DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/05/2023, 03/15/2024, and 09/04/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 2-6: the limitation “a welded member” as cited in line 1, should be changed to --the welded member--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hamlock et al. (US 20150239061 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hamlock discloses
A method for manufacturing a welded member (steel component and steel weld nut, fig.4) in which a workpiece (steel component, fig.4) made of a high tensile material and a welding object (steel weld nut, fig.4) are welded [Tittle and abstract cited: “…process for projection welding a steel weld nut to an ultra high strength steel component…”], the method comprising:
welding the workpiece (steel component, fig.4) and the welding object (steel weld nut, fig.4) [steps 400 and 410, fig.4] such that welded portions are formed between the workpiece (steel component, fig.4) and the welding object (steel weld nut, fig.4) by performing projection welding [step 420, fig.4] [Par.0025 cited: “…steel component and weld nut are assembled with a DC projection welding machine at step 420…”]; and
applying a cancellation stress [step 430, fig.4] to the welded member (steel component and steel weld nut, fig.4) after the projection welding [step 420, fig.4], so that a stress that is generated in the welded portions after the projection welding [step 420, fig.4] and acts in a direction to pull the welded portions close to each other is canceled [Par.0025 cited: “…a predetermined force/pressure, weld current and weld time is applied to the weld nut-steel assembly at step 430.…”].
Regarding claim 2, Hamlock discloses
the cancellation stress [step 430, fig.4] is generated by applying a load to a load target (conical shaped projections 24, fig.2A-B) which is a target portion of the welded member (steel component and steel weld nut, fig.4) to which the load is applied.
Regarding claim 3, Hamlock discloses
the load target (conical shaped projections 24, fig.2A-B) is a nut (steel weld nut, fig.4) which is the welding object (steel weld nut, fig.4), and the cancellation stress [step 430, fig.4] is generated by using a member (top surface of steel weld nut, fig.4) arranged along a central axis of a screw hole of the nut (steel weld nut, fig.4) to apply a load to the nut (steel weld nut, fig.4) in a direction in which the nut (steel weld nut, fig.4) moves away from the workpiece (steel component, fig.4).
Regarding claim 5, Hamlock discloses
the cancellation stress [step 430, fig.4] is generated by pushing the nut (steel weld nut, fig.4) in a direction in which the nut (steel weld nut, fig.4) moves away from the workpiece (steel component, fig.4).
Regarding claim 6, Hamlock discloses
the cancellation stress [step 430, fig.4] is generated by pulling the nut (steel weld nut, fig.4) in a direction in which the nut (steel weld nut, fig.4) moves away from the workpiece (steel component, fig.4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamlock et al. (US 20150239061 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Hamlock discloses substantially all the features as set forth in the claim above, such as the load target (conical shaped projections 24, fig.2A-B), the workpiece (steel component, fig.4), the welding object (steel weld nut, fig.4) is a nut (steel weld nut, fig.4)….and the cancellation stress [step 430, fig.4] is generated by compressing surroundings of the nut (steel weld nut, fig.4) in the workpiece (steel component, fig.4) in a thickness direction of the workpiece (steel component, fig.4).
However, Hamlock does not disclose the load target is the workpiece.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to relocate a load target of Hamlock, is on the workpiece, as it well known in the art of manufacturing design choice of re-arrangement parts, in order to provide a compress load on the workpiece.
Conclusion
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
01/25/2026