] in case the SM-DP+ server does not store any eSIM profile associated with device ID, the SM-DP+ server may return no finding to the device 102);
identifying, by the SM-DP+ server, a domain of the wireless communication device associated with the device parameters in response to determining that the eSIM profile is unavailable; determining, by the SM-DP+ server, a first domain SM-DP+ server based on the identified domain; and transmitting, by the SM-DP+ server, a first network address of the first domain SM-DP+ server to the wireless communication device to establish a first communication with the first domain SM-DP+ server (Fig. 4, transmitting inquiry to one of a plurality of first domain SM-DP+ servers; [0044-0045] For each carrier that serves the device's geographic location, the system 112 may send the device ID to the SM-DP+ server associated with the carrier to inquire if the SM-DP+ server stores an eSIM profile associated with the device ID).
Claim 11 recites a system comprising: a subscription manager–data preparation plus (SM-DP+) server in communication with a wireless communication device, configured to perform the method recited in claim 1. Thus claim 11 is rejected in view of Holla et al for the same reasons discussed in claim 1.
Claim 20 recites one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of a subscription manager–data preparation plus (SM-DP+) server storing computer-executable instructions that upon execution cause one or more processors to perform acts comprising the method of claim 1. Thus claim 20 is rejected in view of Holla et al for the same reasons discussed in claim 1 (Holla, [0094] The memory may be a non-transitory computer readable medium).
Regarding claim 2, Holla et al. discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the first domain SM-DP+ server from the wireless communication device, the eSIM profile provisioning request; and determining, by the first domain SM-DP+ server based on eSIM profile provisioning request, whether the eSIM profile associated with the identified domain is available for download to the wireless communication device ([0045] If there is an eSIM profile associated with the device ID, the SM-DP+ server may send a reply to the device 102. The reply may include information indicating availability of the eSIM profile for download, [0023] includes a link to initiate communication with the first domain SM-DP+ server).
Regarding claim 12, Holla et al. discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the domain SM-DP+ server is in communication with the wireless communication device and configured to:
receive, from the wireless communication device, the eSIM profile provisioning request, the eSIM profile provisioning request is routed from the wireless communication device to the domain SM-DP+ server via the first network address; and determine, based on eSIM profile provisioning request, whether the eSIM profile associated with the identified domain is available for download to the wireless communication device ([0045] If there is an eSIM profile associated with the device ID, the SM-DP+ server may send a reply to the device 102. The reply may include information indicating availability of the eSIM profile for download, [0023] includes a link to initiate communication with the first domain SM-DP+ server).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Holla et al. discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising transmitting, by the first domain SM-DP+ server, the eSIM profile to the wireless communication device in response to determining that the eSIM profile is available (Fig. 5, display on a graphical user interface a prompt to a user. The reply may also include metadata of the eSIM profile indicated that the eSIM profile stored on the SM-DP+ server is available for download, and [0023] initiating the download of the profile by the user at the wireless communication device).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Holla et al. discloses the method of claim 2, wherein in response to determining that the eSIM profile is unavailable, the method further comprises: determining, by the first domain SM-DP+ server, a second domain SM-DP+ server based on the identified domain; and transmitting, by the first domain SM-DP+ server, a second network address of the second domain SM-DP+ server to the wireless communication device to establish a second communication with the second domain SM-DP+ server ([0044-0045] In case the SM-DP+ server does not store any eSIM profile associated with device ID, the SM-DP+ server may return no finding to the device 102. The system 112 may send the device ID to the SM-DP+ server associated with the carrier to inquire if the SM-DP+ server stores an eSIM profile associated with the device ID).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Holla et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the SM-DP+ server comprises a plurality of domain specific SM-DP+ network addresses associated with corresponding domains ([0010] storing a list of known carriers along with geographic information of their network communication services and their subscription server addresses).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Holla et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the eSIM profile provisioning request further comprises a default network address of the SM-DP+ server to establish a second communication between the SM-DP+ server and the wireless communication device ([0045] For each carrier that serves the device's geographic location, the system 112 may send the device ID to the SM-DP+ server associated with the carrier to inquire if the SM-DP+ server stores an eSIM profile associated with the device ID).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Holla et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the TAC comprises an 8-digit number that identifies a particular model of the wireless communication device ([0038] TAC is the first part of the 15-digit International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI) number).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Holla et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the device parameters indicate a type and a manufacturer of the wireless communication device (0038] TAC is the first part of the 15-digit International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI) number) and a Type Allocation Code (TAC) inherently identifies the manufacturer and model).
Regarding claim 10, Holla et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the wireless communication device is an Internet of things (IoT) device, a smart phone, a wearable computer, a laptop computer, a tablet computer, or a notebook computer (fig. 1, wireless device 102 is a smart phone).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication No. 2024/0048962 (“Holla et al.”) in view of KR 20240110301 (“Kim et al.”).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Holla et al. does not specify the method of claim 4, wherein the eSIM profile is determined to be unavailable for the wireless communication device when a number of profile download attempts reach a preset threshold.
However in a similar field of endeavor, Kim et al. discloses eSIM setup including a counter value counting the number of attempts to download the eSIM profile by the terminal reaches the threshold, the terminal's access rights to a specific data network may expire.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a timeout value such as a counter threshold for downloading valid SIM information when the valid SIM information is detected in the terminal; and a step of downloading the eSIM profile through the specific data network as discussed by Kim et al. in order to prevent continuous attempts.
Conclusion
/JIRAPON TULOP/Examiner, Art Unit 2693