DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 10-13, 17, 19-22, 24, 28-31, and 35-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anthony et al. (US Patent Number 6425632)in view of Barker et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2009/0273215).
Regarding claim 1, Anthony discloses a car seat for installation on a vehicle seat, the car seat comprising: a seat shell including a seat back, a seat pan (see Figures 1 and at least the second paragraph of column 3 describing a seat and back portion), a first seat shell rail having a first outer surface, and a second seat shell rail having a second outer surface (see again Figures 1 showing rails of 21 with outer surfaces forming curved rocker bottoms; note that while a second rail is only partially shown, it would be present based on typical symmetrical construction and is broadly referred to in connection with a second anchor, etc.), the first seat shell rail and the second seat shell rail extending downwardly towards the vehicle seat to directly support the car seat on the vehicle seat (this is the general arrangement; see figures); and an anchor system (including 27, 30-32, and/or 160 for instance) configured to attach the car seat directly to a vehicle seat, the anchor system comprising: a first car seat anchor positioned adjacent to and outside of the first outer surface of the first seat shell rail, the first car seat anchor being configured to engage with a first vehicle anchor of the vehicle seat, and a second car seat anchor positioned adjacent to and outside of the second outer surface of the second seat shell rail, the second car seat anchor being configured to engage with a second vehicle anchor of the vehicle seat (this is the general arrangement; 27 and/or 160 engage at 35, 38 of the vehicle seat, and, while not fully shown, a pair of anchors is described in the third and fourth paragraph of column 3). Anthony further discloses the anchors rotatable about a rotation axis defined by rigid cross-members (at least of pivots), but does not disclose a cross-member connecting both anchors. Barker discloses a related device including a rigid cross-member (of 200) passing through seat shell rails/outer surfaces, wherein first and second car seat anchors are attached to the rigid cross-member and rotatable about a rotation axis defined by the rigid cross-member. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a cross-member as taught by Barker in Anthony’s device because this could improve safety and security for various users.
Regarding claim 20, Anthony discloses a car seat for installation on a vehicle seat, the car seat comprising: a seat shell including a seat pan, a seat back extending from the seat pan (see Figures 1 and at least the second paragraph of column 3 describing a seat and back portion), a first outer surface, a second outer surface, and a bottom surface (sides and bottom of 21 for instance), the first outer surface at least partially defining a first side of the seat shell, and the second outer surface at least partially defining a second side of the seat shell, the first and second sides being on opposing sides of the seat shell, the bottom surface defining a bottom side of the seat shell to directly support the car seat on the vehicle seat (this is the general arrangement; see again Figures 1), wherein the first outer surface and the second outer surface form a unitary and non-separable structure with at least one of the seat back and the seat pan (all portions of member 21), with positions of the first outer surface and the second outer surface being fixed relative to the at least one of the seat back and seat pan (they of the same unit); and an anchor system (including 27, 30-32, and/or 160 for instance) configured to attach the car seat directly to a vehicle seat (see figures; 27 and/or 160 engage at 35, 38 of the vehicle seat), the anchor system comprising: a first car seat anchor positioned adjacent to and outside of the first outer surface of the seat shell (see again Figures 1), the first car seat anchor being configured to engage with a first vehicle anchor of the vehicle seat (as noted above), and a second car seat anchor positioned adjacent to and outside of the second outer surface of the seat shell, the second car seat anchor being configured to engage with a second vehicle anchor of the vehicle seat (this is the general arrangement; while not fully shown, it is described in the third and fourth paragraph of column 3). Anthony further discloses the anchors rotatable about a rotation axis defined by rigid cross-members (at least of pivots), but does not disclose a cross-member connecting both anchors. Barker discloses a related device including a rigid cross-member (of 200) passing through seat shell rails/outer surfaces, wherein first and second car seat anchors are attached to the rigid cross-member and rotatable about a rotation axis defined by the rigid cross-member. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a cross-member as taught by Barker in Anthony’s device because this could improve safety and security for various users.
Regarding claim 38, Anthony discloses an infant car seat system for installation on a vehicle seat comprising: an infant car seat having a seat shell including a seat back, a seat pan (see Figures 1 and at least the second paragraph of column 3 describing a seat and back portion), a first seat shell rail, and a second seat shell rail (see again Figures 1 showing rails of 21 with outer surfaces forming curved rocker bottoms; note that while a second rail is only partially shown, it would be present based on typical symmetrical construction and is broadly referred to in connection with a second anchor, etc.), the second seat shell rail spaced from the first seat shell rail to define a space therebetween (see again Figures 1), the first seat shell rail and the second seat shell rail extending downwardly to directly support the infant car seat on the vehicle seat (this is the general arrangement; see figures); and an anchor system (including 27, 30-32, and/or 160 for instance) configured to attach the infant car seat directly to a vehicle seat, the anchor system comprising: a first infant car seat anchor coupled to the first seat shell rail of the infant car seat outside of the space, to engage with a first vehicle anchor of the vehicle seat; and a second infant car seat anchor coupled to the second seat shell rail of the infant car seat outside of the space, to engage with a second vehicle anchor of the vehicle seat (this is the general arrangement; 27 and/or 160 engage at 35, 38 of the vehicle seat, and, while not fully shown, a pair of anchors is described in the third and fourth paragraph of column 3). Anthony further discloses the anchors rotatable about a rotation axis defined by rigid cross-members (at least of pivots), but does not disclose a cross-member connecting both anchors. Barker discloses a related device including a rigid cross-member (of 200) passing through seat shell rails/outer surfaces, wherein first and second car seat anchors are attached to the rigid cross-member and rotatable about a rotation axis defined by the rigid cross-member. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a cross-member as taught by Barker in Anthony’s device because this could improve safety and security for various users.
Regarding claims 2 and 21, Anthony, modified as described, further discloses the first outer surface and the second outer surface define at least a portion of an outer peripheral surface of the seat shell (this is the general arrangement; see figures).
Regarding claim 3, Anthony, modified as described, further discloses the car seat is an infant car seat (it is described as such).
Regarding claims 4 and 22, Anthony, modified as described, further discloses the first car seat anchor is coupled to the first outer surface (of the first seat shell rail), and wherein the second car seat anchor is coupled to the second outer surface (of the second seat shell rail) (see figures).
Regarding claims 6 and 24, Anthony, modified as described, further discloses at least one of the first car seat anchor and the second car seat anchor is rotatable and/or telescopable relative to the seat shell (they are at the very least rotatable).
Regarding claims 10-12 and 28-30, Anthony, modified as described, discloses a system as explained above but does not disclose details of actuation. Barker further discloses a related device including at least one actuator (110/113) coupled to a car seat and operably coupled to an anchor system, the at least one actuator being configured to release both of a first and second car seat anchor (at 51) from engagement with associated vehicle anchors via a single actuation of the actuator, the actuator is positioned on a backside of the car seat (see figures), and a carrying handle coupled to a car seat, wherein the at least one actuator is positioned on the carrying handle (the actuator 110/113 serves is positioned on handle 250, which could serve as a carrying handle). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide an actuation arrangement as taught by Barker in Anthony’s device because this could improve comfort, convenience, and efficiency for a user.
Regarding claims 13 and 31, Anthony, modified as described discloses a system as explained above but does not explicitly disclose the use of a LATCH system. The use of both ISOFIX and LATCH is old and well-known in the art. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide an appropriate ISOFIX or LATCH arrangement in Anthony’s device to ensure safety in various markets.
Regarding claims 17 and 35, Anthony, modified as described, further discloses the first car seat anchor is mechanically constrained by a first portion of the first seat shell rail/outer surface proximate to a front of the car seat; and the second car seat anchor is mechanically constrained by a first portion of the second seast shell rail/outer surface proximate to the front of the car seat (they would be constrained by the extending portions of the front edge or armrest portions for instance).
Regarding claims 19 and 37, Anthony, modified as described, further discloses the first car seat anchor is rotatably coupled to the first seat shell rail/outer surface, and wherein the second car seat anchor is rotatably coupled to the second seat shell rail/outer surface (this is the general arrangement; see at least the third paragraph of column 3).
Regarding claim 36, Anthony, modified as described, further discloses the bottom surface of the seat shell extends from a back of the car seat to a front of the car seat, the bottom surface being curved (see figures).
Regarding claims 39 and 40, Anthony, modified as described, further discloses positions of the first seat shell rail and the second seat shell rail are fixed relative to the seat back and the seat pan (they are all portions of member 21).
Claim(s) 7-9, 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anthony in view of Barker and further in view of Hutchinson et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2012/0261958). Anthony, modified as described, discloses a seat as explained above but does not disclose a storage area. Hutchinson discloses a related device including at least one storage area (140) to facilitate storage of at least one of a first car seat anchor and a second car seat anchor, via at least one of rotation and/or translation of the at least one of the first car seat anchor and the second car seat anchor, wherein: the at least one storage area includes a first storage area defined by a first outer surface to store the first car seat anchor and a second storage area defined by a second outer surface to store the second car seat anchor, and wherein: the first storage area is positioned on a first front edge of a first seat shell rail/outer surface; and the second storage area is positioned on a second front edge of the second seat shell rail/outer surface (this is the general arrangement based on figures and paragraphs 33, 34, etc.). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide storage as taught by Hutchinson in Anthony’s device as previously modified because this could improve convenience and comfort for various users. Note that while the combination is viewed as providing the storage as claimed, even if this were not clear (with Hutchinson showing only a first side storage or ambiguous about position for instance), duplication and rearrangement of components requires only routine skill in the art and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the arrangement as claimed (with storage on both sides at front edges for instance) based on normal variation to improve user comfort and convenience.
Claim(s) 14-16 and 32-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anthony in view of Barker and further in view of Gaudreau et al. (US Patent Number 8596718). Anthony, modified as described, discloses a system as explained above but does not disclose an adjustment foot. Gaudreau discloses a related device including an adjustment foot (18) disposed proximate to a front of a car seat between rails on a bottom surface, wherein the adjustment foot includes at least one adjustable mechanism to provide adjustable leverage against at least one of a seat back or a seat pan of the vehicle seat, wherein at least one adjustable mechanism includes at least one of an adjustable telescoping mechanism or an adjustable rotating mechanism to provide the adjustable leverage (this is the general manner of operation; see figures). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide an adjustment foot as taught by Gaudreau in Anthony’s device as previously modified because this could improve comfort, convenience, and safety for a user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues that Barney does not disclose a rigid cross member passing through seat shell rails and connecting to anchors. However, it is maintained that Barney does in fact disclose such an arrangement. The rejection refers to Barney disclosing a cross member of 200 meeting the relevant limitations. Applicant is directed at least to Barney’s Figures 6-9 and paragraphs 52-54 showing and describing a rigid cross member 202 for instance (which is part of 200) passing through various seat shell rails (of 252, 201, 52, etc.) and mating with anchors (via 107 and/or the mechanism including 205, etc.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP F GABLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636