DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 13-14 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alberth, Jr. et al (US 6,438,360; hereinafter Alberth) in view of Dubash et al (US 2009/0,325,521; hereinafter Dubash).
Regarding claim 13, Alberth disclose a method of operating wireless circuitry (Figs. 3, 4) comprising:
receiving at an amplifier (PA 118) a radio-frequency signal (RF signal from VGA 110 of RF circuitry 94) (Figs. 3, 4; col 4, line 53 - col 5, line 25) that is generated based on a baseband signal (I, Q baseband signal from baseband circuit 92; col 4, line 57 – col 5, line 5);
tuning a first adjustable load component (first variable element of block 120, 602, e.g. variable capacitor 216) coupled to an output of the radio-frequency amplifier (118) using a first load tuning control signal (132) that is derived from an envelope (116) of the baseband signal (112, 114) (tuning the first variable element of block 120, 602, e.g. variable capacitor 216 via tuning control signal 132 derived from an envelope (116) of the baseband signal (112, 114); col 11, line 51 - col 12, line 4; Figs. 4, 8);
tuning a second adjustable load component (second variable element of block 120, 602, e.g. varactor diode or voltage variable capacitor 216) coupled to the output of the radio-frequency amplifier (118) using a load tuning control signal (132) that is derived from an envelope (116) of the baseband signal (112, 114) (tuning a second variable element of block 120, 602, e.g. varactor diode or voltage variable capacitor 216 using a load tuning control signal (132) that is derived from an envelope (116) of the baseband signal (112, 114); col 11, line 51 - col 12, line 4; Figs. 4, 8). Alberth do not specifically disclose a second tuning control signal and shifting the second load tuning control signal from the first load tuning control signal by a fixed or adjustable offset. In the same field of endeavor, Dubash disclose a first tuning control signal (522, 826) to tune a first adjustable load component (604) and a second tuning control signal (520, 822) to tune a second adjustable load component (602) and shifting the second load tuning control signal (520, 822) from the first load tuning control signal (826) by a fixed or adjustable offset (via scaling circuit 820) (Figs. 6, 8; paras. [0060], [0067], [0071], in Fig. 8, similar to FIG. 6, the auto-tuned RF filter 802 may be split into two auto-tuned RF filters). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to achieve greater frequency accuracy and better tracking (Dubash; ¶ [0067]) and since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichmena, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alberth, Jr. et al (US 6,438,360; hereinafter Alberth) in view of Paulsen et al (US 2020/0,119,440; hereinafter Paulsen).
Regarding claim 13, Alberth disclose a method of operating wireless circuitry (Figs. 3, 4) comprising:
receiving at an amplifier (PA 118) a radio-frequency signal (RF signal from VGA 110 of RF circuitry 94) (Figs. 3, 4; col 4, line 53 - col 5, line 25) that is generated based on a baseband signal (I, Q baseband signal from baseband circuit 92; col 4, line 57 – col 5, line 5);
tuning a first adjustable load component (first variable element of block 120, 602, e.g. variable capacitor 216) coupled to an output of the radio-frequency amplifier (118) using a first load tuning control signal (132) that is derived from an envelope (116) of the baseband signal (112, 114) (tuning the first variable element of block 120, 602, e.g. variable capacitor 216 via tuning control signal 132 derived from an envelope (116) of the baseband signal (112, 114); col 11, line 51 - col 12, line 4; Figs. 4, 8);
tuning a second adjustable load component (second variable element of block 120, 602, e.g. varactor diode or voltage variable capacitor 216) coupled to the output of the radio-frequency amplifier (118) using a load tuning control signal (132) that is derived from an envelope (116) of the baseband signal (112, 114) (tuning a second variable element of block 120, 602, e.g. varactor diode or voltage variable capacitor 216 using a load tuning control signal (132) that is derived from an envelope (116) of the baseband signal (112, 114); col 11, line 51 - col 12, line 4; Figs. 4, 8). Alberth do not specifically disclose a second tuning control signal and shifting the second load tuning control signal from the first load tuning control signal by a fixed or adjustable offset. In the same field of endeavor, Paulsen disclose a first tuning control signal (TUNE) to tune a first adjustable load component (C2) and a second tuning control signal (ZOFF) to tune a second adjustable load component (C3) and shifting the second load tuning control signal from the first load tuning control signal (TUNE) by a fixed or adjustable offset (adjusting the first TUNE load control signal by a predetermined or programmable offset; Figs. 8-9; para. [0061]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to use modified matching network transfer function for more accurate impedance measurement to reduce the power level of the reflected signal (Paulsen; ¶ [0061]) and since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichmena, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alberth, Jr. et al (US 6,438,360) in view of Dubash et al (US 2009/0,325,521)/ Paulsen et al (US 2020/0,119,440) further in view of Embar et al (US 2015/0,155,838; hereinafter Embar).
Regarding claim 14, Alberth and Dubash/Paulsen disclose the method of claim 13, wherein they do not disclose the first adjustable load component is configured to provide a first impedance tuning range for a first subrange of the envelope and wherein the second adjustable load component is configured to provide a second impedance tuning range for a second subrange of the envelope that is different than the first subrange. In the same field of endeavor, Embar disclose a first adjustable load component is configured to provide a first impedance tuning range for a first subrange of the envelope and wherein the second adjustable load component is configured to provide a second impedance tuning range for a second subrange of the envelope that is different than the first subrange (impedance of adjustable C1, D1 is controllable for a first power/envelope level; and impedance of C2, D2 is controllable for a second power/envelope level; Embar; paras. [0052], [0057]; Figs. 7-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to provide a tunable impedance range for the envelope. Alberth, Dubash/Paulsen, and Embar do not explicitly disclose an impedance tuning range for a subrange of the envelope. However, the examiner takes official notice that choosing a tuning range for a subrange of the envelope is notoriously old in the art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to do so since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 16, Alberth and Dubash/Paulsen disclose the method of claim 13, further comprising: coupling a third adjustable load component (varactor diode or third variable capacitor 216 of variable impedance network 120, 602; Fig. 4, 8) to the output of the amplifier (118); and tuning the third adjustable load component (third variable capacitor 216) using a load tuning control signal (132) that is derived from the envelope (116) of the baseband signal (112, 114) (Alberth; col 11, line 51 - col 12, line 4; Figs. 4, 8). Alberth and Dubash/Paulsen do not specifically disclose a third tuning control signal. However, separating the tuning control signal into two tuning control signals is well-known in the art as taught by Embar (tuning controller (608, 808) output three separate tuning control signals to first adjustable load element (C1, S1; C1, D1), second adjustable load element (C2, S2; C2, D2) and third adjustable load element (C3, S3; C3, D3) respectively; Figs. 7, 8; paras. [0036], [0038], [0052], [0059]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so have a different tuning control signal for each adjustable load element since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichmena, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 15, Alberth and Dubash disclose the method of claim 13, wherein the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the method further comprising: with a control signal generator, generating a control signal based on the envelope of the baseband signal or the radio frequency signal; with a first conversion circuit, receiving the control signal and outputting the first load tuning control signal based on a first range of the control signal; and with a second conversion circuit, outputting the second load tuning control signal based on a second range of the control signal.
Claims 1-3, 6, 9-12, 17, and 19-20 are allowed.
Regarding claim 1, Embar et al (US 2015/0,155,838) disclose wireless circuitry and a method of operating wireless circuitry (Figs. 7-8; paras. [0002], [0017])) comprising: a radio-frequency amplifier (606) configured to receive a radio frequency signal (RFIN) (Fig. 7, 8; paras. [0047], [0052]); a first adjustable load component (C1, S1; C1, D1) coupled to an output of the radio-frequency amplifier (606) (paras. [0049]-[0052], [0057]-[0059]; Figs. 7, 8); a second adjustable load component (C2, S2; C2, D2) coupled to the output of the radio-frequency amplifier (606) (paras. [0049]-[0052]; [0057]-[0059]; Figs. 7, 8); and a control signal generator (608; 808, Figs. 7-8) configured to output one or more control signals for tuning the first and second adjustable load components based on an envelope of the baseband signal or the radio-frequency signal (controller 608, 808 modulate and adjust the variable impedance based on the magnitude of the envelope of the input signal RFIN detected and measured by controller 608, 808 (¶ [0009]), wherein controller 608 may be configured to be capable of switching switches S1, S2, . . . Sn on and off at a rate that is at least equal to a frequency of the envelope of the RF amplifier's input signal (RFIN); paras. [0036], [0038], [0052], [0059]; Figs. 5A, 7-8). Hwang et al (US 2025/0,150,045) disclose radio frequency amplifier (320) configured to receive a radio frequency signal (radio frequency signal at 310) generated from a baseband signal (baseband signal from processor 120) (Fig. 3; paras. [0054], [0057]). However, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest a transformer having a primary coil coupled between the output of the radio frequency amplifier and the first adjustable load component; and a second secondary coil having a first terminal coupled between the second adjustable load component and a power supply line.
Regarding claim 17, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the first adjustable load component is configured to provide a first tuning range covering a first subrange of an instantaneous signal envelope of the baseband signal or the radio-frequency signal; and the second adjustable load component is configured to provide a second tuning range covering a second subrange of the instantaneous signal envelope of the baseband signal or the radio-frequency signal, wherein the first and second tuning ranges are combined to provide an extended tuning range for the load-line modulated amplifier circuit for the reason in the allowable subject matter of allowed claim 18 in the office action filed 08/08/2025.
Conclusion
/LANA N LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648