DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits, in response to the claims received 4/6/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending for prosecution below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) file on 4/6/2023 has been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not supported by either a specific and substantial asserted utility or a well-established utility. Claims lacks any recitation of structure, let alone a recitation which creates a substantial tie so as to impose meaningful limitations on the claim scope because is merely a set of instructions. There is nothing of record which clearly indicates that the method recited is not directed to an abstract idea. Claim 1 also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. Specifically, because the claimed invention is not supported by either a specific and substantial asserted utility or a well-established utility for the reasons set forth above, one skilled in the art clearly would not know how to use the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,9-10,12-15,18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nyu,(USNO.2014/0117933).
As for claim 1, Nyu discloses and shows in Figs.1, 6-7 a vehicle charge control method, comprising: detecting that a vehicle (ref’s electric vehicle) is discharging electrical power; detecting that the vehicle is, during the discharging, attempting a charging of a traction battery of the vehicle by receiving electrical power (via commercial power); assessing (via ref’s target power amount) whether the electrical power that is discharging is used for attempting the charging (charging and discharging at the same time); and responding to the assessing (par.[0032-0036,0045]).
As for claim 2, Nyu discloses and shows in Figs.1, 6-7 responding includes stopping the discharging.
As for claim 3, Nyu discloses and shows in Figs.1, 6-7 responding includes stopping the charging.
As for claim 9, Nyu discloses and shows in Figs.1, 6-7 the discharging is through an outlet of the vehicle.
As for claim 10, Nyu discloses and shows in Fig. 6 assessing includes comparing an electrical parameter of the electrical power that is discharging to the same electrical parameter of the electrical power that is attempting the charging
As for claim 12, Nyu discloses and shows in Fig. 6 the electrical parameter is a waveform.
As for claim 13, Nyu discloses and shows in Fig. 6 assessing includes introducing noise (via response within the flowcart) into the electrical power that is discharging from the vehicle, and then detecting whether or not the electrical power that is received by the vehicle when attempting the charging includes the noise.
As for claim 14, Nyu discloses and shows in Fig. 6 assessing includes introducing a signal (via response within the flowcart) into the electrical power that is discharging from the vehicle, and then detecting whether or not the electrical power that is received by the vehicle when attempting the charging includes the signal
As for claim 15, Nyu discloses signal (via response within the flowcart) is a frequency modulated signal
As for claim 18, Nyu discloses and shows vehicle is receiving the electrical power that is attempting the charging through a charge port (via ref’s charger) of the vehicle (par.[0028]).
As for claim 19, Nyu discloses and shows in Figs.1, 6-7 vehicle charge control system, comprising: a charge port that receives electrical power to attempt a charge of a traction battery of a vehicle (ref’s electric vehicle); one or more electrical outlets (via ref’s discharging from the vehicle) that discharge electrical power from the vehicle; and a control module (via power management) that assesses (via ref’s target power amount) whether the electrical power that is discharging is used for the charging (par.[0032-0036,0045]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nyu in view of Fernandez Banares et al, (Fernandez Banares), (USNO.2012/0161778).
As for claim 4, Fernandez Banares discloses all limitations, but differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose responding includes providing an alert
Fernandez Banares discloses responding includes providing an alert (par.[0024])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have modified the teachings of Nyu by using responding includes providing an alert for advantages such as providing the abilty to inform operator safety status (par.[0024]) , as taught by Fernandez Bananres.
As for claim 5, Nyu in combination with Fernandez Banares discloses the alert is an audible alert.
As for claim 6, Nyu in combination with Fernandez Banares discloses the alert is a visual alert.
As for claim 7, Nyu in combination with Fernandez Banares discloses the responding includes stopping the charging, and the alert includes information (via ref’s safety) about the stopping (par.[0024]).
As for claim 11, Nyu in combination with Fernandes Banares discloses electrical parameter is a voltage
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nyu in view of Fernandez Banares et al, (Fernandez Banares), (USNO.2012/0161778) and further in view of Valavanur Umasankar et al, (Valavanur Umasankar), (USNO.2023/0018340)
As for claim 8, Nyu in combination with Fernandes Banares discloses all limitations, but differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose an alert includes information about charging stations that are closest to the vehicle
Valavanur Umasankar discloses an alert includes information about charging stations that are closest to the vehicle (par.[0041])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have modified combined teachings of Nyu and Fernandes Banares by using an alert that includes information about charging stations that are closest to the vehicle for advantages such as providing the ability to warn a user (par.[0041]) , as taught by Valavanur Umasankar.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-17, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 16: electrical power that is discharging is the electrical power discharged from a first electrical outlet of the vehicle, and further comprising detecting a discharging of electrical power from a different, second electrical outlet of the vehicle , in combination with the remaining limitations of independent claims
Claim 20: control module initiates an alert if the electrical power that is used to attempt the charge of the traction battery is the electrical power that is discharged from the vehicle
Contact Information
/ARUN C WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859