DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-30 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 2024/0121768 A1) in view of Kuo et al (EP 3823397 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Chen: Fig. 1:130, UE 130), comprising: at least one processor; and memory coupled with the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to:
receive a single transmission of a control message comprising an indication of a preempted downlink resources comprising a recurring pattern of preempted time and frequency resources for which downlink transmissions to the UE are preempted (Chen: Fig. 4; [0036]-[0038], [0213], [0236], [0273] UE receives an update message/control message including a pre-emption indication; the pre-emption indication indicating a pattern of time-frequency resource that are pre-empted that is periodic/recurring), and
receive one or more downlink transmissions based at least in part on the indication of the recurring pattern of preempted time and frequency resources (Chen: Fig. 4; [0036]-[0038], [0213], [0236], [0273]).
Chen does not explicitly disclose the preempted time and frequency resources associated with cross link interference channel between a first network entity associated with measurement of cross-link interference between a first network entity associated with a first cell and a second network entity associated with a second cell.
Kuo teaches the preempted time and frequency resources associated with cross link interference channel between a first network entity associated with measurement of cross-link interference between a first network entity associated with a first cell and a second network entity associated with a second cell (Kuo: Fig. 1:102; [0012], [0019], resource with CLI between two network nodes/entities are avoided/pre-empted).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chen wherein the preempted time and frequency resources associated with cross link interference channel between a first network entity associated with measurement of cross-link interference between a first network entity associated with a first cell and a second network entity associated with a second cell as disclosed by Kuo to provide a system for a traffic-dependent transmission for interference reduction (Kuo: Abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a first network entity associated with a first cell, comprising: at least one processor; and memory coupled with the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the first network entity to:
output a single transmission of a control message comprising an indication of preempted downlink resources comprising a recurring pattern of preempted time and frequency resources for which downlink transmissions to a user equipment (UE) are preempted(Chen: Fig. 4; [0036]-[0038], [0213], [0236], [0273] UE receives an update message/control message including a pre-emption indication; the pre-emption indication indicating a pattern of time-frequency resource that are pre-empted that is periodic/recurring) and
output a single transmission of a one or more downlink transmissions to the UE based at least in part on the indication of the recurring pattern of preempted time and frequency resources (Chen: Fig. 4; [0036]-[0038], [0213], [0236], [0273]).
Chen does not explicitly disclose the preempted time and frequency resources associated with cross link interference channel between a first network entity associated with measurement of cross-link interference between a first network entity associated with a first cell and a second network entity associated with a second cell.
Kuo teaches the preempted time and frequency resources associated with cross link interference channel between a first network entity associated with measurement of cross-link interference between a first network entity associated with a first cell and a second network entity associated with a second cell (Kuo: Fig. 1:102; [0012], [0019], resource with CLI between two network nodes/entities are avoided/pre-empted).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chen wherein the preempted time and frequency resources associated with cross link interference channel between a first network entity associated with measurement of cross-link interference between a first network entity associated with a first cell and a second network entity associated with a second cell as disclosed by Kuo to provide a system for a traffic-dependent transmission for interference reduction (Kuo: Abstract).
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a first network entity associated with a first cell, comprising: at least one processor; and memory coupled with the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the first network entity to:
output, to a second network entity associated with a second cell, a single transmission of a control message comprising an indication of preempted downlink resources comprising a recurring pattern of preempted time and frequency resources for which downlink transmissions by the second network entity are preempted (Chen: Fig. 4; [0036]-[0038], [0213], [0236], [0273] UE/second network entity receives an update message/control message including a pre-emption indication; the pre-emption indication indicating a pattern of time-frequency resource that are pre-empted that is periodic/recurring) and
obtain, from the third network entity via the preempted time and frequency resources, a message associated with the measurement of cross link interference based at least in part on the indication of the recurring pattern of preempted time and frequency resources (Chen: Fig. 4; [0036]-[0038], [0213], [0236], [0273]).
Chen does not explicitly disclose the preempted time and frequency resources associated with cross link interference channel between a first network entity associated with measurement of cross-link interference between a first network entity associated with a first cell and a second network entity associated with a second cell.
Kuo teaches the preempted time and frequency resources associated with cross link interference channel between a first network entity associated with measurement of cross-link interference between a first network entity associated with a first cell and a second network entity associated with a second cell (Kuo: Fig. 1:102; [0012], [0019], resource with CLI between two network nodes/entities are avoided/pre-empted).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chen wherein the preempted time and frequency resources associated with cross link interference channel between a first network entity associated with measurement of cross-link interference between a first network entity associated with a first cell and a second network entity associated with a second cell as disclosed by Kuo to provide a system for a traffic-dependent transmission for interference reduction (Kuo: Abstract).
Regarding claim 22, Abotabl teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a second network entity, comprising: at least one processor; and memory coupled with the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the second network entity to:
obtain, from a first network entity, a control message comprising an indication preempted downlink resource comprising a recurring pattern of preempted time and frequency resources for which downlink transmissions by the second network entity are preempted (Chen: Fig. 4; [0036]-[0038], [0213], [0236], [0273] UE/second network entity receives an update message/control message including a pre-emption indication; the pre-emption indication indicating a pattern of time-frequency resource that are pre-empted that is periodic/recurring) and
output one or more downlink transmissions to a user equipment (UE) based at least in part on the indication of the downlink recurring pattern of preempted time and frequency resources (Chen: Fig. 4; [0036]-[0038], [0213], [0236], [0273]).
Chen does not explicitly disclose the preempted time and frequency resources associated with cross link interference channel between a first network entity associated with measurement of cross-link interference between a first network entity associated with a first cell and a second network entity associated with a second cell.
Kuo teaches the preempted time and frequency resources associated with cross link interference channel between a first network entity associated with measurement of cross-link interference between a first network entity associated with a first cell and a second network entity associated with a second cell (Kuo: Fig. 1:102; [0012], [0019], resource with CLI between two network nodes/entities are avoided/pre-empted).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chen wherein the preempted time and frequency resources associated with cross link interference channel between a first network entity associated with measurement of cross-link interference between a first network entity associated with a first cell and a second network entity associated with a second cell as disclosed by Kuo to provide a system for a traffic-dependent transmission for interference reduction (Kuo: Abstract).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Chen in view of Kuo teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: receive, prior to the single transmission of the control message, a second control message indicating a plurality of recurring downlink preemption patterns, wherein the single transmission of the control message indicates the recurring pattern of preempted time and frequency resources by indicating one recurring pattern of preempted time and frequency resources from among the plurality of recurring downlink preemption patterns. (Chen: [0213]-[0215], [0273], receiving RRC message/second control message indicating timeFrequencySet and receiving update message in a DCI/first control message indicating the preemption resource pattern out the timeFrequencySet).
Regarding claims 3, 13 and 29, Chen in view of Kuo teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: cancel monitoring and receiving of downlink transmissions via the preempted time and frequency resources in accordance with the recurring pattern of preempted time and frequency resources; and receive the one or more downlink transmissions via one or more second time and frequency resources excluded from the recurring pattern of time and frequency resources (Chen: Fig. 4; [0036]-[0038], [0213], [0236], [0273]).
Regarding claims 4, 14 and 26, Chen in view of Kuo teaches wherein the instructions to receive the one or more downlink transmissions are executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: receive, contrary to the recurring pattern of time and frequency resources, the one or more downlink transmissions via the preempted time and frequency resources based at least in part on one or more parameters associated with the downlink transmissions satisfying one or more thresholds (Kuo: Table 1; [0016], [0033]-[0035] UE with high priority traffic use the CLI resources).
Regarding claims 5 and 27 Chen in view of Kuo teaches wherein the one or more parameters associated with the downlink transmissions comprise a priority associated with the one or more downlink transmissions, a latency constraint associated with the one or more downlink transmissions, a modulation and coding scheme associated with the downlink transmissions, a transmission power associated with the downlink transmissions, or a combination thereof (Kuo: Table 1; [0016], [0033]-[0035] UE with high priority traffic use the CLI resources).
Regarding claims 6 and 28 Chen in view of Kuo teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: receive an indication of the one or more thresholds (Kuo: [0039]).
.
Regarding claims 7, 16, 20 and 24 Chen in view of Kuo teaches wherein the recurring pattern of preempted time and frequency resources applies to a set of types of downlink transmissions comprising one or more of synchronization signal block (SSB) messages, physical downlink shared channel transmissions, physical downlink control channel transmissions, channel state information reference signals, and semi-persistent scheduling transmissions (Kuo: [0037]-[0038], [0131]).
.
Regarding claims 8, 21 and 25 Chen in view of Kuo teaches wherein the recurring pattern of preempted time and frequency resources indicates one or more subbands for which the downlink transmissions to the UE are preempted, one or more resource elements for which the downlink transmissions to the UE are preempted, or a frequency band comprising the one or more subbands or the one or more resource elements for which the downlink transmissions to the UE are preempted (Chen: Fig. 4; [0036]-[0038], [0213], [0236], [0273]).
Regarding claim 9 Chen in view of Kuo teaches wherein receiving the control message comprises receiving the control message via layer 2 signaling, layer 3 signaling, a medium access control-control element, radio resource control signaling, or downlink control information (Chen: [0079]-[0080], [0273]).
Regarding claim 10 Chen in view of Kuo teaches wherein the recurring pattern of preempted time and frequency resources is periodic or semi-persistent (Chen: Fig. 4; [0036]-[0038], [0213], [0236], [0273]).
Regarding claim 15 Chen in view of Kuo teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the first network entity to: obtain, from the second network entity and via the preempted time and frequency resources, a message associated with the cross link interference channel measurement (Kuo: Fig. 1:108).
Regarding claims 18 and 23 Chen in view of Kuo teaches wherein the instructions to output the control message are executable by the at least one processor to cause the first network entity to: output the control message via a central unit associated with the first network entity to a central unit or a distributed unit associated with the second network entity (Kuo: Fig. 1:102; Fig. 8a; [0072]-[0073]).
Regarding claims 19 Chen in view of Kuo teaches wherein the instructions to output the control message are executable by the at least one processor to cause the first network entity to: output the control message to the second network entity via over the air signaling (Kuo: Fig. 1:102; Fig. 8a).
Regarding claim 30 Chen in view of Kuo teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the second network entity to: transmit, to the UE, an indication of the recurring pattern of preempted time and frequency resources (Kuo: Fig. 1:108; [0131]).
Conclusion
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478