DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment/Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 07/07/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined in this office action.
Claims 1, 3, 10, 19 have been amended.
No new claim has been added and no claim has been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 07/07/2026, with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See GO5730 et al. (US 20230275730 A1; hereinafter as “GO5730”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. (US 20240049007 A1; hereinafter as “ZHANG”; which has a priority dated August 1, 2022) in view of AKULA et al. (US 20190052328 A1; hereinafter as “AKULA”) and further in view of GO5730 et al. (US 20230275730 A1; hereinafter as “GO5730”, which has priority date October 6, 2021).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to ZHANG unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independence claim:
Regarding claim 10, ZHANG teaches,
A wireless device configured for carrier aggregation (CA) (figure. 9: UE with carrier aggregation capability), the wireless device (==UE) comprising:
an original antenna configuration including multiple antennas (aforesaid UE support 2D Antenna arrays : [0120]; “ UE 116 is configured as a mobile phone or a smart phone, UEs may be configured to operate as other types of mobile or fixed devices.”: [0135]; UE with multiple antennas: ]0139]-[0140]; “ For MIMO, as a UE capability, it has been indicated for a first type of UE (a Type1 UE) and a second type of UE (a Type2 UE). The Type1 UE supports collocated carrier aggregation and for the Type1 UE, both ENDC and NRCA are indicated. The Type2 UE supports non-collocated carrier aggregation. For the Type2 UE, only the inter-band ENDC is indicated. However, with respect to the Type2 UE, it is not indicated for an intra-band NRCA. Therefore, the present disclosure proposes to add definition of the intra-band NRCA for the Type2 UE.”: {0152]);
a memory storing instructions (see fig. 3A: UE with memory: [0092], [0129]-[0130]); and
a processor executing the stored instructions to perform operations (see fig. 3a: processor connected to memory: [0129]-[0131]) including,
receiving at the wireless device capable of CA, a user equipment (UE) capability enquiry from a network (==gNB)) (see fig. 9, UE receiving “ UE CapabalityEnquiry” from gNB: “ Step 2: The network node requests the UE to transmit the capability information, e.g. the network node transmits a “UECapabilityEnquiry” message to the UE. ”: [0287]; UE is NR-CA capable UE: [0289]);
and
sending from the wireless device (==UE), in response to the UE capability enquiry, a UE capability information message (==UE Capability Information Report ) (aforesaid UE sends “UE Capability Information Report” to gNB in response to “UECapabilityEnuiry” “ The UE reports the capability information to the network node based on the request of the network node, e.g., the UE reports a “UECapabilityInformation” message, to report its capability to the network node.”: [0288]; “ It should be noted that the UE may transmit to the network one or more of a first signaling (e.g., which indicates that for intra-band NR-CA, the UE supports the Type2 capability), a second signaling (e.g., which indicates that for intra-band NR-CA or inter-band EN-DC, the UE supports the Type3 or Type4 capability), a third signaling (e.g., which indicates MIMO layer number capability configuration for non-collocated deployment), a fourth signaling (e.g., which indicates Rx Chain number configuration capability), a fifth signaling (e.g., which indicates downlink frequency separation capability for intra-band NR-CA or inter-band EN-DC with overlapping band), a sixth signaling (e.g., which indicates uplink frequency separation capability for intra-band NR-CA or inter-band EN-DC with overlapping band), based on its capability. If the UE reports the first signaling or the second signaling to the network, it indicates that the UE is a UE with a high capability.”[ 0289]).
While ZHANG teaches, UE “ UE capability switching ” in paragraphs [0290]-[0299];
ZHANG does not expressively disclose:
determining, by the UE. an optimized sounding reference signals (SRS) antenna switching configuration during CA based on characteristics of the network:
the UE capability information message having an information element indicating the SRS antenna switching configuration during CA, wherein the optimized SRS antenna switching configuration utilizes fewer antennas than the original SRS antenna switching configuration.
AKULA, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
determining, by the UE. an optimized sounding reference signals (SRS) antenna switching configuration during CA based on characteristics of the network ( “Aspects of the present disclosure provide methods for improved performance for SRS switching in CA. According to certain aspects, the UE determines bands that can be affected by the SRS antenna switching and sends a list of the affected bands to the BS. These lists could be for various band combinations, such as TDD Tx and FDD Rx, TDD Tx and FDD Tx, and/or TDD Tx and FDD Rx and Tx. The BS can use the list of affected bands to determine (e.g., optimize) scheduling for the UE, for example, to avoid or mitigate the effects of antenna switching on those bands.”: [0086]; also see fig. 11: UE is determining “one or more band combinations (e.g., TDD+FDD CA and/or TDD+5G CA configured band combinations) that share an antenna switch. The bands may be for uplink, downlink, or both uplink and downlink.” : [0088]-[0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ZHANG to include the above recited limitations as taught by AKULA. The suggestion/motivation would be improving performance for sounding reference signal (SRS) antenna switching in carrier aggregation (CA). (AKULA; [0002]).
The combination of ZHANG in View of AKULA does not expressively disclose:
the UE capability information message having an information element indicating the SRS antenna switching configuration during CA, wherein the optimized SRS antenna switching configuration utilizes fewer antennas than the original SRS antenna switching configuration.
GO5730, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
the UE capability information message having an information element indicating the SRS antenna switching configuration during CA, wherein the optimized SRS antenna switching configuration utilizes fewer antennas than the original SRS antenna switching configuration (see fig. 11-12 element S1110, S1210: “UE may report, to the BS, that the UE capability related to the antenna switching is “1T4R” by considering up to the panel switching.”: [0350]; UE sends to Base Station UE capability which includes SRS antenna switching information : [0242]; “ When a panel switching guard period is defined as the UE capability information, the Rx panel receiving the DL/UL DCI for triggering the SRS and the Tx panel of the indicated SRS may be different.”: [0358]; SRS transmission of antenna switch include UE support for Tx Antenna chains (==LESS SRS antenna in claim ) is LESS than the number or RX antenna chains (==original antenna in claim) : [0384]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ZHANG in View of AKULA to include the above recited limitations as taught by GO5730. The suggestion/motivation would be to handling of explosively increasing data traffic, significant increase in per-user transmission rate, working with a great number of connecting devices, and support for very low end-to-end latency and high-energy efficiency (GO5730; [0004]).
Regarding claim 1, ZHANG teaches, A method comprising:
receiving, at a user equipment (UE) capable of carrier aggregation (CA) and configured with an original antenna configuration, a user equipment (UE) capability enquiry from a radio access network (RAN) of a network;
determining, by the UE. an optimized sounding reference signals (SRS) antenna switching configuration during CA based on characteristics of the network; and
sending from the UE to the RAN, in response to the UE capability enquiry, a UE capability information message, the UE capability information message having an information element indicating the SRS antenna switching configuration during CA, wherein the optimized SRS antenna switching configuration utilizes fewer antennas than the original SRS antenna switching configuration. (Regarding claim 1, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 10).
Regarding claim 19, ZHANG teaches,
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that when executed by a processor perform operations comprising (fig. 9):
receiving a user equipment (UE) capability enquiry directed to a UE capable of new radio carrier aggregation (NRCA), the UE having an original antenna configuration (aforesaid UE support 2D Antenna arrays : [0120]; “ UE 116 is configured as a mobile phone or a smart phone, UEs may be configured to operate as other types of mobile or fixed devices.”: [0135]; UE with multiple antennas: ]0139]-[0140]; “ For MIMO, as a UE capability, it has been indicated for a first type of UE (a Type1 UE) and a second type of UE (a Type2 UE). The Type1 UE supports collocated carrier aggregation and for the Type1 UE, both ENDC and NRCA are indicated. The Type2 UE supports non-collocated carrier aggregation. For the Type2 UE, only the inter-band ENDC is indicated. However, with respect to the Type2 UE, it is not indicated for an intra-band NRCA. Therefore, the present disclosure proposes to add definition of the intra-band NRCA for the Type2 UE.”: {0152]; (see fig. 9, UE receiving “ UE CapabalityEnquiry” from gNB: “ Step 2: The network node requests the UE to transmit the capability information, e.g. the network node transmits a “UECapabilityEnquiry” message to the UE. ”: [0287]; UE is NR-CA capable UE: [0289]);
generating, in response to the UE capability enquiry, a UE capability information message (==UE Capability Information Report ) (aforesaid UE sends “UE Capability Information Report” to gNB in response to “UECapabilityEnuiry” “ The UE reports the capability information to the network node based on the request of the network node, e.g., the UE reports a “UECapabilityInformation” message, to report its capability to the network node.”: [0288]; “ It should be noted that the UE may transmit to the network one or more of a first signaling (e.g., which indicates that for intra-band NR-CA, the UE supports the Type2 capability), a second signaling (e.g., which indicates that for intra-band NR-CA or inter-band EN-DC, the UE supports the Type3 or Type4 capability), a third signaling (e.g., which indicates MIMO layer number capability configuration for non-collocated deployment), a fourth signaling (e.g., which indicates Rx Chain number configuration capability), a fifth signaling (e.g., which indicates downlink frequency separation capability for intra-band NR-CA or inter-band EN-DC with overlapping band), a sixth signaling (e.g., which indicates uplink frequency separation capability for intra-band NR-CA or inter-band EN-DC with overlapping band), based on its capability. If the UE reports the first signaling or the second signaling to the network, it indicates that the UE is a UE with a high capability.”[ 0289]).
While ZHANG teaches, UE “ UE capability switching ” in paragraphs [0290]-[0299];
ZHANG does not expressively disclose:
determining, by the UE. an optimized antenna switching configuration during based on characteristics of the network:
the UE capability information message indicating the optimized antenna switching configuration utilized fewer antennas than the original antenna configuration.
AKULA, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
determining, by the UE. an optimized antenna switching configuration during based on characteristics of the network ( “Aspects of the present disclosure provide methods for improved performance for SRS switching in CA. According to certain aspects, the UE determines bands that can be affected by the SRS antenna switching and sends a list of the affected bands to the BS. These lists could be for various band combinations, such as TDD Tx and FDD Rx, TDD Tx and FDD Tx, and/or TDD Tx and FDD Rx and Tx. The BS can use the list of affected bands to determine (e.g., optimize) scheduling for the UE, for example, to avoid or mitigate the effects of antenna switching on those bands.”: [0086]; also see fig. 11: UE is determining “one or more band combinations (e.g., TDD+FDD CA and/or TDD+5G CA configured band combinations) that share an antenna switch. The bands may be for uplink, downlink, or both uplink and downlink.” : [0088]-[0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ZHANG to include the above recited limitations as taught by AKULA. The suggestion/motivation would be improving performance for sounding reference signal (SRS) antenna switching in carrier aggregation (CA). (AKULA; [0002]).
The combination of ZHANG in View of AKULA does not expressively disclose:
the UE capability information message indicating the optimized antenna switching configuration utilized fewer antennas than the original antenna configuration.
GO5730, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
the UE capability information message indicating the optimized antenna switching configuration utilized fewer antennas than the original antenna configuration (see fig. 11-12 element S1110, S1210: “UE may report, to the BS, that the UE capability related to the antenna switching is “1T4R” by considering up to the panel switching.”: [0350]; UE sends to Base Station UE capability which includes SRS antenna switching information : [0242]; “ When a panel switching guard period is defined as the UE capability information, the Rx panel receiving the DL/UL DCI for triggering the SRS and the Tx panel of the indicated SRS may be different.”: [0358]; SRS transmission of antenna switch include UE support for Tx Antenna chains (==LESS SRS antenna in claim ) is LESS than the number or RX antenna chains (==original antenna in claim) : [0384]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ZHANG in View of AKULA to include the above recited limitations as taught by GO5730. The suggestion/motivation would be to handling of explosively increasing data traffic, significant increase in per-user transmission rate, working with a great number of connecting devices, and support for very low end-to-end latency and high-energy efficiency (GO5730; [0004]).
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim 2, ZHANG in View of AKULA and further in view of GO5730 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, ZHANG teaches, The method of claim 1, further comprising simultaneously connecting to a primary cell (PCell) of the RAN using time domain duplexing (TDD) and connecting to a secondary cell (SCell) of the RAN using frequency domain duplexing (FDD) (UE is connected with gNB in Fig. 9. Aforesaid gNB can be configured with “ transmission and reception paths of gNB 102 (implemented using RF transceivers 372a-372n, TX processing circuit 374 and/or RX processing circuit 376) support aggregated communication with FDD cells and TDD cells.”: [0144]; “ It should be noted that the first signaling may be designed in a variety of ways, as long as it indicates that the UE supports the non-collocated intra-band NRCA and meets the requirement for the second type of UE. Reporting this signaling indicates that the UE is the Type 2 UE and that the UE supports time-division duplex (TDD) or frequency-division duplex (FDD) intra-band CA and meets the MRTD requirement (MRTD<X μs) as indicated in 38.133 and RF requirements of the Type 2; if the UE does not report this signaling, it indicates that the UE is the Type1 UE, the intra-band CA of TDD or FDD supported by the UE needs to satisfy the MRTD<3 μs as indicated in 38.133 and RF requirements for the Type1 UE.”: [0183]).
Regarding claim 3, ZHANG in View of AKULA and further in view of GO5730 teaches the invention of claim 2 as set forth above. Further, AKULA teaches, wherein the determining comprising determining the optimized the SRS antenna switching configuration based on slot cycle spacing and periodicity ( “ Aspects of the present disclosure provide methods for improved performance for SRS switching in CA. According to certain aspects, the UE determines bands that can be affected by the SRS antenna switching and sends a list of the affected bands to the BS. These lists could be for various band combinations, such as TDD Tx and FDD Rx, TDD Tx and FDD Tx, and/or TDD Tx and FDD Rx and Tx. The BS can use the list of affected bands to determine (e.g., optimize) scheduling for the UE, for example, to avoid or mitigate the effects of antenna switching on those bands.”: [0086]; slots spacing [0069]-0072]).
Regarding claim 4, ZHANG in View of AKULA and further in view of GO5730 teaches the invention of claim 3 as set forth above. Further, GO5730 teaches
The method of claim 3, wherein the original SRS antenna switching configuration is one Tx and four Rx antennas( 1T4R ) and the optimized SRS antenna switching configuration is one Tx and two Rx antennas (1T2R) (“the capability of the UE related to the antenna switching may be ‘1T2R’, ‘2T4R’, ‘1T4R’, ‘1T4R/2T4R’, ‘1T1R’, ‘2T2R’, ‘4T4R’, etc. Here, ‘mTnR’ may mean a UE capability supporting m transmissions and n receptions.”: [0242]; “ (Sample S1) For example, in the case of a UE that supports 1T2R, up to two SRS resource sets may be configured as different values for resourceType of a higher layer parameter SRS-ResourceSet. Here, each SRS resource set may have two SRS resources transmitted in different symbols, and each SRS resource may constitute a single SRS port in a given SRS resource set. Further, an SRS port for a second SRS resource in the SRS resource set may be configured to be associated with a different UE antenna port from an SRS port for a first SRS resource in the same SRS resource set.
[0244] (Sample S2) As another example, in the case of a UE that supports 2T4R, up to two SRS resource sets may be configured as different values for resourceType of the higher layer parameter SRS-ResourceSet. Here, each SRS resource set may have two SRS resources transmitted in different symbols, and each SRS resource may constitute a single SRS port in a given SRS resource set. Further, an SRS port pair for the second SRS resource in the SRS resource set may be configured to be associated with a different UE antenna port from the SRS port pair for the first SRS resource in the same SRS resource set.
[0245] (Sample S3) As yet another example, in the case of a UE that supports 1T4R, the SRS resource sets may be configured in different schemes according to whether the SRS transmission is configured to be periodic, semi-persistent, and/or aperiodic. First, when the SRS transmission is configured to be periodic or semi-persistent, one SRS resource set constituted by 0 SRS resource set or four SRS resources configured based on for the resourceType of the higher layer parameter SRS-ResourceSet may be configured to be transmitted in different symbols. In this case, each SRS resource may constitute the single SRS port in the given SRS resource set, and the SRS port for each SRS resource may be configured to be associated with different UE antenna ports. Unlike this, when the SRS transmission is configured to be aperiodic, two SRS resource sets constituted by 0 SRS resource set or a total of four SRS resources configured based on for the resourceType of the higher layer parameter SRS-ResourceSet may be configured to be transmitted in different symbols of two different slots. In this case, the SRS ports for respective SRS resources in two given SRS resource sets may be configured to be associated with different UE antenna ports.
[0246] (Sample S4) As still yet another example, in the case of the UE that supports 1T1R, 2T2R, or 4T4R, up to two SRS resource sets of which each is constituted by one SRS resource may be configured for the SRS transmission, and the number of SRS ports of each SRS resource may be configured to 1, 2, or 4.
[0247] When an indicated UE capability is 1T4R/2T4R, the corresponding UE may expect that SRS ports (e.g., 1 or 2) of the same number will be configured for all SRS resources in the SRS resource set(s). Further, when the indicated UE capability is 1T2R, 2T4R, 1T4R, or 1T4R/2T4R, the corresponding UE may not expect that one or more SRS resource sets configured for the antenna switching usage in the same slot will be configured or triggered. Further, even when the indicated UE capability is 1T1R, 2T2R, or 4T4R, the corresponding UE may not expect that one or more SRS resource sets configured for the antenna switching usage in the same slot will be configured or triggered.”: [0242]-[0247] ).
Regarding claim 5, ZHANG in View of AKULA and further in view of GO5730 teaches the invention of claim 4 as set forth above. Further, GO5730 teaches
The method of claim 4, further comprising using a 40ms 80 slot periodicity and a 30kHz slot cycle spacing ([0242]-[0247]).
Regarding claim 6, ZHANG in View of AKULA and further in view of GO5730 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, GO5730 teaches
The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) from receive antennas of the UE to an access node of the RAN ([0242]-[0247]).
Regarding claim 7, ZHANG in View of AKULA and further in view of GO5730 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, GO5730 teaches, the method of claim 1, further comprising sharing receive antennas over multiple frequency bands (sharing diffety bands : [123] ).
Regarding claim 8, ZHANG in View of AKULA and further in view of GO5730 teaches the invention of claim 7 as set forth above. Further, GO5730 teaches,
The method of claim 7, wherein the multiple frequency bands include n41, n25, and n66 bands ( “ SRS antenna switching operation based on a frequency band and the number of antennas which is scheduled to be supported in the future, as well as SRS antenna switching based on an existing frequency band and the number of antennas.”: [0007]; [0046], “”:At this time, multiple subcarrier spacings may be derived by scaling the basic subcarrier spacing by integer N (or, μ). Further, although it is assumed that a very low subcarrier spacing is not used at a very high carrier frequency, the numerology used may be selected independently from the frequency band.” [0119]).
Regarding claim 9, ZHANG in View of AKULA and further in view of GO5730 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, ZHANG teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising utilizing new radio carrier aggregation (NRCA) ( “ For MIMO, as a UE capability, it has been indicated for a first type of UE (a Type1 UE) and a second type of UE (a Type2 UE). The Type1 UE supports collocated carrier aggregation and for the Type1 UE, both ENDC and NRCA are indicated. The Type2 UE supports non-collocated carrier aggregation. For the Type2 UE, only the inter-band ENDC is indicated. However, with respect to the Type2 UE, it is not indicated for an intra-band NRCA. Therefore, the present disclosure proposes to add definition of the intra-band NRCA for the Type2 UE.”:[0152]).
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 9.
Regarding claim 18, ZHANG in View of AKULA and further in view of GO5730 teaches the invention of claim 17 as set forth above. Further, ZHANG in view of GO5730 teaches,
The wireless device of claim 17, wherein the original antenna configuration is 1T4R and the optimized SRS antenna switching configuration during NRCA is 1T2R (GO5730 : [0242]-[0243]; [0247], [0286]-[0287]);
ZHANG teach “( “ For MIMO, as a UE capability, it has been indicated for a first type of UE (a Type1 UE) and a second type of UE (a Type2 UE). The Type1 UE supports collocated carrier aggregation and for the Type1 UE, both ENDC and NRCA are indicated. The Type2 UE supports non-collocated carrier aggregation. For the Type2 UE, only the inter-band ENDC is indicated. However, with respect to the Type2 UE, it is not indicated for an intra-band NRCA. Therefore, the present disclosure proposes to add definition of the intra-band NRCA for the Type2 UE.”:[0152]).
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Conclusion
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411