DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 5/20/26 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-20, 22-30 remain pending, of which claims 28-30 were previously withdrawn.
The previous 35 USC 112 rejections have been withdrawn due to the amendments.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/1/26 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: distribution unit, activation unit, fluorescence generation unit, fluorescence detection unit and identification unit in claim 1, image acquisition unit in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20, 22-23, 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by CHIU (US 2020/0208202).
Regarding claim 1, 22, 23, The following claim terms were interpreted under 35 USC 112f as stated above to be the following structures as per the specification:
Distribution unit- emulsification membrane, microchannels or injection portion i.e. nozzle [0110] and functional equivalents thereof.
Activation unit- environment adjuster i.e. incubator [0114] and functional equivalents thereof.
Fluorescence generation unit – environment adjuster i.e. incubator [0115] and functional equivalents thereof.
Fluorescence detection unit- any device that can detect fluorescence in individual compartments, i.e. plate reader or fluorescence microscope [0117, 0123-124] and functional equivalents thereof.
Identification unit- information processing system i.e. computer [0128] and functional equivalents thereof.
With respect to claim 1, CHIU discloses a system for performing assays using droplets which can be used for detection of nucleic acids (Abs) comprising:
a droplet system 1055 (distribution unit), that can be a multi-channel pipette (microchannels, injection portion/nozzle) (Fig 2a, 4) configured to distribute a sample and detectable agent to a well or chamber in a microfluidic chip or a droplet on a chip (0127-128, 0140);
a means for maintaining temperature (incubate at predetermined temperature) such as an incubator or other heat sources (activation unit, fluorescence generation unit are single incubator) that enable chemical processes to occur (configured to activate protein and modify molecule, and incubate the wells/chambers) (0137-0140, Fig 4);
an imaging source 1040 (fluorescence detection unit) such as a fluorescence microscope configured to detect fluorescence (0289, 0329, Fig. 2a, 4);
and a detection system 1000 with a computing device 1001 (identification unit) for analyzing the images (0291) to determine the fluorescence intensity in a droplet (fluorescence intensity of each individual independent separated compartment), and to identify droplets (compartments) having a fluorescence intensity exceeding a threshold pixel intensity valve (predetermined threshold value) (0150, 0200, 0236-0241).
It is noted the limitation directed to the contents of the sample and detection reagent are not positively recited limitations of the claim but are merely contents of the apparatus and therefore have been given appropriate weight. These limitations do not afford patentability to the apparatus or system because they are not defining any structural features of said apparatus but merely defining the contents used in the claimed apparatus during its use. It has been well established that it is fundamental that an apparatus claim defines the structure of the invention and not how the structure is used in a process, or what materials the structure houses in carrying out the process. Further, it has been held that "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." It is further noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2114 and 2115. The above apparatus of CHIU is considered capable of use with any desired samples & reagents, including those specifically claimed, as the structure of the disclosed detection apparatus meets all the claimed structural limitations.
Regarding claim 2, The following claim terms were interpreted under 35 USC 112f as stated above to be the following structures as per the specification:
Image acquisition unit – fluorescence microscope [0124] and functional equivalents thereof.
With respect to claim 2, CHIU discloses the imaging source 1040 (fluorescence detection unit) can be a fluorescence microscope configured to detect fluorescence in the separate wells (configured to acquire an image containing the individual compartments) (0289, 0329, Fig. 2a, 4).
Regarding claim 3, CHIU discloses the detection system (identification unit) is configured to identify each droplet or well (compartments) having a fluorescence intensity exceeding a threshold pixel intensity value by processing the image (0150, 0200, 0236-0241, Fig 2C-2E).
Regarding claims 4-20, CHIU discloses the apparatus for use with a sample containing a nucleotide (target nucleic acid) and the detectable agent can be a variety of reagents, including proteins, RNA, probes or dyes (reporter molecules) (0128, 0149-150, 0168-171, 0311, 0423). It is noted the limitation directed to the contents of the detection reagent merely contents of the apparatus and therefore have been given appropriate weight. These limitations do not afford patentability to the apparatus or system because they are not defining any structural features of said apparatus but merely defining the contents used in the claimed apparatus during its use. It has been well established that it is fundamental that an apparatus claim defines the structure of the invention and not how the structure is used in a process, or what materials the structure houses in carrying out the process. Further, it has been held that "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." It is further noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2114 and 2115. The above apparatus of CHIU is considered capable of use with any desired reagents, including those specifically claimed, as the structure of the disclosed detection apparatus meets all the claimed structural limitations.
Regarding claim 26, CHIU discloses the detection system (identification unit) is configured to identify each droplet or well (compartments) having a fluorescence intensity exceeding a threshold pixel intensity value based on a ratio between a fluorescence intensity of a reference and the droplet, well or chamber (0150, 0200, 0219, 0236-0241, 0278, Fig 2C-2E).
Regarding claim 27, CHIU discloses using a reference fluorescence (0219). It is noted this claim only recites functional limitations. It is well established that a recitation with respect to the manner in which an apparatus is intended to be employed, i.e., a functional limitation, does not impose any structural limitation upon the claimed apparatus which differentiates it from a prior art reference disclosing the structural limitations of the claims. Where the prior art reference is inherently capable of performing the function described in a functional limitation, such functional limitation does not define the claimed apparatus over such art reference, regardless of whether the prior art reference explicitly discloses such capacity for performing the recited function. In addition, where there is reason to believe that such functional limitation may be inherent characteristic of the prior art reference, applicant is required to prove that the subject matter shown in the prior art reference does not possess the characteristic relied upon. MPEP 2114-2115.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHIU (US 2020/0208202).
Regarding claim 24-25, CHIU discloses the droplets have a range of volumes, including from 100nL-1fL, from 10nL-10fL, from 1nL to 100fL (0072, 0096) but does not explicitly disclose the range of volumes claimed from 0.1fL-1000fL and 0.5fL-400fL. However, as the claimed range overlaps the range disclosed by CHIU, this is evidence of prima facie obviousness of the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the claimed apparatus and prior art reference CHIU are used for different purposes, with different reagents and that a different process occurs in the claimed and reference incubators, it is noted a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As stated in the rejection CHIU discloses a device with means for maintaining or cycling temperature and further states the device can include without limitation, warm-water baths, incubators and other heat sources (0137). The examiner maintains that this disclosure meets the structure of the claimed limitation of an incubator and as it is disclosed as maintaining a temperature, it is considered capable of being used for the activation and fluorescence generation functions claimed. It is noted applicant has not presented any clear arguments as to how the claimed incubator and the disclosed incubator of CHIU structurally differ.
In response to applicant’s argument that the claimed volumes of the compartments in dependent claims 24-25 are separately patentable, the examiner respectfully disagrees. As CHIU discloses using volumes containing agents such as a well or chamber in a microfluid chip (0127, 0140) and that the device can include a plurality of chambers configured to form the plurality of droplets (0145) and that the droplets have a range of volumes, including from 100nL-1fL, from 10nL-10fL, from 1nL to 100fL (0072, 0096) which range overlaps the claimed range, the examiner maintains the disclosure of CHIU renders the claimed range of compartment volumes is prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIELLE B HENKEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/William H. Beisner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799