DETAILED ACTION
The present Office action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 14 AUGUST 2026.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 12, 16, and 19 have been amended. Claim 13 has been cancelled. Claim 21 has been added. Claims 1-12 and 14-21 are pending and herein examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 14 AUGUST 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of independent claim(s) 1, 16, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S. Publication No. 2015/0083921 A1 (hereinafter “Ooyabu”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0216906 A1 (hereinafter “Flores”), and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0159429 A1 (hereinafter “Chen”).
The claims have been amended to include a waveguide effect associated with (i) roadway surface, (ii) one or more other vehicles, and (iii) one or more objects. Ooyabu’s disclosure describes waveform effects, such as peak strength, based on the distance to a nearby vehicle. See Ooyabu, FIG. 4. The disclosure of Chen further describes gathering data on attenuation of RSSI per cut for vehicles, buildings, pedestrians and other objects, such as road surface. See Chen, ¶¶ [0050] and [0071-0072]. Therefore, the newly presented amendments are taught by the combination of Ooyabu, Flores, and Chen, as outlined in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-12, 14-17, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2015/0083921 A1 (hereinafter “Ooyabu”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0216906 A1 (hereinafter “Flores”), and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0159429 A1 (hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding claim 1, Ooyabu discloses a device (FIG. 7, controller (“CTRL”) 3 with front and rear sensors 2a and 2b. Note, each of vehicles VE1, VE2, and VE3 include the same structure), comprising:
a processing system including a processor ([0086], “The controller 3 includes an electronic control unit with an I/O device, a processor, a storage etc.”); and
a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations ([0086], “The controller 3 includes an electronic control unit with an I/O device, a processor, a storage etc.”), the operations comprising:
obtaining a plurality of inputs, wherein the plurality of inputs includes a first image captured by a first camera at a first point in time (FIG. 7, front optical device 2a of VE1 and rear optical device 2b of VE2. [0079], “in each of the vehicles VE1, VE2, a single optical device 2a, 2b including the infrared light emitter 21 and the light receiver 22 is made to serve a double purpose as a ranging device and a communication device.” [0129], “the photo detector of the optical device 2a, 2b may include a CMOS image sensor or a CCD sensor”);
processing the plurality of inputs to generate ([0087], “The controller 3 further includes a received strength detector 36. Based on a received signal received by the light receiver 22 from the different vehicle VE2, VE3, VE1, the received strength detector 36 detects a received signal strength (RSSI). An adjustment amount calculator 37, which corresponds to an adjustment amount transmitter and an adjustment amount transmission means, is connected to the ranging calculator 31, the received strength detector 36, and the optical devices 2a and 2b. Based on the infrared strength of the received signal from the different vehicle VE2, VE3, VE1 and the distance to the different vehicle VE2, VE3, VE1, the adjustment amount calculator 37 calculates an adjustment amount of the infrared strength with regard to the received signal from the different vehicle VE2, VE3, VE1, and transmits the adjustment amount to the different vehicle VE2, VE3, VE1 through the optical device 2a, 2b”); and
wherein the acquired data is based on a waveguide effect associated with ([0044], “The IRLED11 RNG TRNS and the IRLED21 RNG TRNS of FIG. 4 show that the light is emitted during the rise of the waveform. The PSD11 RNG RCV and a PSD21 RNG RCV of FIG. 4 show that the approach of the different vehicle is detected when the waveform rises. The distance to the different vehicle detected by the light receiver 22 is held as a peak hold value until next receipt of the infrared light. The IRLED12 COMM TRNS, the PSD12 COMM RCV, the IRLED22 COM TRNS, and the PSD22 COMM RCV of FIG. 4 show that the transmission or reception is performed during the rise of the waveform.” Note, FIG. 4 shows the waveform effect (i.e., waveguide effect) based on the strength of the signal being attenuated due to distance).
modifying(FIG. 7, emitter (“EMIT”) 21. [0109], “when the different vehicle VE2, VE3, VE1 newly approaches, the infrared strength of the transmitted signal can be adjusted in a timely manner, and necessary communication with the approaching vehicle can be performed in a timely manner:” e.g., as distance changes a signal strength is adjusted to correspond to the distance).
Ooyabu fails to expressly disclose a first prediction regarding a first characteristic of a first signal;
wherein the acquired data is based on a waveguide effect associated with an impact of a roadway surface and one or more objects.
However, Flores teaches a first prediction regarding a first characteristic of a first signal ([0032], “given the known location of each beacon, the Generation Component 120 can estimate or predict the received signal strength from each beacon at any given point in the space using a path loss model.” Note, the combination of references relies on the “known location of each beacon” corresponding to the distance information from Ooyabu for predicting the signal strength and then Ooyabu can adjust the signal strength with greater accuracy).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have used a predicted signal strength, as taught by Flores ([0032]), in Ooyabu’s disclosure. One would have been motivated to modify Ooyabu’s disclosure, by incorporating Flores’ disclosure, to improve accuracy for predicting signal characteristics of sensing devices (Flores: [0005]).
Ooyabu and Flores fail to expressly disclose wherein the acquired data is based on a waveguide effect associated with an impact of a roadway surface and one or more objects.
However, Chen teaches wherein the acquired data is based on a waveguide effect associated with an impact of a roadway surface and one or more objects ([0071], “if a vehicle has stored a signal strength v. distance distribution of an urban context and is driving in a rural context, the RSSI value of a received V2X message may be attenuated, as if the V2X message had to “cut” through various obstructions or objects between the transmitter and receiver.” [0074], “Gather data on attenuation of RSSI per cut for vehicles, buildings, pedestrians and other objects.” [0050], “The two paths may comprise, for example, a direct line-of-sight path and a reflected path, e.g., reflecting off of the road surface”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have considered waveguide effects for impacts of roadway surfaces and other objects, as taught by Chen ([0050] and [0074]), in Ooyabu and Flores’ disclosure. One would have been motivated to modify Ooyabu and Flores’ disclosure, by incorporating Chen’s disclosure, to recognize abnormal transmission and improve misbehavior detection in V2X communications (Chen: [0003] and [0005]).
Regarding claim 4, Ooyabu, Flores, and Chen disclose every limitation of claim 1, as outlined above. Additionally, Ooyabu discloses wherein the receiver is included as part of the first vehicle (FIG. 7, each of a first vehicle and second vehicle comprises a receiver and transmitter, and can include more than one receiver and transmitter in a given direction in accordance with FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Ooyabu, Flores, and Chen disclose every limitation of claim 4, as outlined above. Additionally, Ooyabu discloses wherein the transmitter is included as part of the second vehicle (FIG. 7, each of a first vehicle and second vehicle comprises a receiver and transmitter, and can include more than one receiver and transmitter in a given direction in accordance with FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Ooyabu, Flores, and Chen disclose every limitation of claim 1, as outlined above. Additionally, Ooyabu discloses wherein the transmitter is included as part of the first vehicle (FIG. 7, each of a first vehicle and second vehicle comprises a receiver and transmitter, and can include more than one receiver and transmitter in a given direction in accordance with FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 7, Ooyabu, Flores, and Chen disclose every limitation of claim 6, as outlined above. Additionally, Ooyabu discloses wherein the receiver is included as part of a second vehicle (FIG. 7, each of a first vehicle and second vehicle comprises a receiver and transmitter, and can include more than one receiver and transmitter in a given direction in accordance with FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Ooyabu, Flores, and Chen disclose every limitation of claim 1, as outlined above. Additionally, Ooyabu discloses wherein the at least a first characteristic includes a signal strength of the first signal ([0109], “the strength adjustment driver 38 adjusts the infrared strength of the transmitted signal each time the optical device 2a, 2b starts detecting the distance to the different vehicle VE2, VE3, VE1. Thereby, when the different vehicle VE2, VE3, VE1 newly approaches, the infrared strength of the transmitted signal can be adjusted in a timely manner, and necessary communication with the approaching vehicle can be performed in a timely manner”).
Regarding claim 9, Ooyabu, Flores, and Chen disclose every limitation of claim 1, as outlined above. Additionally, Flores discloses wherein the at least a first characteristic includes an indication of interference, noise, or a combination thereof, in respect to the first signal ([0019], “real-world data captures the characteristics in noisy, high interference environments.” Note, the input is affected by noise and interference, which is considered when generating the output signal and thereby “includes an indication”). The same motivation of claim 1 applies to claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Ooyabu, Flores, and Chen disclose every limitation of claim 1, as outlined above. Additionally, Flores discloses wherein the operations further comprise: comparing the at least a first characteristic to a first threshold; and determining, based on the comparing, that the at least a first characteristic exceeds the first threshold, wherein the modifying is further based on the determining ([0031], “a position may be scored as having strong signals if the Signal Data 105 includes signals with a predefined minimum RSSI” and “position with scores exceeding a predefined threshold are classified as “strong,” while positions with scores below a second predefined threshold are classified as “weak.”” The disclosure of [0032] relied upon in claim 1 uses the predicted signal strength with the position score). The same motivation of claim 1 applies to claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, Ooyabu, Flores, and Chen disclose every limitation of claim 1, as outlined above. Additionally, Ooyabu discloses wherein the operations further comprise (Note, these operations are interpreted as a second iteration of the same steps of claim 1, which would be happening continually in the prior-art):
subsequent to the modifying, obtaining a second plurality of inputs (FIG. 7, front optical device 2a of VE1 and rear optical device 2b of VE2. [0079], “in each of the vehicles VE1, VE2, a single optical device 2a, 2b including the infrared light emitter 21 and the light receiver 22 is made to serve a double purpose as a ranging device and a communication device.” [0129], “the photo detector of the optical device 2a, 2b may include a CMOS image sensor or a CCD sensor”);
processing the second plurality of inputs to generate a second prediction regarding a second characteristic of a second signal associated with the first vehicle that is to be detected by the receiver at a third point in time that is subsequent to the second point in time ([0109], “the strength adjustment driver 38 adjusts the infrared strength of the transmitted signal each time the optical device 2a, 2b starts detecting the distance to the different vehicle VE2, VE3, VE1:” e.g., a distance with a corresponding signal strength. Note, as per the combination established in claim 1, the distance is used to predict a signal strength by way of Flores’ teachings); and
modifying, based on the second prediction, a third parameter of a second transmitter that emits the second signal, a fourth parameter of the receiver, or a combination thereof (FIG. 7, emitter (“EMIT”) 21. [0109], “when the different vehicle VE2, VE3, VE1 newly approaches, the infrared strength of the transmitted signal can be adjusted in a timely manner, and necessary communication with the approaching vehicle can be performed in a timely manner:” e.g., as distance changes a signal strength is adjusted to correspond to the distance).
Regarding claim 12, Ooyabu, Flores, and Chen disclose every limitation of claim 1, as outlined above. Additionally, Ooyabu discloses wherein the first prediction is based on identifying a plurality of objects in accordance with the processing of the plurality of inputs (FIG. 2 discloses having detected two objects, object 5a and 5b. FIG. 8 further depicts a center vehicle depicting the identification of two objects, vehicle 2 and vehicle 3. The object detection process is for determining the distance required for the signal strength characteristic of the prediction), and wherein the plurality of objects includes a second vehicle (FIG. 2 discloses having detected two objects, object 5a and 5b. FIG. 8 further depicts a center vehicle depicting the identification of two objects, vehicle 2 and vehicle 3. The object detection process is for determining the distance required for the signal strength characteristic of the prediction).
Regarding claim 14, Ooyabu, Flores, and Chen disclose every limitation of claim 1, as outlined above. Additionally, Ooyabu discloses wherein the plurality of inputs includes an identification of: a direction of travel of the first vehicle, a speed of the first vehicle, an acceleration of the first vehicle, a direction of travel of a second vehicle, a speed of the second vehicle, an acceleration of the second vehicle, or any combination thereof ([0084] describes signaling distances as a function of speed. [0072], “take into account not only the detected distance between the first vehicle VE1 and the second vehicle VE2 but also a speed, a steering wheel position, a gear shifter position, a heading direction or the like of each vehicle VE1 and VE2”).
Regarding claim 15, Ooyabu, Flores, and Chen disclose every limitation of claim 1, as outlined above. Additionally, Ooyabu discloses wherein the first signal conveys data that controls: a first operation of the first vehicle, a second operation of a second vehicle, or a combination thereof (FIG. 5 depicts a collision avoidance control based on the ranging operation (e.g., distance) and established communication).
Regarding claim 16, the limitations are the same as those in claim 1. Therefore, the same rationale of claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 16. Additionally, Flores discloses a model to generate prediction involving a quality of a first signal (FIG. 1 discloses the steps of generating a machine learning model, including receiving signal data 105, evaluating in evaluation component 110, and perform scoring at position scores 115. [0031-0033] describes predicting a signal strength as part of the evaluation and scoring, which describes a quality of the signal). The result will produce a signal received above a threshold, because Ooyabu adjusts the signal strength dependent on the distance to receive a good signal, where good is a signal strength above a threshold. The same motivation of claim 1 applies to claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, Ooyabu, Flores, and Chen disclose every limitation of claim 16, as outlined above. Additionally, Ooyabu discloses wherein the first transmitter is included as part of a second vehicle, wherein the second vehicle and the first vehicle move relative to one another when the first transmitter emits the first signal(FIG. 7, each of a first vehicle and second vehicle comprises a receiver and transmitter, and can include more than one receiver and transmitter in a given direction in accordance with FIG. 6).
Ooyabu and Flores fail to expressly disclose wherein the second transmitter is included as part of network infrastructure of a cellular network.
However, Chen teaches wherein the second transmitter is included as part of network infrastructure of a cellular network ([0003] discloses vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication, including other vehicles, and utilizing cellular networks. See [0105] and [0107]). The same motivation of claim 1 applies to claim 17.
Regarding claim 21, Ooyabu, Flores, and Chen disclose every limitation of claim 1, as outlined above. Additionally, Ooyabu discloses wherein the waveguide effect includes a first waveguide effect that includes constructive interference that amplifies the first signal in a first direction and a second waveguide effective that includes destructive interference that degrades the first signal in a second direction that is different from the first direction (FIG. 4 discloses the strength of the waveform based on the distance, where the further the distance the decrease in strength (i.e., constructive) and the closer the distance the increase in strength (i.e., destructive). Additionally, Chen describes the attenuation based on the path and obstacles, see [0050], [0071], and [0074]. Note, a signal attenuates over time and whether the attenuation is accelerated or deaccelerated due to the path and obstacles constitutes the constructive interference and destructive interference. In combining Chen’s disclosure, the same motivation of claim 1 applies).
Claim(s) 2-3 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2015/0083921 A1 (hereinafter “Ooyabu”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0216906 A1 (hereinafter “Flores”), further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0159429 A1 (hereinafter “Chen”), and even further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0030430 A1 (hereinafter “Lund”).
Regarding claim 2, Ooyabu, Flores, and Chen disclose every limitation of claim 1, as outlined above. Ooyabu, Flores, and Chen fail to expressly disclose wherein the plurality of inputs includes a second image captured by a second camera.
However, Lund teaches wherein the plurality of inputs includes a second image captured by a second camera ([0148] discloses determining locations of vehicles using a plurality of means including cameras. [0150], “the vehicle 1000 may contain one or a plurality of cameras” and describes multiple views and also stitching images).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have used a second camera, as taught by Lund ([0150]), in Ooyabu, Flores, and Chen’s disclosure. One would have been motivated to modify Ooyabu, Flores, and Chen’s disclosure, by incorporating Lund’s disclosure, to improve communication between vehicles (Lund: [0003]).
Regarding claim 3, Ooyabu, Flores, Chen, and Lund disclose every limitation of claim 2, as outlined above. Additionally, Lund discloses wherein the second image is captured by the second camera at the first point in time ([0148] discloses determining locations of vehicles using a plurality of means including cameras. [0150], “the vehicle 1000 may contain one or a plurality of cameras” and describes multiple views and also stitching images. Multi-view and stitched images with multiple cameras function at the same time). The same motivation of claim 2 applies to claim 3.
Regarding claim 19, the limitations are the same as those in claim 1 and 2. Therefore, the same rationale of claims 1 and 2 apply equally as well to claim 19. Additionally, Flores discloses in [0031-0033] a good signal strength in one exceeding a threshold and the combination relies on Ooyabu adjusting the signal strength based on a distance to assure a good signal strength.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2015/0083921 A1 (hereinafter “Ooyabu”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0216906 A1 (hereinafter “Flores”), further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0159429 A1 (hereinafter “Chen”), and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230224794 A1 (hereinafter “Elhadeedy”).
Regarding claim 18, Ooyabu, Flores, and Chen disclose every limitation of claim 16, as outlined above. Ooyabu, Flores, and Chen fail to expressly disclose wherein the model incorporates: a zero-order process (ZOP), an autoregressive moving average (ARMA), a linear model, a linear regression model, a convolutional neural network (CNN), a graph neural network (GNN), or any combination thereof.
However, Elhadeedy teaches wherein the model incorporates: a zero-order process (ZOP), an autoregressive moving average (ARMA), a linear model, a linear regression model, a convolutional neural network (CNN), a graph neural network (GNN), or any combination thereof ([0081], “the wireless communication control system 512 includes a prediction model (e.g., at least one machine learning model), such as a neural network (e.g., CNN 430, an encoder-decoder neural network, and/or the like), a regression model)” and “The prediction model of the wireless communication control system 512 is trained to analyze at least one wireless communication characteristics (e.g., signal strength, latency, bandwidth, best available bands, signal-to-noise ratio) associated with each transceiver and location information”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a CNN, as taught by Elhadeedy ([0081]), in Ooyabu, Flores, and Chen’s disclosure. One would have been motivated to modify Ooyabu, Flores, and Chen’s disclosure, by incorporating Elhadeedy’s disclosure, because it is an obvious simple substitution of one predictive model for another with predictable results.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2015/0083921 A1 (hereinafter “Ooyabu”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0216906 A1 (hereinafter “Flores”), further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0159429 A1 (hereinafter “Chen”), even further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0030430 A1 (hereinafter “Lund”), and even more further in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230224794 A1 (hereinafter “Elhadeedy”).
Regarding claim 20, Ooyabu, Flores, Chen, and Lund disclose every limitation of claim 19, as outlined above. Additionally, Ooyabu discloses causing, by the processing system and based on the predicting, the transmitter to emit the first signal at a second point in time that is subsequent to the first point in time such that the first signal is retransmitted by the transmitter (FIG. 4 discloses the synchronization based on the signaling and FIGS. 10-12 the different flowchart interactions between vehicles. Note, the combination with Flores establishes the predictive element and additionally, any second iteration of signaling constitutes a retransmission).
Ooyabu, Flores, Chen, and Lund fail to expressly disclose wherein the predicting is further based on an analysis of audio samples obtained from a plurality of microphones.
However, Elhadeedy teaches wherein the predicting is further based on an analysis of audio samples obtained from a plurality of microphones ([0040], “Microphones 202d include one or more microphones (e.g., array microphones, external microphones, and/or the like) that capture audio signals and generate data associated with (e.g., representing) the audio signals. In some examples, microphones 202d include transducer devices and/or like devices. In some embodiments, one or more systems described herein can receive the data generated by microphones 202d and determine a position of an object relative to vehicle 200 (e.g., a distance and/or the like) based on the audio signals associated with the data.” Note, distance is used for determining signal characteristics).
Before the effective date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have used microphones to determine distance, as taught by Elhadeedy ([0040]), in Ooyabu, Flores, Chen and Lund’s disclosure. One would have been motivated to modify Ooyabu, Flores, Chen and Lund’s disclosure, by incorporating Elhadeedy’s disclosure, because it is an obvious combination of prior-arts elements according to known methods for determining distance to an object for the predictability of increased accuracy of object detection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Publication No. 2020/0265716 A1 (hereinafter “Ibrahim”) – Discloses interference between vehicle communication by other vehicles. See Ibrahim, ¶¶ [0012-0013].
/STUART D BENNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2481