DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9 lines 5-6, change “therapy radiation” to --the therapy radiation--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8-9, 15 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Seeber et al. (US 20070127624).
Regarding claim 1, Seeber teaches a slat for collimating therapy radiation, the slat comprising:
a collimation region 7 made from a first material;
a holding region 10 made from a second material, wherein
the collimation region and the holding region are connected together by a connection point (figure 4),
the first material is configured to collimate therapy radiation (figure 4), and
the holding region is couplable to an adjusting facility for adjusting the slat; and
a guide element 10 configured to guide the slat in the adjusting facility, the guide element extending across the connection point.
Regarding claim 5, Seeber teaches the first material includes tungsten (para 6).
Regarding claim 8, Seeber teaches a collimator, comprising:
a plurality of slats, each of the plurality of slats being the slat of claim 1; and the adjusting facility, wherein the slats are coupled to the adjusting facility by the holding regions of the slats, and the adjusting facility is configured to adjust each slat of the plurality of slats perpendicularly to a contact face of the respective holding region and the collimation region (figure 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 9, Seeber teaches a method for producing a slot for collimating therapy radiation, the method comprising:
forming a combination block by connecting a first block 7 made from a first material and a second block 10 made from a second material at a connection point, the first material configured to collimate the therapy radiation;
shaping the first block into a collimation region (figures 1 and 2) and
shaping the second block into a holding region couplable to an adjusting facility for adjusting the slat (figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 15, Seeber teaches the first material includes tungsten (para 6).
Regarding claim 21, Seeber teaches the guide element is on one side of the slat, the one side of the slat configured to face a radiation source when coupled to the adjusting facility (figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 10-14 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seeber in view of Porebski et al. (US 20230120400).
Regarding claims 2-4, 10-14 and 18-20, Seeber fails to teach pre-treating, gluing, welding, coating, soldering nor milling.
Porebski teaches pre-treating, gluing, welding, coating, soldering and milling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the connection of Seeber with the connection as taught by Porebski, since it would better assembly.
Claim(s) 2-4, 10-14 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seeber in view of Hall (US 5354623).
Regarding claims 2-4, 10-14 and 18-20, Seeber fails to teach pre-treating, gluing, welding, coating, soldering nor milling.
Hall teaches pre-treating, gluing, welding, coating, soldering and milling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the connection of Seeber with the connection as taught by Porebski, since it would better assembly.
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seeber in view of Orton et al. (US 20140239204).
Regarding claim 6, Seeber fails to teach the second material is at lease one of aluminum or a copper alloy.
Orton teaches at lease one of aluminum or a copper alloy (para 76).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the material of Seeber with the aluminum as taught by Orton, since it would provide ease of movement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 8-16 and 18-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOON K SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884