Response to an Amendment
This office action is a response to a communication made on 08/28/2025.
Claims 1-5, 10-13 and 16-17 are currently amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending for this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant: Applicant’s arguments, see remarks on page 10-14, filed 08/28/2025, applicant argues that, “ Pizzo fails to remedy of version information about the configuration information, store, in the network virtualization device version information about the flow information, transmit, to the network interface service an update request to receive updated flow information, receive, from the network interface service, an updated flow information and updated version information, the updated flow information and updated version information based on configuration information ; and store the updated flow information and the updated version information” recited in claims 1, 11 and 16.
Examiner: Applicant's arguments filed 08/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Ang teaches a set of servers connected with the substrate network hosting a virtual network, the set of servers hosting a network interface service because abstract, teaches the host computers host a set of compute nodes in a virtual network, ¶0033, teaches the host computers host a set of compute nodes (e.g., virtual machines (VMs), Pods, containers, etc.) in a virtual or logical network, the set of compute nodes are each associated with a set of interfaces (virtual NICs, ports, etc.) that are each assigned a locally-unique virtual port identifier (VPID) by a flow processing and action generator (i.e. Ang teaches two separate systems in which the set of nodes host the interface network service and the network virtualization device host the virtual network interface card), ¶0039, teaches The pNIC 120 also includes a physical network port 121 that connects the pNIC 120 and the VMs 111 a-n and vNICs 112 a-n to a physical network (i.e. substrate network)… perform flow processing for the VMs (i.e. computing instance of the virtual network) 111 a-n and vNICs 112 a-n. The FPO hardware 140 includes a flow entry table 143 that stores a set of flow entries (i.e. flow information) for performing flow processing (i.e. routing of traffic), ¶0045, teaches a set of physical functions 434 a-i through a PCIe bus 432, to multiple servers 410 a-n each hosting a set of compute nodes (e.g., VMs 411 a-x), ¶0054, teaches the flow processing and action generator processes (at 715) the data message through a processing pipeline to determine an action to take for subsequent data messages in the same data message flow.
However, Ang remain silent on version information about the configuration information, store, in the network virtualization device version information about the flow information, transmit, to the network interface service an update request to receive updated flow information, receive, from the network interface service, an updated flow information and updated version information, the updated flow information and updated version information based on configuration information ; and store the updated flow information and the updated version information.
Pizzo teaches version information about the configuration information because ¶0020, teaches Based on the configuration of the query, the database can return, for example, versioning information for all monitored data tables, versioning information for monitored data tables with outstanding cache dependencies, or versioning information for monitored data tables that have changed, ¶0048, teaches identifies a current version of a data table, ¶0058, teaches version comparisons required in order to maintain cache entries (i.e. flow information), see ¶0074.
Pizzo also teaches Store, in the network virtualization device, version information about the flow information because ¶0016, teaches a number of server computer systems (i.e. set of servers) each access dynamic content from the same database, ¶0021-¶0022, teaches server computer systems can be the network virtualization device, ¶0020, teaches versioning information for monitored data tables with outstanding cache dependencies, ¶0048, teaches identifies a current version of a data table, ¶0058, teaches version comparisons required in order to maintain cache entries (i.e. flow information).
Pizzo further teaches transmit, to the network interface service, an update request to receive updated flow information because ¶0016, teaches a number of server computer systems (i.e. set of servers) each access dynamic content from the same database, ¶0034, teaches the server computer system (e.g., in response to user input) configures a data table in the database to provide a change notification table with updated versioning information (e.g., change IDs) when content in the data table is altered (e.g., inserted, deleted, updated). The server computer system queries the change notification table from time to time or in response to a request to retrieve cached content to request updated versioning information for corresponding data tables.
Pizzo teaches receive, from the network interface service, and in response to the update request, an updated flow information, and updated version information because ¶0110, teaches computer system 520 includes network interface 553, through which computer system 520 receives data from external sources and/or transmits data to external sources, ¶0034, teaches in response to a request to retrieve cached content to request updated versioning information for corresponding data tables, ¶0061, teaches received versioning information to update appropriate key entries within cache, wherein entries within cache is flow information, ¶0020, teaches based on the configuration of the query, the database can return, for example, versioning information for all monitored data tables, versioning information for monitored data tables with outstanding cache dependencies, or versioning information for monitored data tables that have changed)
Pizzo also teaches wherein the updated flow information and updated version information is based on configuration information because ¶0020, teaches Based on the configuration of the query, the database can return, for example, versioning information for all monitored data tables, versioning information for monitored data tables with outstanding cache dependencies, or versioning information for monitored data tables that have changed, ¶0061, teaches received versioning information to update appropriate key entries within cache, wherein entries within cache is flow information, ¶0071, teaches returning the updated versioning information to a requesting server computer system such that the updated versioning information can be used to determine the validity of content in a cache entry (i.e. flow information) at the server computer system, ¶0074, teaches updated versioning information is returned form the database to the server computer system. Based on the configuration of the query, the database can return, for example, versioning information for all monitored data tables, versioning information for monitored data tables with outstanding cache dependencies, or versioning information for monitored data tables that have changed.
Pizzo further teaches store the updated flow information and the updated version information because ¶0071, teaches returning the updated versioning information to a requesting server computer system such that the updated versioning information can be used to determine the validity of content in a cache entry (i.e. flow information) at the server computer system, ¶0074, teaches updated versioning information is returned form the database to the server computer system. Based on the configuration of the query, the database can return, for example, versioning information for all monitored data tables, versioning information for monitored data tables with outstanding cache dependencies, or versioning information for monitored data tables that have changed.
For additional clarification, please review the rejection below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 8, 11-12, 15-17 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 8 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. US 11637770B2 in view of Ang et al. (US 2022/0103487), hereinafter “Ang”, and further in view of Pizzo et al. (US 2004/0267824), hereinafter “Pizzo”.
Instant application # 18295430
US Patent # US 11637770B2
1. A system comprising:
1. A system comprising:
a substrate network hosting a virtual network;
a set of servers connected with a substrate network hosting a virtual network, the set of servers hosting a network interface service, the network interface service storing configuration information about a configuration of the virtual network and version information about the configuration information;
a set of servers connected with a substrate network and hosting a network interface service;
a network virtualization device hosting a virtual network interface card, connected with the substrate network; and
a network virtualization device hosting a virtual network interface card, connected with the substrate network, and
wherein the virtual network interface card is configured to: store in the network virtualization device, flow information usable by the virtual network interface card for determining routing of traffic associated with a virtual network,
storing flow information usable by the virtual network interface card for traffic associated with a virtual network; and
a host machine hosting a compute instance of the virtual network, wherein the host machine is connected with the network virtualization device, and wherein the compute instance is associated with the virtual network interface card;
a host machine connected with the network virtualization device and hosting a compute instance from the virtual network,
wherein the network interface service hosted on the set of servers is configured to:
store configuration information about a configuration of the virtual network;
Store, in the network virtualization device, version information about the flow information;
store version information about the configuration information;
receive, from the host machine of a compute instance, a packet for traffic associated with the computer instance;
determine that a portion of the flow information applying to the packet is outdated;
determine that the virtual network interface card is associated with the flow information;
determine, based on the version information, that the flow information on the network virtualization device is outdated;
transmit, to the network interface service, an update request to receive updated flow information;
generate, based on the configuration information and the version information, an update to the flow information; and send, to the network virtualization device, the update.
receive, from the network interface service, and in response to the update request, updated flow information and updated version information, wherein the updated flow information and updated version information is based on configuration information about the virtual network stored on the set of servers hosting the network interface service; and
store, in the network virtualization device, the updated flow information and the updated version information.
8, 15 and 20, The system of claim 7, wherein the configuration information comprises security policies, overlay-to-substrate internet protocol (IP) address mappings, and route rules for one or more packet flows, and wherein the updated flow information comprises at least one of a security policy, an overlay-to-substrate IP address mapping, or a route rule.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the configuration information comprises security policies, overlay-to-substrate internet protocol (IP) address mappings, and route rules for one or more packet flows, and wherein the flow information comprises at least one of a security policy, an overlay-to-substrate IP address mapping, or a route rule included in the configuration information.
Claims 2, 12 and 17
Claim 3
Claim 11
Claim 8
Claim 16
Claim 14
However, US 11637770B2 remain silent on a substrate network hosting a virtual network; a set of servers connected with a substrate network hosting a virtual network, the set of servers hosting a network interface service, the network interface service storing configuration information about a configuration of the virtual network and version information about the configuration information; store version information about the flow information, receive, from the host machine of a compute instance, a packet for traffic associated with the computer instance; receive, from the network interface service, an updated flow information and updated version information, the updated flow information and updated version information based on configuration information about the virtual network stored on the set of servers of the network interface service; and
store the updated flow information and the updated version information.
Ang discloses a substrate network hosting a virtual network (¶0033, teaches physical network controller (pNIC) to provide flow processing offload (FPO) for a host computer connected to the pNIC. The host computers host a set of compute nodes (e.g., virtual machines (VMs), Pods, containers, etc.) in a virtual or logical network, ¶0039, teaches The pNIC 120 also includes a physical network port 121 that connects the pNIC 120 and the VMs 111 a-n and vNICs 112 a-n to a physical network (i.e. substrate network);
a set of servers connected with the substrate network hosting a virtual network, the set of servers hosting a network interface service (abstract, teaches The host computers host a set of compute nodes in a virtual network, ¶0033, teaches the host computers host a set of compute nodes (e.g., virtual machines (VMs), Pods, containers, etc.) in a virtual or logical network, the set of compute nodes are each associated with a set of interfaces (virtual NICs, ports, etc.) that are each assigned a locally-unique virtual port identifier (VPID) by a flow processing and action generator ¶0039, teaches The pNIC 120 also includes a physical network port 121 that connects the pNIC 120 and the VMs 111 a-n and vNICs 112 a-n to a physical network (i.e. substrate network), ¶0045, teaches a set of physical functions 434 a-i through a PCIe bus 432, to multiple servers 410 a-n each hosting a set of compute nodes (e.g., VMs 411 a-x), the network interface service storing configuration information about a configuration of the virtual network (¶0033, teaches the set of compute nodes are each associated with a set of interfaces (virtual NICs, ports, etc.) that are each assigned a locally-unique virtual port identifier (VPID) by a flow processing and action generator, ¶0042, teaches the slow path processing may indicate that a particular forwarding rule (i.e. configuration information) applies to the data message flow and supplies a set of criteria that uniquely identify the flow to which the data message belongs and an action to take for future data messages belonging to that flow, ¶0044, teaches the local controller 365, in some embodiments, configures the slow path processor 263 with forwarding rules and additional policies (e.g., firewall policies, encryption policies, etc.) necessary to implement a data message processing pipeline defined for the SDN (or a set of logical forwarding elements of the SDN). The local controller 365, in some embodiments, also provides information received from the pNIC 120 and the SDN controllers 366 to the mapping generator 368 to identify the VPIDs and PPIDs of the different interfaces and the connections between the interfaces to generate VPID to PPID mappings. Additionally, the local controller 365 notifies the mapping generator 368 when a configuration change affects the VPID to PPID mappings (i.e. mappings as configuration information) to allow the mapping generator 368 to generate a new or updated VPID to PPID mapping);
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify ’s US 11637770B2’ s system with a substrate network hosting a virtual network; a set of servers connected with a substrate network hosting a virtual network, the set of servers hosting a network interface service, the network interface service storing configuration information about a configuration of the virtual network of Ang, in order to maintain integrity, reliability and manageability of virtual networks within set of servers (Ang, ¶0047).
However, US 11637770B2 in view of Ang remain silent on version information about the configuration information, store, in the network virtualization device version information about the flow information, transmit, to the network interface service an update request to receive updated flow information, receive, from the network interface service, an updated flow information and updated version information, the updated flow information and updated version information based on configuration information ; and store the updated flow information and the updated version information.
Pizzo discloses version information about the configuration information (¶0020, teaches Based on the configuration of the query, the database can return, for example, versioning information for all monitored data tables, versioning information for monitored data tables with outstanding cache dependencies, or versioning information for monitored data tables that have changed, ¶0048, teaches identifies a current version of a data table, ¶0058, teaches version comparisons required in order to maintain cache entries (i.e. flow information), see ¶0074),
Store, in the network virtualization device, version information about the flow information (¶0016, teaches a number of server computer systems (i.e. set of servers) each access dynamic content from the same database, ¶0021-¶0022, teaches server computer systems can be the network virtualization device, ¶0020, teaches versioning information for monitored data tables with outstanding cache dependencies, ¶0048, teaches identifies a current version of a data table, ¶0058, teaches version comparisons required in order to maintain cache entries (i.e. flow information).
transmit, to the network interface service, an update request to receive updated flow information (¶0016, teaches a number of server computer systems (i.e. set of servers) each access dynamic content from the same database, ¶0034, teaches the server computer system (e.g., in response to user input) configures a data table in the database to provide a change notification table with updated versioning information (e.g., change IDs) when content in the data table is altered (e.g., inserted, deleted, updated). The server computer system queries the change notification table from time to time or in response to a request to retrieve cached content to request updated versioning information for corresponding data tables).
receive, from the network interface service, and in response to the update request, an updated flow information, and updated version information (¶0110, teaches computer system 520 includes network interface 553, through which computer system 520 receives data from external sources and/or transmits data to external sources, ¶0034, teaches in response to a request to retrieve cached content to request updated versioning information for corresponding data tables, ¶0061, teaches received versioning information to update appropriate key entries within cache, wherein entries within cache is flow information, ¶0020, teaches based on the configuration of the query, the database can return, for example, versioning information for all monitored data tables, versioning information for monitored data tables with outstanding cache dependencies, or versioning information for monitored data tables that have changed), wherein the updated flow information and updated version information is based on configuration information (¶0020, teaches Based on the configuration of the query, the database can return, for example, versioning information for all monitored data tables, versioning information for monitored data tables with outstanding cache dependencies, or versioning information for monitored data tables that have changed, ¶0061, teaches received versioning information to update appropriate key entries within cache, wherein entries within cache is flow information, ¶0071, teaches returning the updated versioning information to a requesting server computer system such that the updated versioning information can be used to determine the validity of content in a cache entry (i.e. flow information) at the server computer system, ¶0074, teaches updated versioning information is returned form the database to the server computer system. Based on the configuration of the query, the database can return, for example, versioning information for all monitored data tables, versioning information for monitored data tables with outstanding cache dependencies, or versioning information for monitored data tables that have changed).
store the updated flow information and the updated version information (¶0071, teaches returning the updated versioning information to a requesting server computer system such that the updated versioning information can be used to determine the validity of content in a cache entry (i.e. flow information) at the server computer system, ¶0074, teaches updated versioning information is returned form the database to the server computer system. Based on the configuration of the query, the database can return, for example, versioning information for all monitored data tables, versioning information for monitored data tables with outstanding cache dependencies, or versioning information for monitored data tables that have changed).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify US 11637770B2’s system in view of Ang’s VM as virtualization device with version information about the configuration information, store, in the network virtualization device version information about the flow information, transmit, to the network interface service an update request to receive updated flow information, receive, from the network interface service, an updated flow information and updated version information, the updated flow information and updated version information based on configuration information ; and store the updated flow information and the updated version information of Pizzo, in order to ensure that the flow information is consistent across different components in the network, efficient updates and robust communication in network systems (Pizzo, ¶0020 and ¶0055).
However, Ang in view of Pizzo remain silent on receive, from the host machine of a compute instance, a packet for traffic associated with the computer instance.
Nunes discloses receive, from the host machine of a compute instance (¶0076, teaches virtual machines 211 and 212 (i.e. compute instance) operate on host 221 (i.e. host machine)), a packet for traffic associated with the computer instance (¶0025, teaches Dropping a packet (i.e. packet for traffic) may result when a given packet is associated with a communication or flow no longer being processed. A packet may also be dropped because a virtual device lacks sufficient instructions for handling a packet of a type received. Alternatively, a device may be unable to successfully route a given packet to a specified destination, ¶0080, teaches a virtual router created by a tenant to route traffic between the tenant's virtual machines (i.e. computer instance), ¶0141, teaches when an egress host receives a return packet from a virtual machine (VM) (i.e. compute instance) hosted on the physical host associated with the egress host. The return process or reverse flow establishes the return tunnel that returns traffic of a connection, see ¶0134).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ang’s a DROP for packets that are not to be forwarded in view of Pizzo’s system with receive, from the host machine of a compute instance, a packet for traffic associated with the computer instance of Nunes, in order to host machine acts as intermediary, receiving traffic and forwarding it to the correct VM instance (Nunes, ¶0085).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ang et al. (US 2022/0103487), hereinafter “Ang” in view of Pizzo et al. (US 2004/0267824), hereinafter “Pizzo”, and further in view of Nunes et al. (US 2016/0105471A1), hereinafter “Nunes”.
With respect to claim 1, Ang discloses a system comprising:
a substrate network hosting a virtual network (¶0033, teaches physical network controller (pNIC) to provide flow processing offload (FPO) for a host computer connected to the pNIC. The host computers host a set of compute nodes (e.g., virtual machines (VMs), Pods, containers, etc.) in a virtual or logical network, ¶0039, teaches The pNIC 120 also includes a physical network port 121 that connects the pNIC 120 and the VMs 111 a-n and vNICs 112 a-n to a physical network (i.e. substrate network);
a set of servers connected with the substrate network hosting a virtual network, the set of servers hosting a network interface service (abstract, teaches The host computers host a set of compute nodes in a virtual network, ¶0033, teaches the host computers host a set of compute nodes (e.g., virtual machines (VMs), Pods, containers, etc.) in a virtual or logical network, the set of compute nodes are each associated with a set of interfaces (virtual NICs, ports, etc.) that are each assigned a locally-unique virtual port identifier (VPID) by a flow processing and action generator ¶0039, teaches The pNIC 120 also includes a physical network port 121 that connects the pNIC 120 and the VMs 111 a-n and vNICs 112 a-n to a physical network (i.e. substrate network), ¶0045, teaches a set of physical functions 434 a-i through a PCIe bus 432, to multiple servers 410 a-n each hosting a set of compute nodes (e.g., VMs 411 a-x), the network interface service storing configuration information about a configuration of the virtual network (¶0033, teaches the set of compute nodes are each associated with a set of interfaces (virtual NICs, ports, etc.) that are each assigned a locally-unique virtual port identifier (VPID) by a flow processing and action generator, ¶0042, teaches the slow path processing may indicate that a particular forwarding rule (i.e. configuration information) applies to the data message flow and supplies a set of criteria that uniquely identify the flow to which the data message belongs and an action to take for future data messages belonging to that flow, ¶0044, teaches the local controller 365, in some embodiments, configures the slow path processor 263 with forwarding rules and additional policies (e.g., firewall policies, encryption policies, etc.) necessary to implement a data message processing pipeline defined for the SDN (or a set of logical forwarding elements of the SDN). The local controller 365, in some embodiments, also provides information received from the pNIC 120 and the SDN controllers 366 to the mapping generator 368 to identify the VPIDs and PPIDs of the different interfaces and the connections between the interfaces to generate VPID to PPID mappings. Additionally, the local controller 365 notifies the mapping generator 368 when a configuration change affects the VPID to PPID mappings (i.e. mappings as configuration information) to allow the mapping generator 368 to generate a new or updated VPID to PPID mapping);
a network virtualization device (see Fig.1, step 115, virtual switch as network virtualization device) hosting a virtual network interface card, connected with the substrate network (¶0037, teaches each VM 111 a-n has a virtual NIC (e.g., vNIC 112 a-n) that connects to virtual functions (VFs) 133 a-n of a physical function (PF) 134 a of the pNIC 120 through a PCIe bus 131, ¶0039, teaches The pNIC 120 also includes a physical network port 121 that connects the pNIC 120 and the VMs 111 a-n and vNICs 112 a-n to a physical network (i.e. substrate network));
a host machine hosting a compute instance of the virtual network (¶0033, teaches the host computers host a set of compute nodes (e.g., virtual machines (VMs), Pods, containers, etc.) in a virtual or logical network, wherein virtual machines are compute instance), wherein the host machine is connected with the network virtualization device (¶0038, teaches Host computer 110 also includes a second set of VMs 113 a-m that connect to a virtual switch 115 (i.e. network virtualization device) of the host computer 110.), and wherein the compute instance is associated with the virtual network interface card (¶0033, teaches the set of compute nodes ((e.g., virtual machines (VMs) as compute instance, Pods, containers, etc.) are each associated with a set of interfaces (virtual NICs, ports, etc.) that are each assigned a locally-unique virtual port identifier (VPID) by a flow processing and action generator, ¶0037, teaches FIG. 1, each VM 111 a-n has a virtual NIC (e.g., vNIC 112 a-n) that connects to virtual functions (VFs) 133 a-n of a physical function (PF) 134 a of the pNIC 120 through a PCIe bus 131.); and
wherein the virtual network interface card ((¶0037, teaches each VM 111 a-n has a virtual NIC (e.g., vNIC 112 a-n) that connects to virtual functions (VFs) 133 a-n of a physical function (PF) 134 a of the pNIC 120 through a PCIe bus 131) is configured to:
store, in the network virtualization device (see Fig.1, step 115, virtual switch as network virtualization device), flow information usable by the virtual network interface card for determining routing of traffic associated with the computing instance of the virtual network (¶0039, teaches perform flow processing for the VMs (i.e. computing instance of the virtual network) 111 a-n and vNICs 112 a-n. The FPO hardware 140 includes a flow entry table 143 that stores a set of flow entries (i.e. flow information) for performing flow processing (i.e. routing of traffic), ¶0054, teaches the flow processing and action generator processes (at 715) the data message through a processing pipeline to determine an action to take for subsequent data messages in the same data message flow),
determine that a portion of the flow information applying to the packet is outdated (¶0009, teaches the flow processing and action generator can identify the flow entries (i.e. portion of the flow information) associated with the invalidated (i.e. packet is outdated) VPID and instruct the pNIC to remove the identified flow entries from the set of flow entries stored by the network processing hardware, ¶0065, teaches each flow entry, in some embodiments, includes an action associated with a data message that matches that flow entry. The actions, in some embodiments, include: a forwarding operation (FWD), a DROP for packets that are not to be forwarded, modifying the packet's header and a set of modified headers, replicating the packet (along with a set of associated destinations, ¶0079, teaches Process 1500 begins by receiving (at 1505) a data message that matches a flow entry specifying an invalidated VPID as a destination, see ¶0074-¶0075),
However, Ang remain silent on version information about the configuration information, store, in the network virtualization device version information about the flow information, transmit, to the network interface service an update request to receive updated flow information, receive, from the network interface service, an updated flow information and updated version information, the updated flow information and updated version information based on configuration information ; and store the updated flow information and the updated version information.
Pizzo discloses version information about the configuration information (¶0020, teaches Based on the configuration of the query, the database can return, for example, versioning information for all monitored data tables, versioning information for monitored data tables with outstanding cache dependencies, or versioning information for monitored data tables that have changed, ¶0048, teaches identifies a current version of a data table, ¶0058, teaches version comparisons required in order to maintain cache entries (i.e. flow information), see ¶0074),
Store, in the network virtualization device (¶0016, ¶0021-¶0022, teaches server computer systems can be the network virtualization device), version information about the flow information (¶0020, teaches versioning information for monitored data tables with outstanding cache dependencies, ¶0048, teaches identifies a current version of a data table, ¶0058, teaches version comparisons required in order to maintain cache entries (i.e. flow information)).
transmit, to the network interface service, an update request to receive updated flow information (¶0034, teaches the server computer system (e.g., in response to user input) configures a data table in the database to provide a change notification table with updated versioning information (e.g., change IDs) when content in the data table is altered (e.g., inserted, deleted, updated). The server computer system queries the change notification table from time to time or in response to a request to retrieve cached content to request updated versioning information for corresponding data tables);
receive, from the network interface service (¶0110, teaches Computer system 520 includes network interface 553, through which computer system 520 receives data from external sources and/or transmits data to external sources), and in response to the update request, an updated flow information (¶0034, teaches in response to a request to retrieve cached content to request updated versioning information for corresponding data tables, ¶0061, teaches received versioning information to update appropriate key entries within cache, wherein entries within cache is flow information), and updated version information (¶0020, teaches Based on the configuration of the query, the database can return, for example, versioning information for all monitored data tables, versioning information for monitored data tables with outstanding cache dependencies, or versioning information for monitored data tables that have changed), wherein the updated flow information and updated version information is based on configuration information (¶0020, teaches Based on the configuration of the query, the database can return, for example, versioning information for all monitored data tables, versioning information for monitored data tables with outstanding cache dependencies, or versioning information for monitored data tables that have changed, ¶0061, teaches received versioning information to update appropriate key entries within cache, wherein entries within cache is flow information, ¶0071, teaches returning the updated versioning information to a requesting server computer system such that the updated versioning information can be used to determine the validity of content in a cache entry (i.e. flow information) at the server computer system, ¶0074, teaches updated versioning information is returned form the database to the server computer system. Based on the configuration of the query, the database can return, for example, versioning information for all monitored data tables, versioning information for monitored data tables with outstanding cache dependencies, or versioning information for monitored data tables that have changed.);
store the updated flow information and the updated version information ((¶0071, teaches returning the updated versioning information to a requesting server computer system such that the updated versioning information can be used to determine the validity of content in a cache entry (i.e. flow information) at the server computer system, ¶0074, teaches updated versioning information is returned form the database to the server computer system. Based on the configuration of the query, the database can return, for example, versioning information for all monitored data tables, versioning information for monitored data tables with outstanding cache dependencies, or versioning information for monitored data tables that have changed).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ang’s VM as virtualization device with version information about the configuration information, store version information about the flow information, send, to the network interface service an update request to receive updated flow information, receive, from the network interface service, an updated flow information and updated version information, the updated flow information and updated version information based on configuration information, store the updated flow information and the updated version information of Pizzo, in order to ensure that the flow information is consistent across different components in the network, efficient updates and robust communication in network systems (Pizzo, ¶0020 and ¶0055).
However, Ang in view of Pizzo remain silent on receive, from the host machine of a compute instance, a packet for traffic associated with the computer instance.
Nunes discloses receive, from the host machine of a compute instance (¶0076, teaches virtual machines 211 and 212 (i.e. compute instance) operate on host 221 (i.e. host machine)), a packet for traffic associated with the computer instance (¶0025, teaches dropping a packet (i.e. packet for traffic) may result when a given packet is associated with a communication or flow no longer being processed. A packet may also be dropped because a virtual device lacks sufficient instructions for handling a packet of a type received. Alternatively, a device may be unable to successfully route a given packet to a specified destination, ¶0080, teaches a virtual router created by a tenant to route traffic between the tenant's virtual machines (i.e. computer instance), ¶0141, teaches when an egress host receives a return packet from a virtual machine (VM) (i.e. compute instance) hosted on the physical host associated with the egress host. The return process or reverse flow establishes the return tunnel that returns traffic of a connection see ¶0134).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ang’s a DROP for packets that are not to be forwarded in view of Pizzo’s system with receive, from the host machine of a compute instance, a packet for traffic associated with the computer instance of Nunes, in order to host machine acts as intermediary, receiving traffic and forwarding it to the correct VM instance (Nunes, ¶0085).
With respect to claim 11, Ang discloses a method comprising:
storing, by a network virtualization device (see Fig.1, step 115, virtual switch as network virtualization device), flow information usable by a virtual network interface card for determining routing of traffic associated with a compute instance of a virtual network (¶0039, teaches perform flow processing for the VMs 111 a-n (i.e. compute instance) and vNICs 112 a-n. The FPO hardware 140 includes a flow entry table 143 that stores a set of flow entries (i.e. flow information) for performing flow processing (i.e. routing of traffic), ¶0054, teaches the flow processing and action generator processes (at 715) the data message through a processing pipeline to determine an action to take for subsequent data messages in the same data message flow), wherein:
a substrate network hosting a virtual network (¶0033, teaches physical network controller (pNIC) to provide flow processing offload (FPO) for a host computer connected to the pNIC. The host computers host a set of compute nodes (e.g., virtual machines (VMs), Pods, containers, etc.) in a virtual or logical network, ¶0039, teaches the pNIC 120 also includes a physical network port 121 that connects the pNIC 120 and the VMs 111 a-n and vNICs 112 a-n to a physical network (i.e. substrate network);
a set of servers connected with the substrate network hosts a network interface service (abstract, teaches The host computers host a set of compute nodes in a virtual network, ¶0033, teaches the host computers host a set of compute nodes (e.g., virtual machines (VMs), Pods, containers, etc.) in a virtual or logical network, the set of compute nodes are each associated with a set of interfaces (virtual NICs, ports, etc.) that are each assigned a locally-unique virtual port identifier (VPID) by a flow processing and action generator ¶0039, teaches The pNIC 120 also includes a physical network port 121 that connects the pNIC 120 and the VMs 111 a-n and vNICs 112 a-n to a physical network (i.e. substrate network), ¶0045, teaches a set of physical functions 434 a-i through a PCIe bus 432, to multiple servers 410 a-n each hosting a set of compute nodes (e.g., VMs 411 a-x),
the network virtualization device (see Fig.1, step 115, virtual switch as network virtualization device) hosts the virtual network interface card and is connected with the substrate network ((¶0037, teaches each VM 111 a-n has a virtual NIC (e.g., vNIC 112 a-n) that connects to virtual functions (VFs) 133 a-n of a physical function (PF) 134 a of the pNIC 120 through a PCIe bus 131, ¶0039, teaches The pNIC 120 also includes a physical network port 121 that connects the pNIC 120 and the VMs 111 a-n and vNICs 112 a-n to a physical network (i.e. substrate network));
a host machine hosts a compute instance of the virtual network (¶0033, teaches the host computers host a set of compute nodes (e.g., virtual machines (VMs), Pods, containers, etc.) in a virtual or logical network, wherein virtual machines are compute instance), wherein the host machine is connected with the network virtualization device (¶0038, teaches Host computer 110 also includes a second set of VMs 113 a-m that connect to a virtual switch 115 (i.e. network virtualization device) of the host computer 110.), and wherein the compute instance is associated with the virtual network interface card (¶0033, teaches the set of compute nodes ((e.g., virtual machines (VMs) as compute instance, Pods, containers, etc.) are each associated with a set of interfaces (virtual NICs, ports, etc.) that are each assigned a locally-unique virtual port identifier (VPID) by a flow processing and action generator, ¶0037, teaches FIG. 1, each VM 111 a-n has a virtual NIC (e.g., vNIC 112 a-n) that connects to virtual functions (VFs) 133 a-n of a physical function (PF) 134 a of the pNIC 120 through a PCIe bus 131.), and
determining that a portion of the flow information applying to the packet is outdated (¶0009, teaches the flow processing and action generator can identify the flow entries (i.e. portion of the flow information) associated with the invalidated (i.e. packet is outdated) VPID and instruct the pNIC to remove the identified flow entries from the set of flow entries stored by the network processing hardware, ¶0065, teaches each flow entry, in some embodiments, includes an action associated with a data message that matches that flow entry. The actions, in some embodiments, include: a forwarding operation (FWD), a DROP for packets that are not to be forwarded, modifying the packet's header and a set of modified headers, replicating the packet (along with a set of associated destinations ¶0079, teaches Process 1500 begins by receiving (at 1505) a data message that matches a flow entry specifying an invalidated VPID as a destination, see ¶0074-¶0075),
transmitting, by the virtual network interface card, to the network interface service (see Fig. 1, step 115 virtual switch with step 113a vNIC, ¶0039, teaches The pNIC 120 also includes a physical network port 121 that connects the pNIC 120 and the VMs 111 a-n and vNICs 112 a-n to a physical network (i.e. substrate network), ¶0045, teaches a set of physical functions 434 a-i through a PCIe bus 432, to multiple servers 410 a-n each hosting a set of compute nodes (e.g., VMs 411 a-x)).
Ang teaches transmitting, by the network virtualization device to the network interface service (see Fig. 1, step 115 virtual switch (i.e. network virtualization device) with step 113a vNIC, ¶0037 teaches the virtual machines (111 a-n and 113 a-m) and virtual switch 115 are shown executing within virtualization software 114), storing, by the network virtualization device (see Fig.1, step 115, virtual switch as network virtualization device). Ang, ¶0047 also teaches “configuration information about the virtual network stored on the set of servers hosting the network interface service” because communicates with a set of network management computers that manage the virtual network to identify the set of compute nodes and VPIDs associated with the set of compute nodes, ¶0073, teaches FIG. 13 illustrates selected elements of a system 1300 in which a change to a configuration of a vNIC 1312 a of VM 1311 a at a time “T1” causes the VPID of the vNIC 1312 a to change. However, Ang remain silent on version information about the flow information in the network virtualization device, transmitting, by the virtual network interface card to the network interface service, an update request to receive updated flow information associated with flow information, receiving, by the virtual network interface card, from the network interface service, and in response to the update request, updated flow information and updated version information based on configuration information, storing, by the virtual network interface card, the updated flow information and the updated version information in the network virtualization device.
Pizzo discloses version information about the configuration information in the network virtualization device (¶0020, teaches Based on the configuration of the query, the database can return, for example, versioning information for all monitored data tables, versioning information for monitored data tables with outstanding cache dependencies, or versioning information for monitored data tables that have changed, ¶0034, teaches the server computer system (i.e. network virtualization device) (e.g., in response to user input) configures a data table in the database to provide a change notification table with updated versioning information (e.g., change IDs) when content in the data table is altered (e.g., inserted, deleted, updated), ¶0048, teaches identifies a current version of a data table, ¶0058, teaches version comparisons required in order to maintain cache entries (i.e. flow information), see ¶0074);
version information about the flow information (¶0020, teaches Based on the configuration of the query, the database can return, for example, versioning information for all monitored data tables, versioning information for monitored data tables with outstanding cache dependencies, or versioning information for monitored data tables that have changed, ¶0048, teaches identifies a current version of a data table, ¶0058, teaches version comparisons required in order to maintain cache entries (i.e. flow information), see ¶0074);
transmitting, by the the virtual network interface card to a network interface service, an update request to receive updated flow information associated with flow information (¶0034, teaches the server computer system (e.g., in response to user input) configures a data table in the database to provide a change notification table with updated versioning information (e.g., change IDs) when content in the data table is altered (e.g., inserted, deleted, updated). The server computer system queries the change notification table from time to time or in response to a request to retrieve cached content to request updated versioning information (i.e. flow information) for corresponding data tables), ¶0110, teaches Computer system 520 includes network interface 553, through which computer system 520 receives data from external sources and/or transmits data to external sources);
receiving, by the virtual network interface card from the network interface service (¶0110, teaches Computer system 520 includes network interface 553, through which computer system 520 receives data from external sources and/or transmits data to external sources), and in response to the update request, updated the flow information (¶0034, teaches in response to a request to retrieve cached content to request updated versioning information for corresponding data tables, ¶0061, teaches received versioning information to update appropriate key entries within cache, wherein update entries within cache is updated flow information), and updated version information based on configuration information (¶0020, teaches Based on the configuration of the query, the database can return, for example, versioning information for all monitored data tables, versioning information for monitored data tables with outstanding cache dependencies, or versioning information for monitored data tables that have changed, ¶0061, teaches received versioning information to update appropriate key entries within cache, wherein entries within cache is flow information, ¶0071, teaches returning the updated versioning information to a requesting server computer system such that the updated versioning information can be used to determine the validity of content in a cache entry (i.e. flow information) at the server computer system, ¶0074, teaches updated versioning information is returned form the database to the server computer system. Based on the configuration of the query, the database can return, for example, versioning information for all monitored data tables, versioning information for monitored data tables with outstanding cache dependencies, or versioning information for monitored data tables that have changed.);
storing, by the virtual network interface card (¶0110, teaches network interface 553), the updated flow information and the updated version information in the network virtualization device ( ¶0034, teaches the server computer system (i.e. network virtualization device) (e.g., in response to user input) configures a data table in the database to provide a change notification table with updated versioning information (e.g., change IDs) when content in the data table is altered (e.g., inserted, deleted, updated). ¶0071, teaches returning the updated versioning information to a requesting server computer system such that the updated versioning information can be used to determine the validity of content in a cache entry (i.e. flow information) at the server computer system, ¶0074, teaches updated versioning information is returned form the database to the server computer system. Based on the configuration of the query, the database can return, for example, versioning information for all monitored data tables, versioning information for monitored data tables with outstanding cache dependencies, or versioning information for monitored data tables that have changed).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ang’s Virtual switch as virtualization device with version information about the flow information in the network virtualization device, transmitting, by the virtual network interface card to the network interface service, an update request to receive updated flow information associated with flow information, receiving, by the virtual network interface card, from the network interface service, and in response to the update request, updated flow information and updated version information based on configuration information, storing, by the virtual network interface card, the updated flow information and the updated version information in the network virtualization device of Pizzo, in order to ensure that the flow information is consistent across different components in the network, efficient updates and robust communication in network systems (Pizzo, ¶0020 and ¶0055).
However, Ang in view of Pizzo remain silent on receiving, from the host machine of a compute instance, a packet for traffic associated with the computer instance.
Nunes discloses receiving, from the host machine of a compute instance (¶0076, teaches virtual machines 211 and 212 (i.e. compute instance) operate on host 221 (i.e. host machine)), a packet for traffic associated with the computer instance (¶0025, teaches Dropping a packet (i.e. packet for traffic) may result when a given packet is associated with a communication or flow no longer being processed. A packet may also be dropped because a virtual device lacks sufficient instructions for handling a packet of a type received. Alternatively, a device may be unable to successfully route a given packet to a specified destination, ¶0080, teaches a virtual router created by a tenant to route traffic between the tenant's virtual machines (i.e. computer instance), ¶0141, teaches when an egress host receives a return packet from a virtual machine (VM) (i.e. compute instance) hosted on the physical host associated with the egress host. The return process or reverse flow establishes the return tunnel that returns traffic of a connection, see ¶0134).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ang’s a DROP for packets that are not to be forwarded in view of Pizzo’s system with receive, from the host machine of a compute instance, a packet for traffic associated with the computer instance of Nunes, in order to host machine acts as intermediary, receiving traffic and forwarding it to the correct VM instance (Nunes, ¶0085)
For claim 16, it is a non-transitory computer readable media claim corresponding to the method of claim 11. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected under same ground of rejection of claim 11.
With respect to claims 2, 12 and 17, Ang in view of Pizzo, and further in view of Nunes discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the set of servers further hosts a control plane (Ang, ¶0033, teaches a locally-unique virtual port identifier (VPID) by a flow processing as control plane), the network virtualization network interface card is further configured to:
transmit, to the control plane (Ang, see ¶0033), an available-update request, wherein the available-update request is associated with a portion of the version information (¶0022, teaches the server computer system compares current versioning information (received in the list) to cached versioning information (e.g., versioning information cached along with a portion of cached content), ¶0034, teaches the server computer system queries the change notification table from time to time or in response to a request to retrieve cached content to request updated versioning information for corresponding data tables); and
receive, from the control plane (Ang, see ¶0033), a notification, indicating whether the portion of the flow information applying to the packet is outdated (Ang, ¶0075, teaches identifying the invalidated VPID is based on a notification from the local controller that the VPID is no longer associated with a compute-node interface (e.g., that the compute-node interface formerly associated with the VPID is now associated with a different VPID). In some embodiments, identifying the invalidated VPID includes receiving, from the FPO hardware, a data message that matched a flow entry but failed to match a VPID to PPID mapping, ¶0076, teaches the FPAG does not identify all of the flow entries associated with the invalidated VPID, but instead identifies a flow entry related to the invalid (i.e. portion of the flow information applying to the packet) VPID based on a data message received from the FPO hardwarePizzo, ¶0061, teaches Cache interface module 132 can process received versioning information to identify cache entries that are to be invalidated and potentially removed from cache 112, ¶0073, teaches FIG. 3 illustrates an example flowchart of a method 300 for invalidating a portion of cached content).
With respect to claim 4, Ang in view of Pizzo, and further in view of Nunes discloses the system of claim 2, the virtual network interface card is further configured to invalidate the portion of the flow information that is outdated (Ang, ¶0073, teaches The vNIC 1312 a is connected to virtual function 1333 a that is identified by the PPID 9123 both before and after the configuration change, ¶0076, teaches Based on the identified, invalidated VPID, the FPAG can identify each entry specifying the invalidated VPID as either a source or destination, Pizzo, ¶0073, teaches FIG. 3 illustrates an example flowchart of a method 300 for invalidating a portion of cached content).
With respect to claims 5, 13 and 18, Ang in view of Pizzo, and further in view of Nunes discloses the system of claim 2,
wherein transmitting the update request to the network interface service is responsive to determining that the portion of the flow information that applies to the packet is outdated (Ang, ¶0076, teaches Based on the identified, invalidated VPID, the FPAG can identify each entry specifying the invalidated VPID as either a source or destination, ¶0084, teaches In the case of a physical port failure, a VPID to PPID mapping can be updated so that the VPID associated with the failed physical port is associated to a functional physical port. FIG. 16 illustrates a mapping table 1642 before and after the failure of the physical port 1621 n. The original mapping table 1642 at time T0 includes a mapping between VPID 00000n and PPID 000n after the failure of the physical port 1621 n, the mapping table 1642 is updated at time T1 to include a new mapping of VPID 00000n to PPID 0001.).
With respect to claim 6, Ang in view of Pizzo, and further in view of Nunes discloses the system of claim 2, wherein transmitting the update request occurs prior to receiving a packet associated with the portion of the flow information that is outdated (Ang, ¶0076, teaches Based on the identified, invalidated VPID, the FPAG can identify each entry specifying the invalidated VPID as either a source or destination, ¶0084, teaches In the case of a physical port failure, a VPID to PPID mapping can be updated so that the VPID associated with the failed physical port is associated to a functional physical port. FIG. 16 illustrates a mapping table 1642 before and after the failure of the physical port 1621 n. The original mapping table 1642 at time T0 includes a mapping between VPID 00000n and PPID 000n after the failure of the physical port 1621 n, the mapping table 1642 is updated at time T1 to include a new mapping of VPID 00000n to PPID 0001, see ¶0073).
With respect to claims 7, 14 and 19, Ang in view of Pizzo, and further in view of Nunes discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the network interface service stores configuration information (Ang, ¶0043, teaches receives configuration information for locally-hosted compute nodes and managed switching elements (e.g., virtual switch 261), ¶0073, teaches a system 1300 in which a change to a configuration of a vNIC 1312 a of VM 1311 a at a time “T1” causes the VPID of the vNIC 1312 a to change), wherein only a portion of the configuration information is used to generate the updated flow information (Pizzo, ¶0022, teaches when content in the data table changes after a portion of content based on the data table was cached).
With respect to claims 8, 15 and 20, Ang in view of Pizzo, and further in view of Nunes discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the configuration information comprises security policies (Ang, ¶0042, teaches a particular forwarding rule applies to the data message flow and supplies a set of criteria that uniquely identify the flow to which the data message belongs and an action to take for future data messages belonging to that flow, ¶0044, teaches the local controller 365, in some embodiments, configures the slow path processor 263 with forwarding rules and additional policies (e.g., firewall policies, encryption policies, etc.) necessary to implement a data message processing pipeline defined for the SDN) , overlay-to-substrate internet protocol (IP) address mappings (Ang, ¶0059, teaches determining whether a mapping for the VPID exists in the mapping table includes searching a content-addressable memory (CAM) based on the VPID ), and route rules for one or more packet flows (Ang, ¶0042, teaches a particular forwarding rule applies to the data message flow and supplies a set of criteria that uniquely identify the flow to which the data message belongs and an action to take for future data messages belonging to that flow), and wherein the updated flow information comprises at least one of a security policy, an overlay-to-substrate IP address mapping, or a route rule (Ang, 0042, teaches a particular forwarding rule applies to the data message flow and supplies a set of criteria that uniquely identify the flow to which the data message belongs and an action to take for future data messages belonging to that flow, ¶0044, teaches the local controller 365, in some embodiments, configures the slow path processor 263 with forwarding rules and additional policies (e.g., firewall policies, encryption policies, etc.) necessary to implement a data message processing pipeline defined for the SDN, ¶0059, teaches determining whether a mapping for the VPID exists in the mapping table includes searching a content-addressable memory (CAM) based on the VPID).
With respect to claim 9, Ang in view of Pizzo, and further in view of Nunes discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the flow information comprises a plurality of flow information portions (Pizzo, ¶0017, teaches a single database may simultaneously provide dynamic content to a number of server computer systems, where each server computer system simultaneously queries the database for different portions of dynamic content), wherein the version information comprises a plurality of version information portions corresponding to the flow information portions (Pizzo, ¶0047, teaches versioning information can be stored in versioning information data structures that represent versions of data tables contained in database 141. One of the fields of a versioning information data structure can be a table ID field that represents a table ID identifying a data table in database).
With respect to claim 10, Ang in view of Pizzo, and further in view of Nunes discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the network interface service receives the configuration information from the control plane (Ang, ¶0033, teaches a locally-unique virtual port identifier (VPID) by a flow processing as control plane, ¶0043, teaches the local controller 365 notifies the mapping generator 368 when a configuration change affects the VPID to PPID mappings to allow the mapping generator 368 to generate a new or updated VPID to PPID mapping).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ang in view of Pizzo in view of Nunes, and further in view of Ramasubramani et al. (US 2016/0301566), hereinafter “Ramasubramani”.
With respect to claim 3, Ang in view of Pizzo, and further in view of Nunes discloses the system of claim 2, the one or more version indicators correspond to one or more portions of the flow information (Pizzo, ¶0077-¶0079, teaches Cache interface module 132 can compare received table IDs (table IDs 152 and 157) and to corresponding cached table IDs (tables IDs 123 and 128). When a comparison of table IDs so indicates (e.g., when a received table ID and cached table ID identifying the same data table), cache interface module 132 determines that cached content is dependent on a data table... an act of comparing current versioning information to cached versioning information (act 304). Act 304 can include a server computer system, which constructs Web responses that include content from the at least one data table, comparing current versioning information to cached versioning information… an act of removing a portion of cached content based on results of the comparison (act 305). Act 305 can include a server computer system, which constructs Web responses that include content from the at least one data table, removing a portion of the cached content based on results of the comparison.). However, Ang in view of Pizzo remain silent on wherein transmitting the available-update request comprises sending a vector clock populated with one or more version indicators.
Ramasubramani discloses wherein transmitting the available-update request comprises sending a vector clock populated with one or more version indicators (¶0070, teaches the VRG 303 may send a list of connected devices, network traffic, routing tables, and/or other L2/L3 information. In another example, the VRG 303 may send a configuration ID. This may include a vector clock and/or a version identifier for the configuration of the VRG 303. In some instances, the VRG 303 may store a configuration ID for devices connected downstream).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify Angs in view of Pizzo’s, and further in view of Nunes’s system with sending a vector clock populated with one or more version indicators of Ramasubramani, in order to data structure used for determining the partial ordering of events in a distributed system and detecting causality violations (Ramasubramani).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20160173329A1 teaches establishing a plurality of flow interfaces associated with an enterprise service in response to receiving an order request for the enterprise service and sending, for each of the plurality of flow interfaces, flow interface information that specifies parameters associated with the flow interface to a network routing element designated to transport the enterprise service. The method further includes configuring the flow interface on a media interface of the network routing element as specified by the parameters included in the flow interface information and implementing the enterprise service via the configured flow interface.
US20180098269A1 teaches configuration updates to wireless terminals (1). The method is performed in a network node (2) of a wireless communication network (5) and comprises: determining (60) that a system information configuration has been updated; and transmitting (61) a paging message comprising information indicating to a wireless terminal receiving the paging message whether the updated system information configuration is relevant and/or how to react to the update. It is also presented a method in a wireless terminal, a network node, a wireless terminal, a computer program and a computer program product.
US7013482B1 teaches during this process, a number of filters checks are performed in parallel, resulting in a decision about whether each packet should or should not be invalidated by the time that the last bit is transmitted. To execute this task, the filtering hub performs rules-based filtering on several levels simultaneously, preferably with a programmable logic or other hardware device. Various methods for packet filtering in real time and without buffering with programmable logic are disclosed. The system may include constituent elements of a stateful packet filtering hub, such as microprocessors, controllers, and integrated circuits. The system may be reset, enabled, disabled, configured, and/or reconfigured with toggles or other physical switches. Audio and visual feedback may be provided regarding the operation and status of the system.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GOLAM MAHMUD/Examiner, Art Unit 2458
/UMAR CHEEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2458