DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (CN 108022713 A).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses an electromagnet comprising:
a support (see the drawing below);
an electrical winding (3) comprising a plurality of turns wound around the support (see the drawing below);
an electronic circuit which comprises a flexible printed circuit board (5) on which there are arranged one or more electronic components (6-9) and which is wound, at least in part, directly onto said electrical winding (3);
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Support )]
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses:
at least one coil (3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 108022713 A) in view of Hattori et al. (US 5,825,270).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose the ends of the electrical winding are soldered directly onto the flexible printed circuit board.
Hatton discloses an electromagnetic solenoid comprising:
the ends of the electrical winding are soldered directly onto the flexible printed circuit board (see col. 6, lines 65-67, and col. 8, lines 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to solder the electrical winding directly onto the flexible printed circuit board as taught by Halton with Chen’s device for the purpose of applying the current to the exciting coil of the electromagnetic solenoid.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 108022713 A) in view of Lai et al. (US 6,149,050).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose the flexible printed circuit board is provided with or comprises a double-sided layer of adhesive tape.
Lai discloses a device comprising the comprises the temporary fixture beneath the PC board, preferably by double-sided adhesive tape, (see col. 1, lines 63-67 and col. 2, lines 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the double-side adhesive tape as taught by Lai with chen’s device for the purpose of saving cost and time.
Regarding claim 8, Chen and Brocchi disclose the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose a tape wound around the outer surface of the electrical winding.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the tape as taught by Lai to wound around the outer surface of Chen’s winding for the purpose of suitability of the intended use, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/12/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the REMARKS:
Page 1, applicant argued that:
“Regarding claim 1, the prior art does not teach or render obvious "a flexible printed circuit board on which there are arranged one or more electronic components and which is wound, at least in part, directly onto said electrical winding" as recited therein”.
This argument is not found to be persuasive, because Chen clearly discloses the electronic component (6) and which is wound, at least in part, directly onto said electrical winding (3).
Conclusion
/Lisa Nhung Homza/
Patent Examiner - Art Unit 2837
August 7, 2026
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837