CTFR 18/295,468 CTFR 84375 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This communication is in response to amendments filed on 03/24/2026. In the application claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-15, 17-23 are pending. Claims 4, 11, and 16 have been canceled. Applicant’s arguments, filed on 10/21/2025, with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 1, 12 and 13 were fully considered; however, the arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejections. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a plurality of electronic devices configured to receive operation commands from the terminal apparatus…” in claim 1, 12, and 13 are interpreted to be “first electronic device 105 and the second electronic device 106 described above can be, for example, image forming apparatuses. The third electronic device 107 can be, for example, an air conditioner.” See ¶ 0025, “the electronic device is, for example, an image forming apparatus, the device operating unit 303 prints images on recording media such as sheets and reads and copies images. In a case where the electronic device is an air conditioner, the device operating unit 303 operates a compressor, a fan, and so forth.” See ¶ 0026 “a communicator that: communicates with the terminal apparatus… receives, from a user via the terminal apparatus, an instruction… transmits a first command to cause the first electronic device to execute the first process… receives a first result of the first process executed based on the transmitted first command… transmits, to the terminal apparatus in a single transmission, a notification” in claims 1, 12-13 is interpreted to be “server communication unit 204” See ¶ 0034; Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-01 AIA The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112: The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention. 07-31-01 Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-15, and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the new matter requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recites, “transmits, to the terminal apparatus in a single transmission, a notification including the received first result and the received second result.” The device communication unit 301 can send and receive data including information about operation commands, status notifications , and so forth to and from, for example, the terminal apparatus 102. See ¶ 0027. “The terminal apparatus 102 and the plurality of electronic devices are capable of sending and receiving operation commands and status notifications through the server apparatus 104.” See ¶ 0033. The fact that plurality of electronic devices are sending status notifications implies there are plurality of transmission and not a single transmission. No where in the application it has ever mentioned in any form “transmits, to the terminal apparatus in a single transmission, a notification including the received first result and the received second result.” Therefore, claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 12 and 13 recite similar limitations and are therefore rejected for the same reasons. Claims 2-3, 5-10, 14-15, and 17-23 are rejected by the virtue of their dependency. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 13-15, and 17-20, 23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 13 recites, “a non-transitory storage medium storing a communication system comprising a terminal apparatus, a server apparatus, and a plurality of electronic devices…” It is unclear to the Examiner how does an storage medium storing a communication system that is comprising structural terminal apparatus, a server apparatus, and a plurality of electronic devices. The non-transitory storage medium normally store instruction to operate the system. Please make appropriate corrections. Claims 14-15, and 17-20 are rejected by the virtue of their dependency. Claim 23 recites, “the single instruction.” There is improper antecedent basis for the claimed “the single instruction.” It is unclear to the examiner which “the single instruction” claim 23 is referring to. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed “the single instruction” is referring to “the single transmission” of claim 1. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 2, 10, 12-14, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitagata (US 2012/0062946 A1), in view of Lester, Samuel M. et al. (US 2005/0099438 A1) and further in view of Garg, Man M. (US 2005/0038886 A1) . Consider claim 1, Kitagata teaches, a communication system comprising a terminal apparatus (101-103), a server apparatus (104), and a plurality of electronic devices (107-108) configured to receive operation commands from the terminal apparatus (101-103) via the server apparatus (104), Kitagata teaches, “print server 104 receives output destination printer list requests (i.e. commands) from the Web browsers of the client terminals 101 to 103, and then acquires statuses from the printers 105 to 108.” See ¶ 0033 the server apparatus comprising: one or more controllers (305/306/415/413); and a communicator (302/303/416/414/410/411/412) that: communicates with the terminal apparatus (101-103) and the plurality of electronic devices (107-108) including a first electronic device (107) and a second electronic device (108), Kitagata teaches, “In step S701, the Web browser 301 of one of the client terminals 101 to 103 sends a printer list request to the print server 104.” See ¶ 0068 and Fig. 8; Kitagata teaches, “a unit for sending a status acquisition command 612 to a pull print application 304 of a printer to acquire a status simultaneously when a Web browser 301 displays a printer list screen 601.” See ¶ 0101; receives, from a user via the terminal apparatus (101-103), an instruction to associate the first electronic device (107 – Printer A in Fig. 6) with a first process and, Kitagata teaches, “[t]he Web browsers of the client terminals 101 to 103 issue the received print commands to designated printers . Upon receiving the print commands from the Web browsers of the client terminals 101 to 103, the printers 105 to 108 acquire document data to be printed from the print server 104, and print them.” See ¶ 0033, Kitagata teaches, “When the Web browser 301 sends a printer list request to the print server 104, the print server 104 creates the printer list screen 601 shown in FIG. 6A and sends it to the Web browser 301. A check box 602 is used when the user selects a printer to print.” See ¶ 0058 With respect to, instruction… to associate the second electronic device (108 - Printer B in Fig. 6) with a second process, User can later select Printer A and B as discussed in ¶ 0058 and click the execute button 607 for the claimed second process, Kitagata does not explicitly teach that the instruction causes the a second process to associate the second electronic device, nonetheless, in an analogous art, Lester teaches, “modular printing system includes a first printer and a second printer. The modular printing system further includes a connector system adapted to interchangeably connect the first printer to the second printer and a control link adapted for communications between the first printer and the second printer to process a print job without user intervention.” See ¶ 0004. Lester teaches, “[m]odular printing system 10 includes input modules, printers, and finishing modules. The user may choose any combination of input modules, printers and finishing modules to form modular printing system 10. When more than one printer is included in modular printing system 10, the printers automatically negotiate a master/slave relationship between themselves via back plane 14.” See ¶ 0021, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention (effective filing date for AIA application) to modify the invention of Kitagata send the print job to the plurality of selected printers and designate part of the print job to a first printer and part of the print job to a second printer as suggested by Lester in an order to print color pages from the color printer and monochrome prints from the monochrome printer, as suggested by Lester ¶ 0035. wherein, in response to the received instruction, the first electronic device (107) is associated by the one or more controllers with the first process and, Kitagata teaches, “When the user designates a print button 610, the Web browser 301 sends, to the print server 104, print attribute information designated by the user on the print setting screen 608. The print server 104 adds the accepted designated print attribute information to print data. Further, the print server 104 sends, to the Web browser 301, a screen (not shown) containing information described in a script language to send a print command to a printer designated by the check box 602 .” See ¶ 0059; With respect to, in response… the second electronic device (108) is associated by the one or more controllers with the second process, User can select Printer A and B as discussed in ¶ 0058 and click the execute button 607 for the claimed second process, Lester teaches, “When user 32 sends print job 34 to modular printing system 10, computer system 36 interacts with network controller 38 to transfer print job 34 to database 40 of network site 28.” See ¶ 0031, Lester teaches, “modular printing system 10 communicates with network site 28 via first printer 20, which is identified as the master printer and includes a network interface card to transfer print job 34 to modular printing system 10. In one embodiment, as illustrated in FIG. 1, master printer 20 is a monochrome printer and first and second slave printers 22 and 24 are color printers. When first printer 20 receives print job 34 from network site 28, first printer 20 processes print job 34, including monochrome portion 34a until it encounters color portion 34b, which must be processed by either second or third printer 22 and 24. First printer 20 automatically forwards print job 34, including color portion 34b to second or third printer 22 and 24 for processing.” See ¶ 0035, transmits a first command to cause the first electronic device (107) to execute the first process to the first electronic device (107), Kitagata teaches, “In step S701, the Web browser 301 of one of the client terminals 101 to 103 sends a printer list request to the print server 104.” See ¶ 0068 and Fig. 8; With respect to, transmits… a second command to cause the second electronic device (108) to execute the second process to the second electronic device (108), Lester teaches, “once first portion 34a of print job 34 is executed by master printer 20 as described in FIG. 2, the print media is automatically transferred to first slave printer 22 via master output 20b directly into a first slave input 22a for execution of second portion 34b of print job 34.” See ¶ 0043; receives a first result of the first process executed based on the transmitted first command, Kitagata teaches “step S702, the print server 104 sends a status acquisition request to the pull print applications 304 of the printers 105 to 108 based on the printer information 501. In response to the status acquisition request from the print server 104, the device monitoring unit 414 in each pull print application 304 inquires a printer status of the controller 209, acquires it, and sends it back to the print server 104.” See ¶0068 and a second result of the second process executed based on the transmitted second command. Lester teaches, “master printer 20 is a monochrome printer and first and second slave printers 22 and 24 are color printers. When first printer 20 receives print job 34 from network site 28, first printer 20 processes print job 34, including monochrome portion 34a until it encounters color portion 34b, which must be processed by either second or third printer 22 and 24. First printer 20 automatically forwards print job 34, including color portion 34b to second or third printer 22 and 24 for processing. Modular printing system 10 automatically load balances print job 34, including portions 34a and 34b, by directing portions 34a and 34b of print job 34 to an appropriate printer. Thus, monochrome portion 34a is printed on first printer 22 and color portion 34b is printed on second printer 22 or third printer 24.” See ¶ 0035; and transmits, to the terminal apparatus in a single transmission, a notification including the received first result and the received second result, Kitagata teaches, “an update unit configured to update the printer list data received from the print server using the status acquired by the status acquisition unit; and a display unit configured to display, by using the printer list data updated by the update unit, the printer list and an item that allows a user to select, on the Web browser, a printer capable of printing contained in the printer list.” See ¶ 0009, in an analogous art, Garg teaches , “printing systems and more particularly to a method and system for communicating network printer status changes.” See ¶ 0001, Garg teaches, “a method for providing continuous feedback from a printing system, comprising the steps of monitoring the printing system, receiving a status update, converting the status update to a format compatible with a network client; and sending the status update to the client.” See ¶ 0008; Garg teaches, “method may further comprise waiting a first predetermined time period before sending the status update, and if another status update is received prior to the first predetermined time period, waiting a second predetermined time before sending a status update. The status update may comprise … all of the status updates in a single message.” See ¶ 0009 It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention (effective filing date for AIA application) to modify the combination of Kitagata-Lester and sending the status update, wherein the status update may comprise … all of the status updates in a single message, as suggested by Garg in an effort to provide all of the status to the terminal simultaneously. Consider claim 2, the communication system according to claim 1, wherein the transmitted notification includes individual statuses of at least some of electronic devices that have not successfully executed processes among the plurality of electronic devices associated with the first command and the second command, Kitagata teaches, “when the print server 104 sends a status acquisition request to the printer and does not receive a response within a predetermined time, it is determined that communication with the printer is impossible.” See ¶ 0072, Kitagata teaches, “the device monitoring unit 414 inquires a printer status of the controller 209, acquires it, and sends it back to the print server 104 in response to the request. The print server 104 updates a status 504 of the printer information 501 using the acquired information. In step S1106, the Web browser 301 sends a printer list update request to the print server 104. This implements a client terminal update request. In step S1107, the print server 104 creates the printer list screen 601 based on the printer information 501. In step S1108, the print server 104 sends back the printer list screen to the Web browser 301.” See ¶ 0087. Consider claim 10, the communication system according to claim 1, wherein the communicator transmits the notification including a plurality of groups of results to the terminal apparatus in the single transmission. See Garg ¶ 0009. Consider claim 12, a control method for a communication system comprising a terminal apparatus (101-103), a server apparatus (104), and a plurality of electronic devices (107-108) configured to receive operation commands from the terminal apparatus via the server apparatus, the server apparatus(104) having a communicator (302/303/416/414/410/411/412) that communicates with the terminal apparatus (101-103) and the plurality of electronic devices (107-108) including a first electronic device (107) and a second electronic device (108), and one or more controllers (305/306/415/413), the control method comprising: receiving, from a user via the terminal apparatus, an instruction to associate the first electronic device with a first process and to associate the second electronic device with a second process, wherein, in response to the received instruction, the first electronic device is associated by the one or more controllers with the first process and the second electronic device is associated by the one or more controllers with the second process; transmitting a first command to cause the first electronic device to execute the first process to the first electronic device and a second command to cause the second electronic device to execute the second process to the second electronic device; receiving, a first result of the first process executed based on the transmitted first command and a second result of the second process executed based on the transmitted second command; and transmitting, to the terminal apparatus in a single transmission, a notification including the received first result and the received second result, See rejection of claim 1. Consider claim 13, a non-transitory storage medium Kitagata teaches, “non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program for causing a computer to function as a list request receiving unit which receives, from the client terminal, a printer list request containing information indicating a printer capable of printing,” See ¶ 0013 and published claim 10, storing a communication system comprising a terminal apparatus (101-103) , a server apparatus, and a plurality of electronic devices (107-108) configured to receive operation commands from the terminal apparatus (101-103), via the server apparatus, the server apparatus having a communicator (302/303/416/414/410/411/412) that communicates with the terminal apparatus (101-103), and the plurality of electronic devices (107-108) including a first electronic device (107) and a second electronic (108) device, and one or more controllers (305/306/415/413), the control method comprising: receiving, from a user via the terminal apparatus, an instruction to associate the first electronic device with a first process and to associate the second electronic device with a second process, wherein, in response to the received instruction, the first electronic device is associated by the one or more controllers with the first process and the second electronic device is associated by the one or more controllers with the second process; transmitting a first command to cause the first electronic device to execute the first process to the first electronic device and a second command to cause the second electronic device to execute the second process to the second electronic device; receiving, a first result of the first process executed based on the transmitted first command and a second result of the second process executed based on the transmitted second command; and transmitting, to the terminal apparatus in a single transmission, a notification including the received first result and the received second result, See rejection of claim 1. Consider claim 14, the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 13, wherein the method includes including, in the transmitted notification, individual statuses of at least some of electronic devices that have not successfully executed processes among the plurality of electronic devices associated with the first command and the second command, See rejection of claim 2. Consider claim 21, the communication system according to claim 10, wherein the one or more controllers receive a selection of whether to combine the received results, and wherein the communicator transmits the notification including a plurality of groups to the terminal apparatus in the single transmission in a case where a combine request is received. Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art in view of Garg ¶ 0009, to allow the user to select, whether “status update may comprise only the most recent status update, a plurality of status updates, or all of the status updates in a single message.” Consider claim 22, the communication system according to claim 3, wherein a plurality of the simultaneous operation commands is stored by the one or more controllers, Kitagata teaches, “[t]he print server 104 includes a print job management service 306 for managing a print job. This service manages document data or the like input by another service or another program as print data in a storage 307. The data format of the print data is, for example, PDL (Page Description Language) or PDF (Portable Document Format). The storage 307 is a storage device such as an HDD incorporated in the information processing apparatus of the print server 104, an externally connected HDD, or a network storage. A printer management service 305 manages the printers 105 to 108, and manages printer information in FIG. 5 (to be described later) for each printer.” See ¶ 0043, Kitagata teaches, “[u]pon receiving a print data acquisition request from the Web service 303, the print data management unit 401 acquires designated print data from the storage 307” See ¶ 0047; Kitagata teaches, “When the request acceptance unit 409 accepts a print job acquisition request, a print job acquisition unit 407 issues a print data acquisition request to the print job management service 306. When the request acceptance unit 409 accepts a print job status, a print status receiving unit 408 notifies the print job management service 306 of the status.” See ¶ 0050. Consider claim 23, the communication system according to claim 3, wherein the notification is displayed on the terminal apparatus by the single instruction [transmission], See Grag ¶ 0009, corresponding to a simultaneous operation command (S701/S702), of a user of the terminal apparatus, Kitagata ¶ 0047, ¶ 0050, and ¶ 0101 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3, 5-9, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitagata (US 2012/0062946 A1), in view of Lester (US 2005/0099438 A1), in view of Garg (US 2005/0038886 A1), and further in view of Negron (US 2009/0239587 A1) . Consider claim 3, the communication system according to claim 1, further comprising a storage (307), wherein the one or more controllers store the first command and the second command as a simultaneous operation command (S701) in the storage in response to the received instruction from the terminal apparatus, Kitagata teaches, “[t]he print server 104 includes a print job management service 306 for managing a print job. This service manages document data or the like input by another service or another program as print data in a storage 307. The data format of the print data is, for example, PDL (Page Description Language) or PDF (Portable Document Format). The storage 307 is a storage device such as an HDD incorporated in the information processing apparatus of the print server 104, an externally connected HDD, or a network storage. A printer management service 305 manages the printers 105 to 108, and manages printer information in FIG. 5 (to be described later) for each printer.” See ¶ 0043, Kitagata teaches, “[u]pon receiving a print data acquisition request from the Web service 303, the print data management unit 401 acquires designated print data from the storage 307” See ¶ 0047; Kitagata teaches, “When the request acceptance unit 409 accepts a print job acquisition request, a print job acquisition unit 407 issues a print data acquisition request to the print job management service 306. When the request acceptance unit 409 accepts a print job status, a print status receiving unit 408 notifies the print job management service 306 of the status.” See ¶ 0050 wherein the simultaneous operation command is associated with the respective plurality of electronic devices (107-108) on which the process associated the command is executed and respective commands, Kitagata teaches, “[t]he Web application 302 acquires the latest printer information 501, creates a printer list screen, and sends it back to the Web browser 301.” See ¶ 0090 and wherein the communicator transmits, based on a simultaneous operation command (S702) received from the terminal apparatus (101-103), the stored first command and the stored second command associated with the simultaneous operation command (S701), Kitagata teaches, “the printer management service 305 acquires statuses from the printers 105 to 108 based on printer identification information 503 of the printer information.” See ¶ 0048; in an analogous art, Negron teaches, “system and method for enabling control of consumer electronic appliances via a graphical user interface implemented on touch screen equipped personal communication or entertainment devices which include wireless local network capability” See ¶ 0004. Negron teaches, “For selecting a set of appliance code data to be associated with an appliance to be controlled, data may be provided to the command relay device 100 that serves to identify an intended target appliance by its type and command protocol. Such data, provided as part of or separately from a command request, may allow the command relay device 100 to identify the appropriate appliance code data elements within a preprogrammed library of appliance code data, to be used to transmit recognizable commands in a format appropriate for such identified appliances.” See ¶ 0020. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention (effective filing date for AIA application) to modify the combination of Kitagata-Lester-Garg and have a set of appliance code data to be associated with an appliance to be controlled and transmit the associated to identify an intended target appliance by its type and command protocol via a relay device 100. i.e. server 104, to the appliances i.e. printers A, B, and C, in an effort to accurately send the correct commend to the correct printer. Consider claim 5, the communication system according to claim 3, wherein the communicator makes an attempt to communicate, based on the received simultaneous operation command (S702), with the respective electronic device (107-108) after transmitting the first command and the second command, See Fig. 8 and description, and wherein the one or more controllers determine, according to a result of the attempt (S705), a status after the execution of the first process associated with the first command and second command associated with the second command, Kitagata teaches, “step S808, the print server 104 acquires the printer name 502 and status 504 of the printer information 501 from the printer management service 305. In step S809, the print server 104 determines whether the status 504 of the printer is a printable status.” See ¶ 0073. Consider claim 6, the communication system according to claim 3, wherein the communicator obtains a status of the plurality of electronic devices(107-108) associated with the simultaneous operation command (S107) in advance, Kitagata teaches, “[n]ote that the timing when the Web browser 301 of the client terminal sends the printer list update request to the print server 104 in step S1106 may be defined in advance.” See ¶ 0091 and in a case where the plurality of electronic devices associated with the simultaneous operation command is ready to execute an operation command, transmits an operation command based on the simultaneous operation command to the plurality of electronic devices, Kitagata teaches, “[i]f the status acquisition command is contained (YES in step S902), the Web browser 301 repeats, in step S903, processes in steps S904 to S908 by the number of printers for which the status acquisition command 612 is contained.” See ¶ 0076. Kitagata teaches, “Upon receiving the print commands from the Web browsers of the client terminals 101 to 103, the printers 105 to 108 acquire document data to be printed from the print server 104, and print them.” See ¶ 0033. Consider claim 7, the communication system according to claim 3, wherein in a case where after a command (S702) associated with the simultaneous operation command (S701) is transmitted to the plurality of electronic devices (107-108) associated with the simultaneous operation command, a status result (S703) cannot be obtained from an electronic device (107-108) associated with the simultaneous operation command (S701), the one or more controllers store no response (See Fig. 6A Printer B and C) as a status after the execution of the process, of the electronic device associated with the simultaneous operation command, Kitagata teaches, “when the print server 104 sends a status acquisition request to the printer and does not receive a response within a predetermined time, it is determined that communication with the printer is impossible…. the print server 104 changes the status 504 to an unknown status” See ¶ 0072. Kitagata teaches, “Status acquisition commands are described by the number of printers whose statuses cannot be acquired by the print server 104. The status acquisition command is executed when the Web browser 301 displays the printer list screen 601. By executing the status acquisition command, statuses are acquired from the Web browser 301 for the pull print applications 304 of the printers 105 to 108 whose statuses have not been acquired by the print server 104. The Web browser 301 updates the printer list screen 606 shown in FIG. 6C using the acquired printer statuses. When the status is a printable one, a printer selection check box is displayed as represented by the printer list screen 606.” See ¶ 0064. Consider claim 8, the communication system according to claim 3, wherein in a case where after a command (S702) associated with the simultaneous operation command (S702) is transmitted to the plurality of electronic devices (107-108) associated with the simultaneous operation command, a status result (S703) indicating successful execution of a process cannot be obtained from an electronic device (See Fig. 6A Printers B and C) associated with the simultaneous operation command, See ¶ 0072, 0064 the communicator transmits again the command (S705) to the plurality of electronic devices (107-108) associated with the simultaneous operation command (S701), Kitagata teaches, “In step S703, the print server 104 creates the printer list screen 601 containing the status 604 for a printer whose status has been acquired, and the status acquisition command 612 for a printer whose status has not been acquired. In step S704, the print server 104 sends back the printer list screen to the Web browser 301 which has sent the printer list request. In step S705, the Web browser 301 displays the printer list screen and at the same time, sends a status acquisition request to a printer for which the status acquisition command is to be executed. In step S706, the Web browser 301 receives a status from the printer and updates the status in the printer list screen. An example of the status-updated screen is the printer list screen 606 shown in FIG. 6B.” See ¶ 0069. Consider claim 9, the communication system according to claim 3, wherein the communicator, after transmitting the commands (S702) associated with the simultaneous operation command (S701), makes an attempt (S705) to communicate with at least some of the plurality of electronic devices (107-108) associated with the simultaneous operation command, (See Fig. 8 and description), Kitagata teaches, “step S808, the print server 104 acquires the printer name 502 and status 504 of the printer information 501 from the printer management service 305. In step S809, the print server 104 determines whether the status 504 of the printer is a printable status.” See ¶ 0073, and wherein the controller, based on whether or not a response to the attempt (S705) has been received or based on whether or not a response (S706) indicating a desired status has been obtained, determines whether or not the at least some of the plurality of electronic devices is in a desired status, Kitagata teaches, “In step S706, the Web browser 301 receives a status from the printer and updates the status in the printer list screen. An example of the status-updated screen is the printer list screen 606 shown in FIG. 6B.” See ¶ 006, and Figs. 6B and 8. Consider claim 15, the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 13, wherein the method further includes: storing, in a storage, the first command and the second command as a simultaneous operation command in response to the received instruction from the terminal apparatus, wherein the simultaneous operation command is associated with the respective plurality of electronic devices on which the process associated the command is executed and respective commands, See rejection of claim 3 ; and transmitting, based on a simultaneous operation command received from the terminal apparatus, the stored first command and the stored second command associated with the simultaneous operation command, See rejection of claim 3. Consider claim 17, the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 15, wherein the method includes: making an attempt to communicate, based on the received simultaneous operation command, with the respective electronic device after transmitting the first command and the second command, See rejection of claim 5 ; and determining, according to a result of the attempt, a status after the execution of the first process associated with the first command and second command associated with the second command, See rejection of claim 5. Consider claim 18, the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 15, wherein the method includes: obtaining a status of the plurality of electronic devices associated with the simultaneous operation command in advance; and in a case where the plurality of electronic devices associated with the simultaneous operation command is ready to execute an operation command, transmitting an operation command based on the simultaneous operation command to the plurality of electronic devices, See rejection of claim 6. Consider claim 19, the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 15, wherein the method further includes in a case where after a command associated with the simultaneous operation command is transmitted to the plurality of electronic devices associated with the simultaneous operation command, a status result cannot be obtained from an electronic device associated with the simultaneous operation command, registering no response as a status after the execution of the process, of the electronic device associated with the simultaneous operation command, See rejection of claim 7. Consider claim 20, the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 15, wherein the method further includes in a case where after a command associated with the simultaneous operation command is transmitted to the plurality of electronic devices associated with the simultaneous operation command, a status result indicating successful execution of a process cannot be obtained from an electronic device associated with the simultaneous operation command, transmitting again the command to the plurality of electronic devices associated with the simultaneous operation command, See rejection of claim 8 Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Omer S. Khan whose telephone number is (571)270-5146. The examiner can normally be reached 10:00 am to 8:00 pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Brian A. Zimmerman can be reached at 571-272-3059. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Omer S Khan/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 2 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 3 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 4 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 5 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 6 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 7 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 8 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 9 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 10 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 11 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 12 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 13 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 14 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 15 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 16 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 17 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 18 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 19 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 20 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 21 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 22 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 23 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 24 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 25 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 26 Art Unit: 2686 Application/Control Number: 18/295,468 Page 27 Art Unit: 2686