DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-5, 9-13 and 17-21 are pending. Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 12-15, filed 11/06/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-4, 9-12 and 17-20 has been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments to the claims. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, in light of the amendments to the claims and upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, US 2024/0040634 in view of Naik et al, US 2024/0340788 and further in view of Xin et al, US 2023/0139168.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-4, 9-12 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, US 2024/0040634 hereafter Kim in view of Naik et al, US 2024/0340788 hereafter ‘0788 and further in view of Xin et al, US 2023/0139168 hereafter Xin.
As for claim 1, Kim discloses:
A non-access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) (Kim, Fig. 2, The non-AP MLD) comprising:
A first station (STAs) comprising first transceiver (Kim, Fig. 5B, STA1 and STA2), respectively, the first STA configured to form a first enhanced multi-link multi-radio (EMLMR) link for an EMLMR mode of operation (Kim, [0102], When the STA MLD is an eMLSR or eMLMR terminal, an end time point of the data frame to be transmitted in the second link may be determined by considering a time required for transitioning one radio to the first link in the eMLSR or eMLMR terminal) with a first AP of an AP MLD (Kim, [0103], An STA MLD operating as a non-STR STA MLD in the non-STR link pair may negotiate to operate the TWT or rTWT in the first link through the ML TWT negotiation procedure with the AP MLD), and
a second STA (Kim, Fig. 5B, STA2) comprising a second transceiver, the second STA configured to form a second EMLMR link for the EMLMR mode of operation (Kim, [0063], [0102], When the STA MLD is an eMLSR or eMLMR terminal, an end time point of the data frame to be transmitted in the second link may be determined by considering a time required for transitioning one radio to the first link in the eMLSR or eMLMR terminal.) with a second AP of the AP MLD (Kim, [0101], In this case, during the TWT or rTWT SP in the second link, the AP2 may transmit an immediate response to the data frame of the STA2 according to a transmission time of the trigger frame in the first link. Accordingly, in the second link, the STA2 may complete the data transmission operation before the start time point of the TWT or rTWT SP of the first link.),
wherein a frame exchange is configured to take place on the second EMLMR link (Kim, [0018], receiving a data frame from the second device within the TWT SP of the second link)
a processor operably coupled to the first transceiver and second transceiver (Kim, Fig. 1, 110, 130, [0049]-[0050],The communication node 100 may include at least one processor 110, a memory 120, and a plurality of transceivers 130 connected to a network to perform communications.), the processor configured to:
based on the first r-TWT service period (SP) on the first EMLMR link (Kim, [0091], [0098]-[0099], based on the rTWT SP of the first link, determining scheduling of another/second link), determine scheduling for traffic on the first EMLMR link and the second EMLMR link (Kim, Fig. 5B, [0087], [0091], [0096]-[0099], [0102]-[0104], Determining the timing/scheduling for transmission/traffic on the first and second eMLMR links based on the rTWT SP of the first link).
Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the first STA is a member of a first restricted target wake time (r-TWT) schedule on the first EMLMR link… operate in the EMLMR mode on the first EMLMR link and on the second EMLMR link;… and wherein the second STA is not a member of an r-TWT schedule that overlaps in time with the first r-TWT SP on the first EMLMR link, and wherein a portion of a transmission opportunity (TXOP) where the frame exchange is configured to take place on the second EMLMR link overlaps in time with the first r-TWT SP on the first EMLMR link.
However, ‘0788 discloses wherein the first STA is a member of a first restricted target wake time (r-TWT) schedule on the first EMLMR link (‘0788, Fig. 4, “r-TWT SP”, [0061], The STA 402 may be a low-latency STA that is a member of an r-TWT SP, which spans a duration/schedule) … operate in the EMLMR mode on the first EMLMR link and on the second EMLMR link (‘0788, Fig. 1, [0070], [0129], the links 504 and 506 (referred to herein as “EMLMR links”);… and wherein the second STA is not a member of an r-TWT schedule that overlaps in time with the first r-TWT SP on the first EMLMR link (‘0788, Fig. 4, [0033], [0061]-[0062], Non-legacy STAs that support r-TWT operation and acquire transmit opportunities (TXOPs) outside of an r-TWT SP must terminate their respective TXOPs before the start of any r-TWT SP for which they are not a member), and wherein a portion of a transmission opportunity (TXOP) where the frame exchange is configured to take place on the second EMLMR link overlaps in time with the first r-TWT SP on the first EMLMR link (‘0788, Fig. 6A, Fig. 6B, [0011], [0035]-[0036], [0072]-[0074],[0123]-[0124], In some other aspects, the first TWT SP may at least partially overlap the second TWT SP in time…In some implementations, when a TXOP acquired on a non-r-TWT link overlaps the r-TWT SP, the TXOP holder may extend the TXOP to support an exchange of latency-sensitive traffic on the non-r-TWT link during a period associated (or coinciding) with the r-TWT SP.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with wherein the first STA is a member of a first restricted target wake time (r-TWT) schedule on the first EMLMR link… operate in the EMLMR mode on the first EMLMR link and on the second EMLMR link;… and wherein the second STA is not a member of an r-TWT schedule that overlaps in time with the first r-TWT SP on the first EMLMR link, and wherein a portion of a transmission opportunity (TXOP) where the frame exchange is configured to take place on the second EMLMR link overlaps in time with the first r-TWT SP on the first EMLMR link as taught by ‘0788 to improve the latency gains achievable by latency-sensitive traffic through application of r-TWT service periods (‘0788, [0039]).
The combination of Kim and ‘0788 does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured to end the TXOP no later than a threshold amount of time before the first r-TWT SP starts on the first EMLMR link, and wherein the threshold amount of time includes an EMLMR delay indicated in an EMLMR subfield of an EML capabilities subfield.
However, Xin discloses wherein the processor is configured to end the TXOP no later than a threshold amount of time before the first r-TWT SP starts on the first EMLMR link, and wherein the threshold amount of time includes an EMLMR delay indicated in an EMLMR subfield of an EML capabilities subfield. (Xin, [0287] The STA3 has to end its TXOP on link1 eMLSR/eMLMR at a given Delay time before the start time of R-TWT4 SP. AP1 is not allowed to transmit to STA3 on link1 until R-TWT4 SP ends. The delay time is specified in the associated EML capability fields. The Examiner interprets “given” to correspond to threshold)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings Kim and ‘0788 with wherein the processor is configured to end the TXOP no later than a threshold amount of time before the first r-TWT SP starts on the first EMLMR link, and wherein the threshold amount of time includes an EMLMR delay indicated in an EMLMR subfield of an EML capabilities subfield as taught by Xin to provide improved quality of service, such as throughput, latency, reliability, and jitter, for the traffic transmission. (Xin, [0077])
As for claims 2, 10 and 18, Kim does not explicitly disclose the processor is further configured, based on the first r-TWT SP, to determine scheduling traffic on the first EMLMR link and the second EMLMR link such that the STA operating on the second EMLMR link ends the frame exchange on the second EMLMR link before the first r-TWT SP starts on the first EMLMR link.
However, ‘0788 discloses the processor is further configured, based on the first r-TWT SP, to determine scheduling traffic on the first EMLMR link and the second EMLMR link (‘0788, Fig. 1, [0070], [0129], the links 504 and 506 (referred to herein as “EMLMR links”) such that the STA operating on the second EMLMR link ends the frame exchange on the second EMLMR link before the first r-TWT SP starts on the first EMLMR link (‘0788, Fig, 4, “TXOP (truncated)”, [0062], The existing rules regarding r-TWT operation require non-member STAs to terminate their TXOPs by the start of an r-TWT SP, the non-member STA 404 must truncate its TXOP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the processor is further configured, based on the first r-TWT SP, to determine scheduling traffic on the first EMLMR link and the second EMLMR link such that the STA operating on the second EMLMR link ends the frame exchange on the second EMLMR link before the first r-TWT SP starts on the first EMLMR link as taught by ‘0788 to improve the latency gains achievable by latency-sensitive traffic through application of r-TWT service periods (‘0788, [0039]).
As for claims 3, 11 and 19, Kim does not explicitly disclose the processor is further configured, based on the first r-TWT SP, to determine scheduling traffic on the first EMLMR link and the second EMLMR link such that the frame exchange on the second EMLMR link is ended at least an amount of time before the first r-TWT SP starts on the first EMLMR link
However, ‘0788 discloses the processor is further configured, based on the first r-TWT SP, to determine scheduling traffic on the first EMLMR link and the second EMLMR link (‘0788, Fig. 1, [0070], [0129], the links 504 and 506 (referred to herein as “EMLMR links”) such that the frame exchange on the second EMLMR link is ended at least an amount of time before the first r-TWT SP starts on the first EMLMR link (‘0788, [0089], The threshold duration (also referred to herein as a “buffer period”), between times t1 and t2, may be greater than or equal to a delay associated with switching communications over from Link2 to Link1.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the processor is further configured, based on the first r-TWT SP, to determine scheduling traffic on the first EMLMR link and the second EMLMR link such that the frame exchange on the second EMLMR link is ended at least an amount of time before the first r-TWT SP starts on the first EMLMR link as taught by ‘0788 to improve the latency gains achievable by latency-sensitive traffic through application of r-TWT service periods (‘0788, [0039]).
As for claims 4, 12 and 20, Kim discloses:
The processor is further configured to determine scheduling traffic on the first and second links such that a frame exchange during the first r-TWT SP on the first EMLMR link (Kim, [0102], the first link associated with the eMLMR terminal) is initiated by the first AP without the first STA receiving an initial frame (Kim, Fig. 6, [0078], [0102], [0108]-[0109], When the TWT or rTWT is configured, the STA MLD and the AP MLD may transmit and receive frames within a service period (SP), which is a time (e.g., scheduled time) specified by the TWT. Additionally, the TWT or rTWT may be configured as a trigger enabled TWT in which the STA MLD can transmit a data frame only by a trigger frame transmitted by the AP MLD.) with a padding requirement for the EMLMR mode of operation from the first AP (Kim, [0102], the eMLSR or eMLMR terminal may receive the frame received in the first link through a plurality of spatial streams by transitioning all radios (e.g., radios operating in the second link) to the first link where the TWT or rTWT operates before the start time point of the SP of the TWT or rTWT of the first link. Kim does not disclose requiring a padding requirement for EMLMR mode.)
As for claim 9, Kim discloses:
An access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) comprising:
A first AP (Kim, [0063], AP1 of the AP MLD and a STA1 of the STA MLD may each be in charge of a first link and may communicate using the first link. An AP2 of the AP MLD and a STA2 of the STA MLD may each be in charge of a second link, and may communicate using the second link.) comprising transceivers (Kim, Fig. 1, 110, 130, [0049]-[0050], The communication node 100 may include at least one processor 110, a memory 120, and a plurality of transceivers 130 connected to a network to perform communications.), the first AP (Kim, [0063], AP1 of the AP MLD and a STA1 of the STA MLD may each be in charge of a first link and may communicate using the first link.) configured to form a first enhanced multi-link multi-radio (EMLMR) link for an EMLMR mode of operation with a first station (STA) of a non-AP MLD (Kim, [0101], the eMLSR or eMLMR terminal may receive the frame received in the first link through a plurality of spatial streams by transitioning all radios (e.g., radios operating in the second link) to the first link where the TWT or rTWT operates before the start time point of the SP of the TWT or rTWT of the first link.), and
wherein the first STA is a member of a first restricted target wake time (r-TWT) schedule on the first EMLMR link (Kim, [0085], When the TWT or rTWT is configured, the STA MLD and the AP MLD may transmit and receive a frame in a SP, which is a time (e.g., scheduled time) specified by the TWT. [0091]… the rTWT may be configured to operate in one link (e.g., first link) of the non-STR link pair. [0102]);
a second AP (Kim, [0063], An AP2 of the AP MLD and a STA2 of the STA MLD may each be in charge of a second link, and may communicate using the second link. [0101], In this case, during the TWT or rTWT SP in the second link, the AP2 may transmit an immediate response to the data frame of the STA2 according to a transmission time of the trigger frame in the first link. Accordingly, in the second link, the STA2 may complete the data transmission operation before the start time point of the TWT or rTWT SP of the first link.) comprising a second transceiver, the second AP configured to form a second EMLMR link for the EMLMR mode of operation with a second STA of the AP MLD (Kim, [0063], [0102], When the STA MLD is an eMLSR or eMLMR terminal, an end time point of the data frame to be transmitted in the second link may be determined by considering a time required for transitioning one radio to the first link in the eMLSR or eMLMR terminal.),
wherein a frame exchange is configured to take place on the second EMLMR link (Kim, [0018], receiving a data frame from the second device within the TWT SP of the second link)
a processor operably coupled to the first transceiver and the second transceiver (Kim, Fig. 1, 110, 130, [0049]-[0050], The communication node 100 may include at least one processor 110, a memory 120, and a plurality of transceivers 130 connected to a network to perform communications.), the processor configured to:
based on the first r-TWT SP determine scheduling for traffic on the first EMLMR link and the second EMLMR link (Kim, Fig. 5B, [0087], [0091], [0096]-[0099], [0102]-[0104], Determining the timing/scheduling for transmission/traffic on the first and second eMLMR links based on the rTWT SP of the first link).
Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the first STA is a member of a first restricted target wake time (r-TWT) schedule on the first EMLMR link… operate in the EMLMR mode on the first EMLMR link and on the second EMLMR link;… and wherein the second STA is not a member of an r-TWT schedule that overlaps in time with the first r-TWT SP on the first EMLMR link, and wherein a portion of a transmission opportunity (TXOP) where the frame exchange is configured to take place on the second EMLMR link overlaps in time with the first r-TWT SP on the first EMLMR link.
However, ‘0788 discloses wherein the first STA is a member of a first restricted target wake time (r-TWT) schedule on the first EMLMR link (‘0788, Fig. 4, “r-TWT SP”, [0061], The STA 402 may be a low-latency STA that is a member of an r-TWT SP, which spans a duration/schedule) … operate in the EMLMR mode on the first EMLMR link and on the second EMLMR link (‘0788, Fig. 1, [0070], [0129], the links 504 and 506 (referred to herein as “EMLMR links”);… and wherein the second STA is not a member of an r-TWT schedule that overlaps in time with the first r-TWT SP on the first EMLMR link (‘0788, Fig. 4, [0033], [0061]-[0062], Non-legacy STAs that support r-TWT operation and acquire transmit opportunities (TXOPs) outside of an r-TWT SP must terminate their respective TXOPs before the start of any r-TWT SP for which they are not a member), and wherein a portion of a transmission opportunity (TXOP) where the frame exchange is configured to take place on the second EMLMR link overlaps in time with the first r-TWT SP on the first EMLMR link (‘0788, Fig. 6A, Fig. 6B, [0011], [0035]-[0036], [0072]-[0074],[0123]-[0124], In some other aspects, the first TWT SP may at least partially overlap the second TWT SP in time…In some implementations, when a TXOP acquired on a non-r-TWT link overlaps the r-TWT SP, the TXOP holder may extend the TXOP to support an exchange of latency-sensitive traffic on the non-r-TWT link during a period associated (or coinciding) with the r-TWT SP.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with wherein the first STA is a member of a first restricted target wake time (r-TWT) schedule on the first EMLMR link… operate in the EMLMR mode on the first EMLMR link and on the second EMLMR link;… and wherein the second STA is not a member of an r-TWT schedule that overlaps in time with the first r-TWT SP on the first EMLMR link, and wherein a portion of a transmission opportunity (TXOP) where the frame exchange is configured to take place on the second EMLMR link overlaps in time with the first r-TWT SP on the first EMLMR link as taught by ‘0788 to improve the latency gains achievable by latency-sensitive traffic through application of r-TWT service periods (‘0788, [0039]).
The combination of Kim and ‘0788 does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured to end the TXOP no later than a threshold amount of time before the first r-TWT SP starts on the first EMLMR link, and wherein the threshold amount of time includes an EMLMR delay indicated in an EMLMR subfield of an EML capabilities subfield.
However, Xin discloses wherein the processor is configured to end the TXOP no later than a threshold amount of time before the first r-TWT SP starts on the first EMLMR link, and wherein the threshold amount of time includes an EMLMR delay indicated in an EMLMR subfield of an EML capabilities subfield. (Xin, [0287] The STA3 has to end its TXOP on link1 eMLSR/eMLMR at a given Delay time before the start time of R-TWT4 SP. AP1 is not allowed to transmit to STA3 on link1 until R-TWT4 SP ends. The delay time is specified in the associated EML capability fields. The Examiner interprets “given” to correspond to threshold)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings Kim and ‘0788 with wherein the processor is configured to end the TXOP no later than a threshold amount of time before the first r-TWT SP starts on the first EMLMR link, and wherein the threshold amount of time includes an EMLMR delay indicated in an EMLMR subfield of an EML capabilities subfield as taught by Xin to provide improved quality of service, such as throughput, latency, reliability, and jitter, for the traffic transmission. (Xin, [0077])
As for claim 17, Kim discloses:
A method for wireless communication performed by a non-access point (AP) multi- link device (MLD) that comprises stations (STAs), the method comprising:
forming, by a first of the STAs, forming a first enhanced multi-link multi-radio (EMLMR) link for an EMLMR mode of operation with a first AP of an AP MLD (Kim, [0102], When the STA MLD is an eMLSR or eMLMR terminal, an end time point of the data frame to be transmitted in the second link may be determined by considering a time required for transitioning one radio to the first link in the eMLSR or eMLMR terminal);
forming by a second of the STAs, a second EMLMR link for the EMLMR mode of operation (Kim, [0063], [0102], When the STA MLD is an eMLSR or eMLMR terminal, an end time point of the data frame to be transmitted in the second link may be determined by considering a time required for transitioning one radio to the first link in the eMLSR or eMLMR terminal.) with a second AP of the AP MLD (Kim, [0063], An AP2 of the AP MLD and a STA2 of the STA MLD may each be in charge of a second link, and may communicate using the second link. [0101], In this case, during the TWT or rTWT SP in the second link, the AP2 may transmit an immediate response to the data frame of the STA2 according to a transmission time of the trigger frame in the first link. Accordingly, in the second link, the STA2 may complete the data transmission operation before the start time point of the TWT or rTWT SP of the first link.)
wherein a frame exchange takes place on the second EMLMR link (Kim, [0018], receiving a data frame from the second device within the TWT SP of the second link),
determining, based on the first r-TWT SP, scheduling for traffic on the first EMLMR link and the second EMLMR link (Kim, Fig. 5B, [0087], [0091], [0096]-[0099], [0102]-[0104], Determining the timing/scheduling for transmission/traffic on the first and second eMLMR links based on the rTWT SP of the first link).
Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the first STA is a member of a first restricted target wake time (r-TWT) schedule on the first EMLMR link… operate in the EMLMR mode on the first EMLMR link and on the second EMLMR link;… and wherein the second STA is not a member of an r-TWT schedule that overlaps in time with the first r-TWT SP on the first EMLMR link, and wherein a portion of a transmission opportunity (TXOP) where the frame exchange is configured to take place on the second EMLMR link overlaps in time with the first r-TWT SP on the first EMLMR link.
However, ‘0788 discloses wherein the first STA is a member of a first restricted target wake time (r-TWT) schedule on the first EMLMR link (‘0788, Fig. 4, “r-TWT SP”, [0061], The STA 402 may be a low-latency STA that is a member of an r-TWT SP, which spans a duration/schedule) … operate in the EMLMR mode on the first EMLMR link and on the second EMLMR link (‘0788, Fig. 1, [0070], [0129], the links 504 and 506 (referred to herein as “EMLMR links”);… and wherein the second STA is not a member of an r-TWT schedule that overlaps in time with the first r-TWT SP on the first EMLMR link (‘0788, Fig. 4, [0033], [0061]-[0062], Non-legacy STAs that support r-TWT operation and acquire transmit opportunities (TXOPs) outside of an r-TWT SP must terminate their respective TXOPs before the start of any r-TWT SP for which they are not a member), and wherein a portion of a transmission opportunity (TXOP) where the frame exchange is configured to take place on the second EMLMR link overlaps in time with the first r-TWT SP on the first EMLMR link (‘0788, Fig. 6A, Fig. 6B, [0011], [0035]-[0036], [0072]-[0074],[0123]-[0124], In some other aspects, the first TWT SP may at least partially overlap the second TWT SP in time…In some implementations, when a TXOP acquired on a non-r-TWT link overlaps the r-TWT SP, the TXOP holder may extend the TXOP to support an exchange of latency-sensitive traffic on the non-r-TWT link during a period associated (or coinciding) with the r-TWT SP.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with wherein the first STA is a member of a first restricted target wake time (r-TWT) schedule on the first EMLMR link… operate in the EMLMR mode on the first EMLMR link and on the second EMLMR link;… and wherein the second STA is not a member of an r-TWT schedule that overlaps in time with the first r-TWT SP on the first EMLMR link, and wherein a portion of a transmission opportunity (TXOP) where the frame exchange is configured to take place on the second EMLMR link overlaps in time with the first r-TWT SP on the first EMLMR link as taught by ‘0788 to improve the latency gains achievable by latency-sensitive traffic through application of r-TWT service periods (‘0788, [0039]).
The combination of Kim and ‘0788 does not explicitly disclose ending the TXOP no later than a threshold amount of time before the first r-TWT SP starts on the first EMLMR link, wherein the threshold amount of time includes an EMLMR delay indicated in an EMLMR subfield of an EML capabilities subfield.
However, Xin discloses ending the TXOP no later than a threshold amount of time before the first r-TWT SP starts on the first EMLMR link, wherein the threshold amount of time includes an EMLMR delay indicated in an EMLMR subfield of an EML capabilities subfield (Xin, [0287] The STA3 has to end its TXOP on link1 eMLSR/eMLMR at a given Delay time before the start time of R-TWT4 SP. AP1 is not allowed to transmit to STA3 on link1 until R-TWT4 SP ends. The delay time is specified in the associated EML capability fields. The Examiner interprets “given” to correspond to threshold)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings Kim and ‘0788 with ending the TXOP no later than a threshold amount of time before the first r-TWT SP starts on the first EMLMR link, wherein the threshold amount of time includes an EMLMR delay indicated in an EMLMR subfield of an EML capabilities subfield as taught by Xin to provide improved quality of service, such as throughput, latency, reliability, and jitter, for the traffic transmission. (Xin, [0077])
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 5-8 and 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469