DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10-15, 21-26 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong et al, application no. 2024/0298320, hereinafter known as Wong in view of Babaei, Alireza, application no. 2024/0147478, hereinafter known as Babaei.
As to claim 1, Wong discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (Wong, figure 3, [0044]-[0047] wireless device (UE) and TRP with memory, processor (Controller) and instructions): transmit an uplink control message comprising an indicator corresponding to a plurality of behaviors associated with the uplink control message (Wong, [0100], [0110], UCI message used by UE with “one or more joint indicators” to provide control information on how UE will communicate), and wherein a second behavior of the plurality of behaviors comprises configured grant group switching corresponding to switching from a first configured grant group to a second configured grant group (Wong, [0106], CG index indicator for plurality (group) of uplink data transmission where the indicator provides information on plural possible CG indexes); and transmit uplink signaling via one or more configured grant occasions in accordance with the indicator (Wong, figure 18, step s4, transmitting uplink data according to indicated CG-UCI). Wong does not disclose however Babaei discloses wherein a first behavior of the plurality of behaviors comprises configured grant occasion skipping corresponding to skipping at least one configured grant occasion in at least one configured grant period (Babaei, [0174]-[0180], bit indicator for skipping a configured grant when resource is being unused).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong to include the limitations of wherein a first behavior of the plurality of behaviors comprises configured grant occasion skipping corresponding to skipping at least one configured grant occasion in at least one configured grant period as taught by Babaei. Using one indicator to send plural uplink data or control information provides a spectrally efficient method of sending communications that invariably could include plural types of data such skipping a configured grant occasion so the network and anticipate communications accordingly.
As to claim 2, Wong discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive radio resource control signaling enabling the configured grant occasion skipping, the configured grant group switching, or both, wherein the uplink control message comprising the indicator is transmitted based at least in part on receipt of the radio resource control signaling enabling the configured grant occasion skipping, the configured grant group switching, or both (Wong, figure 2, step 260, indication from by UE form network enabling skipping or switching of configured grant as indicated or requested by UE; [0044], [0063], configuration indication sent by network to UE via radio resource control signaling; [0063], RRC configuration message for configured grant indication).
As to claim 3, Wong discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to transmit the uplink signaling by being executable to cause the processor to: transmit the uplink signaling via the one or more configured grant occasions of the second configured grant group, wherein the indicator corresponds to the second behavior (Wong, [0106], CG index indicator for plurality (group) of uplink data transmission where the indicator provides information on plural possible CG indexes); figure 18, step s4, transmitting uplink data according to indicated CG-UCI).
As to claim 4, Wong discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Wong does not disclose however Babaei discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to transmit the uplink signaling by being executable to cause the processor to: transmit the uplink signaling via the one or more configured grant occasions after skipping one or more previous configured grant occasions of the first configured grant group, wherein the indicator corresponds to the first behavior Babaei, [0174]-[0180], bit indicator for skipping a configured grant when resource is being unused).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong to include the limitations of wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to transmit the uplink signaling by being executable to cause the processor to: transmit the uplink signaling via the one or more configured grant occasions after skipping one or more previous configured grant occasions of the first configured grant group, wherein the indicator corresponds to the first behavior as taught by Babaei. Using one indicator to send plural uplink data or control information provides a spectrally efficient method of sending communications that invariably could include plural types of data such skipping a configured grant occasion so the network and anticipate communications accordingly.
As to claim 10, Wong discloses wherein the uplink control message comprises an uplink control information message (Wong, [0010], [0087], CG-UCI is specifically configured grant-uplink control information).
As to claim 11, Wong discloses wherein the uplink control message comprises a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) or uplink control information (UCI) (Wong, [0010], [0087], CG-UCI is specifically configured grant-uplink control information).
As to claims 12-15, 21 and 22 the claims are rejected as applied to claims 1-4, 10 and 11 above respectively by Wong in view of Babaei.
As to claims 23-26, the claims are rejected as applied to claims 1-4 above respectively by Wong in view of Babaei.
As to claim 30, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 1 above by Wong in view of Babaei.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 12 ,23 and 30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9, 16-20 and 27-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GAUTAM SHARMA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/HASSAN A PHILLIPS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2467