DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the communications filed on 06/09/2026, concerning Application No. 18/295,997. The amendments to the claims filed on 06/09/2026 is acknowledged. Presently, claims 1, 3-4, 6, 10, and 12-20 remain pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20, line 16, the limitation “corresponding to one of first selection buttons which is selected” should be changed to “corresponding to one of the first selection buttons which is selected”; and
Claim 20, line 20, the limitation “corresponding to one of second selection buttons which is selected” should be changed to “corresponding to one of the second selection buttons which is selected”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 10, 12-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silberman et al. (US 2020/0054307 A1, of record, hereinafter Silberman) in view of Ota (US 2016/0206283 A1, of record, hereinafter Ota), and further in view of Park et al. (US 2016/0157824 A1, hereinafter Park).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Silberman discloses a display method of an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus including an ultrasound probe, and a diagnostic apparatus main body connected to the ultrasound probe, the diagnostic apparatus main body including a monitor and a processor (see, e.g., Para. [0066], “FIG. 8 illustrates an example process 800 for guiding collection of ultrasound data […] The process 800 may be performed by a processing device in an ultrasound system. The processing device may be, for example, a portable device (e.g., a mobile phone, a smart phone, a tablet, a laptop, a device coupled to a moveable platform like a cart, etc.) or a stationary device (e.g., a desktop computer, a rack-mounted computer, a remote server), and may be in operative communication with an ultrasound device”, and Para. [0085-0097], and Figs. 2-4, 8, and 15-16), the display method comprising:
storing in advance a plurality of first body marks corresponding to a plurality of first examination locations for one of a left lung and a right lung of a subject, and a plurality of second body marks corresponding to a plurality of second examination locations for the other of the left lung and the right lung (see, e.g., Para. [0067], “In act 802, the processing device determines a plurality of anatomical locations on a subject for imaging. In some embodiments, the processing device may determine the plurality of anatomical locations based on a user selection of an anatomical structure to be imaged. For example, if the user selects a lung imaging preset, the processing device may determine a plurality of anatomical locations that may be typically be imaged during lung imaging. In the example of lung imaging, certain guidelines suggest imaging 12 anatomical regions of the lungs, while others suggest imaging 28 anatomical regions of the lungs, etc., and these anatomical regions may constitute the plurality of anatomical locations determined by the processing device. […] The processing device may determine the plurality of anatomical locations by looking up a user-selected anatomical structure or imaging protocol in a database containing associations between anatomical structures/imaging protocols and pluralities of anatomical locations. The database may be stored on the processing device, or the processing device may access a remote server storing the database”); and
displaying, on the monitor, a first display (Fig. 2: right side of schematic depiction of the lungs 220) related to the one of the left lung and the right lung and a second display (Fig. 2: left side of schematic depiction of the lungs 220) related to the other of the left lung and the right lung, wherein the first display includes first selection buttons corresponding to at least two of the plurality of first examination locations and the plurality of first body marks corresponding to one of the first selection buttons which is selected by the user, and the second display includes second selection buttons corresponding to at least two of the plurality of second examination locations and the plurality of second body marks corresponding to one of the second selection buttons which is selected by the user (see, e.g., Para. [0052], “displaying the first indication may include displaying or modifying a marker on an image of a body or a body portion, where the marker appears in the image to be located at the first anatomical location. In some embodiments, the processing device may not display markers on the image of the body or body portion prior to the determination of act 104, and at act 106 the processing device may display a new marker such that the marker appears in the image of the body or body portion to be positioned over the first anatomical location. In some embodiments, the processing device may display markers on the image of the body or body portion prior to the determination of act 104, and at act 106 the processing device may modify a marker (e.g., fill in, place a checkmark) that appears in the image of the body or body portion to be positioned over the first anatomical location. The image of the body or body portion may be a static optical image of the body or body portion (i.e., an image that does not change as the processing device moves), may not have been captured from the particular subject being imaged, and/or may be a drawn, stylized, and/or cartoonish image of the body or body portion”, and Para. [0058], “The schematic depiction of the lungs 220 depicts markers 224-234 on regions of the lungs. The marker 223 is located at the superior anterior region of the right lung, the marker 224 is located at the superior lateral region of the right lung, the marker 225 is located at the superior posterior region of the right lung, the marker 226 is located at the inferior posterior region of the right lung, the marker 227 is located at the inferior lateral region of the right lung, the marker 228 is located at the inferior anterior region of the right lung […] These regions of the lungs may be regions that should each be imaged when imaging the lungs. For example, certain guidelines suggest imaging 12 anatomical regions of the lungs”, and Fig. 2, where six markers 223, 224, 225, 226, 227, 228 are shown to be displayed on the right side of the schematic depiction of the lungs 220, such that each are shown as a marker indicating a different location/region of the right lung, and where six markers 229, 230, 231, 232, 233, 234 are shown to be displayed on the left side of the schematic depiction of the lungs 220, such that each are shown as a marker indicating a different location/region of the left lung, and Fig. 3 with Para. [0060], “FIG. 3 illustrates an example display on the processing device 200 displaying an indication of an anatomical location, in accordance with certain embodiments described herein. The marker 211 outlining the inferior lateral region of the right lung on the frame of the video 202 of the subject is filled in, and a checkmark is displayed on the marker 227 located at the inferior lateral region of the right lung. The filling in of the marker 211 and the checkmark on the marker 227 may both serve as an indication that the inferior lateral region of the right lung of the subject has already been imaged”).
Examiner emphasizes that Silberman does disclose displaying schematic drawings of the left lung and the right lung (see, e.g., Para. [0057-0058], and Fig. 2). However, Examiner notes that Silberman does not specifically disclose [1] displaying, on the monitor, the first display related to the one of the left lung and the right lung or the second display related to the other of the left lung and the right lung with switching each other based on a first indication by a user; [2] wherein the first display includes only one of the plurality of first body marks corresponding to one of the first selection buttons which is selected by the user, and the second display includes only one of the plurality of second body marks corresponding to one of the second selection buttons which is selected by the user; and [3] wherein the display method further comprises increasing or decreasing the first selection buttons included in the first display, or the second selection buttons included in the second display, based on a second indication by the user.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound diagnostic apparatuses, Ota discloses displaying, on a monitor, a first display related to the one of the left object and the right object or a second display related to the other of the left object and the right object with switching each other based on a first indication by a user; and wherein the first display includes only one of the plurality of first body marks corresponding to one of the first selection buttons which is selected by the user, and the second display includes only one of the plurality of second body marks corresponding to one of the second selection buttons which is selected by the user (see, e.g., Para. [0059], “The examination point selection image SI is an image having a rectangular area which is pop-up displayed near the left end of the ultrasound diagnostic screen D2. […] The examination selection image SI includes a main image SI1, preview image SI2, a left and right switching button B5”, and Para. [0065], “The left and right switching button B5 is a button which is touched when the operator is to switch the display content of the main image SI1 and preview image SI2 from left hand to right hand, or from right hand to left hand”, and Para. [0125], “The embodiment and the modification example have been described by taking an example in which the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus 1 performs examination of hand as an examination region; however, the examination region is not limited to the hand. The present invention can be applied to examinations and medical checks of various regions such as elbow, shoulder, knee, ankle, toe, head, neck, abdomen”, and Fig. 5, where a left and right switching button B5 located on the display monitor/screen D2 is disclosed that allows for toggling between the displaying/selecting of the images/data of the right side of the examination target and the left side of the examination target, such that only the right side OR the left side is displayed at one time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display method of Silberman by including [1] displaying, on the monitor, the first display related to the one of the left object and the right object or the second display related to the other of the left object and the right object with switching each other based on a first indication by a user; and [2] wherein the first display includes only one of the plurality of first body marks corresponding to one of the first selection buttons which is selected by the user, and the second display includes only one of the plurality of second body marks corresponding to one of the second selection buttons which is selected by the user, as disclosed by Ota. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to desirably switch between the display contents of the examination targets, as recognized by Ota (see, e.g., Para. [0065]).
Silberman modified by Ota still does not specifically disclose [3] wherein the display method further comprises increasing or decreasing the first selection buttons included in the first display, or the second selection buttons included in the second display, based on a second indication by the user.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound imaging and ultrasound diagnostic apparatuses, Park discloses wherein the display method further comprises increasing or decreasing the first selection buttons included in the first display, or the second selection buttons included in the second display, based on a second indication by the user (see, e.g., Abstract, “Disclosed are an ultrasound image providing apparatus and method. The ultrasound image providing apparatus includes an interface that displays a screen including a gain setting window which includes a plurality of slide bars for setting a plurality of time gain compensation (TGC) values of ultrasound image data, and receives, through the gain setting window, a user input for adjusting at least one selected from the sizes and number of slide bars, and a controller that performs control to update and display the gain setting window, based on the user input”, and Para. [0120], “FIG. 6A illustrates a screen that includes the gain setting window 510 and an ultrasound image 620 in which a TGC value is set through the gain setting window 610. […] The gain setting window 610 may display a button 602 for receiving a user input which increases or decreases the number of slide bars”, and Para. [0122], “For example, a user may increase the number of slide bars by tapping or pressing the button 602. As another example, the user may decrease the number of slide bars by double tapping the button 602”, and Para. [0125], “FIG. 7A illustrates a screen that includes the gain setting window 710 and an ultrasound image 720 in which a TGC value is set through the gain setting window 710. […] The gain setting window 710 may display a button 702 for receiving a user input which increases or decreases the number of slide bars in the first section 730. The first section 730 may set by a user input”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the display method and the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus of Silberman modified by Ota by including [3] wherein the display method further comprises increasing or decreasing the first selection buttons included in the first display, or the second selection buttons included in the second display, based on a second indication by the user, as disclosed by Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to desirably allow a user to adjust (increase or decrease) a number/amount of selection buttons on an ultrasound display, as recognized by Park (see, e.g., Abstract, and Para. [0120], [0122], and [0125]).
Regarding claim 3, Silberman modified by Ota and Park discloses the display method according to claim 1, as set forth above. Silberman further discloses the display method further comprising: displaying, on the monitor, an ultrasound image (ultrasound image 236) of one of the plurality of first examination locations corresponding to the one of the first selection buttons which is selected by the user or one of the plurality of second examination locations corresponding to the one of the second selection buttons which is selected by the user, wherein the ultrasound image is captured using the ultrasound probe (see, e.g., Figs. 2-4, and Para. [0057], “FIG. 2 illustrates an example display on a processing device 200 prior to display of an indication of an anatomical location, in accordance with certain embodiments described herein. The processing device 200 displays a frame of a video 202 of a subject being imaged, a schematic depiction of the lungs 220, and an ultrasound image 236”, and Para. [0059], “In the embodiment depicted, ultrasound image 236 represents the most recent ultrasound image collected by an ultrasound device with which the processing device 200 is in communication”).
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Silberman modified by Ota and Park discloses the display method according to claims 1 and 3, respectively, as set forth above. Silberman further discloses the display method further comprising: displaying the left and right lungs on the monitor (see, e.g., Para. [0009], “determining the plurality of anatomical locations on the subject for imaging is based on a user selection of an anatomical region to be imaged. In some embodiments, the anatomical region comprises a lung”, and Para. [0067], “In act 802, the processing device determines a plurality of anatomical locations on a subject for imaging. In some embodiments, the processing device may determine the plurality of anatomical locations based on a user selection of an anatomical structure to be imaged. For example, if the user selects a lung imaging preset, the processing device may determine a plurality of anatomical locations that may be typically be imaged during lung imaging. In the example of lung imaging, certain guidelines suggest imaging 12 anatomical regions of the lungs”, such that “a lung imaging preset” selection by the user would also indicate whether the right lung or the left lung is being selected/imaged/displayed).
Silberman does not specifically disclose displaying a left and right switching button on the monitor, wherein the indication from the user is performed by the user selecting the left and right switching button.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound diagnostic apparatuses, Ota discloses displaying a left and right switching button on the monitor, wherein the indication from the user is performed by the user selecting the left and right switching button (see, e.g., Para. [0059], “The examination point selection image SI is an image having a rectangular area which is pop-up displayed near the left end of the ultrasound diagnostic screen D2. […] The examination selection image SI includes a main image SI1, preview image SI2, a left and right switching button B5”, and Para. [0065], “The left and right switching button B5 is a button which is touched when the operator is to switch the display content of the main image SI1 and preview image SI2 from left hand to right hand, or from right hand to left hand”, and Para. [0125], “The embodiment and the modification example have been described by taking an example in which the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus 1 performs examination of hand as an examination region; however, the examination region is not limited to the hand. The present invention can be applied to examinations and medical checks of various regions such as elbow, shoulder, knee, ankle, toe, head, neck, abdomen”, and Fig. 5, where a left and right switching button B5 located on the display monitor/screen D2 is disclosed that allows for toggling between the displaying/selecting of the images/data of the right side of the examination target and the left side of the examination target).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the display method of Silberman modified by Ota and Park by including displaying a left and right switching button on the monitor, wherein the indication from the user is performed by the user selecting the left and right switching button, as disclosed by Ota. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to desirably switch between the display contents of the examination targets, as recognized by Ota (see, e.g., Para. [0065]).
Regarding claim 10, Silberman modified by Ota and Park discloses the display method according to claim 1, as set forth above. Silberman further discloses wherein the first selection buttons of which a number matches a number of the plurality of first examination locations switched by an examination location number switching button are displayed on the monitor, and the second selection buttons of which a number matches a number of the plurality of second examination locations switched by the examination location number switching button are displayed on the monitor (see, e.g., Figs. 2-4, and Para. [0009], “determining the plurality of anatomical locations on the subject for imaging is based on a user selection of an anatomical region to be imaged. In some embodiments, the anatomical region comprises a lung”, and Para. [0058], “The schematic depiction of the lungs 220 depicts markers 224-234 on regions of the lungs. The marker 223 is located at the superior anterior region of the right lung, the marker 224 is located at the superior lateral region of the right lung, the marker 225 is located at the superior posterior region of the right lung, the marker 226 is located at the inferior posterior region of the right lung, the marker 227 is located at the inferior lateral region of the right lung, the marker 228 is located at the inferior anterior region of the right lung, the marker 229 is located at the superior anterior region of the left lung, the marker 230 is located at the superior lateral region of the left lung, the marker 231 is located at the superior posterior region of the left lung, the marker 232 is located at the inferior posterior region of the left lung, the marker 233 is located at the inferior lateral region of the left lung, and the marker 234 is located at the inferior anterior region of the left lung. These regions of the lungs may be regions that should each be imaged when imaging the lungs. For example, certain guidelines suggest imaging 12 anatomical regions of the lungs”, and Para. [0067], “In act 802, the processing device determines a plurality of anatomical locations on a subject for imaging. In some embodiments, the processing device may determine the plurality of anatomical locations based on a user selection of an anatomical structure to be imaged. For example, if the user selects a lung imaging preset, the processing device may determine a plurality of anatomical locations that may be typically be imaged during lung imaging. In the example of lung imaging, certain guidelines suggest imaging 12 anatomical regions of the lungs”).
Regarding claim 12, Silberman modified by Ota and Park discloses the display method according to claim 1, as set forth above. Silberman further discloses wherein each of the plurality of first body marks and the plurality of second body marks includes a schematic diagram (schematic depiction of the lungs 220) of a human body, and a plurality of examination location marks that are displayed on the schematic diagram in a superimposed manner, and indicate the plurality of first examination locations or the plurality of second examination locations, and each of the plurality of first body marks and the plurality of second body marks indicates one examination location of the plurality of first examination locations or the plurality of second examination location corresponding to one of the first selection buttons or the second selection buttons which is selected by the user, as an examination target region (see, e.g., Figs. 2-4, and Para. [0057], “FIG. 2 illustrates an example display on a processing device 200 prior to display of an indication of an anatomical location, in accordance with certain embodiments described herein. The processing device 200 displays a frame of a video 202 of a subject being imaged, a schematic depiction of the lungs 220, and an ultrasound image 236”, and Para. [0058], “The schematic depiction of the lungs 220 depicts markers 224-234 on regions of the lungs. The marker 223 is located at the superior anterior region of the right lung, the marker 224 is located at the superior lateral region of the right lung, the marker 225 is located at the superior posterior region of the right lung, the marker 226 is located at the inferior posterior region of the right lung, the marker 227 is located at the inferior lateral region of the right lung, the marker 228 is located at the inferior anterior region of the right lung, the marker 229 is located at the superior anterior region of the left lung, the marker 230 is located at the superior lateral region of the left lung, the marker 231 is located at the superior posterior region of the left lung, the marker 232 is located at the inferior posterior region of the left lung, the marker 233 is located at the inferior lateral region of the left lung, and the marker 234 is located at the inferior anterior region of the left lung”).
Regarding claim 13, Silberman modified by Ota and Park discloses the display method according to claim 12, as set forth above. Silberman further discloses wherein an examination location mark corresponding to the examination target region among the plurality of examination location marks is displayed in an emphasized manner (see, e.g., Para. [0052], “the processing device may modify a marker (e.g., fill in, place a checkmark) that appears in the image of the body or body portion to be positioned over the first anatomical location”, and Para. [0055], “the processing device simultaneously displays the first indication that was displayed in act 106 as well as a second indication of the second anatomical location. […] simultaneously displaying the first indication and the second indication may include simultaneously modifying two markers (e.g., filling in two outlines) on a frame of a video of the subject, where the markers are located over portions of the frame of the video that depict the first and second anatomical locations. […] As another example, simultaneously displaying the first indication and the second indication may include displaying checkmarks next to, or striking through, two instances of text or images, one of which describes the first anatomical location and the other of which describes the second anatomical location”, and Para. [0061], “FIG. 4 illustrates an example display on the processing device 200 simultaneously displaying two indications of two anatomical locations, in accordance with certain embodiments described herein. In addition to filling in the marker 211 and displaying a checkmark on the marker 227 (both of which may serve as an indication that the inferior lateral region of the right lung of the subject has already been imaged), the marker 210 outlining the superior lateral region of the right lung on the frame of the video 202 of the subject is also filled in, and a checkmark is displayed on the marker 224 located at the inferior lateral region of the right lung. The filling in of the marker 210 and the checkmark on the marker 224 may both serve as an indication that the superior lateral region of the right lung of the subject has been imaged. The processing device 200 therefore indicates that both the superior and inferior lateral regions of the right lung have already been imaged”, where filling in of the marker or including a checkmark on the marker as disclosed allows for the markers to be displayed in an emphasized manner).
Regarding claim 14, Silberman modified by Ota and Park discloses the display method according to claim 12, as set forth above. Silberman further discloses wherein each of the plurality of first body marks and the plurality of second body marks includes a probe mark indicating an orientation and a position of the ultrasound probe for examining the examination target region (see, e.g., Para. [0039], “the processing device receives first ultrasound data collected from a subject by the ultrasound device. The processing device may receive the first ultrasound data in real-time, and the ultrasound data may therefore be collected from the current anatomical location of the ultrasound device on the subject being imaged”, and Para. [0058], “The schematic depiction of the lungs 220 depicts markers 224-234 on regions of the lungs. The marker 223 is located at the superior anterior region of the right lung, the marker 224 is located at the superior lateral region of the right lung, the marker 225 is located at the superior posterior region of the right lung, the marker 226 is located at the inferior posterior region of the right lung, the marker 227 is located at the inferior lateral region of the right lung, the marker 228 is located at the inferior anterior region of the right lung, the marker 229 is located at the superior anterior region of the left lung, the marker 230 is located at the superior lateral region of the left lung, the marker 231 is located at the superior posterior region of the left lung, the marker 232 is located at the inferior posterior region of the left lung, the marker 233 is located at the inferior lateral region of the left lung, and the marker 234 is located at the inferior anterior region of the left lung. These regions of the lungs may be regions that should each be imaged when imaging the lungs. For example, certain guidelines suggest imaging 12 anatomical regions of the lungs”, and Para. [0060], “FIG. 3 illustrates an example display on the processing device 200 displaying an indication of an anatomical location, in accordance with certain embodiments described herein. The marker 211 outlining the inferior lateral region of the right lung on the frame of the video 202 of the subject is filled in, and a checkmark is displayed on the marker 227 located at the inferior lateral region of the right lung. The filling in of the marker 211 and the checkmark on the marker 227 may both serve as an indication that the inferior lateral region of the right lung of the subject has already been imaged. […] the processing device may determine that the inferior lateral region of the right lung has been imaged by inputting the most recently collected ultrasound image 236 to a statistical model”, and Figs. 2-4, where the markers 223-234 each indicate a region of the lung that has been imaged or that should each be imaged by the ultrasound probe/device having a location/position/orientation of the probe when imaging the respective lung region).
Regarding claim 15, Silberman modified by Ota and Park discloses the display method according to claim 14, as set forth above. Silberman further discloses wherein upon designating a live mode, the probe mark is displayed on the monitor (see, e.g., Para. [0039], “the processing device receives first ultrasound data collected from a subject by the ultrasound device. The processing device may receive the first ultrasound data in real-time, and the ultrasound data may therefore be collected from the current anatomical location of the ultrasound device on the subject being imaged”, and Para. [0093], “The processing device 1602 may be configured to process the ultrasound data from the ultrasound imaging device 1614 to generate ultrasound images for display on the display screen 1608. […] The ultrasound data may be processed in real-time during a scanning session as the echo signals are received. […] while a live ultrasound image is being displayed. As additional ultrasound data is acquired, additional frames or images generated from more-recently acquired ultrasound data are sequentially displayed”, and Para. [0058] and [0060], and Figs. 2-4, where the markers 223-234 each indicate a region of the lung that has been imaged or that should each be imaged by the ultrasound probe/device having a location/position/orientation of the probe when imaging the respective lung region in real-time during a scanning session), and upon designating a freeze mode, the probe mark is eliminated on the monitor (see, e.g., Para. [0093], “Additionally, or alternatively, the ultrasound data may be stored temporarily in a buffer during a scanning session and processed in less than real-time”, where collecting/storing ultrasound data indicates/is implicit to the use of freeze mode).
Regarding claim 16, Silberman modified by Ota and Park discloses the display method according to claim 12, as set forth above. Silberman further discloses wherein, among the plurality of examination location marks, an examination location mark corresponding to one of the plurality of first examination locations or the plurality of second examination locations on a front side of the human body in the schematic diagram is displayed on the front side of the human body in the schematic diagram in a superimposed manner, and wherein, among the plurality of examination location marks, an examination location mark corresponding to one of the plurality of first examination locations or the plurality of second examination locations on a back side of the human body in the schematic diagram is displayed on the back side of the human body of the schematic diagram in a superimposed manner (see, e.g., Para. [0058], “The schematic depiction of the lungs 220 depicts markers 224-234 on regions of the lungs. The marker 223 is located at the superior anterior region of the right lung, the marker 224 is located at the superior lateral region of the right lung, the marker 225 is located at the superior posterior region of the right lung, the marker 226 is located at the inferior posterior region of the right lung, the marker 227 is located at the inferior lateral region of the right lung, the marker 228 is located at the inferior anterior region of the right lung, the marker 229 is located at the superior anterior region of the left lung, the marker 230 is located at the superior lateral region of the left lung, the marker 231 is located at the superior posterior region of the left lung, the marker 232 is located at the inferior posterior region of the left lung, the marker 233 is located at the inferior lateral region of the left lung, and the marker 234 is located at the inferior anterior region of the left lung. These regions of the lungs may be regions that should each be imaged when imaging the lungs. For example, certain guidelines suggest imaging 12 anatomical regions of the lungs”, and Figs. 2-4, where the disclosed region label/marker “ANT” provided on the display indicates a front side, and where the disclosed region label/marker “POST” provided on the display indicates a back side).
Regarding claim 19, Silberman modified by Ota and Park discloses the display method according to claim 1, as set forth above. Silberman further discloses wherein upon designating a freeze mode, one of the plurality of first body marks or the plurality of second body marks, and an ultrasound image in association with one examination location corresponding to one of the first selection buttons or the second selection buttons selected by the user are displayed on the monitor, and the ultrasound image is read out from a memory which is configured to store a plurality of ultrasound images in association with the plurality of first examination locations and the plurality of second examination locations (see, e.g., Para. [0034], “upon receiving ultrasound data, the anatomical location on the subject from which the ultrasound data was collected, and display an indication that the anatomical location was already imaged. As more ultrasound data is collected from more anatomical locations, the processing device may simultaneously display indications for the anatomical locations”, and Para. [0057], “FIG. 2 illustrates an example display on a processing device 200 prior to display of an indication of an anatomical location, in accordance with certain embodiments described herein. The processing device 200 displays a frame of a video 202 of a subject being imaged, a schematic depiction of the lungs 220, and an ultrasound image 236”, and Para. [0093], “Additionally, or alternatively, the ultrasound data may be stored temporarily in a buffer during a scanning session and processed in less than real-time”, where collecting/storing ultrasound data indicates/is implicit to the use of freeze mode).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silberman (US 2020/0054307 A1) in view of Ota (US 2016/0206283 A1) and Park (US 2016/0157824 A1), as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Otake et al. (JP 2004-57379 A, of record, a copy of which was provided by the applicant on 04/18/2024, a machine-generated English translation of which was provided by the examiner on 04/21/2025 and of which is herein used for citation, hereinafter Otake).
Regarding claim 17, Silberman modified by Ota and Park discloses the display method according to claim 16, as set forth above. Silberman modified by Ota and Park does not specifically disclose wherein the examination location mark corresponding to the back side of the schematic diagram is displayed in a transparent manner such that the examination location mark is seen from the front side of the schematic diagram.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound imaging, Otake discloses wherein the examination location mark corresponding to the back side of the schematic diagram is displayed in a transparent manner such that the examination location mark is seen from the front side of the schematic diagram (see, e.g., Para. [0077], “FIG. 10 is an example of the guide display when the ultrasonic probe 10 is applied to the abdomen of the subject lying supine, and FIG. 11 is the guide display when the ultrasonic probe 10 is applied to the back of the flank of the same subject lying supine. This is an example. As described above, the probe mark 550 is displayed smaller when the user touches the rear surface than when the user touches the abdomen. The color of the probe mark 550 differs between when the ultrasonic probe 10 is applied to the abdomen and when it is applied to the back. Thus, even if the position when viewed from the front is the same, it is possible to determine whether the ultrasonic probe 10 is applied to the abdomen or the back”, and Figs. 10-11, where the figures are shown to include a transparent display of the front side and the back side of the subject body 500, such that the probe mark 550 indicating the ultrasonic probe applied to the site is displayed and seen despite whether its positioned on the front side or the back side).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the display method of Silberman modified by Ota and Park by including wherein the examination location mark corresponding to the back side of the schematic diagram is displayed in a transparent manner such that the examination location mark is seen from the front side of the schematic diagram, as disclosed by Otake. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to desirably determine whether the ultrasonic probe is applied to the abdomen/front or the back, as recognized by Otake (see, e.g., Para. [0077]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silberman (US 2020/0054307 A1) in view of Ota (US 2016/0206283 A1) and Park (US 2016/0157824 A1), as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of de Jonge et al. (US 2020/0289094 A1, of record, hereinafter de Jonge).
Regarding claim 18, Silberman modified by Ota and Park discloses the display method according to claim 12, as set forth above. Silberman modified by Ota and Park does not specifically disclose wherein a diagnostic finding corresponding to one diagnostic finding button selected from among a plurality of diagnostic finding buttons corresponding to a plurality of predetermined diagnostic findings is displayed for each examination location mark of the plurality of examination location marks.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound imaging, de Jonge discloses wherein a diagnostic finding corresponding to one diagnostic finding button selected from among a plurality of diagnostic finding buttons corresponding to a plurality of predetermined diagnostic findings is displayed for each examination location mark of the plurality of examination location marks (see, e.g., Para. [0254], “In act 1308, the computing device may generate a diagnosis of a medical condition of the subject using the ultrasound image containing the target anatomical view. In some embodiments, the computing device may analyze the ultrasound image containing the target anatomical view to identify one or more medical parameters (e.g., an EF of the subject) and use the identified one or more medical parameters (alone or in combination with other information such as medical information of the subject) to generate the diagnosis. In these embodiments, the computing device may perform one or more acts in process 1200 to identify a medical parameter of the subject. For example, the computing device may determine an ejection fraction of the subject by performing acts 1202, 1204, and/or 1206 and compare the resulting ejection fraction value with a threshold to determine whether the subject is likely suffering from congestive heart failure. The computing device may combine the information regarding the medical parameters with other information (such as the medical information about the subject received in act 1302) to diagnose a medical condition of the subject. For example, the computing device may diagnose a patient with congestive heart failure responsive to the computing device determining that the ejection fraction of the subject is below a threshold and that the subject has reported symptoms of congestive heart failure (such as experiencing paroxysmal nocturnal dyspnea). It should be appreciated that the computing device may be configured to diagnose any of a variety of medical conditions such as: heart conditions (e.g., congestive heart failure, coronary artery disease, and congenital heart disease), lung conditions (e.g., lung cancer)”, and Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the display method of Silberman modified by Ota and Park by including wherein a diagnostic finding corresponding to one diagnostic finding button selected from among a plurality of diagnostic finding buttons corresponding to a plurality of predetermined diagnostic findings is displayed for each examination location mark of the plurality of examination location marks, as disclosed by de Jonge. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to desirably generate a diagnosis of a medical condition of the subject using the ultrasound image containing the target anatomical view, as recognized by de Jonge (see, e.g., Para. [0254]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed 06/09/2026, with respect to the claim rejections have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798