DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species I in the reply filed on January 16, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Applicant’s belief that claims 1-20 encompass Species I is not supported by the disclosure or the claims. Species I and Species II differ in many ways and primarily through the slide and pin arrangement of Species I in contrast to the multiple arcuate shapes of Species II. Claims 18-20 positively recite the “plurality of arcuate shapes” that are the mutually exclusive features of Species II and these claims are withdrawn from examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. 2009/0134003 by Okidate.
Regarding claim 1, Okidate discloses a controller device (fig. 1 – see input device arrangement) comprising: an outer disk body (fig. 3-7; element 31 – see the outer disk shaped base); an inner disk body supported at least in part by the outer disk body and configured to translate relative to the outer disk body (fig. 3-7; element 32 – see the inner actuator disk that is supported by the outer disk); and one or more buttons defined by the outer disk body (fig. 4-7 – see the actuators 2a-2d that are defined by their interaction with the outer disk body), wherein the inner disk body is configured to receive a user input that causes the inner disk body to translate relative to the outer disk body and actuate at least one of the one or more buttons (fig. 4-10; para. 53-62 – see the articulation of the disk to actuate the buttons).
Regarding claim 2, Okidate discloses the controller device according to Claim 1, wherein the one or more buttons are disposed radially about a peripheral edge of the outer disk body (fig. 4-10 – see the position of the buttons. Examiner noting that “radially about” does not require mounting to the outer disk).
Regarding claim 3, Okidate discloses the controller device according to Claim 1, further comprising an input element operably connected to the inner disk body and configured to cause translation of the inner disk body in a direction responsive to receipt of an applied user input via the input element (see elements 41-42 that allow for user manipulation of the input device).
Regarding claim 4, Okidate discloses the controller device according to Claim 1, further comprising: a housing defining an interior configured to support the outer disk body and the inner disk body therein; and a top plate configured to cover at least a portion of the interior of the housing (fig. 3 – see element 37 that encases the input arrangement).
Regarding claim 5, Okidate discloses the controller device according to Claim 4, wherein the top plate is removably attached to the housing so as to provide selective access to the interior of the housing (fig. 3 – see element 37 that encases the input arrangement).
Regarding claim 6, Okidate discloses the controller device according to Claim 5, wherein the top plate further comprises an opening configured to receive an input element operably connected to the inner disk body therein such that the input element extends at least partially through the opening (fig. 3 – see element 37 that encases the input arrangement).
Regarding claim 7, Okidate discloses the controller device according to Claim 4, wherein the housing defines one or more openings defined by a bottom surface of the housing opposite the top plate (fig. 3 – see opening 371 and the through opening at the bottom).
Regarding claim 8, Okidate discloses the controller device according to Claim 7, wherein the one or more openings of the bottom surface are configured to communicably couple the controller device to a gaming system via one or more cables disposed within the one or more openings (fig. 3 – see opening 371 and the through opening at the bottom).
Regarding claim 9, Okidate discloses the controller device according to Claim 1, wherein: the inner disk body further defines a plurality of radial slots, and the controller device further comprises a plurality of slide pins configured to be positioned within respective radial slots of the plurality of radial slots (fig. 4-10 – see the radial slots at 313 322).
Regarding claim 10, Okidate discloses the controller device according to Claim 9, wherein each slide pin defines a limb configured to slot within the respective radial slot (fig. 4-10 see the slot and pin arrangement).
Regarding claim 11, Okidate discloses the controller device according to Claim 1, wherein the outer disk body further defines a plurality of slide channels, each slide channel defining a translation path to a respective button of the one or more buttons (fig. 4-10 – see the radial slots at 313 322).
Regarding claim 12, Okidate discloses the controller device according to Claim 11, wherein the translation path defines a linear path along which the respective slide pin travels (fig. 4-10 see the slot and pin arrangement).
Regarding claim 13, Okidate discloses the controller device according to Claim 11, wherein each button of the one or more buttons is positioned at a distal end of a respective translation path (fig. 4-10 see the slot and pin arrangement).
Regarding claim 14, Okidate discloses the controller device according to Claim 13, wherein, in response to a user input, the slide pin translates along the translation path in a first direction so as to actuate a first button positioned at the distal end of the translation path in the first direction (fig. 4-10 see the movement of the device).
Regarding claim 15, Okidate discloses the controller device according to Claim 1, further comprising a reset mechanism configured to, following removal of a user input, reset the inner disk body to a resting position (para. 54-58 – see return to original position).
Regarding claim 16, Okidate discloses the controller device according to Claim 15, wherein the reset mechanism comprises a plurality of springs configured to urge the inner disk body to the resting position (para. 54-58 - see spring 33).
Regarding claim 17, Okidate discloses the controller device according to Claim 16, wherein each of the plurality of springs is configured to urge the inner disk body in a direction opposite a direction associated with a user input configured to actuate a respective button (para. 54-58 - see spring 33).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/PETER J IANNUZZI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715