DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suematsu et al. (JP 2013-133272 A).
Regarding claim 1, Suematsu teaches a SiSiC member (see Suematsu figure 1) comprising at least one long hole (see Suematsu figure 1) provided therein , the SiSiC member comprising:
a tubular region A (Suematsu 13) which is an outer peripheral region of the long hole; and
a tube exterior region B (Suematsu 15) which is a region outside the tubular region A (see Suematsu figure 1), wherein a content of Si simple substance in the tube exterior region B in terms of vol% is higher than a content of Si simple substance in the tubular region A in terms of vol % (Suematsu translation [0024]).
Regarding claim 5, Suematsu as applied to claim 1 teaches the ratio of Si/SiC of the Si simple substance to SiC in the tube exterior region B is within a range of 5/95 to 70/30 (Suematsu translation [0019]) which encompasses the claimed range of 20/80 to 40/60. Examiner notes that Suematsu translation paragraph [0019] recites SiC/Si volume percent which can be used to calculate the volume ratios of Si/SiC above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suematsu et al. (JP 2013-133272 A) in view of Hikita et al. (JP 2012-224523 A).
Regarding claim 2, Suematsu teaches the SiSiC member comprises a low porosity in tubular region A (Suematsu translation [0024]) which results in the lower content of Si simple substance.
Suematsu is silent regarding a ratio A/B of a diameter of the Si simple substance in the tubular region A to a diameter of Si simple substance in the tube exterior region B is less than 0.2.
However, Hikita teaches the diameter of the Si corresponds to the diameter of the impregnation path of the SiC material (Hikita translation page 2 paragraph 3) and that a diameter of Si spots exceeding 20 μm causes poor wear resistance (Hikita translation page 2 paragraph 3) and Si spots under 1 μm cause impregnation to fail.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have understood the selected porosity of the materials for regions A and B are a results effective variable that affect the diameter of the Si simple substance of regions A and B and would have optimized the porosity of the regions to produce SI diameters within the optimal range disclosed by Hikita while also preventing Si infiltration into the long hole resulting in an optimized ration of diameters of Si in regions A and B of less than 0.2. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding claim 3, Suematsu teaches a SiSiC member (see Suematsu figure 1) comprising at least one long hole (see Suematsu figure 1) provided therein , the SiSiC member comprising:
a tubular region A (Suematsu 13) which is an outer peripheral region of the long hole; and
a tube exterior region B (Suematsu 15) which is a region outside the tubular region A (see Suematsu figure 1), wherein a content of Si simple substance in the tubular region A is between 5% and 70% of the volume (Suematsu translation [0019]and [0024]). Examiner notes that Suematsu translation paragraph [0019] discusses the SiC volume percent which can be used to calculate the volume of Si of region B and paragraph [0024] teaches an even lower Si content for region A which will fall within the claimed range since it is less than the volume in region A that falls within the claimed range.
Suematsu is silent regarding the diameter of the Si simple substance in the tubular region A.
However, Hikita teaches a SiSiC material wherein the diameter of Si particles is between 1 μm and 10 μm (Hikita translation page 2 paragraph 3) to provide an optimal combination of volume and wear resistance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Suematsu’s SiSiC member to incorporate Hikita’s teachings of Si particle size of under 10 μm to produce a predictable result of improved wear resistance.
Regarding claim 8, Suematsu and Hikita as applied to claim 3 teach a volume ratio of Si/SiC in the tube exterior region B is within a range of 5/95 to 70/30 (Suematsu translation [0019]) which encompasses the claimed range of 20/80 to 40/60. Examiner notes that Suematsu translation paragraph [0019] recites SiC/Si volume percent which can be used to calculate the volume ratios of Si/SiC above.
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suematsu et al. (JP 2013-133272 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stein (US 2015/0348816 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Suematsu as applied to claim 1 teaches the long hole has a diameter of 7mm (Suematsu translation paragraph [0036]) and a length of 170mm (Suematsu translation [0036]).
Suematsu is silent regarding the diameter of the hole being between 0.1mm to 2mm.
However, Stein teaches an electrostatic holding device (Stein 100) for use in semiconductor manufacturing that comprises a SiSiC body (Stein 13) comprising holes for insertion of rod-shaped heating elements (Stein 13A) that have a diameter of 2mm (Stein [0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Suematsu’s SiSiC member to incorporate Stein’s teachings of a long hole of 2mm diameter for utilization with heating elements for use in semiconductor manufacturing applications.
Regarding claim 6, Suematsu as applied to claim 1 is silent regarding the SiSiC member having a rod shaped heating element being inserted into the long hole and being utilized as part of a heating device.
However, Stein teaches an electrostatic holding device (Stein 100) for use in semiconductor manufacturing that comprises a SiSiC body (Stein 13) comprising holes for insertion of rod-shaped heating elements (Stein 13A) that have a diameter of 2mm (Stein [0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Suematsu’s SiSiC member to incorporate Stein’s teachings of a long hole of 2mm diameter for utilization with rod shaped heating elements for use as a heating device in semiconductor manufacturing applications.
Claim(s) 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suematsu et al. (JP 2013-133272 A) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Stein (US 2015/0348816 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Suematsu and Hikita as applied to claim 3 teach the long hole has a diameter of 7mm (Suematsu translation paragraph [0036]) and a length of 170mm (Suematsu translation [0036]).
Suematsu and Hikita are silent regarding the diameter of the hole being between 0.1mm to 2mm.
However, Stein teaches an electrostatic holding device (Stein 100) for use in semiconductor manufacturing that comprises a SiSiC body (Stein 13) comprising holes for insertion of rod-shaped heating elements (Stein 13A) that have a diameter of 2mm (Stein [0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Suematsu’s SiSiC member to incorporate Stein’s teachings of a long hole of 2mm diameter for utilization with heating elements for use in semiconductor manufacturing applications.
Regarding claim 9, Suematsu and Hikita as applied to claim 3 are silent regarding the SiSiC member having a rod shaped heating element being inserted into the long hole and being utilized as part of a heating device.
However, Stein teaches an electrostatic holding device (Stein 100) for use in semiconductor manufacturing that comprises a SiSiC body (Stein 13) comprising holes for insertion of rod-shaped heating elements (Stein 13A) that have a diameter of 2mm (Stein [0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Suematsu’s SiSiC member to incorporate Stein’s teachings of a long hole of 2mm diameter for utilization with rod shaped heating elements for use as a heating device in semiconductor manufacturing applications.
Conclusion
/CHARLES R BRAWNER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/STEVEN B MCALLISTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762