DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-19 in the reply filed on 01/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the oxygen tank secured within the superstructure via netting per claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Fig. 7 depicts a netting however lacks the superstructure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Doss (4,986,267).
With regard to claim 1, Doss discloses an oxygen tank flotation device (10) that allows a user to swim or exercise in water without risk of an oxygen tank becoming submerged or tipping over into the water (fig. 1), the oxygen tank flotation device comprising:
a body component (12); and a superstructure component (48); wherein the body component and the superstructure component comprise at least one continuous opening that receives an oxygen tank (figs. 1-4); wherein once the oxygen tank is secured within the superstructure component, the user can connect a cannula to a regulator of the oxygen tank and then secure the cannula around the nose and ears of the user before turning on the oxygen tank (figs. 1-2); and further wherein the oxygen tank flotation device keeps the oxygen tank afloat and protects the regulator of the oxygen tank from being submerged in the water (fig. 1).
With regard to claim 9, Doss further discloses a clip (66/68) that secures a valve tool.
With regard to claim 10, Doss further discloses a tether strap (62/64) and a clip (60) secured to the superstructure component or the body component.
With regard to claim 11, Doss further discloses the oxygen tank is secured within the superstructure component via a netting (14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doss (4,986,267) in view of Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (AAPA).
With regard to claim 2, Doss discloses the invention substantially as claimed as well as changing the shape of the device (col. 6, lines 44-52) however fails to explicitly state the body component is square.
As discussed in applicant’s specification, AAPA discloses it is known within the art to provide a square body (para 0046).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Doss and construct the body from any desired shaped, to include square, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
With regard to claim 3, Doss further discloses the body component comprises a shallow interior component and an elevated perimeter component for securing the superstructure component (figs. 2-3).
With regard to claim 13, Doss discloses the invention substantially as claimed however fails to explicitly state a plurality of indicia.
As discussed in applicant’s specification, AAPA discloses it is known within the art to utilize indicia (para 0065).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Doss and utilize indica as taught in AAPA, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide the expected benefit of advertising the device.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doss (4,986,267) in view of Erickson et al. (2019/0269947).
With regard to claim 12, Doss discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding a base structure and a plurality of wheels for transportation.
Erickson discloses an oxygen tank flotation device comprising a base structure (fig. 6) and a plurality of wheels (5) for transportation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Doss and utilize a base with a plurality of wheels as taught in Erickson, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide means to readily transport the oxygen tank to its desired location.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 14-19 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited prior art, either alone or in any reasonable combination, fails to teach or suggest all the limitations of the claim(s). Flotation devices for oxygen tanks are known such as those taught by Doss (4,986,267), Cummings (5,299,721), Erickson et al. (2019/0269947), and McJunkin (9,187,160). However, the cited prior art lacks superstructure that comprises four curved legs that come together to form an arched structure that suspends over the shallow interior component of the body component as required by the claim(s) and it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the prior art to achieve applicant’s invention without the benefit of hindsight and applicant’s own disclosure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/BENJAMIN F FIORELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
BF
02/27/2026