DETAILED ACTION
The applicant’s Request for Continued Examination filed on March 18, 2026 has been acknowledged. Claims 1-21, as amended, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-14, 16-19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) /102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Honjo et al. (US 2021/0010315 A1) hereafter Honjo.
As per claim 1, Honjo discloses a method (Abstract; discloses a system, method and computer program product for providing home security) comprising:
identifying, by a device, a status of an entry-point to a location, the entry-point associated with a smart device at the location, the status comprising information indicating the smart device is in an unlocked state (Paragraph [0026]; discloses a computing system which may include many devices and communicate between the devices and a central or cloud server. One of the device connected can include a smart door which can transition between different door states. The door state can include a locked state, unlocked state, latched state, unlatched state, sealed state, unsealed state, open state and/or closed state. Paragraph [0058]; discloses that a device such as a cloud or central server can change the state of a device such as a door based on an event. Paragraphs [0144] and [0145]; discloses that the system can transition a smart device at a location from one state to another, this establishes that the central or cloud server identifies the current state and based on events is able to change that state. As shown in paragraph [0026], this can be an unlock state which can be changed to a locked state);
monitoring, by the device, current activity data associated with a user at the location, the current activity data indicating movement or non-movement of the user at the location and a time of the movement or non-movement, wherein the time comprises a specific day of the week and a specific time, and wherein the current activity data corresponds to current, real-time activities at the location (Paragraph [0044]; discloses that the devices include sensors for monitoring motion sensing, heat sensing, pressure sensing, noise sensing or other types of sensing. The central or cloud server can detect presence, movement, and/or identity of people, animals and objects using this sensed data. Paragraph [0059]; discloses that the central or cloud server will communicate information about the property including movement and/or presence of people, animals, and other objects. It includes geographic information for determining the optimal time for adjusting lights, opening, closing, locking, unlocking gates or other types of smart doors. Paragraph [0086]; discloses monitoring the occupants as well as the status of the devices such as the door. This is used to detect intruders and implement schedules to detect if the person, animal or object is permitted in the area at the particular time. Paragraph [0087]; discloses that the occupants of the home can register their devices as being associated with the home and the central or cloud server. The system will monitor and record the occupants movement inside and outside of the home based on the occupant-location data. Paragraph [0090]; discloses that the central or cloud server monitors and determines which room is occupied and by whom. The system can detect the person’s movement through the home and communicate with the network. This information is logged and used later to turn on and off the lights, close and/or lock one or more particular smart doors, it can also be used to sound alarms, notify public safety authorities and the home owner. From this the system monitors the movement and non-movement of each occupant in the smart home and uses this to perform operations. Paragraph [0144]; discloses that the environment which is recorded includes location information, time of day, day of week, day of month, day of year as well as other temporal characteristics. Paragraph [0066]; discloses that the location information is monitored and identified in real time);
analyzing, by the device, the current activity data based on a stored, associated behavior pattern of activity of the user, at the location, the stored, associated behavior pattern corresponding to the time, wherein the analyzing comprises comparing the current activity data to the stored, associated behavior pattern (Paragraph [0087]; disclose that the central or cloud server can use the recording keeping information and make reference to current and future occupancy of the home and/or rooms. This can include determining when an occupant is due to return home and triggering status of devices based on this data. Paragraph [0091]; discloses analyzing the activity data based on known patterns of activity of the user such as when the occupants are typically not home. This can be used to automatically close and lock specific doors. Paragraph [0096]; discloses that the artificial intelligence algorithms can be configured to sense patterns in the occupants activities. Such as if they locked the same doors at the same time roughly. Paragraph [0118]; discloses that sensors including motion can be used to detect unrecognized individuals by comparing to known patterns);
determining, by the device, to toggle the status of the entry-point based on the comparing indicating that the current activity data satisfies the stored, associated behavior pattern corresponding to the time (Paragraph [0091]; discloses that based on the known pattern of the occupants and the received activity data the system can toggle the status of the entry-point, specifically locking doors); and
causing, by the device, the smart device of the entry-point to automatically change to a locked state based on the toggle determination indicating that the current activity data satisfies the stored, associated behavior pattern corresponding to the time (Paragraphs [0144]-[0145]; discloses automatically causing the smart door to change state specifically to be locked. Paragraph [0148]; discloses that the smart device specifically the smart door can change state from unlocked to locked automatically based on the detected event).
As per claim 2, Honjo further teaches the method of claim 1, Honjo further discloses wherein the unlocked state further comprises information indicating that the entry-point is in an open state (Paragraph [0151]; discloses that the system tracks the status of the door or entry point. Specifically the door can be unlocked but closed or unlocked and open. This is done to determine if they door can be locked or not).
As per claim 3, Honjo further teaches the method of claim 2, Honjo further discloses further comprising: causing, based on the determination, the entry-point to close via the smart device (Paragraph [0158]; discloses that the system can automatically close the smart door based on the trigger).
As per claim 4, Honjo further teaches the method of claim 1, Honjo further discloses further comprising: collecting the current activity data via a set of sensor devices at the location, wherein the current activity data comprises information related to at least one biometrics of the user, position within the location, identity of the user, a type of user and an environment of the location (Paragraph [0129]; discloses that biometric information such as fingerprint, heart rate, facial recognition sensors or eye tracker or retinal scan or voice analyzer. Paragraph [0189]; discloses that the information includes biometrics of the user. Paragraph [0030] and [0091]; discloses monitoring the position of the occupants within the location. Paragraph [0044]; discloses detecting the identity of people, Paragraph [0058]; discloses the system detects the geographical range of the home to detect environment and use this information to determine when to trigger events such as turning the lights on or off. Paragraph [0079]; discloses that the types of user is recorded specifically building owner verses renter. This is done to apply specific rules to renters and to notify the owners of violations or problems).
As per claim 6, Honjo further teaches the method of claim 4, Honjo further discloses wherein the biometrics of the user include information related to at least one of heart rate, heart rate variability (HRV), blood oxygen levels, blood pressure, hydration temperature, pulse, motion and sleep (Paragraph [0129]; discloses that the biometrics include heart rate).
As per claim 7, Honjo further teaches the method of claim 1, Honjo further discloses further comprising: determining, based on the analysis, to enable the entry point at the identified status, wherein the device continues monitoring the location without performing the toggle of the smart device (Paragraph [0102]; discloses that the system can determine to enable or allow entry point at the identified status. Specifically the system can monitor the location without toggling or locking the door based on the identification of the individual. For example if the individual is “recognized” they are allowed entry while if they are not “recognized” the system will close and lock the door. From this the system allows or enables entry without togging the smart device as it does not lock or close the door).
As per claim 8, Honjo further teaches the method of claim 1, Honjo further discloses further comprising: identifying a set of sensors associated with the location (Paragraph [0055]; discloses door body can contain all of the sensors);
collecting sensor data from each of the set of sensors (Paragraph [0066]; discloses that the sensor data is collected and logged);
analyzing, via an application, the collected sensor data (Paragraph [0037] and [0082]; discloses that the data collected from the devices is analyzed in combination with rules-based inference engines and/or artificial intelligence. The data is recorded and analyzed as it comes in to detected possible intrusion);
determining, via the application, a set of patterns of activity for the user at the location (Paragraphs [0081]-[0082]; discloses determining patterns from the collected data. Paragraph [0096]; discloses that the artificial intelligence algorithms can be configured to sense patterns in the occupants activities. Such as if they locked the same doors at the same time roughly); and
storing, in a database, the set of patterns of activity (Paragraph [0053], [0096] and [0097]; discloses that the patterns are recognized and utilized by the system. Paragraph [0169]; discloses that the signature data which are patterns for recognizing individuals are stored and available in databases).
As per claim 9, Honjo further teaches the method of claim 8, Honjo further discloses wherein the known pattern of activity is identified from the stored determined pattern of activity (Paragraph [0096]; discloses that the artificial intelligence algorithms can be configured to sense patterns in the occupants activities. Such as if they locked the same doors at the same time roughly).
As per claim 10, Honjo further teaches the method of claim 1, Honjo further discloses wherein the location comprises at building, wherein the building is a home of the user (Paragraph [0025]; discloses that the building can be a single-family residential home).
As per claim 11, Honjo further teaches the method of claim 1, Honjo further discloses wherein the entry-point corresponds at least one of a door and window of the location (Paragraph [0025] and [0026]; discloses that the entry point is a door).
As per claim 12, Honjo discloses a device (Abstract; discloses a system, method and computer program product for providing home security. Paragraph [0176]-[0178]; discloses the device is a computer) comprising:
a processor (Paragraph [0178]; discloses that the computer contains a processor) configured to:
identify a status of an entry-point to a location, the entry-point associated with a smart device at the location, the status comprising information indicating the smart device is in an unlocked state (Paragraph [0026]; discloses a computing system which may include many devices and communicate between the devices and a central or cloud server. One of the device connected can include a smart door which can transition between different door states. The door state can include a locked state, unlocked state, latched state, unlatched state, sealed state, unsealed state, open state and/or closed state. Paragraph [0058]; discloses that a device such as a cloud or central server can change the state of a device such as a door based on an event. Paragraphs [0144] and [0145]; discloses that the system can transition a smart device at a location from one state to another, this establishes that the central or cloud server identifies the current state and based on events is able to change that state. As shown in paragraph [0026], this can be an unlock state which can be changed to a locked state);
monitor current activity data associated with a user at the location, the current activity data indicating movement or non-movement of the user at the location and a time of the movement or non-movement, wherein the time comprises a specific day of the week and a specific time, and wherein the current activity data corresponds to current, real-time activities at the location (Paragraph [0044]; discloses that the devices include sensors for monitoring motion sensing, heat sensing, pressure sensing, noise sensing or other types of sensing. The central or cloud server can detect presence, movement, and/or identity of people, animals and objects using this sensed data. Paragraph [0059]; discloses that the central or cloud server will communicate information about the property including movement and/or presence of people, animals, and other objects. It includes geographic information for determining the optimal time for adjusting lights, opening, closing, locking, unlocking gates or other types of smart doors. Paragraph [0086]; discloses monitoring the occupants as well as the status of the devices such as the door. This is used to detect intruders and implement schedules to detect if the person, animal or object is permitted in the area at the particular time. Paragraph [0087]; discloses that the occupants of the home can register their devices as being associated with the home and the central or cloud server. The system will monitor and record the occupants movement inside and outside of the home based on the occupant-location data. Paragraph [0090]; discloses that the central or cloud server monitors and determines which room is occupied and by whom. The system can detect the person’s movement through the home and communicate with the network. This information is logged and used later to turn on and off the lights, close and/or lock one or more particular smart doors, it can also be used to sound alarms, notify public safety authorities and the home owner. From this the system monitors the movement and non-movement of each occupant in the smart home and uses this to perform operations. Paragraph [0144]; discloses that the environment which is recorded includes location information, time of day, day of week, day of month, day of year as well as other temporal characteristics. Paragraph [0066]; discloses that the location information is monitored and identified in real time);
analyze the current activity data based on a stored, associated behavior pattern of activity of the user at the location, the stored, associated behavior pattern corresponding to the time, wherein the analyzing comprises comparing the current activity data to the stored, associated behavior pattern (Paragraph [0087]; disclose that the central or cloud server can use the recording keeping information and make reference to current and future occupancy of the home and/or rooms. This can include determining when an occupant is due to return home and triggering status of devices based on this data. Paragraph [0091]; discloses analyzing the activity data based on known patterns of activity of the user such as when the occupants are typically not home. This can be used to automatically close and lock specific doors. Paragraph [0096]; discloses that the artificial intelligence algorithms can be configured to sense patterns in the occupants activities. Such as if they locked the same doors at the same time roughly. Paragraph [0118]; discloses that sensors including motion can be used to detect unrecognized individuals by comparing to known patterns);
determine to toggle the status of the entry-point based on the comparing indicating that the current activity data satisfies the stored, associated behavior pattern corresponding to the time (Paragraph [0091]; discloses that based on the known pattern of the occupants and the received activity data the system can toggle the status of the entry-point, specifically locking doors); and
cause the smart device of the entry-point to automatically change to a locked state based on the toggle determination indicating that the current activity data satisfies the stored, associated behavior pattern corresponding to the time (Paragraphs [0144]-[0145]; discloses automatically causing the smart door to change state specifically to be locked. Paragraph [0148]; discloses that the smart device specifically the smart door can change state from unlocked to locked automatically based on the detected event).
As per claim 13, Honjo further teaches the method of claim 12, Honjo further discloses wherein the unlocked state further comprises information indicating that the entry-point is in an open state (Paragraph [0151]; discloses that the system tracks the status of the door or entry point. Specifically the door can be unlocked but closed or unlocked and open. This is done to determine if they door can be locked or not).
As per claim 14, Honjo further teaches the method of claim 13, Honjo further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: cause, based on the determination, the entry-point to close via the smart device (Paragraph [0158]; discloses that the system can automatically close the smart door based on the trigger).
As per claim 16, Honjo further teaches the method of claim 12, Honjo further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: identify a set of sensors associated with the location (Paragraph [0055]; discloses door body can contain all of the sensors);
collect sensor data from each of the set of sensors (Paragraph [0066]; discloses that the sensor data is collected and logged);
analyze, via an application, the collected sensor data (Paragraph [0037] and [0082]; discloses that the data collected from the devices is analyzed in combination with rules-based inference engines and/or artificial intelligence. The data is recorded and analyzed as it comes in to detected possible intrusion);
determine, via the application, a set of patterns of activity for the user at the location (Paragraphs [0081]-[0082]; discloses determining patterns from the collected data. Paragraph [0096]; discloses that the artificial intelligence algorithms can be configured to sense patterns in the occupants activities. Such as if they locked the same doors at the same time roughly); and
store, in a database, the set of patterns of activity, wherein the known pattern of activity is identified from the stored determined pattern of activity (Paragraph [0053], [0096] and [0097]; discloses that the patterns are recognized and utilized by the system. Paragraph [0169]; discloses that the signature data which are patterns for recognizing individuals are stored and available in databases).
As per claim 17, Honjo discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium tangibly encoded with computer-executable instructions that when executed by a device (Abstract; discloses a system, method and computer program product for providing home security. Paragraph [0176]-[0178]; discloses the device is a computer. Paragraph [0179]; discloses the computer-program product may be stored in a non-volatile storage drive and executed by a processor), perform a method comprising:
identifying, by the device, a status of an entry-point to a location, the entry-point associated with a smart device at the location, the status comprising information indicating the smart device is in an unlocked state (Paragraph [0026]; discloses a computing system which may include many devices and communicate between the devices and a central or cloud server. One of the device connected can include a smart door which can transition between different door states. The door state can include a locked state, unlocked state, latched state, unlatched state, sealed state, unsealed state, open state and/or closed state. Paragraph [0058]; discloses that a device such as a cloud or central server can change the state of a device such as a door based on an event. Paragraphs [0144] and [0145]; discloses that the system can transition a smart device at a location from one state to another, this establishes that the central or cloud server identifies the current state and based on events is able to change that state. As shown in paragraph [0026], this can be an unlock state which can be changed to a locked state);
monitoring, by the device, current activity data associated with a user at the location, the current activity data indicating movement or non-movement of the user at the location and a time of the movement or non-movement, wherein the time comprises a specific day of the week and a specific time, and wherein the current activity data corresponds to current, real-time activities at the location (Paragraph [0044]; discloses that the devices include sensors for monitoring motion sensing, heat sensing, pressure sensing, noise sensing or other types of sensing. The central or cloud server can detect presence, movement, and/or identity of people, animals and objects using this sensed data. Paragraph [0059]; discloses that the central or cloud server will communicate information about the property including movement and/or presence of people, animals, and other objects. It includes geographic information for determining the optimal time for adjusting lights, opening, closing, locking, unlocking gates or other types of smart doors. Paragraph [0086]; discloses monitoring the occupants as well as the status of the devices such as the door. This is used to detect intruders and implement schedules to detect if the person, animal or object is permitted in the area at the particular time. Paragraph [0087]; discloses that the occupants of the home can register their devices as being associated with the home and the central or cloud server. The system will monitor and record the occupants movement inside and outside of the home based on the occupant-location data. Paragraph [0090]; discloses that the central or cloud server monitors and determines which room is occupied and by whom. The system can detect the person’s movement through the home and communicate with the network. This information is logged and used later to turn on and off the lights, close and/or lock one or more particular smart doors, it can also be used to sound alarms, notify public safety authorities and the home owner. From this the system monitors the movement and non-movement of each occupant in the smart home and uses this to perform operations. Paragraph [0144]; discloses that the environment which is recorded includes location information, time of day, day of week, day of month, day of year as well as other temporal characteristics. Paragraph [0066]; discloses that the location information is monitored and identified in real time);
analyzing, by the device, the current activity data based on a stored, associated behavior pattern of activity of the user, at the location, the stored, associated behavior pattern corresponding to the time, wherein the analyzing comprises comparing the current activity data to the stored, associated behavior pattern (Paragraph [0087]; disclose that the central or cloud server can use the recording keeping information and make reference to current and future occupancy of the home and/or rooms. This can include determining when an occupant is due to return home and triggering status of devices based on this data. Paragraph [0091]; discloses analyzing the activity data based on known patterns of activity of the user such as when the occupants are typically not home. This can be used to automatically close and lock specific doors. Paragraph [0096]; discloses that the artificial intelligence algorithms can be configured to sense patterns in the occupants activities. Such as if they locked the same doors at the same time roughly. Paragraph [0118]; discloses that sensors including motion can be used to detect unrecognized individuals by comparing to known patterns);
determining, by the device, to toggle the status of the entry-point based on the comparing indicating that the current activity data satisfies the stored, associated behavior pattern corresponding to the time (Paragraph [0091]; discloses that based on the known pattern of the occupants and the received activity data the system can toggle the status of the entry-point, specifically locking doors); and
causing, by the device, the smart device of the entry-point to automatically change to a locked state based on the toggle determination indicating that the current activity data satisfies the stored, associated behavior pattern corresponding to the time (Paragraphs [0144]-[0145]; discloses automatically causing the smart door to change state specifically to be locked. Paragraph [0148]; discloses that the smart device specifically the smart door can change state from unlocked to locked automatically based on the detected event).
As per claim 18, Honjo further teaches the method of claim 17, Honjo further discloses wherein the unlocked state further comprises information indicating that the entry-point is in an open state (Paragraph [0151]; discloses that the system tracks the status of the door or entry point. Specifically the door can be unlocked but closed or unlocked and open. This is done to determine if they door can be locked or not).
As per claim 19, Honjo further teaches the method of claim 18, Honjo further discloses further comprises: causing, based on the determination, the entry-point to close via the smart device (Paragraph [0158]; discloses that the system can automatically close the smart door based on the trigger).
As per claim 21 , Honjo further teaches the method of claim 17, Honjo further discloses further comprising: identifying a set of sensors associated with the location (Paragraph [0055]; discloses door body can contain all of the sensors);
collecting sensor data from each of the set of sensors (Paragraph [0066]; discloses that the sensor data is collected and logged);
analyzing, via an application, the collected sensor data (Paragraph [0037] and [0082]; discloses that the data collected from the devices is analyzed in combination with rules-based inference engines and/or artificial intelligence. The data is recorded and analyzed as it comes in to detected possible intrusion);
determining, via the application, a set of patterns of activity for the user at the location (Paragraphs [0081]-[0082]; discloses determining patterns from the collected data. Paragraph [0096]; discloses that the artificial intelligence algorithms can be configured to sense patterns in the occupants activities. Such as if they locked the same doors at the same time roughly); and
storing, in a database, the set of patterns of activity, wherein the known pattern of activity is identified from the stored determined pattern of activity (Paragraph [0053], [0096] and [0097]; discloses that the patterns are recognized and utilized by the system. Paragraph [0169]; discloses that the signature data which are patterns for recognizing individuals are stored and available in databases).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honjo et al. (US 2021/0010315 A1) hereafter Honjo, in view of Manuel et al. (US 2016/0350581 A1) hereafter Manuel.
As per claim 5, Honjo further teaches the method of claim 4, Honjo further discloses wherein the set of sensor devices at the location at least includes a smart devices of the user (Paragraph [0063] and [0088]; discloses that the smart device can be a bracelet, necklace, key fob, wallets, wristbands, mobile devices, collars and/or the like).
While Honjo discloses that the device of the user can be an open ended list of devices or items, it is not explicit that this includes a ring or smart ring.
Manuel, which like Honjo talks about using a device to monitor a user, teaches it is known for the user device to be a smart ring (Paragraph [0016]; teaches that the ring can be used to collect biometric data such as heartbeat pattern. Paragraph [0014]; teaches it is known for the ring to be use like the devices in Honjo to open doors and gain access to an area. From this it would have been obvious to substitute the devices listed in Honjo with the ring shown in Manuel. This would allow perform the same functions of gaining access and monitoring the use using a similar known device. This would produce a predictable result and would have been one obvious alternative to the listed devices found in Honjo).
The Honjo reference discloses operating a door of a smart-home by monitoring the movements or non-movements of the occupants of the home. Honjo tracks the user or occupants through tracking their registered devices. Honjo lists an open ended list of possible devices.
The sole difference between the Honjo reference and the claimed subject matter is that the Honjo reference does not disclose that the device is a smart ring.
The Manuel reference discusses gaining access to areas using a smart ring and also using that smart ring to collect biometric information about the user. The Manuel reference establishes that the use of smart rings to access doors was known in the prior art at the time of the invention.
Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself- that is in the substitution of the devices shown in Honjo with the smart ring shown in Manuel.
Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Therefore, from this teaching of Manuel, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of providing automated security based on location provided by Honjo, with the use of smart rings as taught by Manuel, for the purposes of using one known device in place of another device. From this it would have been obvious to substitute the devices listed in Honjo with the ring shown in Manuel. This would allow perform the same functions of gaining access and monitoring the use using a similar known device. This would produce a predictable result and would have been one obvious alternative to the listed devices found in Honjo.
As per claim 15, Honjo further teaches the method of claim 12, Honjo further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: collect the current activity data via a set of sensor devices at the location, wherein the current activity data comprises information related to at least one biometrics of the user, position within the location, identity of the user, a type of user and an environment of the location (Paragraph [0129]; discloses that biometric information such as fingerprint, heart rate, facial recognition sensors or eye tracker or retinal scan or voice analyzer. Paragraph [0189]; discloses that the information includes biometrics of the user. Paragraph [0030] and [0091]; discloses monitoring the position of the occupants within the location. Paragraph [0044]; discloses detecting the identity of people, Paragraph [0058]; discloses the system detects the geographical range of the home to detect environment and use this information to determine when to trigger events such as turning the lights on or off. Paragraph [0079]; discloses that the types of user is recorded specifically building owner verses renter. This is done to apply specific rules to renters and to notify the owners of violations or problems), wherein the set of sensor devices at the location at least includes a smart device of the user (Paragraph [0063] and [0088]; discloses that the smart device can be a bracelet, necklace, key fob, wallets, wristbands, mobile devices, collars and/or the like).
While Honjo discloses that the device of the user can be an open ended list of devices or items, it is not explicit that this includes a ring or smart ring.
Manuel, which like Honjo talks about using a device to monitor a user, teaches it is known for the user device to be a smart ring (Paragraph [0016]; teaches that the ring can be used to collect biometric data such as heartbeat pattern. Paragraph [0014]; teaches it is known for the ring to be use like the devices in Honjo to open doors and gain access to an area. From this it would have been obvious to substitute the devices listed in Honjo with the ring shown in Manuel. This would allow perform the same functions of gaining access and monitoring the use using a similar known device. This would produce a predictable result and would have been one obvious alternative to the listed devices found in Honjo).
The Honjo reference discloses operating a door of a smart-home by monitoring the movements or non-movements of the occupants of the home. Honjo tracks the user or occupants through tracking their registered devices. Honjo lists an open ended list of possible devices.
The sole difference between the Honjo reference and the claimed subject matter is that the Honjo reference does not disclose that the device is a smart ring.
The Manuel reference discusses gaining access to areas using a smart ring and also using that smart ring to collect biometric information about the user. The Manuel reference establishes that the use of smart rings to access doors was known in the prior art at the time of the invention.
Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself- that is in the substitution of the devices shown in Honjo with the smart ring shown in Manuel.
Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Therefore, from this teaching of Manuel, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of providing automated security based on location provided by Honjo, with the use of smart rings as taught by Manuel, for the purposes of using one known device in place of another device. From this it would have been obvious to substitute the devices listed in Honjo with the ring shown in Manuel. This would allow perform the same functions of gaining access and monitoring the use using a similar known device. This would produce a predictable result and would have been one obvious alternative to the listed devices found in Honjo.
As per claim 20, Honjo further teaches the method of claim 17, Honjo further discloses further comprising: collecting the current activity data via a set of sensor devices at the location, wherein the current activity data comprises information related to at least one biometrics of the user, position within the location, identity of the user, a type of user and an environment of the location (Paragraph [0129]; discloses that biometric information such as fingerprint, heart rate, facial recognition sensors or eye tracker or retinal scan or voice analyzer. Paragraph [0189]; discloses that the information includes biometrics of the user. Paragraph [0030] and [0091]; discloses monitoring the position of the occupants within the location. Paragraph [0044]; discloses detecting the identity of people, Paragraph [0058]; discloses the system detects the geographical range of the home to detect environment and use this information to determine when to trigger events such as turning the lights on or off. Paragraph [0079]; discloses that the types of user is recorded specifically building owner verses renter. This is done to apply specific rules to renters and to notify the owners of violations or problems), wherein the set of sensor devices at the location at least includes a smart device of the user (Paragraph [0063] and [0088]; discloses that the smart device can be a bracelet, necklace, key fob, wallets, wristbands, mobile devices, collars and/or the like).
While Honjo discloses that the device of the user can be an open ended list of devices or items, it is not explicit that this includes a ring or smart ring.
Manuel, which like Honjo talks about using a device to monitor a user, teaches it is known for the user device to be a smart ring (Paragraph [0016]; teaches that the ring can be used to collect biometric data such as heartbeat pattern. Paragraph [0014]; teaches it is known for the ring to be use like the devices in Honjo to open doors and gain access to an area. From this it would have been obvious to substitute the devices listed in Honjo with the ring shown in Manuel. This would allow perform the same functions of gaining access and monitoring the use using a similar known device. This would produce a predictable result and would have been one obvious alternative to the listed devices found in Honjo).
The Honjo reference discloses operating a door of a smart-home by monitoring the movements or non-movements of the occupants of the home. Honjo tracks the user or occupants through tracking their registered devices. Honjo lists an open ended list of possible devices.
The sole difference between the Honjo reference and the claimed subject matter is that the Honjo reference does not disclose that the device is a smart ring.
The Manuel reference discusses gaining access to areas using a smart ring and also using that smart ring to collect biometric information about the user. The Manuel reference establishes that the use of smart rings to access doors was known in the prior art at the time of the invention.
Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself- that is in the substitution of the devices shown in Honjo with the smart ring shown in Manuel.
Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Therefore, from this teaching of Manuel, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of providing automated security based on location provided by Honjo, with the use of smart rings as taught by Manuel, for the purposes of using one known device in place of another device. From this it would have been obvious to substitute the devices listed in Honjo with the ring shown in Manuel. This would allow perform the same functions of gaining access and monitoring the use using a similar known device. This would produce a predictable result and would have been one obvious alternative to the listed devices found in Honjo.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the applicant’s arguments on pages 7-10 regarding the art rejections specifically that, “Turning to the rejections based on Honjo, Applicant respectfully traverses. The present amendments focus claim 1 on a specific, closed-loop sequence: the device (i) monitors current, real-time user activity data including movement/non-movement and a time that "comprises a specific day of the week and a specific time," (ii) compares that current activity data to a stored, associated behavior pattern corresponding to that time, and then (iii) toggles the entry-point status and causes locking when the comparison indicates the current activity data satisfies that stored, time-correlated behavior pattern. This is consistent with Applicant's disclosure of leveraging learned behaviors "against current, real-time activities" (Specification ¶ [0004]), time-indexed patterns such as "a specific day of the week, and a specific time" (Specification ¶ [0070]), and analyzing event data "based at least on ... the stored, associated behavior pattern(s)" (Specification ¶[0090]).”
“Honjo fails to disclose at least the following amended elements of independent claim 1.”
“Amended claim 1 now expressly recites (1) "analyzing ... the current activity data ... wherein the analyzing comprises comparing the current activity data to the stored, associated behavior pattern," and (2) "determining ... to toggle ... based on the comparing indicating that the current activity data satisfies the stored, associated behavior pattern corresponding to the time," with locking "based on the toggle determination indicating that the current activity data satisfies the stored, associated behavior pattern corresponding to the time."”
“The Final Office Action relies principally on Honjo's discussions of occupant "patterns" and AI ( e.g., Honj o ¶ ¶ [0087], [0091 ], [0096]) and on separate smart-door state transition teachings (e.g., Honjo iJiJ[0l44]-[0145], [0148]). However, those passages do not disclose the amended causal linkage now recited in claim 1: locking because a comparison indicates that current activity data satisfies a stored behavior pattern that corresponds to the relevant time.”
“To the contrary, Honjo's exemplar "security-related" analysis in paragraph [0091] is expressly directed to detecting a likely intruder (e.g., movement "according to a pattern that is not associated with any of the occupants") and then locking doors in response to that inferred burglary condition. (Honjo iJ[0091] (quoted in the record); Honjo ¶ [0091].) That teaching is not the claimed routine-confirmation trigger ("satisfies the stored, associated behavior pattern corresponding to the time"); it is an anomaly/ non-association trigger used to infer a burglar. Honj o's paragraph [0091] teaches locking based on behavior that deviates from occupant-associated patterns, not locking based on a determination that current user activity data satisfies a stored, time-correlated routine of the user.”
“Honjo paragraph [0096], meanwhile, describes that "artificial intelligence algorithms can be configured to sense" whether "over the past month ... at roughly the same time of day ... the user has locked the same ... set of doors." (Honjo ¶ [0096] (quoted in the record).) This does not disclose the amended claim's recited comparison and decision logic with current activity data indicating movement/non-movement at the location, nor does it disclose determining to lock an entry-point because a comparison indicates the current activity data satisfies a stored behavior pattern corresponding to the time. Paragraph [0096] is, at most, a description of learning that a user has locked doors at similar times in the past-i.e., an observation about historical locking habits-rather than the claimed (i) comparing current user movement/non-movement data to a stored time-correlated routine and then (ii) locking the entry-point based on satisfaction of that stored routine.”
“Accordingly, even accepting that Honjo generally discusses "patterns," Honjo does not disclose the particular arrangement now recited-namely: (a) comparing current activity data to a stored, time-correlated user behavior pattern, and (b) determining to toggle/lock because that comparison indicates the current activity data satisfies that stored pattern.”
“Amended claim 1 further recites that the monitored current activity data includes a time of the movement or non-movement, "wherein the time comprises a specific day of the week and a specific time," and that the stored, associated behavior pattern corresponds to that time.”
“The Office Action's citations to Honjo for "time" generally discuss schedules/"optimal time" concepts in the abstract (e.g., Honjo ¶ [0059]) and general monitoring/logging (e.g., Honjo ¶ ¶ [0086]-[0090]). But anticipation requires the claimed elements as arranged in the claim (MPEP § 2131), and Honjo does not disclose, in the claim-required routine-locking sequence discussed above, monitoring current user movement/non-movement with a time comprising a specific day of week and specific time, and then comparing that to a stored behavior pattern corresponding to that time to make the lock-toggle decision based on satisfaction of that time-correlated pattern.”
“Honjo's "roughly the same time of day (' X o'clock')" discussion (Honj o ¶ [0096]) does not disclose the recited "specific day of the week and a specific time," and in any event is not tied to the claimed comparison of current activity data (movement/non-movement) to a stored routine as the basis for toggling from unlocked to locked.”
“The Office Action cites Honjo's smart door transition teachings (e.g., Honjo iJiJ[0l44][ 0145], [0 148], and door state tracking in iJ[0 151]) to allege the identifying/toggling/locking elements. Applicant does not dispute that Honjo generally describes smart doors that can transition between locked/unlocked and other states, or that Honjo can lock in response to events. However, amended claim 1 is not directed merely to the capability of locking; it requires locking based on the particular routine-satisfaction determination described above (i.e., based on the comparison indicating current activity data satisfies a stored, time-correlated behavior pattern). Honjo does not disclose that arrangement.””
“Therefore, Applicant submits that Honjo fails to teach or suggest the claimed subject matter, and Honjo is respectfully requested to be withdrawn.”
“As to the Manuel reference, Applicant has reviewed the disclosure in Manuel, and submits that Manuel is silent as to the claimed subject matter, and therefore, fails to cure the admitted deficiencies in Honjo.”
“Therefore, for at least the foregoing reasons, Claim 1 and the claims that depend therefrom are believed to be in condition for allowance. For reasons that should be appreciated from the foregoing discussion, independent Claims 12 and 17, and the claims that depend therefrom, are also believed to be in condition for allowance.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As stated above in the rejection Honjo Paragraph [0144]; discloses that the environment which is recorded includes location information, time of day, day of week, day of month, day of year as well as other temporal characteristics. Paragraph [0066]; discloses that the location information is monitored and identified in real time. From this the patterns are determined based on specific time of the day as well as the day of the week as explicitly discussed in Honjo. Further Honjo goes on to state the data will be compared to real time data for alerts or other status triggers. This is discussed in paragraph [0053] which establishes that the user’s patterns are learned over time. It is further supported in paragraph [0096] which establishes patterns are learned over time and can automatically lock doors based on the learned schedule. As such the Examiner asserts that the Honjo reference does read over the limitations as amended. Lacking any additional arguments the Examiner has not been persuaded and the rejections have therefore been maintained.
All rejections made towards the dependent claims are maintained due to the lack of a reply by the applicant in regards to distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the Examiner’s action in the prior Office Action (37 CFR 1.111). The Examiner asserts that the applicant only argues that the dependent claims should be allowable because the independent claims are unobvious and patentable over Honjo, and, where appropriate, in view of Manuel.
Conclusion
PAUL R. FISHER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2498
/PAUL R FISHER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2498 4/4/2026