DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-27 in the reply filed on 10/17/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 28-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/17/25.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/2/25, 8/26/25, 7/11/23, 5/24/23, 4/10/2 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: distribution unit, activation unit, fluorescence generation unit, fluorescence detection unit and identification unit in claim 1, image acquisition unit in claim 2, and recovery unit in claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The instant specification states the recovery unit uses a composite particle to recover the target nucleic acid [0095-97] but does not disclose any structures that comprise the recovery unit itself. It is unclear what structural components perform the functions stated in the claim and specification.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “recovery unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The instant specification states the recovery unit uses a composite particle to recover the target nucleic acid [0095-97] but does not disclose any structures that comprise the recovery unit itself. It is unclear what structural components perform the functions stated in the claim and specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-23, 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by CHIU (US 2020/0208202).
Regarding claim 1, 22, 23, The following claim terms were interpreted under 35 USC 112f as stated above to be the following structures as per the specification:
Distribution unit- emulsification membrane, microchannels or injection portion i.e. nozzle [0110] and functional equivalents thereof.
Activation unit- environment adjuster i.e. incubator [0114] and functional equivalents thereof.
Fluorescence generation unit – environment adjuster i.e. incubator [0115] and functional equivalents thereof.
Fluorescence detection unit- any device that can detect fluorescence in individual compartments, i.e. plate reader or fluorescence microscope [0117, 0123-124] and functional equivalents thereof.
Identification unit- information processing system i.e. computer [0128] and functional equivalents thereof.
With respect to claim 1, CHIU discloses a system for performing assays using droplets which can be used for detection of nucleic acids (Abs) comprising:
a droplet system 1055 (distribution unit), that can be a multi-channel pipette (microchannels, injection portion/nozzle) (Fig 2a, 4) configured to distribute a sample and detectable agent to a well or chamber in a microfluidic chip or a droplet on a chip (0127-128, 0140);
a thermal cycler or incubator or other heat sources (activation unit, fluorescence generation unit) that enable chemical processes to occur (configured to activate protein and modify molecule) (0140, Fig 4);
an imaging source 1040 (fluorescence detection unit) such as a fluorescence microscope configured to detect fluorescence (0289, 0329, Fig. 2a, 4);
and a detection system 1000 with a computing device 1001 (identification unit) for analyzing the images (0291) to determine the fluorescence intensity in a droplet (fluorescence intensity of each individual independent separated compartment), and to identify droplets (compartments) having a fluorescence intensity exceeding a threshold pixel intensity valve (predetermined threshold value) (0150, 0200, 0236-0241).
It is noted the limitation directed to the contents of the sample and detection reagent are not positively recited limitations of the claim but are merely contents of the apparatus and therefore have been given appropriate weight. These limitations do not afford patentability to the apparatus or system because they are not defining any structural features of said apparatus but merely defining the contents used in the claimed apparatus during its use. It has been well established that it is fundamental that an apparatus claim defines the structure of the invention and not how the structure is used in a process, or what materials the structure houses in carrying out the process. Further, it has been held that "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." It is further noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2114 and 2115. The above apparatus of CHIU is considered capable of use with any desired samples & reagents, including those specifically claimed, as the structure of the disclosed detection apparatus meets all the claimed structural limitations.
Regarding claim 2, The following claim terms were interpreted under 35 USC 112f as stated above to be the following structures as per the specification:
Image acquisition unit – fluorescence microscope [0124] and functional equivalents thereof.
With respect to claim 2, CHIU discloses the imaging source 1040 (fluorescence detection unit) can be a fluorescence microscope configured to detect fluorescence in the separate wells (configured to acquire an image containing the individual compartments) (0289, 0329, Fig. 2a, 4).
Regarding claim 3, CHIU discloses the detection system (identification unit) is configured to identify each droplet or well (compartments) having a fluorescence intensity exceeding a threshold pixel intensity value by processing the image (0150, 0200, 0236-0241, Fig 2C-2E).
Regarding claims 4-20, CHIU discloses the apparatus for use with a sample containing a nucleotide (target nucleic acid) and the detectable agent can be a variety of reagents, including proteins, RNA, probes or dyes (reporter molecules) (0128, 0149-150, 0168-171, 0311, 0423). It is noted the limitation directed to the contents of the detection reagent merely contents of the apparatus and therefore have been given appropriate weight. These limitations do not afford patentability to the apparatus or system because they are not defining any structural features of said apparatus but merely defining the contents used in the claimed apparatus during its use. It has been well established that it is fundamental that an apparatus claim defines the structure of the invention and not how the structure is used in a process, or what materials the structure houses in carrying out the process. Further, it has been held that "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." It is further noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2114 and 2115. The above apparatus of CHIU is considered capable of use with any desired reagents, including those specifically claimed, as the structure of the disclosed detection apparatus meets all the claimed structural limitations.
Regarding claim 21, The claim limitation “recovery unit” invokes 35 USC 112f interpretation, however, as stated in the above 35 USC 112a &b rejections, the specification and the claim fail to provide any structural components to perform the claimed functions. Furthermore, CHIU discloses sample recovery was known (0088).
Regarding claim 26, CHIU discloses the detection system (identification unit) is configured to identify each droplet or well (compartments) having a fluorescence intensity exceeding a threshold pixel intensity value based on a ratio between a fluorescence intensity of a reference and the droplet, well or chamber (0150, 0200, 0219, 0236-0241, 0278, Fig 2C-2E).
Regarding claim 27, CHIU discloses using a reference fluorescence (0219). It is noted this claim only recites functional limitations. It is well established that a recitation with respect to the manner in which an apparatus is intended to be employed, i.e., a functional limitation, does not impose any structural limitation upon the claimed apparatus which differentiates it from a prior art reference disclosing the structural limitations of the claims. Where the prior art reference is inherently capable of performing the function described in a functional limitation, such functional limitation does not define the claimed apparatus over such art reference, regardless of whether the prior art reference explicitly discloses such capacity for performing the recited function. In addition, where there is reason to believe that such functional limitation may be inherent characteristic of the prior art reference, applicant is required to prove that the subject matter shown in the prior art reference does not possess the characteristic relied upon. MPEP 2114-2115.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHIU (US 2020/0208202).
Regarding claim 24-25, CHIU discloses the droplets have a range of volumes, including from 100nL-1fL, from 10nL-10fL, from 1nL to 100fL (0072, 0096) but does not explicitly disclose the range of volumes claimed from 0.1fL-1000fL and 0.5fL-400fL. However, as the claimed range overlaps the range disclosed by CHIU, this is evidence of prima facie obviousness of the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references cited on the PTO 892 disclose the state of the art of applicant’s endeavors in nucleic acid detection apparatus.
/DANIELLE B HENKEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/William H. Beisner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799