Non-Final Office Action
DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Notes
(a) Claim date: 03/02/2026.
(b) Priority date: 10/16/2020.
(c) Withdrawn claim 18-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC 102
The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:A person shall be entitled to a patent unless:(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.Claims 1-3, 6-8, 14, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the prior art of record “ZICK” <GB 2424694 A>.(As to claim 1, ZICK discloses):1. (Original) A charger, comprising [pg. 5, “A battery charger (e.g., a power tool battery charger”:
a housing, defining a base and a supporting part, the supporting part being arranged on the base [pg. 6, “housing and a base portion including a base housing”],
a charging position, arranged on the base and distributed around the supporting part [Pg. 6, “the base housing between a closed position, in which the light source is at least partially covered by the base housing, and an open position”],
a charging port, arranged on the charging position and matched with a battery pack [Pg. “As shown in Figs. 9 and I OA- I OC, a port 82 is provided to connect the battery pack B to the lighting unit 10. In the illustrated construction, two ports 82 are provided on the battery section 46 of the base housing 42. In the illustrated construction, each port 82 is operable to support an associated battery pack B on the lighting unit 10 and to electrically connect the associated battery pack B to the electrical circuit 62.”], and
a first heat dissipation unit, arranged on the supporting part for heat dissipation of the battery pack [pg. 10, “dissipate any heat generated by, for example, the light source 26”].
(As to claim 2, ZICK discloses):2. (Original) The charger according to claim 1, wherein the supporting part comprising:
a first wall, arranged opposite to the battery pack, and a second wall, located between two adjacent charging positions [Fig. 4 and 5].
(As to claim 3, ZICK discloses):3. (Original) The charger according to claim 2, wherein the supporting part comprising:
a first vent, arranged on the first wall and used to allow air to flow in and out, and a second vent, arranged on the second wall and used to allow air to flow in and out [Fig. 3, element 54, and pg. 10, “air flow passages”].
(As to claim 6, ZICK discloses):6. (Original) The charger according to claim 1, wherein when the battery pack is connected with the charging position, the battery pack is inclined toward the supporting part [Fig. 1, battery pack 8 in charging position near the inclined supporting path (34)].
(As to claim 7, ZICK discloses):7. (Original) The charger according to claim 6, wherein an angle a is provided between the battery pack and the vertical direction, and the angle a is between 0° and 100 [Fig. 4 and 5. With respect to the hinge (38A), the angular freedom shown by the two pieces (18A, 58A) is between 0 degree to 180 degree]
(As to claim 8, ZICK discloses):8. (Original) The charger according to claim 1, wherein the charging position comprises a bearing wall to carry the battery pack, and an angle between the bearing wall and a horizontal plane is between 0° and 10° [Fig. 1. The bearing wall that carries the battery pack is horizontal, meaning at 0 degree (i.e. Withing the range of 0-10 degree)].
(As to claim 14, ZICK discloses):14. (Original) The charger according to claim 1, wherein a ratio of a height of the supporting part to a height of the base is greater than 1.5 [From the visual, one ordinary skilled in the art would agree that the supporting part height (48, 34 or 22) is more than 1.5 times higher compared to the height of the base (42)].
(As to claim 15, ZICK discloses):15.(Original) The charger according to claim 1, wherein a height of the base is between 4 cm and 8 cm [Fig. 7. Refer to the charger base height with respect to the supporting mount (metal support) width.].
Allowable Subject Matter
The following claims would be allowable if all rejections/objections cited in this office action (if any) are overcome and rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.The reason for this allowance is: the claimed subject matter could not have been anticipated or obviated using any prior arts.Allowable claims are: 4-5, 9-13 and 16-17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record in the form PTO-892 are not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.Contact information:Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MOHAMMED ALAM whose telephone number is (571) 270-1507, email address: [mohammed.alam@uspto.gov] and fax number (571) 270-2507. The examiner can normally be reached on 10AM to 4PM (EST), Monday to Friday. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's Supervisor, JACK CHIANG can be reached on (571) 272-7483. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300./Mohammed Alam/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851