DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The Office Action dated 1/29/26 is superseded with the Office Action presented herewith.
The response filed 1/15/26 is entered. Claims 1 and 11 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urey, US-20210373330, in view of Bodiya, US-20200225482.
In regards to claim 1, Urey discloses an apparatus (Par. 0003 head-up display; Par. 0016 display for a vehicle) comprising: a processor (Fig. 1, 20 vehicle computer, i.e. processor; Par. 0203 processor); a memory coupled to the processor and storing processor-executable instructions (Par. 0204 processor using memory storing instructions) that configure the processor to: receive from an eye position sensor a first eyebox position within an eyebox (Par. 0109 “a head tracker camera (102) for tracking the driver's head motion, face, and pupils, and a head tracking control (104) system” and “a steerable eyebox in front of the driver's eyes”) defined by a hologram (Par. 0109 “holographic HUD (10) comprises of holographic projection module”) disposed in a window of a vehicle (Fig. 1, 101 windUreyeld) and illuminated by an optical image projected onto the hologram with a projected intensity distribution pattern (Par. 0109 “holographic projection module (106) containing the optical system and electronics, optical steering apparatus (18) aimed to create a steerable eyebox in front of the driver's eyes”); in response to receiving the first eyebox position, determine a first position intensity distribution pattern of the optical image diffracted with respect to the first eyebox position (Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”); determine a reference position intensity distribution pattern of the optical image diffracted with respect to a reference eyebox position (Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead); and perform a first adjustment of the projected intensity distribution pattern based on the first position intensity distribution pattern and the reference position intensity distribution pattern so that the optical image diffracted with respect to the first eyebox position after the first adjustment has an intensity distribution pattern that matches the reference position intensity distribution pattern before the first adjustment (Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead; Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move).
Urey does not disclose expressly perform a first adjustment of the projected intensity distribution pattern based on a correction array generated from a relationUreyp of the first position intensity distribution pattern and the reference position intensity distribution pattern.
Bodiya discloses perform a first adjustment of the projected intensity distribution pattern based on a correction array generated from a relationUreyp of the first position intensity distribution pattern and the reference position intensity distribution pattern (Par. 0093-0096 performing a field correction, i.e. brightness/intensity correction using an eyebox map, i.e. correction array, based on pupil positions, to create a uniform brightness, i.e. brightness at a reference position).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the field correction process of Bodiya can be applied to the HUD of Urey. The motivation for doing so would have been to maintain uniform brightness for each eye (Bodiya Par. 0096).
In regards to claim 11, Urey discloses a method comprising: receiving from an eye position sensor a first eyebox position within an eyebox (Par. 0109 “a head tracker camera (102) for tracking the driver's head motion, face, and pupils, and a head tracking control (104) system” and “a steerable eyebox in front of the driver's eyes”) defined by a hologram (Par. 0109 “holographic HUD (10) comprises of holographic projection module”) disposed in a window of a vehicle (Fig. 1, 101 windUreyeld) and illuminated by an optical image projected onto the hologram with a projected intensity distribution pattern (Par. 0109 “holographic projection module (106) containing the optical system and electronics, optical steering apparatus (18) aimed to create a steerable eyebox in front of the driver's eyes”); in response to receiving the first eyebox position, determining a first position intensity distribution pattern of the optical image diffracted with respect to the first eyebox position (Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”); determining a reference position intensity distribution pattern of the optical mage diffracted with respect to a reference eyebox position (Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead); and performing a first adjustment of the projected intensity distribution pattern based on the first position intensity distribution pattern and the reference position intensity distribution pattern so that the optical image diffracted with respect to the first eyebox position after the first adjustment has an intensity distribution pattern that matches the reference position intensity distribution pattern before the first adjustment (Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead; Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move).
Urey does not disclose expressly performing a first adjustment of the projected intensity distribution pattern based on a correction array generated from a relationUreyp of the first position intensity distribution pattern and the reference position intensity distribution pattern.
Bodiya discloses performing a first adjustment of the projected intensity distribution pattern based on a correction array generated from a relationUreyp of the first position intensity distribution pattern and the reference position intensity distribution pattern (Par. 0093-0096 performing a field correction, i.e. brightness/intensity correction using an eyebox map, i.e. correction array, based on pupil positions, to create a uniform brightness, i.e. brightness at a reference position).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the field correction process of Bodiya can be applied to the HUD of Urey. The motivation for doing so would have been to maintain uniform brightness for each eye (Bodiya Par. 0096).
In regards to claim 2, Urey and Bodiya, as combined above, disclose the processor is further configured to: adjust the projected intensity distribution pattern by controlling a projector of the optical image based on the first position intensity distribution pattern and the reference position intensity distribution pattern (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move; Bodiya Par. 0093-0096 performing a field correction, i.e. brightness/intensity correction using an eyebox map, i.e. correction array, based on pupil positions, to create a uniform brightness, i.e. brightness at a reference position).
In regards to claim 12, Urey and Bodiya, as combined above, disclose adjusting the projected intensity distribution pattern by controlling a projector of the optical image based on the first position intensity distribution pattern and the reference position intensity distribution pattern (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move; Bodiya Par. 0093-0096 performing a field correction, i.e. brightness/intensity correction using an eyebox map, i.e. correction array, based on pupil positions, to create a uniform brightness, i.e. brightness at a reference position).
In regards to claim 3, Urey and Bodiya, as combined above, disclose the reference eyebox position is an eyebox center position (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move; Bodiya Par. 0093-0096 performing a field correction, i.e. brightness/intensity correction using an eyebox map, i.e. correction array, based on pupil positions, to create a uniform brightness, i.e. brightness at a reference position).
In regards to claim 13, Urey and Bodiya, as combined above, disclose the reference eyebox position is an eyebox center position (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move; Bodiya Par. 0093-0096 performing a field correction, i.e. brightness/intensity correction using an eyebox map, i.e. correction array, based on pupil positions, to create a uniform brightness, i.e. brightness at a reference position).
In regards to claim 4, Urey and Bodiya, as combined above, disclose the processor is further configured to: receive a second eyebox position closer to an edge of the eyebox than the first eyebox position (Urey Par. 0109 “a head tracker camera (102) for tracking the driver's head motion, face, and pupils, and a head tracking control (104) system” and “a steerable eyebox in front of the driver's eyes”; a second eyebox position can be closer to an edge); and in response to receiving the second eyebox position, perform a second adjustment of the projected intensity distribution pattern so that an average intensity of the optical image diffracted with respect to the second eyebox position after the second adjustment, is greater than an average intensity of the optical image diffracted with respect to the first eyebox position before the second adjustment (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; an edge eyebox position requires more intensity versus a center eyebox position to maintain the viewed image as looking the same to the user; Bodiya Par. 0093-0096 performing a field correction, i.e. brightness/intensity correction using an eyebox map, i.e. correction array, based on pupil positions, to create a uniform brightness, i.e. brightness at a reference position).
In regards to claim 14, Urey and Bodiya, as combined above, disclose receiving a second eyebox position closer to an edge of the eyebox than the first eyebox position (Urey Par. 0109 “a head tracker camera (102) for tracking the driver's head motion, face, and pupils, and a head tracking control (104) system” and “a steerable eyebox in front of the driver's eyes”; a second eyebox position can be closer to an edge); and in response to receiving the second eyebox position, perform a second adjustment of the projected intensity distribution pattern so that an average intensity of the optical image diffracted with respect to the second eyebox position after the second adjustment, is greater than an average intensity of the optical image diffracted with respect to the first eyebox position before the second adjustment (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; an edge eyebox position requires more intensity versus a center eyebox position to maintain the viewed image as looking the same to the user; Bodiya Par. 0093-0096 performing a field correction, i.e. brightness/intensity correction using an eyebox map, i.e. correction array, based on pupil positions, to create a uniform brightness, i.e. brightness at a reference position).
In regards to claim 5, Urey and Bodiya, as combined above, disclose a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move), wherein the processor is further configured to: in response to receiving the first eyebox position, perform Ureyfting of the center of the optical image projected onto the hologram with respect to the center of the array of spatial light modulators so that after the Ureyfting, the center of the optical image diffracted with respect to the first eyebox position corresponds to the first eyebox position (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move; Bodiya Par. 0093-0096 performing a field correction, i.e. brightness/intensity correction using an eyebox map, i.e. correction array, based on pupil positions, to create a uniform brightness, i.e. brightness at a reference position).
In regards to claim 15, Urey and Bodiya, as combined above, disclose a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move), wherein the method comprises: in response to receiving the first eyebox position, Ureyfting the center of the optical image projected onto the hologram with respect to the center of the array of spatial light modulators so that after the Ureyfting, the center of the optical image diffracted with respect to the first eyebox position corresponds to the first eyebox position (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move; Bodiya Par. 0093-0096 performing a field correction, i.e. brightness/intensity correction using an eyebox map, i.e. correction array, based on pupil positions, to create a uniform brightness, i.e. brightness at a reference position).
In regards to claim 6, Urey and Bodiya, as combined above, disclose the processor is further configured to: determine a first intensity value of a dominant wavelength in a portion of the optical image diffracted with respect to the first eyebox position (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move); determine a second intensity value of the dominant wavelength in the portion of the optical image diffracted with respect to the reference eyebox position (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move); determine a gradient between the first intensity value and the second intensity value (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move); and perform a third adjustment of an intensity of the dominant wavelength in the optical image projected onto the hologram in accordance with the gradient so that the second intensity value of the dominant wavelength in the portion of the optical image diffracted with respect to the first eyebox position after the third adjustment, matches the first intensity value of the dominant wavelength in the portion of the optical image diffracted with respect to the reference eyebox position before the third adjustment (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move; Bodiya Par. 0093-0096 performing a field correction, i.e. brightness/intensity correction using an eyebox map, i.e. correction array, based on pupil positions, to create a uniform brightness, i.e. brightness at a reference position).
In regards to claim 16, Urey and Bodiya, as combined above, disclose determining a first intensity value of a dominant wavelength in a portion of the optical image diffracted with respect to the first eyebox position (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move); determining a second intensity value of the dominant wavelength in the portion of the optical image diffracted with respect to the reference eyebox position (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move); determine a gradient between the first intensity value and the second intensity value (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move); and performing a third adjustment of an intensity of the dominant wavelength in the optical image projected onto the hologram in accordance with the gradient so that the second intensity value of the dominant wavelength in the portion of the optical image diffracted with respect to the first eyebox position after the third adjustment, matches the first intensity value of the dominant wavelength in the portion of the optical image diffracted with respect to the reference eyebox position before the third adjustment (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move; Bodiya Par. 0093-0096 performing a field correction, i.e. brightness/intensity correction using an eyebox map, i.e. correction array, based on pupil positions, to create a uniform brightness, i.e. brightness at a reference position).
In regards to claim 7, Urey and Bodiya, as combined above, disclose the processor is further configured to adjust the intensity of the dominant wavelength in the optical image projected onto the hologram by controlling a projector of the optical image to adjust gain settings of a projector color control algorithm (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move; Bodiya Par. 0093-0096 performing a field correction, i.e. brightness/intensity correction using an eyebox map, i.e. correction array, based on pupil positions, to create a uniform brightness, i.e. brightness at a reference position).
In regards to claim 17, Urey and Bodiya, as combined above, disclose adjusting the intensity of the dominant wavelength in the optical image projected onto the hologram by controlling a projector of the optical image to adjust gain settings of a projector color control algorithm (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move; Bodiya Par. 0093-0096 performing a field correction, i.e. brightness/intensity correction using an eyebox map, i.e. correction array, based on pupil positions, to create a uniform brightness, i.e. brightness at a reference position).
In regards to claim 8, Urey and Bodiya, as combined above, disclose the processor is further configured to determine the first position intensity distribution pattern by: providing a digital image defining the optical image projected onto the hologram and the received first eyebox position and to a hologram model (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move); and receiving from the hologram model a predicted first position intensity distribution pattern (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move); wherein performing the first adjustment of the projected intensity distribution pattern is based at least in part on the predicted first position intensity distribution pattern (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move; Bodiya Par. 0093-0096 performing a field correction, i.e. brightness/intensity correction using an eyebox map, i.e. correction array, based on pupil positions, to create a uniform brightness, i.e. brightness at a reference position).
In regards to claim 18, Urey and Bodiya, as combined above, disclose determining the first position intensity distribution pattern is performed by: providing a digital image defining the optical image projected onto the hologram and the received first eyebox position and to a hologram model (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move); receiving from the hologram model a predicted first position intensity distribution pattern (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move); wherein performing the first adjustment of the projected intensity distribution pattern is based at least in part on the predicted first position intensity distribution pattern (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move; Bodiya Par. 0093-0096 performing a field correction, i.e. brightness/intensity correction using an eyebox map, i.e. correction array, based on pupil positions, to create a uniform brightness, i.e. brightness at a reference position).
In regards to claim 9, Urey and Bodiya, as combined above, disclose the processor is further configured to determine the reference position intensity distribution pattern by: providing a digital image corresponding to the optical image projected onto the hologram and the received reference eyebox position to the hologram model (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move); receiving from the hologram model a predicted reference position intensity distribution pattern (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move); and adjusting the projected intensity distribution pattern based at least in part on the predicted reference position intensity distribution pattern (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move; Bodiya Par. 0093-0096 performing a field correction, i.e. brightness/intensity correction using an eyebox map, i.e. correction array, based on pupil positions, to create a uniform brightness, i.e. brightness at a reference position).
In regards to claim 19, Urey and Bodiya, as combined above, disclose determining the reference position intensity distribution pattern is performed by: providing a digital image corresponding to the optical image projected onto the hologram and the received reference eyebox position to the hologram model (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move); receiving from the hologram model a predicted reference position intensity distribution pattern(Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move); and adjusting the projected intensity distribution pattern based at least in part on the predicted reference position intensity distribution pattern (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move; Bodiya Par. 0093-0096 performing a field correction, i.e. brightness/intensity correction using an eyebox map, i.e. correction array, based on pupil positions, to create a uniform brightness, i.e. brightness at a reference position).
In regards to claim 10, Urey and Bodiya, as combined above, disclose the processor is further configured to adjust the projected intensity distribution pattern based on a difference between the predicted first position intensity distribution pattern and the predicted reference position intensity distribution pattern (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move; Bodiya Par. 0093-0096 performing a field correction, i.e. brightness/intensity correction using an eyebox map, i.e. correction array, based on pupil positions, to create a uniform brightness, i.e. brightness at a reference position).
In regards to claim 20, Urey and Bodiya, as combined above, disclose adjusting the projected intensity distribution pattern based on a difference between the predicted first position intensity distribution pattern and the predicted reference position intensity distribution pattern (Urey Par. 0122-0125 based on an eye position computer generated holograms (CGH) are calculated, wherein each new CGH would have an associated intensity pattern, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…, image wavelengths, color gains, etc…; Urey Par. 0171 “SLM (13) spatially modulates the phase, the intensity or a combination of the incident light from the light source (11)”; Urey Par. 0177 “computer-generated holograms displayed by said SLM (13) are computed such that the exit pupil (16) formed at the exit pupil plane (17) is Ureyfted according to the position of the pupil center of the user's eye (21)”; as the CGH for each is generated based on eye position a reference position can be defined as the user looking straight ahead and the other positions are Ureyfted/calculated from a user looking straight ahead, i.e. a center of the optical image projected onto the hologram corresponds to a center of an array of spatial light modulators and an eyebox center position; Urey Par. 0123 “Correct perspective images need to be rendered according to the location of the users' left and right eyes (21, left) and (21, right) and their positions. In particular cases, where the steering mirror (23) is conjugate to an object plane (such as illustrated by UREY FIG. 9b), the virtual object placed on the virtual image (105) plane remains stationary, regardless of the rotation of the steering mirror (23)”, i.e. regardless of the position of the user’s eye/steering mirror the images appear stationary with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move with associated intensities, color gains, and image wavelengths such that the user doesn’t see a different image when their eyes move; Bodiya Par. 0093-0096 performing a field correction, i.e. brightness/intensity correction using an eyebox map, i.e. correction array, based on pupil positions, to create a uniform brightness, i.e. brightness at a reference position).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CORY A ALMEIDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628 3/6/26