DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-11, 16, and 17 are pending and are examined. Claims 12-15 are withdrawn and are not examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Guenat (US Pub 2024/0417661, date of 10/29/2021).
Regarding Claim 1, Guenat teaches a sample carrier (Fig. 2A), comprising:
a reservoir (203) formed as a recess in the sample carrier (202), the reservoir (203) comprising a bottom (para 0132; see Fig. 2A); and
two channels (204, 205) (analogous to channels 104, 105; para 0124; Figs. 1A-D), each having an opening into the reservoir (203) (see Fig. 2A),
wherein the two openings are arranged at the top (i.e., above the bottom) of the reservoir (203) (see Fig. 2A),
wherein an underside of the sample carrier (202) is formed flat (see Fig. 2A),
wherein each of the two openings face a (vertical) direction that is not parallel to the (lateral) underside of the sample carrier (202) (see Fig. 2A); and
wherein the bottom of the reservoir (203) is a surface separate from the underside of the sample carrier (202) and is spaced above the underside of the sample carrier (202), the bottom of the reservoir (203) being parallel to the underside of the sample carrier (202) (see Fig. 2A).
Regarding Claim 2, Guenat teaches the sample carrier according to claim 1, wherein the reservoir has a side wall comprising a surface region that is not perpendicular to the underside, wherein one opening or both openings are arranged in the surface region (the reservoir has a sidewall with a surface region. The surface region is inherent in the sidewall. See 2C. [0132] In another embodiment of the cell culture system 200, the aperture 209 is created by aligning the bottom plate 202 and the top plate 201 of the cell culture system. also Fig. 3D).
Regarding Claim 3, Guenat teaches the sample carrier according to claim 2, wherein the surface region is configured in the form of a step, and wherein the surface region is provided parallel to the underside (the surface region in the form of a step is where the side of 205 is. Fig. 3A, 306 would also be a surface region configured in the form of a step.)
Regarding Claim 4, Guenat teaches the sample carrier according to claim 1, wherein a second end of one of the two channels is configured in the form of a hole on an upper surface of the sample carrier, which is arranged opposite to the underside (see Fig. 1D, end of two channels is a hole).
Regarding Claim 5, Guenat teaches the sample carrier according to claim 1, further comprising: a cover element, and a bottom element, wherein the cover element and the bottom element are connected to each other over the complete area, wherein the underside of the sample carrier is configured on the bottom element, wherein at least one of the channels is at least partially configured in the form of a trench on one side of the cover element, and wherein the trench is covered by the bottom element ([0022] a layer of material that can be covered by a top-substrate or cover. [0074] Preferably, the microfluidic cell culturing device further comprises a bottom plate which advantageously is transparent for microscopic inspection. Such bottom plate allows to provide a solid stand for the device.).
Regarding Claim 6, Guenat teaches the sample carrier according to claim 1, wherein one channel or both channels extend from the openings at least partially perpendicularly to the underside through the sample carrier (See Fig. 2A, 2B, 2D).
Regarding Claim 7, Guenat teaches the sample carrier according to claim 1, further comprising: a supply channel, wherein one end of the supply channel opens into the reservoir in a supply opening that is arranged at a level of one of the two openings or above both openings (Fig. 2B, supply channel 205).
Regarding Claim 8, Guenat teaches the sample carrier according to claim 7, wherein the supply opening is arranged at a point in a side wall of the reservoir at which an edge is present and/or at which a radius of curvature of the side wall has a local minimum (Fig. 2B, supply channel 205, 205 is in contact with reservoir 203).
Regarding Claim 9, Guenat teaches the sample carrier according to claim 1, further comprising a closing element that closes the reservoir to the outside ([0022] a top-substrate or cover).
Regarding Claim 10, Guenat teaches the sample carrier according to claim 1, wherein the reservoir is filled with a hydrogel, and wherein the openings are not covered with the hydrogel ([0040] The cell culture cavity can be embodied to be at least partially filled with a hydrogel prior to its jellification.).
Regarding Claim 11, Guenat teaches the sample carrier according to claim 10:wherein a channel structure is formed in the hydrogel, and wherein the channel structure connects the openings (The microvasculature compartment 103 may be filled with a fluid, such as hydrogel either containing cells or not, that is usually introduced with a pipette via one or more access holes 151 through one or more hydrogel channels 150.).
Regarding Claim 16, Guenat teaches the sample carrier according to claim 1, wherein an entirety of the bottom of the reservoir is flat and runs parallel to the underside of the sample carrier (Fig. 2A and reservoir 203 and bottom plate 202. Bottom of the reservoir is flat and runs parallel to the underside of bottom plate).
Regarding Claim 17, Guenat teaches the sample carrier according to claim 1, wherein each of the two channels comprises a first portion that extends from its opening perpendicularly toward the underside of the sample carrier to a location below the opening, a second portion that extends through the sample carrier parallel to the underside of the sample carrier, and a third portion that extends perpendicularly to the underside of the sample carrier toward a further opening in an upper side of the sample carrier (see Figs. 2B and 2D, first portion would be from opening to the underside of the bottom plate, second portion is extends across bottom plate, third portion extends perpendicular, see 215 and 205).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-10, filed 9/9/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) have been fully considered. The previous rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Guenat (US Pub 2024/0417661).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JB/
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798