DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment filed on March 16, 2026, entered as per the RCE filed March 26, 2026:
Claims 1-23 are pending;
The prior art rejections of record set forth in the previous Office Action stand as modified in light of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 13-16 and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0298934) in view of Cho et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,206,098).
As to claim 1, Wu discloses a battery holder comprising:
a holder body 110 including a holder space 1102 in which a battery 130 is configured to be at least partially provided, the holder space 1102 including an insertion opening 1103 through which the battery 130 is configured to pass in a first direction, the holder body 110 including a side wall partially defining the holder space; and
a holder lid 120 attachable to the holder body 110 to cover the insertion opening 1103 at least partially, the holder lid 120 being configured to cover the side wall at least partially in an attachment state where the holder lid is attached to the holder body (see Fig. 2 and annotated portion of Fig. 2 below).
The lid 120 is linearly slidably attachable to cover the insertion opening at least upon assembly to effectively permit proper placement of the lid 120 prior to insertion of the pin. In addition, while the final design may employ pivoting to move the lid 120 relative to the holder, the holder is sufficiently designed to permit removal of the pin and then linear sliding of the lid in relation to the body if needed. The holder is then retained in the body to restrict movement of the lid in the first direction.
As to claim 2, the holder lid 120 includes an interior battery receiving portion and an exterior cover portion,
The battery receiving portion is configured to receive the battery 120 in the battery holder state where the battery 120 is provided in the holder space 1103 and where the lid 120 is attached to the body 110, and
The exterior cover portion protrudes from the battery receiving portion to cover the side wall at least partially in an attachment state (see annotated Fig. 3 below).
As to claim 3, the side wall includes a lip provided between the battery and the cover portion in the battery holding state (see annotated portion of Fig. 2 below).
As to claim 4, the cover portion 120 protrudes downward from the inner surface battery receiving portion of the cover 120 in the first (insertion) direction.
As to claim 5, the cover portion includes a cover end part, and the cover portion extends from the battery receiving portion to the cover end part beyond the insertion opening in the first direction (see annotated portion of Fig. 2 below).
As to claim 13, the side wall includes a lip and corresponding recess adjacent to the lip and the cover portion includes a corresponding mating surface feature which is thus configured to be provide in the recess adjacent to the lip in the attachment state (annotated Fig. 2 below denoting the lip).
As to claim 14, the side wall includes a wall portion and a protruding portion, the protruding portion protrudes from the wall portion away from the holder space, and the wall portion and the protruding portion define the recess (see annotated portion of Fig. 2 below).
As to claim 15, the cover portion includes an inclined end surface, the cover portion extends from the battery receiving portion to the inclined end surface in the first direction, the inclined end surface is non-perpendicular to and non-parallel to the first direction, the protruding portion includes an additional inclined end surface, the additional inclined end surface is non-perpendicular to and non-parallel to the first direction, and the inclined end surface is configured to face the additional inclined end surface in the attachment state (see annotated portion of Fig. 2 below).
As to claim 16, the holder space includes an interior lower surface constituting an end portion spaced apart from the insertion opening in the first direction, and
The holder space 1102 is at least partially provided between the end portion of cover 120 and the battery receiving portion defined inside of the cover 120 in the first direction in the attachment state (see annotated portion of Fig. 2 below).
As to claim 19, the holder lid 120 is at least partially provided farther from a mounting portion than the holder body 110 in a mounting state where the battery 130 is mounted to a vehicle body of a human-powered vehicle (bicycle of Wu), and the base
member includes the mounting portion attached to the vehicle body in the mounting state (see Figs. 2 and 3, for example).
As to claim 20, a bicycle component, such as a front derailleur includes the battery holder of claim 1 (see Fig. 2 for example) or a rear derailleur (see Fig. 8) where battery 12a is provided in the same design housing 11a as the housing in Fig. 2.
As to claim 21, the bicycle component comprises in Figs. 2 and 3:
A base member 10,
A moveable member 40 moveable relative to the base member 10, and
A linkage structure 20/30
Similarly the bicycle component in in Fig. 8 comprises:
A base member 111a,
A moveable member 20a moveable relative to the base member 10, and
A linkage structure 30a.
Wu does not appear to teach of holder structurally linearly slidably so that the holder is restricted from movement in the first direction (claim 1); the holder structurally guided linearly slidably by coupling parts so that the holder lid is restricted from movement in the first direction (claim 22); where the holder body has a first coupling part, the holder lid has a second coupling part, the coupling parts are configured to allow the holder lid to linearly slide relative to the holder body to cover the insertion opening at least partially, and the coupling parts are configured to restrict the holder lid from moving relative to and away from the holder body in the first direction when in the attachment state (claim 23).
Wu does appear to prefer a design which uses a pivoting cover overlying a battery held in a battery compartment. Modifying the design of the cover or lid from a hinge/pivot design to a sliding cover configuration would have been of routine skill in the art.
As claim 1 and the cover sliding so that the holder lid is restricted from movement in the first direction (the first direction being the direction the battery is inserted into the holder).
Cho is drawn to battery holders having a lid provided on a hinge connected to the battery holder portion. Cho relates to Wu as to battery compartment lid arrangements for a compartment and provides a solution for securing a lid to a corresponding compartment with improved retention and lid locking. Both Wu and Cho deal with compact housings that provide access to an internal battery compartment via a cover or lid. Cho further recognized that the cover 20 including a hinge can be linearly slidably attachable to the pivoting portion of the holder whereby sliding the cover in a linear fashion in a direction different from the insertion/removal direction of the battery can effectively lock the lid 20 to the holder 10 and prevent the lid from unnecessary or unwarranted opening. The lid is restricted from moving in the insertion removal direction when slid linearly to interact with locking features of the holder of Cho and further is restricted at the hinged portion from moving in the first insertion removal direction as well (Figs. 2-3C).
As to claim 22, the holder lid of Cho is guided linearly slidably by coupling parts 14/13 so that the holder lid 20 is restricted from movement in the first direction.
As to claim 23, the holder body of Cho has a first coupling part 14, the holder lid has a second coupling part 28 and the first and second coupling parts are configured to allow the holder lid 20 to linearly slide relative to the holder body 10 to cover a corresponding insertion opening where a battery is retained and the first coupling part 14 and the second coupling part 28 are configured to restrict the holder lid 10 from mobbing relative to and away from the holder body in the first direction (battery insertion/removal direction) when in the attachment state.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lid of Wu to be linearly slidably attached to the corresponding holder including corresponding coupling parts on the lid and holder to facilitate linear sliding and restriction of the lid in the battery insertion/removal (first) direction as taught by Cho since it would have provided a lock sliding feature which would have predictably and effectively improved lid retention thus prevented the lid from unnecessary or unwarranted opening, while still permitted access to the holder space and battery residing therein.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0298934) in view of Cho et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,206,098) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Schuurmans (U.S. Patent No. 6,338,914) or Watari (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0221640).
Modified-Wu does not teach of the holder further comprising a biasing structure coupled to the battery receiving portion to bias the battery towards the end portion in the battery holding state (claim 17) or the biasing structure configured to be at least partially provided between the battery and the battery receiving portion in the battery holding state (claim 18).
Modifying a lid (the battery receiving portion of claims 17-18) relating to the holder lid (see claim 2) to further include a biasing structure to bias a battery towards an opposite end portion of a battery holder space has been well-known in the art. For example, Schuurmans teaches of a battery holder wherein the holder lid (cover 14) includes a biasing structure (spring means 15) to force the battery 10 within a corresponding battery holder space to be urged to the opposite end portion of the battery holder space (Figs. 2-4). The biasing structure (spring means 15) is coupled to the inner surface of the lid (battery receiving portion) to bias the battery towards the end portion in the battery holding state, applied to claim 17) and the biasing structure (spring means 15) is configured to be at least partially provided between the battery and the inner surface of the lid (battery receiving portion) in the battery holding state (applied to claim 18). The structure provides sufficient force and electrical contact between the battery and electrical contacts in the holder.
Watari similarly teaches of a battery holder and lid 36(62) wherein the lid includes a biasing structure 38(64) between the lid and the battery (Fig. 4). The biasing structure 38(64) is coupled to the inner surface of the lid 36(62) (battery receiving portion) to bias the battery BT211/BT221 towards the end portion in the battery holding state (applied to claim 17) and the biasing structure 38(64) is configured to be at least partially provided between the battery BT211/BT221 and the inner surface of the lid 36(62) in the battery holding state (applied to claim 18). The structure provides sufficient force and electrical contact between the battery and electrical contacts in the holder.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery holder of modified-Wu to include a biasing member coupled to the battery receiving portion and configured to be at least partially provided between the battery and the battery receiving portion in the battery holding state as taught by Schuurmans or Watari since it would have provided a feature for improving seating of the battery in the holder and provided excellent electrical contact between the battery and the electrical contacts of the battery holder.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 and 10-12 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to claims 6-9 see item 7 of the Office Action mailed October 29, 2025, incorporated herein.
With respect to claims 10-12 see item 6 of the previous Office Action, incorporated herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 16, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
While Wu does not appear to explicitly teach of the lid being linearly slidably attached to the housing body, the additional teachings of Cho are held to reasonably obviate the features of claims 1, 21 and 22 discussed above as restated herein.
Cho is drawn to battery holders having a lid provided on a hinge connected to the battery holder portion. Cho further recognized that the cover 20 including a hinge can be linearly slidably attachable to the pivoting portion of the holder whereby sliding the cover in a linear fashion in a direction different from the insertion/removal direction of the battery can effectively lock the lid 20 to the holder 10 and prevent the lid from unnecessary or unwarranted opening. The lid is restricted from moving in the insertion removal direction when slid linearly to interact with locking features of the holder of Cho and further is restricted at the hinged portion from moving in the first insertion removal direction as well (Figs. 2-3C). As claim 1 and the cover sliding so that the holder lid is restricted from movement in the first direction (the first direction being the direction the battery is inserted into the holder) and to the additional limitations of claims 22 and 23, Cho teaches those particular features as addressed in the 103 rejection above.
So it would be reasonably to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the hinged lid of Wu to include a linear slidable feature where the lid is restricted in moving in the first direction (battery insertion and removal direction) including corresponding coupling parts on the lid and holder as taught by Cho as Cho teaches of a slidable lid design relative to a battery holder compartment to effectively lock the lid in place to the holder and prohibit the lid from moving in the battery insertion/removal direction (first direction).
Therefore, claims 1-5 and 13-22 remain rejected for at least those reasons above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0097694 discloses a battery housing with a pivoting cover that also is structurally guided linearly slidably to lock the holder lid to the housing and prevent the lid from movement in the battery insertion/removal direction.
/GREGG CANTELMO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725