DETAILED ACTION
1.This is a Final Office Action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on November 21, 2025. At this time, claims 1-2 and 11-12 have been amended. No claim has been added or cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending and addressed below.
Response to Amendments
As to Claims 1-20, Applicants’ amendment of independent Claims 1 and 11 with newly added feature “ detecting write operations requested by a process with respect to data, wherein the write
operations write changes to the data in a userspace; determining whether the write operations include a request to transmit the data, by the
process, to a recipient that is unknown or unauthorized and external to the userspace;
“[Claims 1-20] has necessitated a new ground(s) of rejection in this Office action. Therefore, Applicants’ arguments filed on 11/21/2025 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection because the arguments do not apply to any of the updated reference(s) being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over MacLeod, US pat. No 20180351969 in view of Stickle, US pat. No 11170104 in further view of Speirs, US pat. No US 20080052468 A1 in further view of Thyamagondlu, US 20200151120 A1.
1. MacLeod discloses a method, (See MacLeod, abstract; a method for real-time detection of and protection from steganography in a kernel mode comprises detecting transmission of a file via a firewall, an operating system, or an e-mail system.) comprising: detecting write operations requested by a process with respect to data,[[ wherein the write operations write changes to the data in a userspace;]] (See MacLeod, [0037]; In one embodiment, the I/O manager 120 detects file operation requests (e.g., read, write, file open, etc.) that are received by the managed node 100. The filter manager 125 may determine, from a file handle corresponding to the file operation request, whether the file operation request corresponds to an operation of interest.) when it is determined that the write operations include the request to transmit the data to the unknown or unauthorized recipient, disabling the write operations to the data; (See MacLeod, [0071]; the network 110 receives responses from the managed node 100 and forwards the responses to the client devices. See also [0050]; the security manager 115 may transmit a signal or message to the managed node 100 to execute a malware remediation action. The malware remediation action may include terminating a rite operation associated with a detected file operation request. The malware remediation action may include terminating the detected file operation request by deleting the detected file operation request from memory. The malware remediation action may include isolating a disk file image associated with the identified process.) and alerting a security protocol that the process is a suspected ransomware process. (See MacLeod, [0063]; [0087] , In the entropy determination above, H is the total entropy and P.sub.i is the value of the byte read from the appended payload. Encrypted and obfuscated files usually have a much higher entropy than plain text or structured data files. The entropy H may be compared to an entropy threshold. An entropy above the threshold indicates that the appended payload is likely to be encrypted or compressed, and so it could be affected by ransomware. The malware analytics module 140 may perform entropy calculations on sections (buffers) or the entire appended payload to detect hidden or encrypted copies of malware (“packed”) hidden in the appended payload.)
MacLeod does not appear to explicitly disclose for subsequent requested write operations, logging differentials associated with those subsequent requested write operations;
However, Stickle discloses for subsequent requested write operations, logging differentials associated with those subsequent requested write operations; (See Stickle, col 2, lines 5-29; the data patterns of file operations (e.g., both read and write operations) may be monitored during a predetermined time period for files in a file system to collect a set of training data. The data patterns related to the set of training data may be recorded during the monitoring. A machine learning model may be constructed according to the recorded training data to establish a machine learning model that may detect when unexpected changes are occurring with respect to files and file attributes in a file system or backup file system. For example, a regression model may be used in the machine learning model to identify unexpected changes for a group of files.)
MacLeod and stickle are analogous art because they are from the same filed of endeavor which is ransomware attack. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of MacLeod with the teaching of Stickle to include the recording of changes to the file because it would have been used to identify whether or not the filesystem has been under attack.
The combination of MacLeod and stickle does not appear to explicitly disclose determining whether the write operations include a request to transmit the data, by the process, to a recipient that is unknown or unauthorized and external to the userspace. However, Speirs discloses determining whether the write operations include a request to transmit the data, by the process, to a recipient that is unknown or unauthorized and external to the userspace; (See Speirs, [0046-0049]; [0046] Following start 22 a destination address is received at 24 when a process (e.g. running instance of a program) desires a write operation 26, for instance, store input data, output data, variable data, etc. In any event, the desired write operation has a corresponding address (or address range) in memory which is requested, and the beginning of this address is referred to herein as the "destination" address. Method 20 depicts a scenario in which the destination address is considered at 28 to be illegitimate so that the process may then be alerted at 210 of a potential buffer overflow condition.
More particularly, a monitoring component 32 is provided to monitor the executing process 24 such that, when a write operation is desired by the process at 34, monitoring component 32 receives at 26 the destination address corresponding to the requested write operation. A buffer overflow detection component 38 ascertains at 310 whether the destination address corresponds to a legitimate writable memory segment. If not, then the alert is preferably issued to the process at 210. If, on the other hand, a legitimate writable memory segment is involved, then the process can optionally be provided with its identification at 312. For purposes of determining a potential buffer overflow condition, the terms "legitimate" and "illegitimate" are used do described the memory segment(s) corresponding to the desired write operation. The term "illegitimate writable memory" is intended to refer to a segment of memory that should not be written to by a user process, while the term "legitimate writable memory" is intended to refer to a segment of memory into which a user process has a valid reason for writing data. )
MacLeod, stickle and Speirs are analogous art because they are from the same filed of endeavor which is data communication. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of MacLeod and Stickle with the teaching of Speirs to include the write operation because it would have been used to identify whether or not the system has been under attack.
The combination of MacLeod, stickle and Speirs does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the write operations write changes to the data in a userspace;
However, Thyamagondlu discloses wherein the write operations write changes to the data in a userspace; (See Thyamagondlu, [0092] In one or more embodiments, runtime 128 provides input/output control (IOCTL) system calls for input/output operations relating to IC 104 that can be invoked to create, destroy, start, stop, and modify read and/or write requests. In particular embodiments, these system calls are not available to user space applications executing in host system 102. Runtime 128 further may provide Portable Operating System Interface (POSIX) read/write functions and asynchronous I/O (AIO) read/write functions that are available to user space applications executed within host system 102.)
MacLeod, stickle, Speirs and Thyamagondlu are analogous art because they are from the same filed of endeavor which is data communication. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of MacLeod, Stickle and Speirs with the teaching of Thyamagondlu to include the userspace because it would have allowed monitoring of user generated data.
2. The combination of MacLeod and stickle and Speirs and Thyamagondlu discloses the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the process runs in the userspace. (See MacLeod, [0025], fig 3; user mode)
3. The combination of MacLeod, stickle, Speirs and Thyamagondlu discloses the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the determining, the disabling, and the logging, are performed in a kernel space. (See MacLeod, fig 3; [0028]; remediation action, such as terminating, kernel mode)
4. The combination of MacLeod, stickle, Speirs and Thyamagondlu discloses the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the suspected ransomware process is determined to be a ransomware process of a type in which data targeted by the ransomware process is first transmitted to an attacker, and then encrypted, by the ransomware process. (See MacLeod, [0025], [0043], [0063]; In one embodiment, a file operation request initiated by a process running in user mode is detected. Malware detection analytics are performed on a file buffer associated with the detected file operation request to detect behavior indicating presence of malware. Responsive to detecting the behavior indicating presence of the malware, the process responsible for initiating the detected file operation request is identified. A search for the identified process is performed on one or more of a blacklist of programs and a whitelist of programs to determine whether the identified process is a trusted process. Responsive to determining that the identified process is not a trusted process, a malware remediation action is executed against the identified process. Information describing the malware is transmitted to a client device.)
5. The combination of MacLeod, stickle, Speirs and Thyamagondlu discloses the method as recited in claim 1, wherein when the suspected ransomware process is determined to not be a ransomware process, the differentials are automatically applied to the data in response to a request for the data by a caller. (See MacLeod, [0098]; restore the file)
6. The combination of MacLeod, stickle, Speirs and Thyamagondlu discloses the method as recited in claim 1, wherein detecting the write operations comprises monitoring respective inodes of one or more files. (See Stickle, Col 10, lines 45-60; fig 3) MacLeod, stickle and Speirs and Thyamagondlu are analogous art because they are from the same filed of endeavor which is ransomware attack. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of MacLeod and Speirs and Thyamagondlu with the teaching of Stickle to include the recording of changes to the file because it would have been used to identify whether or not the filesystem has been under attack.
7. The combination of MacLeod, stickle, Speirs and Thyamagondlu discloses the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the differentials are logged in a journal outside of the data to which the subsequent requested write operations are directed. (See Stickle, fig 1) MacLeod, stickle and Speirs and Thyamagondlu are analogous art because they are from the same filed of endeavor which is ransomware attack. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of MacLeod, Speirs and Thyamagondlu with the teaching of Stickle to include the recording of changes to the file because it would have been used to identify whether or not the filesystem has been under attack.
8. The combination of MacLeod, stickle, Speirs and Thyamagondlu discloses the method as recited in claim 1, wherein prior to determining whether the write operations include the request to transmit the data, by the process, to the unknown or unauthorized recipient the data is modified according to prior write operations. (See Stickle, Col 2, lines 17-25)
MacLeod, stickle, Speirs and Thyamagondlu are analogous art because they are from the same filed of endeavor which is ransomware attack. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of MacLeod and Speirs and Thyamagondlu with the teaching of Stickle to include the modification because it would have been used to format the data accordingly.
9. The combination of MacLeod, stickle and Speirs, Thyamagondlu discloses the method as recited in claim 1, wherein disabling the write operations to the data prevents encryption of the data by the suspected ransomware process. (See MacLeod, [0050-0051])
10. The combination of MacLeod, stickle, Speirs and Thyamagondlu discloses the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the data comprises files and/or blocks. (See stickle, col 2, lines 5-15) MacLeod and stickle and Speirs are analogous art because they are from the same filed of endeavor which is ransomware attack. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of MacLeod, Speirs and Thyamagondlu with the teaching of Stickle to include the file/blocks because it would have been used to format the data accordingly.
11. As to claim 11, the claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1. See the rejection of claim 1 above.
12. As to claim 12, the claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2. See the rejection of claim 2 above.
13. As to claim 13, the claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3. See the rejection of claim 3 above.
14. As to claim 14, the claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4. See the rejection of claim 4 above.
15. As to claim 15, the claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5. See the rejection of claim 5 above.
16. As to claim 16, the claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6. See the rejection of claim 6 above.
17. As to claim 17, the claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7. See the rejection of claim 7 above.
18. As to claim 18, the claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8. See the rejection of claim 8 above.
19. As to claim 19, the claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 9. See the rejection of claim 9 above.
20. As to claim 20, the claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 10. See the rejection of claim 10 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DUBEYKO, US 20170316047 A1, title “ GENERALIZED VERIFICATION SCHEME FOR SAFE METADATA MODIFICATION .“ [0040] FIG. 5 is a flowchart depicting an exemplary verification process 500 responsive to a write request for changing content (metadata or user data) in a file system volume according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. Such a modification request typically is generated by a file system driver, a special user space utility capable of modifying any physical sector in the file system volume, or a specialized user-space utility capable of working with volume of some file system by extracting data or modifying file system states. During verification, the write request is analyzed to extract pertinent information, which is checked against the stored verified area legend related to the metadata. In this example, the extracted information includes a Logical Block Address (LBA), presence of a known magic signature, a number of blocks, and a node size.
Armangu, US pat. No 11755733, title “ Identifying ransomware host attacker “.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Date: 12/23/2025
/JOSNEL JEUDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2438