DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in reply communication filed on 04/03/2026.
Claims 1-12 and 14 are pending.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filled on 04/03/2026, with respect to Claim Objection of claims 1-5 and 8-12 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Claim Objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filled on 04/03/2026, with respect to rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of claims 1-5 and 8-12 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filled on 04/03/2026, with respect to rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) of claims 1-10-12, and 14 have been fully considered but not persuasive.
Regarding “A. Liu does not disclose the subject matter of the amended independent claims”, applicant argues that “Applicant also maintains that Liu fails to disclose that the beaconing cluster member device is configured to periodically transmit a periodical message to the cluster head device of said beaconing cluster member device. Liu teaches that NAN synchronization beacons are transmitted to peer NAN devices in a NAN cluster so that the peer NAN devices in the NAN cluster may maintain synchronization with the NAN anchor master. (Liu at [0083], [0084]). However, Liu does not disclose or indicate that the periodic NAN synchronization beacons transmitted by the non-master devices are transmitted to the NAN anchor master of those non- master devices, or to any other master device of those non-master devices.” on page 9.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above. According to Liu Paragraph 84 and Fig. 4 below:
[0083] NAN 1.0 defines two NAN beacons—a NAN synchronization beacon and a NAN discovery beacon. A NAN synchronization beacon may be transmitted by both master and non-master sync NAN devices within discovery windows and may be used to allow peer NAN devices in a NAN cluster to maintain synchronization with (or remain or become synchronized to) a NAN anchor master. A NAN discovery beacon may be transmitted by master devices outside of discovery windows and may be used to advertise a NAN cluster to peer NAN devices not in the NAN cluster.
[0084] For example, FIG. 4 illustrates an example of a NAN beaconing schedule, according to some existing implementations. As shown, a NAN scheduling frame (e.g., a 512 time unit (TU) span) may include discovery windows 420 (each may be 16 TUs) as well as base schedule meeting window 422 (which may be 16 TUs and may allow devices in a common data cluster a scheduled meeting time). The remainder of the schedule may be reserved for data link scheduling 424. In addition, a device (e.g., a master or non-master sync device) may transmit NAN synchronization beacons 430 in each discovery window 420. In addition, a master device may periodically transmit NAN discovery beacons 435 outside of discovery windows 420.
Liu teaches that A NAN synchronization beacon may be transmitted by both master and non-master sync NAN devices within discovery windows. That is, the non-master sync device (referred as the at least one beaconing cluster member device)- (which is also referred as the peer NAN devices in a NAN cluster) to periodically transmit NAN synchronization beacons 430 on two discover windows 420 to master device (referred as cluster head device).
Regarding “B. Sakoda does not cure the deficiencies of Liu”, applicant argues that “However, Sakoda fails to remedy the deficiencies of Liu. Sakoda discloses that a wireless communication device exchanges beacon signals periodically between neighboring wireless communication devices, and that the beacon includes an NBOI/NBAI (Neighboring Beacon Offset Information/Neighboring Beacon Activity Information) field that is position (reception point-in-time) information of beacons receivable from nearby stations. (Sakoda at [0170], [0228], [0231]). Thus, the NBOI/NBAI field of Sakoda concerns beacons of other stations. They do not comprise information about the beacons of the transmitting station itself…Therefore, Sakoda, alone or in combination with Liu also fails to disclose that the periodical message comprises timing information indicating a timing of a next beacon message of the beaconing cluster member device transmitting the periodical message as variously recited in the pending independent claims.” on pages 8-9.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above. According to Sakoda Paragraphs 170, 175, 228 and Fig. 7 below:
[0170] The beacon generating unit 104 generates beacon signals periodically exchanged between neighboring wireless communication devices. In order for the wireless communication device 100 to operate a wireless network, the beacon transmission station of the local station and the beacon reception position from nearby stations and so forth are stipulated. This information is stored in the information storage unit 113, and also is described in beacon signal and notified to the nearby wireless communication devices. The configuration of beacon signals will be described later. The wireless communication device 100 transmits beacons at the head of transmission frame cycles, so the transmission frame cycle at the channel which the wireless communication device 100 uses is defined by beacon intervals.
[0175] The beacon analyzing unit 112 analyzes beacon signals received from neighboring stations, and analyzes the existence and so forth of the neighboring wireless communication devices. For example, information such as the beacon reception timing of neighboring stations and neighboring beacon reception timing and so forth are stored in the information storage unit 113 as neighboring device information.
[0228] With the example in the drawing, a beacon includes a TA (Transmitter Address) field, which is an address, uniquely indicating the originating station, a Type field indicating the type of the beacon,
a NBOI/NBAI (Neighboring Beacon Offset Information/Neighboring Beacon Activity Information) field which is reception point-in-time information of beacons receivable from nearby stations, a TOIS (TBTT Offset Indication Sequence) field which is information indicating the TBTT offset value (Described above) in the super frame cycle in which the beacon has been transmitted, an ALERT field for storing TBTT changes and other sorts of information which should be passed on, a TxNum field which indicates the amount of resources which the communication device has secured preferentially, and a Serial field indicating an exclusive and unique serial No. assigned to the beacon in a case of transmitting multiple beacons within the super frame cycle.
Sakoda teaches beacon signals periodically exchanged between neighboring wireless communication devices. The format of a beacon frame, as shown above, includes a TA (Transmitter Address) field, which is an address, uniquely indicating the originating station and NBOI/NBAI (Neighboring Beacon Offset Information/Neighboring Beacon Activity Information) field which is reception point-in-time information of beacons receivable from nearby stations. That is, the beacon signal sent by the neighboring station with indicating reception point-in-time information which considered as a next beacon timing information that to be transmitted from the transmitting neighboring wireless communication device, which indicated by the TA (Transmitter Address) field.
Thus, Sakoda’s beacon frame shown the timing information about the neighboring station that is transmitting the beacon signal as required by the claim.
Regarding “C. The dependent claim rejections should likewise be withdrawn”, applicant argues that “Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the rejection of claim 2 over Liu, Sakoda, and Cardozo, the rejection of claim 5 over Liu, Sakoda, and Baghel, and the rejection of claims 6-7 over Liu, Sakoda, and ETSI TS be withdrawn, for this reason as well as for the additional features they recite. Additionally, because Liu and Sakoda fail to disclose or suggest the base limitations of claim 1 discussed above, claims 8 and 9 are allowable for their dependency on claim 1, as well as for the additional features they recite.” on page 10.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above. Since, the combined system of Liu and Sakoda disclose and suggest the base limitations of claim 1 discussed above, claims 2 and 5- 9 are not allowable for their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 8-9, 10-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2017/0127369) in view of SAKODA (US 2016/0088619).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a timing system for a wireless communication network comprising: a plurality of communication devices [Fig. 3, ¶ 83; a system for a wireless communication network for broadcasting a NAN data beacon of a master and non-master sync NAN devices],
the timing system comprises at least one cluster head device associated with at least one beaconing cluster member device [¶ 83; at least one cluster head device/master devices associated with at least one beaconing cluster member device/peer NAN devices], wherein the at least one beaconing cluster member device is configured to
transmit beacon messages [Fig. 3, ¶ 84; a master transmit a NAN synchronization beacons 430 in each discovery window 420],
wherein the at least one cluster head device and its associated at least one beaconing cluster member device belong to the plurality of communication devices of the wireless communication network [Fig. 3, ¶ 83; wherein the master devices/(at least one cluster head device) and the peer NAN devices/ (at least one beaconing cluster member device) belong to the plurality of communication devices of the wireless communication network], and
wherein the at least one beaconing cluster member device is configured to periodically transmit a periodical message to the cluster head device of the said at least one beacon cluster member device [Fig. 4, ¶ 84; wherein a device/(non-master sync device)/(at least one beaconing cluster member device)/(NAN cluster to peer NAN devices) transmit NAN synchronization beacons 430 in each discovery window 420 (periodically transmit of two discover windows 420)],
wherein the periodical message comprises timing information indicating a timing [Fig. 3, ¶¶ 84-85; wherein the periodical message/(NAN synchronization beacons 430) comprises timing information/(time stamp) and beacon interval indicating a timing].
Although, Liu discloses all aspect set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the periodical message comprises timing information indicating a timing “of a next beacon message of the beaconing cluster member device transmitting the periodical message”.
However, SAKODA discloses wherein the periodical message comprises timing information indicating a timing of a next beacon message of the beaconing cluster member device transmitting the periodical message [See Fig. 2, ¶¶ 165, 170, 378; the wireless communication device 100/ (cluster head device) periodically exchanged between neighboring wireless communication devices/(beaconing cluster member device); in which the wireless communication device 100/ (cluster head device) beacon signals received from neighboring stations; wherein the beacon signals includes a NBOI/NBAI (Neighboring Beacon Offset Information/Neighboring Beacon Activity Information) field which indicating reception point-in-time information of beacons receivable from nearby stations, Also See Fig. 7, ¶¶ 228, 235-238].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the periodical message comprises timing information indicating a timing of a next beacon message of the beaconing cluster member device transmitting the periodical message” as taught by SAKODA in the system of Liu, so that it would to avoid collision by one of the communication stations autonomously moving the beacon transmission timing of itself [see SAKODA; ¶ 78].
Regarding claim 8, the combined system of Liu and SAKODA discloses the timing system according to claim 1.
Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one beaconing cluster member device is further configured to transmit to its cluster head device neighbouring timing information indicating a timing of a next beacon message of one or more neighbouring devices of the at least one beaconing cluster member device, wherein the one or more neighbouring devices belong to the plurality of communication devices of the wireless communication network.
However, SAKODA discloses wherein the at least one beaconing cluster member device is further configured to transmit to its cluster head device neighbouring timing information indicating a timing of a next beacon message of one or more neighbouring devices of the at least one beaconing cluster member device, wherein the one or more neighbouring devices belong to the plurality of communication devices of the wireless communication network [¶ 185; wherein the communication station 04 which appears next sets the beacon transmission timing at a timing at approximately the center of the bacon intervals set by the communication station 02 and the communication station 01].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the at least one beaconing cluster member device is further configured to transmit to its cluster head device neighbouring timing information indicating a timing of a next beacon message of one or more neighbouring devices of the at least one beaconing cluster member device, wherein the one or more neighbouring devices belong to the plurality of communication devices of the wireless communication network” as taught by SAKODA in the system of Liu, so that it would to perform periodic signal transmission and reception at each predetermined time interval, while avoiding collision with signals of other stations [see SAKODA; ¶ 114].
Regarding claim 9, the combined system of Liu and SAKODA discloses the timing system according to claim 8.
Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one beaconing cluster member device is configured to transmit the neighbouring timing information to its cluster head device by including the neighbouring timing information in the next beacon message to be transmitted.
However, SAKODA discloses wherein the at least one beaconing cluster member device is configured to transmit the neighbouring timing information to its cluster head device by including the neighbouring timing information in the next beacon message to be transmitted [¶ 185; wherein the at least one beaconing cluster member device is configured to transmit the neighbouring timing information to its cluster head device by including the neighbouring timing information in the next beacon message to be transmitted].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the at least one beaconing cluster member device is configured to transmit the neighbouring timing information to its cluster head device by including the neighbouring timing information in the next beacon message to be transmitted” as taught by SAKODA in the system of Liu, so that it would to perform periodic signal transmission and reception at each predetermined time interval, while avoiding collision with signals of other stations [see SAKODA; ¶ 114].
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses a timing method for a wireless communication network comprising a plurality of communication devices [Fig. 3, ¶ 83; a method for a wireless communication network for broadcasting a NAN data beacon of a master and non-master sync NAN devices], the method comprising following steps of:
presenting at least one cluster head device associated with at least one beaconing cluster member device configured to transmit beacon messages [Fig. 3, ¶ 83; a master device transmit a NAN discovery beacon to peer NAN devices], wherein the at least one cluster head device and its associated at least one beaconing cluster member device belong to the plurality of communication devices of the wireless communication network [Fig. 3, ¶ 83; wherein the master device and the peer NAN devices belong to the plurality of communication devices of the wireless communication network]; and
transmitting periodically, by the at least one beaconing cluster member device, a periodical message to its cluster head device of the said at least one beacon cluster member device [Fig. 4, ¶ 84; wherein a device/(non-master sync device)/(at least one beaconing cluster member device)/(NAN cluster to peer NAN devices) transmit NAN synchronization beacons 430 in each discovery window 420 (periodical)],
wherein the periodical message comprises timing information indicating a timing [Fig. 3, ¶¶ 84-85; wherein the periodical message/(NAN synchronization beacons 430) comprises timing information/(time stamp) and beacon interval indicating a timing].
Although, Liu discloses all aspect set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the periodical message comprises timing information indicating a timing “of a next beacon message of the beaconing cluster member device transmitting the periodical message”.
However, SAKODA discloses wherein the periodical message comprises timing information indicating a timing of a next beacon message of the beaconing cluster member device transmitting the periodical message [See Fig. 2, ¶¶ 165, 170, 378; the wireless communication device 100/ (cluster head device) periodically exchanged between neighboring wireless communication devices/(beaconing cluster member device); in which the wireless communication device 100/ (cluster head device) beacon signals received from neighboring stations; wherein the beacon signals includes a NBOI/NBAI (Neighboring Beacon Offset Information/Neighboring Beacon Activity Information) field which indicating reception point-in-time information of beacons receivable from nearby stations, Also See Fig. 7, ¶¶ 228, 235-238].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the periodical message comprises timing information indicating a timing of a next beacon message of the beaconing cluster member device transmitting the periodical message” as taught by SAKODA in the system of Liu, so that it would to avoid collision by one of the communication stations autonomously moving the beacon transmission timing of itself [see SAKODA; ¶ 78].
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites a beaconing cluster member device for a wireless communication network, the beaconing cluster member device comprises: a controller, and a radio communicator for operating as a radio node device, wherein beaconing cluster member device is configured to perform the timing system for a wireless communication network recited as in claim 1; therefore, claim 11 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites a timing method for the beaconing cluster member device to perform the timing system for a wireless communication network recited as in claim 1; therefore, claim 12 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites tangible non-volatile computer readable medium to perform the timing system for a wireless communication network recited as in claim 1; therefore, claim 14 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 1.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2017/0127369) in view of SAKODA (US 2016/0088619), and further in view of Cardozo (US 2020/0186415).
Regarding claim 2, the combined system of Liu and SAKODA discloses the timing system according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein in response to receiving the periodical message from its associated at least one beaconing cluster member device the cluster head device is configured to adjust its receiving window margin for receiving the next beacon message from the at least one beaconing cluster member device based on the timing information comprised in the received periodical message.
However, Cardozo discloses wherein in response to receiving the periodical message from its associated at least one beaconing cluster member device the cluster head device is configured to adjust its receiving window margin for receiving the next beacon message from the at least one beaconing cluster member device based on the timing information comprised in the received periodical message [¶ 26; in response to receiving the RF beacon signals (at defined beacon intervals) from each of the nodes 108a-108h, the each of the nodes 108a-108h may control their own beacon intervals, by reducing the beacon intervals to a small time period].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein in response to receiving the periodical message from its associated at least one beaconing cluster member device the cluster head device is configured to adjust its receiving window margin for receiving the next beacon message from the at least one beaconing cluster member device based on the timing information comprised in the received periodical message” as taught by Cardozo in the system of Liu, so that it would provide sufficient power for the node to transmit an outage indication after the node stops receiving power from a primary power source of the node [see Cardozo; ¶ 3].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2017/0127369) in view of SAKODA (US 2016/0088619), and further in view of Baghel et al. (US 2015/0208384).
Regarding claim 5, the combined system of Liu and SAKODA discloses the timing system according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one beaconing cluster member device is configured to transmit the next periodical message to its cluster head device in response to receiving from the cluster head device a beacon message comprising a request to transmit the next periodical message.
However, Baghel discloses wherein the at least one beaconing cluster member device is configured to transmit the next periodical message to its cluster head device in response to receiving from the cluster head device a beacon message comprising a request to transmit the next periodical message [¶¶ 69-70; the second D2D discovery signal 320 may be a response accepting the user device 115-c-1 request for D2D discovery].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the at least one beaconing cluster member device is configured to transmit the next periodical message to its cluster head device in response to receiving from the cluster head device a beacon message comprising a request to transmit the next periodical message” as taught by Baghel in the combined system of Liu and SAKODA, so that it would provide an indication of an amount of time for which the D2D discovery resources are allocated [see Baghel; ¶ 7].
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2017/0127369) in view of SAKODA (US 2016/0088619), and further in view of ETSI TS 103 636-4 V1.3.1 (2021-12) (Release 1) (referred as ETSI TS).
Regarding claim 6, the combined system of Liu and SAKODA discloses the timing system according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the periodical message is an association request message.
However, ETSI TS discloses wherein the periodical message is an association request message [page 27, Section 5.8.4; wherein the periodical message is an association request message].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the periodical message is an association request message” as taught by ETSI TS in the combined system of Liu and SAKODA, so that it would to allow other RDs to associate with RD_2 to control header type 1 [see ETSI TS; page 26, Section 5.8.2].
Regarding claim 7, the combined system of Liu, SAKODA, and ETSI TS discloses the timing system according to claim 6.
The combined system of Liu, SAKODA does not explicitly disclose wherein the association request message is an association request message according to Digital European Cordless Telecommunication 2020 (DECT-2020).
However, ETSI TS discloses wherein the association request message is an association request message according to Digital European Cordless Telecommunication 2020 (DECT-2020) [page 7, Section 1; wherein the association request message is an association request message according to Digital European Cordless Telecommunication 2020 (DECT-2020)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the timing system according to claim 6, wherein the association request message is an association request message according to Digital European Cordless Telecommunication 2020 (DECT-2020)” as taught by ETSI TS in the combined system of Liu, SAKODA, so that it would to allow other RDs to associate with RD_2 to control header type 1 [see ETSI TS; page 26, Section 5.8.2].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In additional to references cited that are used for rejection as set forth above, ZHENG et al. (US 2017/0149614) is also considered as relevant prior arts for rejection of in claims 1 and 10-14 (Fig. 5, ¶¶ 91-95).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PHONG LA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469