DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment filed on June 9, 2026:
Claims 1-23 are pending;
The prior art rejections of record set forth in the previous Office Action stand as modified in light of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 13-16 and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0298934) in view of Cho et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,206,098).
As to claim 1, Wu discloses a battery holder comprising:
a holder body 110 including a holder space 1102 in which a battery 130 is configured to be at least partially provided, the holder space 1102 including an insertion opening 1103 through which the battery 130 is configured to pass in a first direction, the holder body 110 including a side wall partially defining the holder space; and
a holder lid 120 attachable to the holder body 110 to cover the insertion opening 1103 at least partially, the holder lid 120 being configured to cover the side wall at least partially in an attachment state where the holder lid is attached to the holder body (see Fig. 2 and annotated portion of Fig. 2 below).
The lid 120 is linearly slidably attachable to cover the insertion opening at least upon assembly to effectively permit proper placement of the lid 120 prior to insertion of the pin. In addition, while the final design may employ pivoting to move the lid 120 relative to the holder, the holder is sufficiently designed to permit removal of the pin and then linear sliding of the lid in relation to the body if needed. The holder is then retained in the body to restrict movement of the lid in the first direction.
As to claim 2, the holder lid 120 includes an interior battery receiving portion and an exterior cover portion,
The battery receiving portion is configured to receive the battery 120 in the battery holder state where the battery 120 is provided in the holder space 1103 and where the lid 120 is attached to the body 110, and
The exterior cover portion protrudes from the battery receiving portion to cover the side wall at least partially in an attachment state (see annotated Fig. 3 below).
As to claim 3, the side wall includes a lip provided between the battery and the cover portion in the battery holding state (see annotated portion of Fig. 2 below).
As to claim 4, the cover portion 120 protrudes downward from the inner surface battery receiving portion of the cover 120 in the first (insertion) direction.
As to claim 5, the cover portion includes a cover end part, and the cover portion extends from the battery receiving portion to the cover end part beyond the insertion opening in the first direction (see annotated portion of Fig. 2 below).
As to claim 13, the side wall includes a lip and corresponding recess adjacent to the lip and the cover portion includes a corresponding mating surface feature which is thus configured to be provide in the recess adjacent to the lip in the attachment state (annotated Fig. 2 below denoting the lip).
As to claim 14, the side wall includes a wall portion and a protruding portion, the protruding portion protrudes from the wall portion away from the holder space, and the wall portion and the protruding portion define the recess (see annotated portion of Fig. 2 below).
As to claim 15, the cover portion includes an inclined end surface, the cover portion extends from the battery receiving portion to the inclined end surface in the first direction, the inclined end surface is non-perpendicular to and non-parallel to the first direction, the protruding portion includes an additional inclined end surface, the additional inclined end surface is non-perpendicular to and non-parallel to the first direction, and the inclined end surface is configured to face the additional inclined end surface in the attachment state (see annotated portion of Fig. 2 below).
As to claim 16, the holder space includes an interior lower surface constituting an end portion spaced apart from the insertion opening in the first direction, and
The holder space 1102 is at least partially provided between the end portion of cover 120 and the battery receiving portion defined inside of the cover 120 in the first direction in the attachment state (see annotated portion of Fig. 2 below).
As to claim 19, the holder lid 120 is at least partially provided farther from a mounting portion than the holder body 110 in a mounting state where the battery 130 is mounted to a vehicle body of a human-powered vehicle (bicycle of Wu), and the base
member includes the mounting portion attached to the vehicle body in the mounting state (see Figs. 2 and 3, for example).
As to claim 20, a bicycle component, such as a front derailleur includes the battery holder of claim 1 (see Fig. 2 for example) or a rear derailleur (see Fig. 8) where battery 12a is provided in the same design housing 11a as the housing in Fig. 2.
As to claim 21, the bicycle component comprises in Figs. 2 and 3:
A base member 10,
A moveable member 40 moveable relative to the base member 10, and
A linkage structure 20/30
Similarly the bicycle component in in Fig. 8 comprises:
A base member 111a,
A moveable member 20a moveable relative to the base member 10, and
A linkage structure 30a.
Wu does not appear to teach of a lock structure including a lock member mounted to and movably coupled to the holder lid to restrict the holder lid from being unintentionally detached from the holder body in the attachment state (claim 1); the holder structurally guided linearly slidably by coupling parts so that the holder lid is restricted from movement in the first direction (claim 22); where the holder body has a first coupling part, the holder lid has a second coupling part, the coupling parts are configured to allow the holder lid to linearly slide relative to the holder body to cover the insertion opening at least partially, and the coupling parts are configured to restrict the holder lid from moving relative to and away from the holder body in the first direction when in the attachment state (claim 23).
Wu does appear to prefer a design which uses a pivoting cover overlying a battery held in a battery compartment. Modifying the design of the cover or lid from a hinge/pivot design to a sliding cover configuration would have been of routine skill in the art.
As claim 1 and the cover sliding so that the holder lid is restricted from movement in the first direction (the first direction being the direction the battery is inserted into the holder).
Cho is drawn to battery holders having a lid provided on a hinge connected to the battery holder portion. Cho relates to Wu as to battery compartment lid arrangements for a compartment and provides a solution for securing a lid to a corresponding compartment with improved retention and lid locking. Both Wu and Cho deal with compact housings that provide access to an internal battery compartment via a cover or lid. Cho further recognized that the cover 20 including a hinge can be linearly slidably attachable to the pivoting portion of the holder whereby sliding the cover in a linear fashion in a direction different from the insertion/removal direction of the battery can effectively lock the lid 20 to the holder 10 and prevent the lid from unnecessary or unwarranted opening. The lid is restricted from moving in the insertion removal direction when slid linearly to interact with locking features of the holder of Cho and further is restricted at the hinged portion from moving in the first insertion removal direction as well (Figs. 2-3C).
As shown above, the lid 20 of Cho is further complimented with a lock structure 30 that is mounted to and movably coupled to the holder lid (ribs 33 interact with cutouts 25 of the holder and, at least in the closed state (Fig. 3A above), the lock structure is mounted to the lid 20 and locks (thus restricting the lid from unintentional detachment of the lid 20 from the holder body 10). In Fig. 3A, the locker, in the locked position is effectively mounted to the cover 20 and housing body 10.
As to claim 22, the holder lid of Cho is guided linearly slidably by coupling parts 14/13 so that the holder lid 20 is restricted from movement in the first direction.
As to claim 23, the holder body of Cho has a first coupling part 14, the holder lid has a second coupling part 28 and the first and second coupling parts are configured to allow the holder lid 20 to linearly slide relative to the holder body 10 to cover a corresponding insertion opening where a battery is retained and the first coupling part 14 and the second coupling part 28 are configured to restrict the holder lid 10 from mobbing relative to and away from the holder body in the first direction (battery insertion/removal direction) when in the attachment state.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lid of Wu to be linearly slidably attached to the corresponding holder including corresponding coupling parts on the lid and holder to facilitate linear sliding and restriction of the lid in the battery insertion/removal (first) direction as taught by Cho since it would have provided a lock sliding feature which would have predictably and effectively improved lid retention thus prevented the lid from unnecessary or unwarranted opening, while still permitted access to the holder space and battery residing therein.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0298934) in view of Cho et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,206,098) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Schuurmans (U.S. Patent No. 6,338,914) or Watari (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0221640).
Modified-Wu does not teach of the holder further comprising a biasing structure coupled to the battery receiving portion to bias the battery towards the end portion in the battery holding state (claim 17) or the biasing structure configured to be at least partially provided between the battery and the battery receiving portion in the battery holding state (claim 18).
Modifying a lid (the battery receiving portion of claims 17-18) relating to the holder lid (see claim 2) to further include a biasing structure to bias a battery towards an opposite end portion of a battery holder space has been well-known in the art. For example, Schuurmans teaches of a battery holder wherein the holder lid (cover 14) includes a biasing structure (spring means 15) to force the battery 10 within a corresponding battery holder space to be urged to the opposite end portion of the battery holder space (Figs. 2-4). The biasing structure (spring means 15) is coupled to the inner surface of the lid (battery receiving portion) to bias the battery towards the end portion in the battery holding state, applied to claim 17) and the biasing structure (spring means 15) is configured to be at least partially provided between the battery and the inner surface of the lid (battery receiving portion) in the battery holding state (applied to claim 18). The structure provides sufficient force and electrical contact between the battery and electrical contacts in the holder.
Watari similarly teaches of a battery holder and lid 36(62) wherein the lid includes a biasing structure 38(64) between the lid and the battery (Fig. 4). The biasing structure 38(64) is coupled to the inner surface of the lid 36(62) (battery receiving portion) to bias the battery BT211/BT221 towards the end portion in the battery holding state (applied to claim 17) and the biasing structure 38(64) is configured to be at least partially provided between the battery BT211/BT221 and the inner surface of the lid 36(62) in the battery holding state (applied to claim 18). The structure provides sufficient force and electrical contact between the battery and electrical contacts in the holder.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery holder of modified-Wu to include a biasing member coupled to the battery receiving portion and configured to be at least partially provided between the battery and the battery receiving portion in the battery holding state as taught by Schuurmans or Watari since it would have provided a feature for improving seating of the battery in the holder and provided excellent electrical contact between the battery and the electrical contacts of the battery holder.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 and 10-12 are allowed for reasons set forth in the previous Office Action(s), incorporated herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Wu does not teach of a lock member.
The Examiner respectfully agrees, but relies on the secondary teachings of Cho to obviate this feature as discussed above and further reasoned herein.
Applicant argues that the locker is not mounted to the cover 20. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown above, the lid 20 of Cho is further complimented with a lock structure 30 that is mounted to and movably coupled to the holder lid (ribs 33 interact with cutouts 25 of the holder for effective mounting) and at least in the closed state (Fig. 3A above), the lock structure is mounted to the lid 20 and locks (thus restricting the lid from unintentional detachment of the lid 20 from the holder body 10).
Applicant argues that Cho appears to solve a different problem and does not show concern for unintentional detachment of the cover.
This argument is not persuasive for the following reasons:
According to the MPEP (§ 2144): the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (motivation question arises in the context of the general problem confronting the inventor rather than the specific problem solved by the invention); Cross Med. Prods., Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 424 F.3d 1293, 1323, 76 USPQ2d 1662, 1685 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (“One of ordinary skill in the art need not see the identical problem addressed in a prior art reference to be motivated to apply its teachings.”); In re Lintner, 458 F.2d 1013, 173 USPQ 560 (CCPA 1972) (discussed below); In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 500 U.S. 904 (1991) (discussed below).
In In re Lintner, the claimed invention was a laundry composition consisting essentially of a dispersant, cationic fabric softener, sugar, sequestering phosphate, and brightener in specified proportions. The claims were rejected over the combination of a primary reference which taught all the claim limitations except for the presence of sugar, and secondary references which taught the addition of sugar as a filler or weighting agent in compositions containing cationic fabric softeners. Appellant argued that in the claimed invention, the sugar is responsible for the compatibility of the cationic softener with the other detergent components. The court sustained the rejection, stating “The fact that appellant uses sugar for a different purpose does not alter the conclusion that its use in a prior art composition would be [sic, would have been] prima facie obvious from the purpose disclosed in the references.” 173 USPQ at 562.
In In re Dillon, applicant claimed a composition comprising a hydrocarbon fuel and a sufficient amount of a tetra-orthoester of a specified formula to reduce the particulate emissions from the combustion of the fuel. The claims were rejected as obvious over a reference which taught hydrocarbon fuel compositions containing tri-orthoesters for dewatering fuels, in combination with a reference teaching the equivalence of tri-orthoesters and tetra-orthoesters as water scavengers in hydraulic (nonhydrocarbon) fluids. The Board affirmed the rejection finding “there was a ‘reasonable expectation’ that the tri- and tetra-orthoester fuel compositions would have similar properties based on ‘close structural and chemical similarity’ between the tri- and tetra-orthoesters and the fact that both the prior art and Dillon use these compounds ‘as fuel additives’.” 919 F.2d at 692, 16 USPQ2d at 1900. The court held “it is not necessary in order to establish a prima facie case of obviousness . . . that there be a suggestion or expectation from the prior art that the claimed [invention] will have the same or a similar utility as one newly discovered by applicant,” and concluded that here a prima facie case was established because “[t]he art provided the motivation to make the claimed compositions in the expectation that they would have similar properties.” 919 F.2d at 693, 16 USPQ2d at 1901 (emphasis in original).
While Cho may be solving a different problem, this is by no means persuasive and not a clear teaching away from the problem of the instant invention. Rather Cho serves to impart a cover/body/lock design which effectively keeps the cover and body in position via the locking member. It would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art that an obvious byproduct of the features of Cho would prohibit undue movement of the cover.
Cho is drawn to battery holders having a lid provided on a hinge connected to the battery holder portion. Cho further recognized that the cover 20 including a hinge can be linearly slidably attachable to the pivoting portion of the holder whereby sliding the cover in a linear fashion in a direction different from the insertion/removal direction of the battery can effectively lock the lid 20 to the holder 10 and prevent the lid from unnecessary or unwarranted opening. The lid is restricted from moving in the insertion removal direction when slid linearly to interact with locking features of the holder of Cho and further is restricted at the hinged portion from moving in the first insertion removal direction as well (Figs. 2-3C). Cho further teaches that the locker 30 is mounted (ribs 33 through notches 25) to effectively align and mount the features together with the body 10. For example in Fig. 3A, the locker, in the locked position is effectively mounted to the cover 20 and housing body 10.
As claim 1 and the cover sliding so that the holder lid is restricted from movement in the first direction (the first direction being the direction the battery is inserted into the holder) and to the additional limitations of claims 22 and 23, Cho teaches those particular features as addressed in the 103 rejection above.
So it would be reasonably to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the hinged lid of Wu to include a linear slidable feature where the lid is restricted in moving in the first direction (battery insertion and removal direction) including corresponding coupling parts on the lid and holder as taught by Cho as Cho teaches of a slidable lid design relative to a battery holder compartment to effectively lock the lid in place to the holder and prohibit the lid from moving in the battery insertion/removal direction (first direction).
Therefore, claims 1-5 and 13-22 remain rejected for at least those reasons above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREGG CANTELMO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725