DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/26/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Hamada does not disclose expressly the “light source configured to display diffuse moving patterns of light through the fabric layer in response to the microphone.”
Examiner disagrees. Hamada discloses the use of a microphone as a means of user input, thus teaching a voice command (see columns 3 and 4). The control circuitry is disclose to act in response to the voice command (see Column 5) and the display images to a user (see again Column 5). Hamada further discloses “status indicator output”. This constitutes an express teaching that the light source is so configured to display in response to the microphone. Regarding the “diffuse moving pattern” per se, the fabric will act as a diffuser which will then inherently cause the pattern to be diffuse. The display is taught to display images and to serve as a status indicator. The change in status from one status to another status to another status (possibly a return to the first status so such simple tasks as pausing and restarting media, the device serving as a media player or television is taught in column 3) would constitute a pattern and the device being taught to be a television would disclose moving pictures.
Applicant further argues as it regards claim 8 which includes the additional limitations “a voice command”; and “multiple colors” of light. As above as it is established to use the microphone for user input which is then acted upon this constitutes a voice command. In the case of the multiple colors of light this is taught by the device being disclosed to be a television, a tablet computer or a media player, all of which would be recognized as having multiple color outputs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,4-8,11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hamada (US9894789).
With respect to claim 1 Hamada discloses an electronic device comprising: a housing (housing [50; FIG 5], col 6 line 8) having a housing wall with a surface region having compound curvature (the device is curved as seen in figures 2, 3, and 5); a fabric layer that overlaps the surface region of the housing wall (fabric [20; FIG 2, 3, 5], col 6 line 8); a speaker in the housing configured to emit sound (audio components in devices [12; FIG 1] may include speakers and tone generators for presenting sound to a user of device [10] and microphones for gathering user audio input, col 3 line 65 - col 4 line 5); a microphone coupled to the housing configured to receive a voice command (col 3 lines 65-67); and light sources (light-emitting diodes and other components for gathering information about the environment in which device [10] is operating and providing information to a user of device [10] about the status of device [10], col 3 lines 60-65; devices [12] may include one or more displays such as display [14; FIG 1]. Displays may be used to present images for a user, col 5 lines 2-17) configured to display diffuse moving patterns of light through the fabric layer (fabric [20] may be mounted over an electrical component in housing [50] such as light-emitting diodes, lamps, displays, lasers, or other light emitting components, col 6 lines 10-20) in response to the microphone receiving the voice command (col 3 lines 60-65).
With respect to claim 4 Hamada further discloses:
wherein the housing wall has openings that allow the sound to pass (Fabric [20] may form all or part of electronic device [10], may form all or part of a housing wall for electronic device [10], may form internal structures in electronic device [10], may cover one or more openings, recesses, or ports in electronic device [10], col 3 lines 25-30; fabric 20 may include one or more openings such as openings 18A. Openings [18A; FIG 5] may provide fabric [20] with a desired aesthetic, may provide fabric [20] with breathability, and/or may provide fabric [20] with pathways through which signals such as optical signals, audio signals, or other signals may pass (e.g., from the interior of housing [50] to the exterior of housing, col 6 lines 13-27).
With respect to claim 5 Hamada further discloses wherein the openings are diamond-shaped openings (18A; FIG 5; col 6 lines 13-27).
With respect to claim 6 Hamada further discloses wherein the fabric layer has openings that allow the sound to pass (18A; FIG 5; col 6 lines 13-27).
With respect to claim 7 Hamada further discloses wherein the openings are diamond-shaped openings (18A; FIG 5; col 6 lines 13-27).
With respect to claim 8 Hamada further discloses a housing having a housing wall ([50; FIG 5], col 6 line 8);
a fabric layer that overlaps the housing wall ([20; FIG 2, 3, 5], col 6 line 8); a speaker in the housing ([12; FIG 1], col 3 lines 65-67) configured to emit sound through the housing wall and the fabric layer (col 3 lines 25-30; col 6 lines 13- 27); a microphone in the housing configured to receive a voice command (col 3 line 65 - col 4 line 5); and light sources in the housing configured to display light patterns of multiple colors as a visual indication that the voice command has been received by the microphone (col 3 lines 60-6; [14; FIG 1], col 5 lines 2- 17), wherein the light sources are configured to display the light patterns from at least a portion of the fabric layer (col 6 lines 10-20).
With respect to claim 11, Hamada further discloses wherein the housing wall has a surface region having compound curvature (the device is curved as seen in figures 2, 3, and 5).
With respect to claim 12, Hamada further discloses wherein the portion of the fabric layer overlaps the surface region of the housing wall ([20; FIG 2, 3, 5], col 6 line 8).
With respect to claim 13, Hamada further discloses wherein the housing wall has openings that allow the sound to pass (col 3 lines 25-30; col 6 lines 13-27).
With respect to claim 14 Hamada further discloses wherein the fabric layer has openings that allow the sound to pass (18A; FIG 5; col 6 lines 13-27).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
Claims 2-3, and 9-10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FORREST M PHILLIPS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837