DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US 8,827,742).
Regarding claim 1: Wang teaches an electrical connector 100, comprising: an insulator 2; a plurality of terminals 3 disposed in the insulator (Fig. 1); a first housing 5 surrounding the insulator and the terminals (Fig. 1), wherein the first housing 5 has a connecting port (at 52; Fig. 2) and a flange 511 (see Fig. 2), the connecting port is configured to connect to another electrical connector along a docking axis (e.g. connector 100 is configured to mate with another connector), and the flange 511 is disposed along the connecting port and extends outwardly and upwardly from an annular structure of the first housing 5 by facing away from the connecting port (see Fig. 2); a waterproof sealant 7 disposed onto the first housing along the connecting port and abutting the flange 511 (see Fig. 1), wherein the flange 511 blocks the waterproof sealant in the docking axis (see Figs. 1-2); and a second housing 8 disposed on the first housing 5 (see Fig. 5), wherein the waterproof sealant 7 is kept at a distance from the second housing (see Figs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 4: Wang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the second housing 8 covers part of the first housing 5 and part of the insulator 2 (see Figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 6: Wang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the waterproof sealant 7 has a convex portion 71 (Fig. 2) protruding from the flange and away from the connecting port (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8: Wang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the insulator 2 comprises a base and a tongue (see Fig. 2), the tongue extends from the base, forms a stepped structure, and penetrates the first housing 5, and the base has another stepped structure facing away from the tongue (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9: Wang teaches all the limitations of claim 8 and further teaches wherein part of the second housing 8 covers the first housing 5 (see Fig. 5), and another part of the second housing 8 covers the insulator 2 and is suitable for the another stepped structure (Fig. 5).
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao (US 2018/0175543).
Regarding claim 1: Zhao teaches an electrical connector 100 (Fig. 1), comprising: an insulator 1; a plurality of terminals 2 disposed in the insulator (Fig. 8); a first housing 5 surrounding the insulator and the terminals (Fig. 1), wherein the first housing 5 has a connecting port (at 50; Fig. 3) and a flange 53 (see Fig. 4), the connecting port is configured to connect to another electrical connector along a docking axis (e.g. connector 100 is configured to mate with another connector), and the flange 53 is disposed along the connecting port and extends outwardly and upwardly from an annular structure of the first housing 5 by facing away from the connecting port (see Fig. 4); a waterproof sealant 7 disposed onto the first housing along the connecting port and abutting the flange 53 (see Fig. 1), wherein the flange 53 blocks the waterproof sealant in the docking axis (see Figs. 1, 14-15); and a second housing 421 disposed on the first housing 5 (see Figs. 1-2, 14-15), wherein the waterproof sealant 7 is kept at a distance from the second housing 421 (see Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 4: Zhao teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the second housing 421 covers part of the first housing 5 and part of the insulator 1 (see Figs. 1-6).
Regarding claim 5: Zhao teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the second housing 421 is a stamped and bent metal housing welded to the first housing (see Para. 0025).
Regarding claim 6: Zhao teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the waterproof sealant 7 has a convex portion 72 (Fig. 5) protruding from the flange and away from the connecting port (see Figs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 8: Zhao teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the insulator 2 comprises a base and a tongue (see Fig. 8), the tongue extends from the base, forms a stepped structure, and penetrates the first housing 5 (see Fig. 3), and the base has another stepped structure facing away from the tongue (see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 9: Zhao teaches all the limitations of claim 8 and further teaches wherein part of the second housing 421 covers the first housing 5 (see Figs. 1-5), and another part of the second housing 421 covers the insulator 2 and is suitable for the another stepped structure (see Fig. 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 8,827,742), in view of Hsu (US 9,997,866).
Regarding claim 3: Wang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the waterproof sealant 7.
Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the waterproof sealant is a liquid silicone rubber injection molding.
Hsu teaches a waterproof sealant is a liquid silicone rubber injection molding (see Col. 4, lines 59-37 through Col. 5, lines 7).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to modify the invention with the waterproof sealant is a liquid silicone rubber injection molding as taught by Hsu into the electrical connector of Wang in order to achieve the advantage of allowing efficient production of complex shapes and consistent part quality.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Zhao (US 2018/0175543) and Wang (US 8,827,742) teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches the flange extending outwardly and upwardly and wherein the flange blocks the waterproof sealant in the docking axis.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OSCAR C JIMENEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896