DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Claims 3, 12,13, 16 and 18 are amended.
Claim 23 is new claim.
Claims 3, 5-23 are pending.
Response to arguments
With respect to Applicant’s remarks filed on 01/30/2026; Applicant's “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
Applicant remarks:
Fliegl, Gongate and Sugitani either alone or in combination, do not teach or suggest all the claimed features as set forth in amended independent claims 3,12 and 13.
Office Response:
Please see new mapping above, specifically the mapping for the independent claims.
With respect to the claim rejections 35 U.S.C. § 103, applicants “Amendment and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant has amended the independent claim and these amendments have changed the scope of the original application and the Office has supplied new grounds for rejection attached below in the FINAL office action and therefore the prior arguments are considered moot. However, even though applicant has amended the scope of the claims and the Office has provided new mapping of cited prior art below, the Office is still using most of the same cited prior art, thus the Office will attempt to address all remarks that remain relevant.
Applicant further argues that the other independent claims which recite similar features are allowable and the dependent claims are also allowable since they depend on allowable subject and the Office respectfully disagrees. It is the Office's stance that all of the claimed subject matter has been properly rejected; therefore, the Office's respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-13,16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over EP2899101A1 to Fliegl (herein after” Fliegl”) in view of US20190249913A1 to Gongate et al. (herein after “Gongate”) and WO 2018210865 A1 to Aschaber et al. (herein after “Aschaber”).
Regarding claim 3, Fliegi discloses A, the trailer comprising:
(see Fliegi at least para [0002] Vehicle trailers can be connected to a towing vehicle via a coupling device and pulled by the latter. For example, semi-trailers have in the front area a support plate with a king pin), the kingpin comprising: an integrated sensor arranged (see Fliegi at least para[0009] According to the present invention, a king pin for attachment to a semi-trailer has a pin body which can be releasably brought into engagement with a fifth wheel coupling on the towing vehicle side and a sensor device which is arranged on the pin body ) to measure a force applied to the kingpin (see Fliegi at least para[0024] the spring device is connected to the sensor mechanism and can transmit the force applied by the contact element to the sensor mechanism), and a data connection arranged to transmit data of a force measured by the integrated sensor (See Fliegi at least para[0068] The king pin 40 illustrated by way of example in FIGS. 3 to 5 can furthermore have a control unit which receives and processes the signals detected by the sensor device 60 .The control unit may then generate signals based on the received signals, which are then transmitted to different devices to control the operation of the train), a control unit arranged to receive the data of the force measured by the integrated sensor; (see Fliegi para [0068] The king pin 40 illustrated by way of example in FIGS. 3 to 5 can furthermore have a control unit which receives and processes the signals detected by the sensor device 60; see Fliegi [0024] On the other hand, the spring device is connected to the sensor mechanism and can transmit the force applied by the contact element to the sensor mechanism.)
However, Fliegi does not teach a trailer in the form of a transport engineless refrigeration unit, comprising a refrigeration unit, a battery arranged to power the refrigeration unit, control unit. Nevertheless, Gongate same field of endeavor teaches A trailer in the form of a transport engineless refrigeration unit (See Gongate Transport refrigeration unit), a refrigeration unit (See Gongate Transport refrigeration unit); a battery arranged to power the refrigeration unit (See Gongate para[0019] generating electrical power by the condenser fan motor to charge the battery of the transport refrigeration unit via the battery charging circuit.); a battery arranged to power the refrigeration unit (See Gongate para[0019] generating electrical power by the condenser fan motor to charge the battery of the transport refrigeration unit via the battery charging circuit.) , the control unit (See Gongate controller) ,
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Fliegi’s kingpin with sensor device with Gongate’s Transport refrigeration unit with a renewable energy source and method of operation that measure a state of charge of battery to make the tractor efficient and convenient by at least in-part determination of the selection of the plurality of energy source selection (see Gongate para[0014]).
However, Fliegi does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach the integrated sensor of the kingpin, a generator arranged to generate power from an axle of the trailer to charge the battery, wherein the control unit is configured to control when the generator generates the power and[[/or]] to what magnitude the generator generates the power based at least in part on the data of the force measured by the integrated sensor of the kingpin. Nevertheless, Aschaber same field of endeavor teaches the integrated sensor of the kingpin (See Aschaber para[0027] The semi-trailer 100 may include one or more sensors mechanically communicating with the king pin 121) ; and
a generator arranged to generate power from an axle of the trailer to charge the battery (See Aschaber para[0027] The semitrailer 100 may have at least one (rechargeable) battery 123 and at least one electric motor 124, which may also be operated as a generator, and at least one control unit 125;see Aschaber para[0029] The electric motor 124 may be mechanically connected to at least one wheel or at least one axle of the semitrailer 100 and configured to exert a drive torque or a braking torque on the wheel or axle of the semitrailer 100.) , wherein the control unit is configured to control when the generator generates the power and[[/or]] to what magnitude the generator generates the power based at least in part on the data of the force measured by the integrated sensor of the kingpin (See Aschaber para[0006] A control unit is designed to control the electric motor; para[0027] one or more sensors, the sensor 122 is shown, which is exemplarily mounted on an upper side 132 (see FIGS. 6 and 7) of the kingpin 121 in FIG. Via the sensor 122, strains or forces occurring on the kingpin 121 can be measured while the semitrailer 100 is running, Abstract A control unit is designed to actuate the electric motor, wherein, on the basis of the data determined by the at least one sensor, a driving state of the trailer is determined).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Fliegi’s kingpin with sensor device with Aschaber’s integrated sensors, generator to generate power form the axle of the trailer to charge the battery in order to allow to save costs for operating their fleet and at the same time to increase the flexibility of the fleet (See para[0002]).
Regarding claim 5, Fliegi, Gongate and Aschaber remain applied as Claim 3. Fliegi discloses an accelerometer configured to measure acceleration of the trailer and/or a clinometer configured to measure an incline of the trailer, wherein the control unit is configured to control when the generator generates power and/or to what magnitude the generator generates power based at least in part on a measured acceleration of the trailer and/or a measured incline of the trailer(see Fliegi at least para [0011] If, for example, a deceleration of the trailer combination is detected, the recuperation system can be controlled in such a way that the kinetic energy of the semi-trailer is stored, for example electrically, hydraulically or pneumatically. If an acceleration of the trailer is then detected, the recuperation system can be controlled in such a way that the stored energy is used to drive the semi-trailer, for example via an electric motor which is arranged on the semi-trailer and drives a wheel axle of the semi-trailer and thus assists the towing vehicle in accelerating the trailer).
Regarding claim 6, Fliegi, Gongate and Aschaber remain applied as Claim 3. Fliegi discloses a trailer comprising: a speedometer configured the measure a speed of the trailer (see Fliegi para 0079] The control unit may receive the signals from the sensor units 62, 64 and the angle sensor unit 170, 270 and generate signals based thereon in consideration of other signals indicating, for example, the running speed of the towing vehicle); and/or a brake sensor configured to detect a status of a brake of the trailer(see Fliegi [0079] The control unit may receive the signals from the sensor units 62, 64 and the angle sensor unit 170, 270 and generate signals based thereon in consideration of other signals indicating, for example, the running speed of the towing vehicle, the steering amount of the steering wheel of the towing vehicle, the degree of operation of the accelerator or brake pedal ), wherein the control unit is configured to control when the generator generates power and/or to what magnitude the generator generates power based at least in part on a measured speed of the trailer and/or a status of the brake of the trailer (see Fliegi at least para [0011] If, for example, a deceleration of the trailer combination is detected, the recuperation system can be controlled in such a way that the kinetic energy of the semi-trailer is stored, for example electrically, hydraulically or pneumatically. If an acceleration of the trailer is then detected, the recuperation system can be controlled in such a way that the stored energy is used to drive the semi-trailer, for example via an electric motor which is arranged on the semi-trailer and drives a wheel axle of the semi-trailer and thus assists the towing vehicle in accelerating the trailer).
Regarding claim 7, Fliegi, Gongate and Aschaber remain applied as Claim 3. Fliegi discloses a trailer comprising: a weight sensor to measure the mass of trailer (see Fliegi para 0079] The control unit may receive the signals from the sensor units 62, 64 and the angle sensor unit 170, 270 and generate signals based thereon in consideration of other signals indicating, for example, the running speed of the towing vehicle, the steering amount of the steering wheel of the towing vehicle, the degree of operation of the accelerator or brake pedal, or the current weight of the semi-trailer 10), wherein the control unit is configured to control when the generator generates power and/or to what magnitude the generator generates power based at least in part on the mass of the trailer (See Fliegi at least para [0068] The king pin 40 illustrated by way of example in FIGS. 3 to 5 can furthermore have a control unit which receives and processes the signals detected by the sensor device 60. The control unit can furthermore be designed to receive signals from the towing vehicle, which signals indicate, for example, the speed of the towing vehicle, the steering angle of the steering wheel and the degree of actuation of the accelerator or brake pedal. The control unit may then generate signals based on the received signals, which are then transmitted to different devices to control the operation of the train).
Regarding claim 8, Fliegi, Gongate and Aschaber remain applied as Claim 3. Fliegi teaches kingpin with sensor device that attached with a semi-trailer. However, Fliegi does not teach a sensor configured to measure a state of charge of battery. Nevertheless, Gongate same field of endeavor teaches a trailer comprising: a sensor configured to measure a state of charge of battery, wherein the control unit is configured to control when the generator generates power and/or to what magnitude the generator generates power based at least in part on a measured state of charge of the battery ( see Gongate at least para [0014] In the alternative or additionally thereto, in the foregoing embodiment, the controller includes an energy source selection module configured to receive a battery charge level signal from a battery charge sensor to at least in-part determine the selection of the plurality of energy source selection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Fliegi’s kingpin with sensor device with Gongate’s trailer with a sensor that measure a state of charge of battery to make the tractor efficient and convenient by at least in-part determination of the selection of the plurality of energy source selection (see Gongate para[0014]).
Regarding claim 9, Fliegi, Gongate and Aschaber remain applied as Claim 3. Fliegi discloses a vehicle comprising a tractor and a trailer wherein the vehicle comprises: a data connection between the tractor and the trailer, and the tractor comprises: a speedometer configured the measure a speed of the tractor(see Fliegi at least para[0079]); and/or a brake sensor configured to detect a status of the brake of the tractor see Fliegi at least para[0079]);, wherein the speedometer and/or the brake sensor are connected to the control unit of the trailer via the data connection and the control unit is configured to control when the generator generates power and/or to what magnitude the generator generates power based at least in part on a measured speed of the tractor and/or a status of the brake of the tractor (See Fliegi at least para0012] In addition, the signals indicating the detected driving states of the semi-trailer can be transmitted to a controller of the towing vehicle, for example via a wired and/or a wireless communication connection, e.g. WLAN, Bluetooth or infrared, between the semi-trailer-side sensor device and the towing vehicle-side controller).
Regarding claim 10, Fliegi, Gongate and Aschaber remain applied as Claim 3. Fliegi discloses a vehicle wherein the tractor comprises: a fuel consumption sensor configured to measure fuel consumption of the tractor (See Fliegi para [0040] As a result, the towing vehicle can be supported when driving the tractor combination, which can lead to reduced fuel consumption and a lower demand for engine power of the towing vehicle) and/or a pedal position sensor configured to measure a position of an accelerator pedal, brake pedal or clutch (See Fliegi at least para[0019] the deceleration state by a signal indicating an actuation of the accelerator pedal of the towing vehicle being detected during the braking state), and the control unit is configured to control when the generator generates power and/or to what magnitude the generator generates power based at least in part on fuel consumption of the tractor and/or a pedal position (See Fliegi at least para[0019] This control of the different braking of the towing vehicle and of the semi-trailer can also be referred to as lead. In this case, the at least one first sensor unit can come into contact with the fifth wheel coupling).
Regarding claim 11, Fliegi, Gongate and Aschaber remain applied as Claim 3. Fliegi teaches kingpin with sensor device that attached with a semi-trailer. However, Fliegi does not teach a telematics unit arranged to send measurements/data to a remote server. Nevertheless, Gongate same field of endeavor teaches a vehicle comprising: a telematics unit arranged to send measurements/data to a remote server (see Gongate at least para[0041] Examples of parasitic loads may include the controller 82 and various sensors. The controller 82 may further include remote systems (e.g., a Telematics system) configured to maintain a wireless, two-way, communication with a segment of the controller 82 that may be local (i.e., proximate to the TRU 26)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Fliegi’s kingpin with sensor device with Gongate’s trailer with a sensor that measure a state of charge of battery to make the tractor efficient and convenient by at least in-part determination of the selection of the plurality of energy source selection (see Gongate para[0014]).
Regarding claim 12, Fliegi discloses A method of detecting force applied by a tractor to a trailer, the method comprising: providing a kingpin for connecting the trailer to the tractor (See Fliegi para[0002] semi-trailers have in the front area a support plate with a king pin, which can be detachably connected to a towing vehicle-side fifth wheel coupling. The trailer-side support plate rests on the towing vehicle-side fifth wheel plate after the pin has been snapped into the fifth wheel coupling. As a result, vertical supporting forces of the semi-trailer are conducted into the towing vehicle-side fifth wheel coupling plate), the kingpin comprising an integrated sensor arranged to measure a force applied to the kingpin (See Fliegi para[0010] With a king pin according to the invention and the sensor device provided thereon, one or more driving states of the semi-trailer can be detected during the travel of the train. On the basis of output signals of the sensor device arranged on the journal body, it is then possible, via a suitable controller such as a control device, to control the towing vehicle and/or the semi-trailer or systems attached thereto as a function of the detected driving state); measuring the force exerted on the kingpin using the integrated sensor (See Fliegi para[0023] If a force applied by the contact element to the sensor mechanism exceeds a predetermined force, the sensor mechanism generates a signal which indicates the respective driving state of the semi-trailer).
However, Fliegi does not teach the trailer comprising a refrigeration unit.
. Nevertheless, Gongate same field of endeavor teaches the trailer comprising a refrigeration unit (See Gongate Transport refrigeration unit), a refrigeration unit (See Gongate Transport refrigeration unit); a battery arranged to power the refrigeration unit (See Gongate para[0019] generating electrical power by the condenser fan motor to charge the battery of the transport refrigeration unit via the battery charging circuit.);,
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Fliegi’s kingpin with sensor device with Gongate’s Transport refrigeration unit with a renewable energy source and method of operation that measure a state of charge of battery to make the tractor efficient and convenient by at least in-part determination of the selection of the plurality of energy source selection (see Gongate para[0014]).
However, Fliegi does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach transmitting, using a data connection, data of the force measured by the integrated sensor, receiving, by a control unit of the trailer, the data of the force measured by the integrated sensor; providing a generator for generating power from an axle of the trailer to charge a battery of the trailer, determining, by the control unit, an optimal time for the generator to generate the power and an optimal magnitude of the power to generate based at least in part on the data of the force measured by the integrated sensor of the kingpin. Nevertheless, Aschaber same field of endeavor teaches transmitting, using a data connection, data of the force measured by the integrated sensor; (See Aschaber para[0006] A control unit is designed to control the electric motor; Abstract A control unit is designed to actuate the electric motor, wherein, on the basis of the data determined by the at least one sensor, a driving state of the trailer is determined)
receiving, by a control unit of the trailer, the data of the force measured by the integrated sensor; (See Aschaber para[0028] The values of the measured forces or measured strains can be forwarded by means of sensor signals to the control unit 125, which is supplied with energy by the battery 123, for example, and evaluates the incoming sensor signals of the sensor 122.)
providing a generator for generating power from an axle of the trailer to charge a battery of the trailer (See Aschaber para[0027] The semitrailer 100 may have at least one (rechargeable) battery 123 and at least one electric motor 124, which may also be operated as a generator, and at least one control unit 125;ara[0029] The electric motor 124 may be mechanically connected to at least one wheel or at least one axle of the semitrailer 100 and configured to exert a drive torque or a braking torque on the wheel or axle of the semitrailer 100.) ; and
determining, by the control unit, an optimal time for the generator to generate the power and an optimal magnitude of the power to generate based at least in part on the data of the force measured by the integrated sensor of the kingpin.(See Aschaber para[0057] The amount of power depends, of course, on how much the semitrailer 200 itself is braked , Aschaber does not expressly teach determine amount of time need to generate the power for the generator, it is obvious by an ordinary skill, to determine the amount of time need to generate power by the generator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Fliegi’s kingpin with sensor device with Aschaber’s integrated sensors, generator to generate power form the axle of the trailer to charge the battery in order to allow to save costs for operating their fleet and at the same time to increase the flexibility of the fleet (See para[0002]).
Regarding claim 13, Fliegi discloses A method of optimizing control of a trailer connected to a tractor, comprising: a kingpin comprising an integrated sensor arranged to measure a force applied to the kingpin (see Fliegi 0032] In another exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the king pin further comprises a control unit, which is connected to the sensor device)
providing a kingpin for connecting the trailer to the tractor (See Fliegi para[0016] For example, during an acceleration of the towing vehicle, the rear region of the kingpin in the forward direction of the semi-trailer comes into contact with the locking device of the fifth wheel coupling).
However, Fliegi does not teach a trailer in the form of a transport engineless refrigeration unit. Nevertheless, Gongate same field of endeavor teaches A trailer in the form of a transport engineless refrigeration unit (See Gongate Transport refrigeration unit), a refrigeration unit (See Gongate Transport refrigeration unit); a battery arranged to power the refrigeration unit (See Gongate para[0019] generating electrical power by the condenser fan motor to charge the battery of the transport refrigeration unit via the battery charging circuit.);,
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Fliegi’s kingpin with sensor device with Gongate’s Transport refrigeration unit with a renewable energy source and method of operation that measure a state of charge of battery to make the tractor efficient and convenient by at least in-part determination of the selection of the plurality of energy source selection (see Gongate para[0014]).
However, Fliegi does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach a data connection arranged to transmit data of the force measured by the integrated sensor, a control unit arranged to receive the data of the force measured by the integrated sensor; the integrated sensor of the kingpin; and a generator arranged to generate power from an axle of the trailer to charge the battery, the method comprising: determining, by the control unit, an optimal time for the generator to generate the power and an optimal magnitude of the power to generate based at least in part on the data of the force measured by the integrated sensor of the kingpin. Nevertheless, Aschaber same field of endeavor teaches a data connection arranged to transmit data of the force measured by the integrated sensor (See Aschaber para[0006] A control unit is designed to control the electric motor; Abstract A control unit is designed to actuate the electric motor, wherein, on the basis of the data determined by the at least one sensor, a driving state of the trailer is determined).;
a control unit arranged to receive the data of the force measured by the integrated sensor; (See Aschaber para[0028] The values of the measured forces or measured strains can be forwarded by means of sensor signals to the control unit 125, which is supplied with energy by the battery 123, for example, and evaluates the incoming sensor signals of the sensor 122.)
a generator arranged to generate power from an axle of the trailer to charge the battery(See Aschaber para[0027] The semitrailer 100 may have at least one (rechargeable) battery 123 and at least one electric motor 124, which may also be operated as a generator, and at least one control unit 125;ara[0029] The electric motor 124 may be mechanically connected to at least one wheel or at least one axle of the semitrailer 100 and configured to exert a drive torque or a braking torque on the wheel or axle of the semitrailer 100.), the method comprising:
determining, by the control unit, an optimal time for the generator to generate the power and an optimal magnitude of the power to generate based at least in part on the data of the force measured by the integrated sensor of the kingpin (See Aschaber para[0057] The amount of power depends, of course, on how much the semitrailer 200 itself is braked , Aschaber does not expressly teach determine amount of time need to generate the power for the generator, it is obvious by an ordinary skill, to determine the amount of time need to generate power by the generator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Fliegi’s kingpin with sensor device with Aschaber’s integrated sensors, generator to generate power form the axle of the trailer to charge the battery in order to allow to save costs for operating their fleet and at the same time to increase the flexibility of the fleet (See para[0002]).
Regrading claim 16, Fliegi, Gongate and Aschaber remain applied as Claim 3. Fliegi does not teach wherein the generator is rigidly coupled to a wheel axle of the trailer, and wherein the control unit is configured to adjust the magnitude of the power generated by the generator based on real-time force data received from the integrated sensor of the kingpin. Nevertheless, Aschaber same field of endeavor teaches wherein the generator is rigidly coupled to a wheel axle of the trailer (See Aschaber para[0027] The semitrailer 100 may have at least one (rechargeable) battery 123 and at least one electric motor 124, which may also be operated as a generator, and at least one control unit 125), and wherein the control unit is configured to adjust the magnitude of the power generated by the generator based on real-time force data received from the integrated sensor of the kingpin. (See Aschaber para[0006] A control unit is designed to control the electric motor; para[0027] The control unit 125 can determine based on the sensor signals, for example, a driving condition of the semitrailer 100 (or the driving state of the semitrailer 100 in combination with any towing vehicle) and possibly adjust with predefined limits and control the electric motor 124 depending on the determined driving condition).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Fliegi’s kingpin with sensor device with Aschaber’s integrated sensors, generator to generate power form the axle of the trailer to charge the battery in order to allow to save costs for operating their fleet and at the same time to increase the flexibility of the fleet (See para[0002]).
Regarding claim 17, Fliegi, Gongate and Aschaber remain applied as Claim 3. Fliegi teaches wherein the integrated sensor of the kingpin extends partway through the kingpin in an axial direction (see Fliegi para [0023] In a further exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the journal body of the king journal has at least one first bore, which extends preferably substantially radially inward from the lateral surface of the journal body), and wherein the sensor comprises a torque sensor configured to measure the force applied to the kingpin in a radial direction (see Fliegi para[0023] The contact element is furthermore designed to be able to be pressed into the journal body in the radial direction by the towing vehicle-side fifth wheel coupling. In addition, the at least one sensor unit further comprises a sensor mechanism arranged in the second bore. If a force applied by the contact element to the sensor mechanism exceeds a predetermined force, the sensor mechanism generates a signal which indicates the respective driving state of the semi-trailer).
Regarding claim 18, Fliegi, Gongate and Aschaber remain applied as Claim 3. However, Fliegi does not teach wherein the control unit is configured to control when the generator generates the power and to what magnitude the generator generates power further based at least in part on a change in a momentum of the trailer and an incline of a road. Nevertheless, Aschaber same field of endeavor teaches wherein the control unit is configured to control when the generator generates the power and to what magnitude the generator generates power further based at least in part on a change in a momentum of the trailer and an incline of a road. (see Aschaber para[0041] The measuring washers can absorb axially acting forces, and thus measure preload force and in particular changes in the preload force of the respective screw connection. During acceleration or deceleration (braking) acts between the semi-trailer 100 and tractor 200, a force FA, which acts on the kingpin 121 and causes a bending moment in this. The bending moment in turn results in a change of the biasing forces FBO, FBI, FB2 and FB3, which can be detected with the measuring washers 160, 161, 162, and 163. The signals from the measuring washers correlate with the driving situations of the trailer and thus allow conclusions about the driving condition of tractor and trailer. By measuring the preload forces of the screw connections between kingpin and semi-trailer so acceleration and deceleration of the semitrailer can be detected. With accurate measurement, even the magnitude of the acceleration or deceleration can be approximated. The signals of the measuring washers are sent to the control unit 125 in order to be able to control and regulate the drive of the trailer.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Fliegi’s kingpin with sensor device with Aschaber’s integrated sensors, generator to generate power form the axle of the trailer to charge the battery in order to allow to save costs for operating their fleet and at the same time to increase the flexibility of the fleet (See para[0002]).
Regarding claim 19, Fliegi, Gongate and Aschaber remain applied as Claim 3. Fliegi teaches kingpin with sensor device that attached with a semi-trailer. However, Fliegi does not teach wherein the control unit is configured to control the generator to generate the power further based in least in part on the measured state of charge being below a threshold. Nevertheless, Aschaber same field of endeavor teaches wherein the control unit is configured to control the generator to generate the power further based in least in part on the measured state of charge being below a threshold. (see Aschaber para[0059] The control unit 125 may then detect cornering based on the sensor signals or other measurement data (eg, when the lateral force FT or a corresponding lateral acceleration exceeds a predefined threshold) and, in response, switch the electric motor 124 to idle or generator mode , As a result, it can be prevented, for example, that the electric motor 124 pushes the semitrailer 100 out of the curve during engine operation in the curve.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Fliegi’s kingpin with sensor device with Aschaber’s integrated sensors, generator to generate power form the axle of the trailer to charge the battery in order to allow to save costs for operating their fleet and at the same time to increase the flexibility of the fleet (See para[0002]).
Regarding claim 20, Fliegi, Gongate and Aschaber remain applied as Claim 3. Fliegi teaches wherein the force measured by the integrated sensor of the kingpin is a vector force (see Fliegi para[0023] The contact element is furthermore designed to be able to be pressed into the journal body in the radial direction by the towing vehicle-side fifth wheel coupling. In addition, the at least one sensor unit further comprises a sensor mechanism arranged in the second bore. If a force applied by the contact element to the sensor mechanism exceeds a predetermined force, the sensor mechanism generates a signal which indicates the respective driving state of the semi-trailer).
Regarding claim 21, Fliegi, Gongate and Aschaber remain applied as Claim 3. Fliegi teaches control the power supplied based at least in part on the data of the force measured by the integrated sensor of the kingpin. (see Fliegi at least para[0024] the spring device is connected to the sensor mechanism and can transmit the force applied by the contact element to the sensor mechanism).
However, Fliegi does not teach wherein the control unit is configured to control the power supplied to the refrigeration unit. Nevertheless, Gongate teaches A trailer in the form of a transport engineless refrigeration unit (See Gongate Transport refrigeration unit), a refrigeration unit (See Gongate Transport refrigeration unit); a battery arranged to power the refrigeration unit (See Gongate para[0019] generating electrical power by the condenser fan motor to charge the battery of the transport refrigeration unit via the battery charging circuit.) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Fliegi’s kingpin with sensor device with Gongate’s Transport refrigeration unit with a renewable energy source and method of operation that measure a state of charge of battery to make the tractor efficient and convenient by at least in-part determination of the selection of the plurality of energy source selection (see Gongate para[0014]).
Regarding claim 22, Fliegi, Gongate and Aschaber remain applied as Claim 3. However, Fliegi does not teach wherein the control unit is configured to control the power supplied to the refrigeration unit based at least in part on a state of charge of the battery. Nevertheless, Gongate same field of endeavor teaches wherein the control unit is configured to control the power supplied to the refrigeration unit based at least in part on a state of charge of the battery .(See Gongate para[0014] In the alternative or additionally thereto, in the foregoing embodiment, the controller includes an energy source selection module configured to receive a battery charge level signal from a battery charge sensor to at least in-part determine the selection of the plurality of energy source selection.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Fliegi’s kingpin with sensor device with Gongate’s Transport refrigeration unit with a renewable energy source and method of operation that measure a state of charge of battery to make the tractor efficient and convenient by at least in-part determination of the selection of the plurality of energy source selection (see Gongate para[0014]).
Regarding claim 23, Fliegi, Gongate and Aschaber remain applied as Claim 3. However, Fliegi does not teach wherein the control unit is configured to control the generator such that the generator does not generate power to charge the battery when a cargo space of the trailer is empty. Nevertheless, Aschaber same field of endeavor teaches wherein the control unit is configured to control the generator such that the generator does not generate power to charge the battery when a cargo space of the trailer is empty (which implies the forces or bending moment is less then threshold when a cargo space of the trailer is empty, (see Aschaber para[0059] The control unit 125 may then detect cornering based on the sensor signals or other measurement data (eg, when the lateral force FT or a corresponding lateral acceleration exceeds a predefined threshold) and, in response, switch the electric motor 124 to idle or generator mode , As a result, it can be prevented, for example, that the electric motor 124 pushes the semitrailer 100 out of the curve during engine operation in the curve.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Fliegi’s kingpin with sensor device with Aschaber’s integrated sensors, generator to generate power form the axle of the trailer to charge the battery in order to allow to save costs for operating their fleet and at the same time to increase the flexibility of the fleet (See para[0002]).
However, Fliegi does not teach no power is required by the refrigeration unit. Nevertheless, Gongate same field of endeavor teaches no power is required by the refrigeration unit (See Gongate para[0019] determining if the transport refrigeration unit is at idle by the energy source selection module if the combustion engine generator is not available; electrically switching a condenser fan motor from receiving electrical power to a battery charging circuit if the transport refrigeration unit is at idle; back-driving the condenser fan motor via wind blowing through a condenser fan; and generating electrical power by the condenser fan motor to charge the battery of the transport refrigeration unit via the battery charging circuit.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Fliegi’s kingpin with sensor device with Gongate’s Transport refrigeration unit with a renewable energy source and method of operation that measure a state of charge of battery to make the tractor efficient and convenient by at least in-part determination of the selection of the plurality of energy source selection (see Gongate para[0014]).
Claim 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over Fliegl in view of Gongate , Aschaber and US20070103280A1 to Kanafani (herein after “Kanafani”).
Regarding claim 14, Fliegi, Gongate and Aschaber remain applied as claim 13. Fliegi discloses a method additionally based on any one or a combination of: a measured acceleration of the trailer(See Fliegi para[0054] a signal is generated indicating a running state of the semi-trailer 10, such as acceleration, deceleration, or advance); a measured incline of the trailer (see Fliegi para[0071] As a result of this forward movement of the tilting semi-trailer 10 caused by the inclination of the tilting trough 12 and the pouring process, the lateral surface of the king pin 40 comes into contact with the fifth wheel coupling 30 and the sensor device 60 (not shown in FIG. 6 ) can be actuated.); a measured speed of the trailer; a status of a brake of the trailer; a mass of the trailer; a measured state of charge of the battery; and power requirements of the transport engineless refrigeration unit (See Fliegi at least para[0068] The control unit can furthermore be designed to receive signals from the towing vehicle, which signals indicate, for example, the speed of the towing vehicle, the steering angle of the steering wheel and the degree of actuation of the accelerator or brake pedal).
However, Fliegi does not teach determining of an optimal time for the generator to generate power. Nevertheless, Kanafani same field of endeavor teaches a method wherein the determining of an optimal time for the generator to generate power and/or an optimal magnitude of power to generate (See Kanafani at least para [0016] In one embodiment, the towing load detection system 12 also includes a timer apparatus 20. The timer apparatus 20 is generally operable to measure the amount of time that the proximity sensors 16 detect the presence of the object 14.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Fliegi’s kingpin with sensor device with Kanafani’s determining of an optimal time to automatically regulate the transmission and control the cooling system.
Regarding claim 15, Fliegi, Gongate and Aschaber remain applied as claim 13. Fliegi discloses a method wherein a measured speed of the tractor; a status of the brake of the tractor; fuel consumption of the tractor; fuel level of the tractor; a position of an accelerator pedal, brake pedal or clutch of the tractor (See Fliegi at least para[0068] The control unit can furthermore be designed to receive signals from the towing vehicle, which signals indicate, for example, the speed of the towing vehicle, the steering angle of the steering wheel and the degree of actuation of the accelerator or brake pedal).
However, Fliegi does not teach determining of an optimal time for the generator to generate power. Nevertheless, Kanafani same field of endeavor teaches a method wherein the determining of an optimal time for the generator to generate power and/or an optimal magnitude of power to generate is additionally based on any one or a combination of (See Kanafani at least para [0016] In one embodiment, the towing load detection system 12 also includes a timer apparatus 20. The timer apparatus 20 is generally operable to measure the amount of time that the proximity sensors 16 detect the presence of the object 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Fliegi’s kingpin with sensor device with Kanafani’s determining of an optimal time to automatically regulate the transmission and control the cooling system.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAZIA AFRIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666