DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed February 10, 2026 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1, 3-6, 9 and 11-14 are amended. New claim 17 has been added.
Claims 1-6, 8-14 and 16-17 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Regarding applicant’s argument on the amended claims 1 and 9, “Applicant submits that Liu fails to disclose at all that the first indication indicates that the UE monitors (or uses) the PEI only if the latest received RRC release message is from the camped cell.” and “Therefore, Applicant submits that Liu does not disclose the parameter indicating that "the UE monitors PEI only if the latest received RRC release message is from the camped cell." (Response filed February 10, 2026, Page 8), Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant.
Liu teaches “The current cell may be a cell on which the terminal currently camps” (Liu [Para. 0068]), “the current cell is a cell in which the terminal is recently released.” (Liu [Para. 0070]), “A terminal receives an RRC message such as a release message” (Liu [Para. 0165]) and “in a case that the terminal receives a first indication, and the first indication is used to indicate that the PEI is used only in a last used cell of the terminal, if the current cell is indicated as a last used cell, the terminal uses PEI in the current cell” (Liu [Para. 0087]). According to Liu, the PEI is used only if the terminal receives the last RRC release message from the camped cell.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that “the PEI being used mentioned in Liu and the monitoring of the PEI mentioned in claim 1 has clearly different concepts. Using the PEI presupposes that the PEI has already been received (or obtained). Conversely, monitoring of the PEI is a prerequisite for receiving the PEI” (Response filed February 10, 2026, Page 8). Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant.
“Use” and “monitor” in the context of the application are interchangeable terms expressing the same meaning in the art. For example, teaching the same limitation as the aforementioned in Liu, Nagano states “since the serving cell (cell C1) is the last cell, the terminal 10 assumes that the PEI information is transmitted while the terminal 10 serves in the cell C1, and monitors the PEI” ([Para. 0081]) and “Since the serving cell (cell C2) is not the last cell, the terminal 10 assumes that the PEI information is not transmitted while the terminal 10 servers in the cell C2, and monitors the paging DCI without monitoring the PEI” ([Para. 0082]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-11 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US20240422738A1, hereinafter Liu) in view Nagano et al. (US20240397482A1, hereinafter Nagano).
For claim 1, Liu teaches a method for monitoring paging by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system ([Para. 0005], a paging indication method, a terminal, and a network side device), the method comprising: receiving, a latest radio resource control (RRC) release message ([Para. 0165], A terminal receives an RRC message such as a release message), receiving, from a camped cell, system information including paging early indication (PEI) configuration ([Para. 0013 and 0014], a network side device sends a system message to a terminal in a current cell. [Para. 0072], that the terminal is in a non-connected state in the current cell includes: [Para. 0073], the terminal is released in the current cell; or [Para. 0075], the terminal enters the idle state or the inactive state from the connected state in the current cell. [Para. 0139], before the terminal uses the PEI in the current cell, the terminal receives a system message including [Para. 0142], a message used to indicate whether the current cell is a last used cell; and [Para. 0143], a first indication, whether the PEI is used only in a last used cell of the terminal); identifying whether a parameter is configured via the system information ([Para. 0086], in a case that the terminal receives the first indication included in the system message. The first indication may be used to indicate that the PEI is used only in the last used cell), wherein the parameter indicates that the UE monitors PEI only if the latest received RRC release message is from the camped cell ([Para. 0068], The current cell may be a cell on which the terminal currently camps. [Para. 0070], the current cell is a cell in which the terminal is recently released. [Para. 0087], in a case that the terminal receives a first indication, and the first indication is used to indicate that the PEI is used only in a last used cell of the terminal, if the current cell is indicated as a last used cell, the terminal uses PEI in the current cell); if the parameter is not configured via the system information ([Para. 0087], if the system message by the terminal in the current cell does not include a first indication, that is, it is not determined whether the PEI is used only in a last used cell, the terminal may use the PEI in the current cell), monitoring PEI in the camped cell ([Para. 0139], before the terminal uses the PEI in the current cell, the terminal receives a system message [Examiner’s Note: The current cell is the camped cell in which the terminal receives system information]. [Para. 0087], if the system message by the terminal in the current cell does not include a first indication, that is, it is not determined whether the PEI is used only in a last used cell, the terminal may use the PEI in the current cell).
Although teaching that the terminal uses PEI in the current cell in case the terminal receives a first indication that is used to indicate PEI is used only in a last used cell and the current cell is indicated as the last used cell ([Para. 0087]), Liu does not explicitly teach if the parameter is configured via the system information, monitoring PEI in the camped cell in case that the latest received RRC release message is received from the camped cell. However, Nagano more specifically teaches if the parameter is configured via the system information, monitoring PEI in the camped cell in case that the latest received RRC release message is received from the camped cell.
Nagano is directed to providing terminal, base station, and wireless communication method. More specifically, Nagano teaches and if the parameter is configured via the system information ([Para. 0094] and [FIG. 5], In Step S100, the terminal 10 serving in the cell C1 acquires the system information transmitted from the base station 20-1. The system information includes configuration information about the PEI. [Para. 0095], the PEI transmission area information may be included in the PEI configuration information. [Para. 0096], The PEI configuration information may be included in the SIB1. [Para. 0114], SIB1 includes the PEI configuration information, and the PEI transmission area information (lastUsedCellOnly) may be included in the PEI configuration information [Examiner's Note: The PEI transmission area information (lastUsedCellOnly) is the parameter]), monitoring PEI in the camped cell in case that the latest received RRC release message is received from the camped cell ([Para. 0046], the “serving cell” may be referred to as a “camping cell”. [Para. 0075], the last cell may be referred to as a cell in which the terminal 10 has last received the RRC release message. [Para. 0093] and [FIG. 5], the terminal 10 is in a connected state and serves in the cell C1. [Para. 0094, 0095 and 0114], In Step S100, the terminal 10 serving in the cell C1 acquires the system information transmitted from the base station 20-1 including the PEI transmission area information such as lastUsedCellOnly. [Para. 0097], In Step S101, the terminal 10 receives the RRC release message and then transitions to the idle state or the inactive state, and stores that the last cell is the cell C1. [Para. 0098], In Step S102. In a case in which the serving cell corresponds to the transmission of the PEI (for example, in a case in which the system information includes the PEI configuration information), the terminal 10 may monitor the PEI in accordance with the “method based on the broadcast information of the serving cell”. [Para. 0079], In a case in which the serving cell corresponds to the PEI transmission area indicated by the PEI transmission area information broadcasted in the serving cell, the terminal 10 assumes that the PEI information is transmitted in the serving cell. [Para. 0080], In this case, in a case in which the serving cell is the last cell, the terminal 10 assumes that the PEI is transmitted in the serving cell. Meanwhile, in a case in which the serving cell is not the last cell, the terminal 10 assumes that the PEI is not transmitted in the serving cell. [Para. 0081] and [FIG. 4], First, the terminal 10 acquires the PEI transmission area information broadcasted in the cell C1 while the terminal 10 serves in the cell C1. Since the serving cell (cell C1) is the last cell, the terminal 10 assumes that the PEI is transmitted while the terminal 10 serves in the cell C1, and monitors the PEI).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Liu, so that UE only monitors PEI when the last release message is received from the camping cell, as taught by Nagano. The modification would have provided appropriate control in the transmission and reception of the PEI information in consideration of the balance between the reduction in power consumption of the terminal and the increase in the consumption amount of the wireless resource (Nagano [Para. 0072]).
For claim 2, Liu and Nagano teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the PEI is monitored in an RRC inactive state or an RRC idle state (Nagano [Para. 0097], In Step S101, the terminal 10 receives the RRC release message and then transitions to the idle state or the inactive state, and stores that the last cell is the cell C1. Nagano [Para. 0098], In Step S102. In a case in which the serving cell corresponds to the transmission of the PEI (for example, in a case in which the system information includes the PEI configuration information), the terminal 10 may monitor the PEI in accordance with the “method based on the broadcast information of the serving cell”. Nagano [Para. 0079], In a case in which the serving cell corresponds to the PEI transmission area indicated by the PEI transmission area information broadcasted in the serving cell, the terminal 10 assumes that the PEI is transmitted in the serving cell. Nagano [Para. 0080], In this case, in a case in which the serving cell is the last cell, the terminal 10 assumes that the PEI is transmitted in the serving cell. Nagano [Para. 0081] and [FIG. 4], First, the terminal 10 acquires the PEI transmission area information broadcasted in the cell C1 while the terminal 10 serves in the cell C1. Since the serving cell (cell C1) is the last cell, the terminal 10 assumes that the PEI is transmitted while the terminal 10 serves in the cell C1, and monitors the PEI).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Liu, so that UE monitors PEI in idle state or inactive state, as taught by Nagano. The modification would have provided appropriate control in the transmission and reception of the PEI information in consideration of the balance between the reduction in power consumption of the terminal and the increase in the consumption amount of the wireless resource (Nagano [Para. 0072]).
For claim 3, Liu and Nagano teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein in case that the parameter is configured and the latest received RRC release message is not received in the camped cell (Nagano [Para. 0094] and [FIG. 5], In Step S100, the terminal 10 serving in the cell C1 acquires the system information transmitted from the base station 20-1. The system information includes configuration information about the PEI. Nagano [Para. 0095], the PEI transmission area information may be included in the PEI configuration information. Nagano [Para. 0097], In Step S101, the terminal 10 receives the RRC release message and then transitions to the idle state or the inactive state, and stores that the last cell is the cell C1 [Examiner’s Note: The terminal receives the last release message in C1. C1 is the last cell]. Nagano [Para. 0098], In Step S102. the terminal 10 may monitor the PEI in accordance with the “method based on the broadcast information of the serving cell”. Nagano [Para. 0080], in a case in which the serving cell is not the last cell, the terminal 10 assumes that the PEI information is not transmitted in the serving cell. Nagano [Para. 0081] and [FIG. 4], First, the terminal 10 acquires the PEI transmission area information broadcasted in the cell C1 while the terminal 10 serves in the cell C1 [Examiner’s Note: First, C1 is the last cell as Para. 0098]. Nagano [Para. 0082], Subsequently, the terminal 10 reselects the cell C2 and acquires the PEI transmission area information broadcasted in the cell C2 [Examiner’s Note: Next, the terminal moves to C2 as FIG. 4 shows. Since the terminal reselects C2, C2 is the camping cell while C1 is the last cell. Therefore, the last release message is not received from the camping cell]. Since the serving cell (cell C2) is not the last cell, the terminal 10 assumes that the PEI is not transmitted while the terminal 10 servers in the cell C2, and does not monitor PEI), the PEI is not monitored in the camped cell (Nagano [Para. 0082], Subsequently, the terminal 10 reselects the cell C2 and acquires the PEI transmission area information broadcasted in the cell C2. Since the serving cell (cell C2) is not the last cell, the terminal 10 assumes that the PEI is not transmitted while the terminal 10 servers in the cell C2, and does not monitor PEI).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Liu, so that UE does not monitor PEI if the last release message is not from camping cell, as taught by Nagano. The modification would have provided appropriate control in the transmission and reception of the PEI information in consideration of the balance between the reduction in power consumption of the terminal and the increase in the consumption amount of the wireless resource (Nagano [Para. 0072]).
For claim 8, Liu and Nagano teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the PEI configuration comprises at least one of: a first parameter indicating a number of paging occasions (POs) per PEI occasion; a second parameter indicating a payload size of downlink control information (DCI); a third parameter indicating a frame offset related to PEI; or a fourth parameter related to subgroup configuration (Liu [Para. 0059], the network side device may subgroup terminals that monitor a same PO, and indicate, based on the PEI, a terminal subgroup that is paged. Liu [Para. 0063], In a case that a target condition is met, a terminal uses at least one of a PEI or a paging subgroup in a current cell. Liu [Para. 0071], the target condition is that the terminal receives a first indication, where the first indication is used to indicate that at least one of the PEI or the paging subgroup is used only in a last used cell of the terminal, and the current cell is a cell in which the terminal is recently released or suspended. Liu [Para. 0086], in a case that the terminal receives the first indication included in the system message, the first indication may be used to indicate that the paging subgroup is used only in the last used cell [Examiner’s Note: The first indication is the fourth parameter]).
For claim 9, Liu teaches a user equipment (UE) for monitoring paging in a wireless communication system ([Para. 0005], a paging indication apparatus, a terminal, and a network side device), the UE ([FIG. 7], terminal 700) comprising: a transceiver ([FIG. 7], radio frequency unit 701); and at least one processor connected with the transceiver ([FIG. 7], processor 710 and radio frequency unit 701) and configured to: receive, a latest radio resource control (RRC) release message ([Para. 0165], A terminal receives an RRC message such as a release message), receive, from a camped cell, system information including paging early indication (PEI) configuration ([Para. 0013 and 0014], a network side device sends a system message to a terminal in a current cell. [Para. 0072], that the terminal is in a non-connected state in the current cell includes: [Para. 0073], the terminal is released in the current cell; or [Para. 0075], the terminal enters the idle state or the inactive state from the connected state in the current cell. [Para. 0139], before the terminal uses the PEI in the current cell, the terminal receives a system message including [Para. 0142], a message used to indicate whether the current cell is a last used cell; and [Para. 0143], a first indication, whether the PEI is used only in a last used cell of the terminal); identify whether a parameter is configured via the system information ([Para. 0086], in a case that the terminal receives the first indication included in the system message. The first indication may be used to indicate that the PEI is used only in the last used cell), wherein the parameter indicates that the UE monitors PEI only if the latest received RRC release message is from the camped cell ([Para. 0068], The current cell may be a cell on which the terminal currently camps. [Para. 0070], the current cell is a cell in which the terminal is recently released. [Para. 0087], in a case that the terminal receives a first indication, and the first indication is used to indicate that the PEI is used only in a last used cell of the terminal, if the current cell is indicated as a last used cell, the terminal uses PEI in the current cell); if the parameter is not configured via the system information ([Para. 0087], if the system message by the terminal in the current cell does not include a first indication, that is, it is not determined whether the PEI is used only in a last used cell, the terminal may use the PEI in the current cell), monitoring PEI in the camped cell ([Para. 0139], before the terminal uses the PEI in the current cell, the terminal receives a system message [Examiner’s Note: The current cell is the camped cell in which the terminal receives system information]. [Para. 0087], if the system message by the terminal in the current cell does not include a first indication, that is, it is not determined whether the PEI is used only in a last used cell, the terminal may use the PEI in the current cell).
Although teaching that the terminal uses PEI in the current cell in case the terminal receives a first indication that is used to indicate PEI is used only in a last used cell and the current cell is indicated as the last used cell ([Para. 0087]), Liu does not explicitly teach if the parameter is configured via the system information, monitor PEI in the camped cell in case that the latest received RRC release message is received from the camped cell. However, Nagano more specifically teaches if the parameter is configured via the system information, monitor PEI in the camped cell in case that the latest received RRC release message is received from the camped cell.
Nagano is directed to providing terminal, base station, and wireless communication method. More specifically, Nagano teaches and if the parameter is configured via the system information ([Para. 0094] and [FIG. 5], In Step S100, the terminal 10 serving in the cell C1 acquires the system information transmitted from the base station 20-1. The system information includes configuration information about the PEI. [Para. 0095], the PEI transmission area information may be included in the PEI configuration information. [Para. 0096], The PEI configuration information may be included in the SIB1. [Para. 0114], SIB1 includes the PEI configuration information, and the PEI transmission area information (lastUsedCellOnly) may be included in the PEI configuration information [Examiner's Note: The PEI transmission area information (lastUsedCellOnly) is the parameter]), monitor PEI in the camped cell in case that the latest received RRC release message is received from the camped cell ([Para. 0046], the “serving cell” may be referred to as a “camping cell”. [Para. 0075], the last cell may be referred to as a cell in which the terminal 10 has last received the RRC release message. [Para. 0093] and [FIG. 5], the terminal 10 is in a connected state and serves in the cell C1. [Para. 0094, 0095 and 0114], In Step S100, the terminal 10 serving in the cell C1 acquires the system information transmitted from the base station 20-1 including the PEI transmission area information such as lastUsedCellOnly. [Para. 0097], In Step S101, the terminal 10 receives the RRC release message and then transitions to the idle state or the inactive state, and stores that the last cell is the cell C1. [Para. 0098], In Step S102. In a case in which the serving cell corresponds to the transmission of the PEI (for example, in a case in which the system information includes the PEI configuration information), the terminal 10 may monitor the PEI in accordance with the “method based on the broadcast information of the serving cell”. [Para. 0079], In a case in which the serving cell corresponds to the PEI transmission area indicated by the PEI transmission area information broadcasted in the serving cell, the terminal 10 assumes that the PEI information is transmitted in the serving cell. [Para. 0080], In this case, in a case in which the serving cell is the last cell, the terminal 10 assumes that the PEI is transmitted in the serving cell. Meanwhile, in a case in which the serving cell is not the last cell, the terminal 10 assumes that the PEI is not transmitted in the serving cell. [Para. 0081] and [FIG. 4], First, the terminal 10 acquires the PEI transmission area information broadcasted in the cell C1 while the terminal 10 serves in the cell C1. Since the serving cell (cell C1) is the last cell, the terminal 10 assumes that the PEI is transmitted while the terminal 10 serves in the cell C1, and monitors the PEI).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Liu, so that UE monitors PEI when the last release message is received from the camping cell, as taught by Nagano. The modification would have provided appropriate control in the transmission and reception of the PEI information in consideration of the balance between the reduction in power consumption of the terminal and the increase in the consumption amount of the wireless resource (Nagano [Para. 0072]).
Claims 10-11 and 16 are apparatus claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 2-3 and 8. Therefore, claims 10-11 and 16 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 2-3 and 8.
For claim 17, Liu and Nagano teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the parameter is lastUsedCellOnly information (Nagano [Para. 0094] and [FIG. 5], In Step S100, the terminal 10 serving in the cell C1 acquires the system information transmitted from the base station 20-1. The system information includes configuration information about the PEI. Nagano [Para. 0095], the PEI transmission area information may be included in the PEI configuration information. [Para. 0096], The PEI configuration information may be included in the SIB1. Nagano [Para. 0114], SIB1 includes the PEI configuration information, and the PEI transmission area information (for example, lastUsedCellOnly) may be included in the PEI configuration information).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Liu, so that the PEI transmission area information indicating the serving cell corresponds to the PEI transmission area is lastUsedCellOnly, as taught by Nagano. The modification would have provided appropriate control in the transmission and reception of the PEI information in consideration of the balance between the reduction in power consumption of the terminal and the increase in the consumption amount of the wireless resource (Nagano [Para. 0072]).
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US20240422738A1, hereinafter Liu) in view Nagano et al. (US20240397482A1, hereinafter Nagano), and further in view of MediaTek (3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #117 electronic R2-2203901, hereinafter MediaTek).
For claim 4, Liu and Nagano teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the latest received RRC release message is received while the UE is in an RRC connected state (Nagano [Para. 0093] and [FIG. 5], the terminal 10 is in a connected state and serves in the cell C1. Nagano [Para. 0097], In Step S101, the terminal 10 receives the RRC release message and then transitions to the inactive state), and wherein the method further comprises: transitioning to an RRC inactive state based on receiving the latest received RRC release message (Nagano [Para. 0097], In Step S101, the terminal 10 receives the RRC release message and then transitions to the inactive state. Nagano [Para. 0098], In Step S102. The terminal 10 may monitor the PEI in accordance with the “method based on the broadcast information of the serving cell”. Nagano [Para. 0082], Subsequently, the terminal 10 reselects the cell C2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Liu, so that UE transitions to the inactive state after receiving the last RRC release message, as taught by Nagano. The modification would have provided appropriate control in the transmission and reception of the PEI information in consideration of the balance between the reduction in power consumption of the terminal and the increase in the consumption amount of the wireless resource (Nagano [Para. 0072]).
Although teaching receiving RRC release message, transitioning to inactive state and reselecting another cell, Liu and Nagano do not explicitly disclose and reselecting the camped cell after transitioning to the RRC inactive state.
MediaTek teaches and reselecting the camped cell after transitioning to the RRC inactive state ([Page 2, the first discussion point under section 2.1], A UE may reselect to another cell and then reselect back to the last used cell, while keeping Idle/Inactive. [Page 3, response to the discussion point from Xiaomi], If UE reselect to another cell and performed a RRC release and then reselect back to the original cell).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Liu and Nagano, so that the UE reselects to another cell and reselects back to the original cell while in inactive state, as taught by MediaTek. The modification would have allowed the UE to either save complexity or take profit of PEI form network (MediaTek [Page 4, first paragraph]).
Claim 12 is apparatus claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 4. Therefore, claim 12 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 4.
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US20240422738A1, hereinafter Liu) in view Nagano et al. (US20240397482A1, hereinafter Nagano), and further in view of Awad et al. (US20240397572A1, hereinafter Awad).
For claim 5, Liu and Nagano teach the method of claim 1. Although teaching monitoring PEI only if the last release messaged is received from the camping cell, Liu and Nagano do not explicitly disclose further comprising: initiating a small data transmission (SDT) procedure in the camped cell while the UE is in an RRC inactive state; identifying that the SDT procedure is completed upon receiving the latest received RRC release message including suspend configuration; and continuing in the RRC inactive state in the camped cell.
Awad is directed to providing methods, communications devices, and infrastructure equipment. More specifically, Awad teaches further comprising: initiating a small data transmission (SDT) procedure in the camped cell while the UE is in an RRC inactive state ([Para. 0055], scheme for the initiation of SDT transmissions on the uplink, originating from a mobile UE in the inactive state. [Para. 0068] and [FIG. 4B], a UE starts msgA transmission 56 of a PRACH preamble and associated PUSCH for SDT in the current cell. [Para. 0069], when a gNB receives 56 msgA it identifies this as an SDT initiation. [Para. 0072], subsequent UL and DL SDT with dynamic scheduling can take place 54 as required while the UE remains in the INACTIVE state [Examiner’s Note: The UE has been in inactive state in the current cell]. [Para. 0017], FIGS. 4A and 4B illustrate how uplink small data transmissions (SDT) may be performed by a user equipment (UE) using random access (RACH) schemes while the UE is in an inactive state), identifying that the SDT procedure is completed upon receiving the latest received RRC release message including suspend configuration ([Para. 0072], once SDT is completed, and neither the gNB or UE have any further small data to transmit, the gNB can choose to keep the UE in RRC_INACTIVE state by sending RRC Release with suspend indication); and continuing in the RRC inactive state in the camped cell ([Para. 0072], the gNB can choose to keep the UE in RRC_INACTIVE state by sending RRC Release with suspend indication. [Para. 0068], a UE starts PRACH preamble and associated PUSCH for SDT in the current cell).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Liu and Nagano, so that the UE can initiate small data transmission and identify the completion, as taught by Awad. The modification would have allowed the system to more efficiently support connectivity for a wide range of devices associated with different applications and different characteristic data traffic profiles and requirements (Awad [Para 0006])
Claim 13 is apparatus claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 5. Therefore, claim 13 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 5.
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US20240422738A1, hereinafter Liu) in view of in view Nagano et al. (US20240397482A1, hereinafter Nagano) and Awad et al. (US20240397572A1, hereinafter Awad), and further in view of MediaTek (3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #117 electronic R2-2203901, hereinafter MediaTek).
For claim 6, Liu, Nagano and Awad teach the method of claim 5. The references further teach wherein the latest received RRC release message is received while the UE is in an RRC connected state (Nagano [Para. 0093] and [FIG. 5], the terminal 10 is in a connected state and serves in the cell C1. Nagano [Para. 0097], In Step S101, the terminal 10 receives the RRC release message and then transitions to the inactive state), and wherein the method further comprises: transitioning to an RRC idle state based on receiving the latest received RRC release message (Nagano [Para. 0097], In Step S101, the terminal 10 receives the RRC release message and then transitions to the idle state. Nagano [Para. 0098], In Step S102. The terminal 10 may monitor the PEI in accordance with the “method based on the broadcast information of the serving cell”. Nagano [Para. 0082], Subsequently, the terminal 10 reselects the cell C2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Liu and Awad, so that UE transitions to the inactive state after receiving the last RRC release message, as taught by Nagano. The modification would have provided appropriate control in the transmission and reception of the PEI information in consideration of the balance between the reduction in power consumption of the terminal and the increase in the consumption amount of the wireless resource (Nagano [Para. 0072])
Although teaching receiving RRC release message, transitioning to idle state and reselecting another cell, Liu, Nagano and Awad do not explicitly disclose and reselecting the camped cell after transitioning to the RRC inactive state.
MediaTek teaches and reselecting the camped cell after transitioning to the RRC inactive state ([Page 2, the first discussion point under section 2.1], A UE may reselect to another cell and then reselect back to the last used cell, while keeping Idle/Inactive. [Page 3, response to the discussion point from Xiaomi], If UE reselect to another cell and performed a RRC release and then reselect back to the original cell).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Liu, Nagano and Awad, so that the UE reselects to another cell and reselects back to the original cell while in idle state, as taught by MediaTek. The modification would have allowed the UE to either save complexity or take profit of PEI form network (MediaTek [Page 4, first paragraph]).
Claim 14 is apparatus claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 6. Therefore, claim 14 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 6.
Conclusion
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417