DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 and 12-14 are currently under examination. Claims 6-11 and 15-20 are withdrawn from consideration. Claim 1 is amended.
Previous Grounds of Rejection
In the light of the amendments, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter with respect to claims 1-5 and 12-14 is withdrawn.
In the light of the amendments, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, with respect to claims 1-5 and 12-14 is withdrawn.
New grounds of rejections are set forth below.
New Grounds of Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (CN 108440487 A, published on 08/24/2018; Machine-generated English translation is attached).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou et al. teach a method for preparing cyclic carbonate comprising adding an epoxide compound such as epichlorohydrin (Example 1), a pyrrole quaternary ammonium salt compound having the formula below (claim 7 and [0025]) in a stainless reaction kettle (the instant claimed reactor), introducing CO2, keeping the pressure in the kettle is 0.1 MPa, slowly raising the temperature to 35 0C, reacting for 48 hours, cooling to room temperature, slowly removing the pressure, decompressing and distilling the obtained liquid to obtain cyclic carbonate (Examples 1, 5 and 7):
As we see above, the N,N-dimethyl-pyrrolidinium bromide corresponds to the instant claimed the catalyst having the formula (1), wherein the instant formula (a) as being a pyrrolidinium ring, R as being methyl groups, and X as being bromide.
Regarding claims 2-5, as discussed above, the N,N-dimethyl-pyrrolidinium bromide taught by Zhou et al. corresponds to the instant claimed compound, wherein the instant formula (a) as being a pyrrolidinium ring, R as being methyl groups, and X as being bromide.
Regarding claim 12, the epoxide compound taught by Zhou et al. comprises ethylene oxide which corresponds to the instant formula (3), wherein R2=R3=H.
Regarding claim 13, Zhou et al. teach a molar ratio of reactant of epoxide to the pyrrole quaternary ammonium salt compound catalyst is 2000:1, which reads on the instant claimed the catalyst to the epoxide compound is 0.5 x10-3 :1 Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further evidenced by Yu et al. (CN 101429435 A (application number CN200810236993.7), Machine-generated English translation is attached ; entirely incorporated by reference through Zhou et al., paragraph [0035]).
Regarding claim 14, although the method taught by Zhou et al. do not specifically disclose the pressure under 1 MPa and a temperature 100-200 0C as per applicant claim 14, Yu et al. teach a method of making cyclic carbonate at a temperature 50-150 0C and under the pressure is 1-10 atmospheric pressure (about 0.1-1 MPa) (claim 2, Example 1).
The temperature and pressure overlap the instant claimed ranges. The references differ from Applicant's recitations of claims by not disclosing identical ranges. However, the reference discloses "overlapping" ranges and overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
YUN . QIAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1732
/YUN QIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738