DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Argument
Amendment and argument filed on 02/04/2026 is considered. Independent claims 1, 7, 9 and 17 are amended. Claims 2, 3, 10 and 11 are cancelled.
Claim rejection under 35 U.S.C 103: Applicant argues “Claims 1-4, 7-12, 15-17, and 20 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velderman (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0099575) in view of Park (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0002019). At least for the following reasons, the rejection is respectfully traversed.
Independent claim 1 has been amended to recite "in response to the battery connection condition being satisfied, generating, by the battery controller, a connection indication signal comprising a connection timestamp associated with a time at which a connection of the given battery to the additional battery within the battery stack or to the charging station is completed." (Emphasis added). Neither of the cited references, alone or in combination, teaches or suggests these features.
The Office Action cites paragraph [0229] of Velderman for "a connection timestamp associated with the given battery in response to the battery connection condition being satisfied" recited in independent claim 17. The cited paragraph describes data-logging information including the length of time the battery packs are used, charge cycles, or shutdowns, which relate to historical usage data stored in a database, not real-time connection timestamps generated when battery connections are established. However, Velderman does not describe a connection timestamp associated with a time at which a connection of the given battery to the additional battery within the battery stack or to the charging station is completed.
The Office Action cites paragraph [0196] of Velderman for "transmitting, by the battery controller, the connection timestamp and battery identification information associated with the given battery to a battery stack controller using a wired communication protocol." The cited paragraph describes a clock in a battery printed circuit assembly (PCA) 314 that generates an expiration disable signal to disable the battery pack after a certain rental period has ended. However, this processing relates to rental period management, not connection timestamp associated with the time at which the connection of the battery to another battery within the stack or to a charging station is completed, as described in paragraphs [0027-31] of the present application.
For at least these reasons, Velderman does not teach or suggest "in response to the battery connection condition being satisfied, generating, by the battery controller, a connection indication signal comprising a connection timestamp associated with a time at which a connection of the given battery to the additional battery within the battery stack or to the charging station is completed," as recited in amended claim 1.
Park is relied on for suggesting "controlling, by the central controller, an operation of a robot based on the location of the given battery." Park, however, does not make up for the above-discussed deficiencies of Velderman.
Because the combination of the cited prior art fails to disclose or suggest each and every feature recited in independent claim 1, claim 1 is patentable over Velderman in view of Park.
Independent claims 9 and 17 are amended to recite similar features as claim 1, and are thus likewise patentable over the cited prior art. Withdrawal of the rejection and allowance of claims 9 and 17 are respectfully requested.”
Examiner respectfully disagree because Velderman in paragraph [0145] teaches status monitoring of the battery connection to the charger, by providing a on or off signal. On signal is viewed to be the battery is connected to the charger. Paragraph [0194] discuss status diagnosis (i.e., to check if the battery is connected to the charger) and provide data logging (i.e., records time or timestamp at which the connection of the battery to the charger is satisfied and/or completed). The applicant argued section for rental period or history record in relation to battery is some of the examples provided in paragraph [0229] in relation to a datalogger. Examiner views the Data logging has a broader meaning and widely used in recording starting, ending or connection/disconnection time of devices such as batteries, which Velderman teaches or suggests.
Furthermore, for the purpose of reference for data logging, please see Saito et US 20150294329 A1, paragraph [0021], Sugiyama et al US 20160049814 A1, paragraph [0118-0119] Fig. 11 (graph- as a datalogger with time) and also in Frank US 20130318519 A1, paragraph [0050]. Based on the above discussion, examiner views Velderman also teaches the amended limitations. Therefore, the combination of Velderman and Park teach the amended independent claims 1, 9 and 17. The dependent claims are likewise taught by the applied prior arts in the non-final office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,4, 7,8, 9,12, 15-17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velderman et al (US 20160099575 A1) herein after “Velderman” in view of Park et al (US 20140002019 A1) herein after “Park”.
Regarding claim 17 Velderman teaches, A method comprising:
determining, by a battery controller, whether a battery connection condition of a given battery from among a plurality of batteries disposed within a battery stack is satisfied ([0145] Referring to FIG. 10, a pack status monitor (PSM) 36 monitors the voltage or temperature or other parameter of one or more of the cells of each removable battery pack 18. A current controller 38 receives on/off signal from the pack status monitor 36. The current controller 38 communicates with the inverter 32 and turns the inverter 32 off when one or more of the battery pack cells crosses a discharge threshold).
Herein examiner views PSM 36 (i.e., battery controller) provides a connection condition/status (i.e., a current is flowing) of a given battery from among a plurality of batteries 18 disposed within a battery stack. Here examiner views signal on as the connection condition being satisfied.
wherein:
the battery connection condition is satisfied in response to a connector of the given battery being coupled to an additional connector disposed at one of an additional battery from among the plurality of batteries within the battery stack or a charging station (para [0012] The housing comprises an electromechanical interface configured to removably mate/couple with an electromechanical interface of a battery pack wherein the battery pack electromechanical interface is configured to removably mate/couple with an electromechanical interface of a first electrical device.
[0145] Referring to FIG. 10, a pack status monitor (PSM) 36 monitors the voltage or temperature or other parameter of one or more of the cells of each removable battery pack 18. A current controller 38 receives on/off signal from the pack status monitor 36.
[0170] Referring to FIG. 26, there is illustrated an exemplary power supply 10′of FIG. 18 further comprising a charger 56).
From above paragraphs and Fig. 1-5, 26, examiner views a multiple battery 18 connectors and a charger 56 housed, where the housing has removably mate/coupler interface of a battery pack which allow for batteries can be charged, changed and swapped in the connectors of the charger. Paragraph 145 teaches a current controller 38 in the charger communicate on/off signal (i.e., the battery connection condition is satisfied by on signal) from the pack status monitor.
the connector includes a plurality of general-purpose input/output (GPIO) pins (para [205] The terminal block assembly 255 also includes a plurality of connections, for example wires, 272 that connect the terminal block PCB 253 to the charge control PCB 250)
In Fig. 4 examiner views connector includes a plurality of GPIO 272,
a plurality of transmission pins, and a plurality of reception pins; (para [0186] The housing 202 also includes an AC power input connector 212, e.g., a 3 prong 120 VAC male plug or female receptacle, a universal DC power input connector 214 for connecting to a DC power supply ...).
Input connector 212 is viewed as transmission pin and a universal DC power input viewed as reception pin and
the battery connection condition is satisfied in response to the plurality of GPIO pins being physically coupled to the additional connector (para [0206] Referring to FIG. 45, the terminal block assembly 255 is coupled to the charge control PCB 250 by the connections 272.);
In Fig. 45 examiner views terminal block 255 where a battery pack is held with a plurality of GPIO pins (272s) being physically connected to the additional connector of PCB 250 in series, which satisfies the battery connection condition.
in response to the battery connection condition being satisfied, generating, by the battery controller, a connection timestamp associated with a time at which a connection of the given battery to the additional batter within the battery stack or to the charging station is completed(para [0145] Referring to FIG. 10, a pack status monitor (PSM) 36 monitors the voltage or temperature or other parameter of one or more of the cells of each removable battery pack 18. A current controller 38 receives on/off signal from the pack status monitor 36.
[0194] The carrier 200 can communicate with each of the plurality of battery packs 300 for purposes of identifying a particular battery pack 300, performing a status diagnosis of the battery pack 300 and/or reporting data logging associated with the battery pack 300.
[0229] At step 702, each time a carrier 200 is returned to the kiosk 100, the kiosk CPU 140 queries returned carrier 200 for information about the authentication ID (step 704), the state of charge (step 706), the DC impedance (step 708), data-logging information (e.g., time uses, charge cycles, shutdowns, etc.) (step 710), faults (step 712), and charge readiness state (step 714) for each pack in each carrier).
Herein examiner views by a processor using data-logging information of the battery pack generates a connection timestamp of a given battery when the battery connection condition is satisfied (i.e., a time uses, charge cycles of each battery). Under Broadest reason of interpretation (BRI) data logging is also viewed to provide the time or timestamp at which a connection of a given battery to a charging station is completed.
transmitting, by the battery controller, the connection timestamp and battery identification information associated with the given battery to a battery stack controller using a wired communication protocol (para. [0196] Furthermore, the rental PCA 314 may include a clock and generate an expiration disable signal to disable the battery pack after a certain rental period has ended. This disable signal could be transmitted from the battery PCA 314 to the carrier 200. The rental PCA 314 may also include authentication and serial number information for communication to the carrier 200 to ensure that only appropriate battery packs are being used in conjunction with the carrier 200. The battery PCA 314 may also include a processor and a memory element).
Herein examiner views PCA (i.e, battery controller/processor) uses a clock to transmit a connection timestamp and disable the identified battery pack after the end of rental periods to a processor and a memory for storage (i.e., wire communication protocol).
transmitting, by the battery stack controller, the connection timestamp and the battery identification information to a central controller using a wireless communication protocol (para [0215] In another embodiment pictorially illustrated in FIG. 53, the carrier 200 disables at the end of a predetermined rental period (e.g., three days). An indicator LED 280 on the carrier flashes to notify the user to return the carrier 200 to the kiosk. In addition, an alert is transmitted wirelessly to an app on the user's cell phone or tablet computer 840. Via the cell phone or tablet computer 840, the user may renew the rental period for an additional amount of time (e.g., one more day).
para [0029] At step 702, each time a carrier 200 is returned to the kiosk 100, the kiosk CPU 140 queries returned carrier 200 for information about the authentication ID (step 704), the state of charge (step 706), the DC impedance (step 708), data-logging information (e.g., time uses, charge cycles, shutdowns, etc.) (step 710), faults (step 712), and charge readiness state (step 714) for each pack in each carrier. At step 716, this information is stored in the kiosk memory/database module 138, transmitted to the central server 160, and/or associated with one or more user accounts.
In above paragraph 215 examiner views the predetermined rental time (i.e., starting and ending of connection of batteries) or data-logging with time uses of the carrier indicate a connection timestamp and the battery identification information of each battery in the battery carrier is transmitted to user or a computer (i.e., central controller) using a wireless protocol.
monitoring, by the central controller, a location of the given battery based on the connection timestamp, the battery identification information and a battery identification model (para [0229] At step 702, each time a carrier 200 is returned to the kiosk 100, the kiosk CPU 140 queries returned carrier 200 for information about the authentication ID (step 704), the state of charge (step 706), the DC impedance (step 708), data-logging information (e.g., time uses, charge cycles, shutdowns, etc.) (step 710), faults (step 712), and charge readiness state (step 714) for each pack in each carrier. At step 716, this information is stored in the kiosk memory/database module 138, transmitted to the central server 160, and/or associated with one or more user accounts.); and
From the Kiosk, CPU 140 (i.e., central controller) receives or monitors data related to location of the each or given battery based on the returned time of carrier 200 (that includes batteries) and data logging (is viewed to include battery information, charge states, use time or connection time and battery identification model of each battery located in the carrier 200).
Park teaches controlling, by the central controller, an operation of a robot based on the location of the given battery (para [0025] Referring to FIGS. 1 to 3, the battery exchanging type charging station system for an electric vehicle 200 in accordance with an embodiment of the inventive concept may include a rechargeable battery 10 mounted on a battery mounting module 210 of the electric vehicle 200, a charging station body 20 in which a fully charged battery is stored and a battery replacing operation is performed, a battery replacing robot 30, a information recognition unit 40, and a charging station control unit 50 that allows a replacing operation of the battery 10 to be performed by controlling the battery replacing robot 30 according to information obtained from the information recognition unit 40.)
Above in Fig. 2 shows robot 30 is operated to a position or location of a given battery 10 at a charging station 20 by a control unit (i.e., central controller).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Li into Velderman for the purpose of controlling a robot to capture a given charged battery in its location, so that the charged battery is replaced for a vehicle.
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected as claim 17 above having same claim limitation.
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected as claim 17 above having same claim limitation. (please see limitation with GPIO pins being physically coupled to the additional connector.)
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Velderman and Park teach the method of Claim 17, Velderman teaches wherein monitoring the location of the given battery based on the connection timestamp and the battery identification information further comprises storing, by the central controller, the battery identification information and the connection timestamp as a database entry of a battery location database (para [0229] At step 702, each time a carrier 200 is returned to the kiosk 100, the kiosk CPU 140 queries returned carrier 200 for information about the authentication ID (step 704), the state of charge (step 706), the DC impedance (step 708), data-logging information (e.g., time uses, charge cycles, shutdowns, etc.) (step 710), faults (step 712), and charge readiness state (step 714) for each pack in each carrier. At step 716, this information is stored in the kiosk memory/database module 138, transmitted to the central server 160, and/or associated with one or more user accounts.); and
Examiner views from the Kiosk, the Central server 160 (i.e., central controller) receives data related to location of the given battery based on the returned time of carrier 200 (that includes batteries) and data logging is viewed to include battery information and battery identification model of each battery in the carrier 200). All of the above information are stored in a memory or a database 138, and wherein the method further comprises:
determining, by the battery controller and in response to generating the database entry (para [0229] At step 702, each time a carrier 200 is returned to the kiosk 100, the kiosk CPU 140 queries returned carrier 200 for information… information is stored in the kiosk memory/database module 138, transmitted to the central server 160 ), whether a battery disconnection condition of the given battery is satisfied (para [0192] Generally speaking, when the switch 222 is in the discharge position, a discharge signal is sent to the SMU 250. In turn, the SMU 250 sends a signal to the inverter 266 to turn the inverter 266 on, sends a signal to the power supply 262, 264 to turn the power supply 262, 264 off, and selectively sends a signal to the switches 258 to selectively open the switches 258 to disconnect the battery packs 300 from the power supplies 262, 264)
Above examiner views the discharging status of the battery as the disconnection condition of the battery being satisfied where the batteries are selectively disconnected from the power supplies.
and updating, by the central controller and in response to the battery disconnection condition being satisfied, the database entry to include a disconnection timestamp and the battery identification information, wherein the location is based on the connection timestamp and the disconnection timestamp (para [0192] Generally speaking, when the switch 222 is in the discharge position, a discharge signal is sent to the SMU 250. …sends a signal to the power supply 262, 264 to turn the power supply 262, 264 off, and selectively sends a signal to the switches 258 to selectively open the switches 258 to disconnect the battery packs 300 from the power supplies 262, 264.
[0215] In another embodiment pictorially illustrated in FIG. 53, the carrier 200 disables at the end of a predetermined rental period (e.g., three days). An indicator LED 280 on the carrier flashes to notify the user to return the carrier 200 to the kiosk. In addition, an alert is transmitted wirelessly to an app on the user's cell phone or tablet computer 840. Via the cell phone or tablet computer 840, the user may renew the rental period for an additional amount of time (e.g., one more day).
(para [0229] At step 702, each time a carrier 200 is returned to the kiosk 100, the kiosk CPU 140 queries returned carrier 200 for information about the authentication ID (step 704), the state of charge (step 706), the DC impedance (step 708), data-logging information (e.g., time uses, charge cycles, shutdowns, etc.) (step 710), faults (step 712), and charge readiness state (step 714) for each pack in each carrier. At step 716, this information is stored in the kiosk memory/database module 138, transmitted to the central server 160, and/or associated with one or more user accounts).
In above paragraphs examiner views at each time the carrier 200 is returned the database entry made (i.e., updated) to include a disconnection timestamp (the battery disconnection condition being satisfied (i.e., battery discharge status or end of rental period of batteries)), and the battery identification information, wherein the location is based on the connection timestamp and the disconnection timestamp (data logging is viewed to include battery information and battery identification model of each battery in the carrier 200. The data logging provides the time use of each battery, charge cycles, shutdowns in the carrier 200, which determines which battery (i.e., location of battery) in the carrier was connected or disconnected/shutdown at a particular time. Examiner views, the applicant uses the above idea to be implemented by a central controller or a processor.
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected as claim 20 above having same claim limitation.
Regarding claim 8 and 16 the combination of Velderman and Park teach controlling the operation of the robot based on the location of the given battery further comprises autonomously navigating the robot to retrieve the given battery (Park, para [0072] In the battery exchanging type charging station system for an electric vehicle according to the inventive concept, since reservation for replacing a battery may be performed in advance and a battery can be rapidly exchanged by a robot while the electric vehicle enters in a state in which a corresponding battery (or a single type of battery) is prepared according to the reservation information, the replacement operation of the battery can be rapidly performed… In addition, since all the replacement operations can be accurately handled by a robot automatically, convenience and safety can be improved.).
From above paragraph and Fig. 2, 5, 6 examiner views a autonomous robot operation is controlled based on the location of a battery to be replaced in a vehicle.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Park into Velderman for the purpose of using a robot for automatically detecting the location of a battery to be exchanged in a vehicle, so that a safety and convenience can be improved.
Claim(s) 5, 13, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Velderman and Park in view of Riley et al (US 20230360451 A1) herein after “Riley”.
Regarding claim 18 , the combination of Velderman and Park teach the method of claim 17, the combination do not clearly teach wherein the given battery, the battery controller, and the battery stack controller are communicably coupled via the wired communication protocol, and wherein the wired communication protocol includes a universal asynchronous receiver/transmitter (UART) protocol, an inter-integrated circuits (I2C) protocol, a serial peripheral interface (SPI) protocol, or a combination thereof.
Riely teaches wherein the given battery, the battery controller, and the battery stack controller are communicably coupled via the wired communication protocol, and wherein the wired communication protocol includes a universal asynchronous receiver/transmitter (UART) protocol, an inter-integrated circuits (I2C) protocol, a serial peripheral interface (SPI) protocol, or a combination thereof (para [0020] The CAN module 115 can connect to the battery pack 110. The battery pack 110 can include at least one battery management system 120. The battery management system 120 of the battery pack 110 can implement CAN communication. The CAN communication can be performed over a CAN bus. The CAN module 115 can connect with the battery management system 120 via the CAN bus to receive data from the battery management system 120, e.g., at least one data packet 195. The CAN module 115 can communicate the data received over the CAN bus to the data processing system 105 via a different communication protocol, e.g., USB, serial peripheral interface (SPI), inter-integrated circuit (I2C), universal asynchronous receiver-transmitter (UART), universal synchronous asynchronous receiver-transmitter (USART), PS/2.).
Mozayeni teaches a wired communication protocol for connecting devices. The person skilled in the art would utilize such idea of wired communication protocol in communicating between battery stack controller and the battery controller.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Riley into Velderman for the purpose of connecting battery and the controller using wired communication protocol that includes a universal asynchronous receiver/transmitter (UART) protocol, an inter-integrated circuits (I2C) protocol, a serial peripheral interface (SPI) protocol, or a combination thereof, so that the wired communication between the devices, battery stack and controller can be performed.
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected as claim 18 above having same claim limitation.
Claim(s) 6, 14, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Velderman and Park in view of Mozayeni (US 20210037340 A1).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Velderman and Park teach the method of Claim 17, the combination does not clearly teach wherein the battery stack controller and the central controller are communicably coupled via the wireless communication protocol, and wherein the wireless communication protocol includes one of a message queuing telemetry transport (MQTT) protocol and an ultra-wideband (UWB) protocol.
Mozayeni teaches the wireless communication protocol, and wherein the wireless communication protocol includes one of a message queuing telemetry transport (MQTT) protocol and an ultra-wideband (UWB) protocol. (para [0025] By way of example only, the types of wireless protocols and technologies that may be used in the various embodiments and examples described herein may include near field communication (NFC), Ultra Wideband (UWB), radio frequency identification (RFID), Message Queue Telemetry Transport (MQTT).
Mozayeni teaches a wireless communication protocol for connecting devices. The person skilled in the art would utilize such ideas of wireless communication protocol in communicating between battery stack controller and the central controller.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Mozayeni into Velderman for the purpose of connecting battery and the controller using wireless communication protocol that includes MQTT and UWB, so that the communication between the battery pack and the controller can be wirelessly performed.
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected as claim 19 above having same claim limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Ishii et al (US 20230307925A1) discusses monitoring battery connection condition in battery packs.
Takada et al (US 20160193925 A1) discuss battery control system.
Mitsui (US 20220311250 A1) discusses a power supply system and control device.
/SHARAD TIMILSINA/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857