DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2003/0041630 to Laitala et al.
Laitala et al. disclose a padlock (10) comprising: a lock body (14) with a bottom and a top, a primary channel (28) extending through the bottom into the lock body, a pair of spaced apart parallel shackle channels (bores that receive the respective ends of the shackle; figures 1 and 2) extending through the top into the lock body; a sleeved cam (62) received in the primary channel, the sleeved cam including a sleeve, a cam (15, 38) fixed at an end of the sleeve, a window (opening that receives 22) in the sleeve, and the sleeved cam being rotatable in the primary channel, about a longitudinal axis, from a locked position to an unlocked position; a vending style lock (20) within the sleeve, the vending style lock having a locked state and an unlocked state, including a lug (22), the lug being movable from a retracted position, when the vending style lock is in the unlocked state, to an extended position, when the vending style lock is in the locked state, and the lug being aligned with the window of the sleeve, and the lug being about flush with the window the vending style lock is in the unlocked state in the retracted position (allowing for removal or insertion of the vending style lock) and the lug extending through the window in the extended position the vending style lock is in the locked state (as shown in figure 2); a lug compartment (23) in the lock body, the lug compartment being aligned with the lug when the sleeved cam is in the locked position, the lug extending into the lug compartment when the lug is in the extended position the vending style lock is in the locked state and the sleeved cam is in the locked position, and the lug not extending into the lug compartment when the lug is in the retracted position; a shackle (12), the shackle having a J-shape including a shank, a bend and a free end parallel to the shank, the bend extending from the shank to the free end, the shank and free end of the shackle being at least partially receivable in the pair of shackle channels (figures 1 and 2); a pair of locking members (11), the cam being disposed between a first locking member of the pair of locking members and a second locking member of the pair of locking members, and, in the locked position, the cam urging the first locking member against the free end and urging the second locking member against the shank of the shackle (figures 2 and 3), as in claim 1.
Laitala et al. also disclose each of the free end and the shank of the shackle including a notch (17), and the notch of the free end being opposite the notch of the shank and, in the locked position, the notch of the free end and the notch of the shank being aligned with the cam, and, in the locked position, the cam urging the first locking member against the notch in the free end and urging the second locking member against the notch in the shank of the shackle (figure 2), as in claim 2, wherein the notch in the free end being hemispherical, and the notch in the shank each being hemispherical and opposed to the notch in the free end (figures 1 and 2), as in claim 3, and the pair of locking members comprise a pair of metal balls (figures 1 and 2), as in claim 4, as well as in the locked position, the cam urging the first locking member against the notch in the free end and urging the second locking member against the notch in the shank of the shackle (figure 2), as in claim 5.
Laitala et al. further disclose the sleeve further comprising a peripheral fenestration extending about 90° around the sleeve (paragraph 21), as in claim 6, wherein the lock body further comprising a threaded channel aligned with the peripheral fenestration (bore that receives 24), as in claim 7, and a set screw (24) received in the threaded channel and a tip of the set screw extends into the peripheral fenestration, as in claim 8, as well as the tip of the set screw does not exert rotation preventing force against the vending style lock (paragraph 35), as in claim 9.
Laitala et al. additionally disclose the lock body being a solid integrally formed structure, the primary channel being a first bore, each shackle channel of the pair of spaced apart parallel shackle channels being a second bore, and the lug compartment being an undercut in one of the shackle channels of the pair of spaced apart parallel shackle channels (construction of the padlock is shown in figures 1 and 2), as in claim 10, and the vending style lock includes a tubular keyway (figures 5-8), as in claim 11, as well as the lock body further comprises a threaded access channel (23) extending, in alignment with the cam, through one of the shackle channels of the pair of spaced apart parallel shackle channels (figures 3 and 4), as in claim 12.
Laitala et al. further disclose a padlock (10) comprising: a lock body (14) with a bottom and a top, a primary channel (28) extending through the bottom into the lock body, a pair of spaced apart parallel shackle channels (bores that receive the respective ends of the shackle; figures 1 and 2) extending through the top into the lock body; a sleeved cam (62) received in the primary channel, the sleeved cam including a sleeve, a cam (15, 38) fixed at an end of the sleeve, a window (opening that receives 22) in the sleeve, and the sleeved cam being rotatable in the primary channel, about a longitudinal axis, from a locked position to an unlocked position; a lock plug (20) within the sleeve, the lock plug being rotatable with the sleeved cam, and the lock plug having a locked state and an unlocked state and including a lug (22), the lug being movable from a retracted position when the lock plug is in the unlocked state to an extended position when the lock plug is in the locked state, the lug being aligned with the window of the sleeve, the lug being substantially flush with the window when in the retracted position and the lock plug is in the unlocked state (allowing for removal or insertion of the lock plug), and the lug extending through the window when in the extended position and the lock plug is in the locked state (as shown in figure 2); a lug compartment (23) in the lock body, the lug compartment being aligned with the lug when the sleeved cam is in the locked position, the lug extending into the lug compartment when the lug is in the extended position and the sleeved cam is in the locked position, and the lug not extending into the lug compartment when the lug is in the retracted position; a shackle (12), the shackle including a shank, an intermediate section, and a free end parallel to the shank, the intermediate section extending from the shank to the free end, the shank and free end of the shackle being at least partially receivable in the pair of shackle channels (figures 1 and 2); a pair of solid metal balls (11), the cam being disposed between a first solid metal ball and a second solid metal ball, and, in the locked position, the cam urging the first solid metal ball against the free end and urging the second solid metal ball against the shank of the shackle (figures 2 and 3), as in claim 13.
Laitala et al. additionally disclose each of the free end and the shank of the shackle including a notch (17), and the notch of the free end being opposite the notch of the shank and, in the locked position, the notch of the free end and the notch of the shank being aligned with the cam, and, in the locked position, the cam urging the first solid metal ball against the notch in the free end and urging the second solid metal ball against the notch in the shank of the shackle, and the notch in the free end being hemispherical, and the notch in the shank each being hemispherical and opposed to the notch in the free end (as shown in figures 1-4), as in claim 14, wherein, in the locked position, the cam urging the first solid metal ball against the notch in the free end and urging the second solid metal ball against the notch in the shank of the shackle (figure 2), as in claim 15.
Laitala et al. also disclose the sleeve further comprising a peripheral fenestration extending about 90° around the sleeve (paragraph 21); and the lock body further comprising a threaded channel aligned with the peripheral fenestration; and a set screw (24) received in the threaded channel and a tip of the set screw extends into the peripheral fenestration (paragraph 35), as in claim 16, wherein the tip of the set screw does not exert rotation preventing force against the lock plug (paragraph 35), as in claim 17.
Laitala et al. further disclose the lock body being a solid integrally formed structure, the primary channel being a first bore, each shackle channel of the pair of spaced apart parallel shackle channels being a second bore, and the lug compartment being an undercut in one of the shackle channels of the pair of spaced apart parallel shackle channels (construction of the padlock is shown in figures 1 and 2), as in claim 18, and the lock plug includes a tubular keyway (figures 5-8), as in claim 19, as well as the lock body further comprises a threaded access channel (23) extending, in alignment with the cam, through one of the shackle channels of the pair of spaced apart parallel shackle channels (figures 3 and 4), as in claim 20.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to the applicant’s argument that Laitala et al. do not disclose the lug as having two discrete operating states tied to key rotation, the examiner respectfully states there is no recitation or limitation within the claims requiring the use of a key to transition the lug from its respective operating states.
In regards to the argument that Laitala et al. do not disclose the lug requires the lock be in an unlocked rotational state in order for the lug to retract, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The padlock must be in an unlocked condition to allow the lug to be retracted, allowing for access to the lug through openings 23 and 25. When the padlock is in the locked state, the shackle blocks access to the lug.
Responding to the argument that Laitala et al. do not disclose the lug extends into a lug compartment in the lock body when the sleeved cam is in the locked position and the lug is in the extended position, and does not extend into the lug compartment when in the retracted position, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Laitala et al. discloses when the sleeve cam is fully inserted and the lock cylinder is on a locked position, the lug (22) extends through the sleeve window and the into the lug compartment (23) to prevent the lock cylinder from being removed from the padlock. Conversely, when the lug is in a retracted position, it is moved longitudinally from the lug compartment into the lock cylinder to allow removal of the lock cylinder from the padlock.
Regarding the applicant’s argument, as best under stood, that the Examiner relies on opening 24 and element 22 to meet the limitations of the sleeve window and the lug, respectfully, the examiner disagrees. It is noted the Examiner utilized element 24 as a set screw received in a threaded channel in the lock body, accordingly the applicant’s argument is unclear as to the basis of the remarks as the alleged association is not found with the previous or current rejection.
In response to the argument that Laitala et al. do not disclose the lug extending into a lug compartment only when the lock is locked, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The lug assumes a locked condition only when it is in an extended position that interlocks with the lug compartment 23.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER J BOSWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675
CJB /cb/
June 10, 2026