DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Panigrahi et al. US 20240294082.
Regarding claim 1, Panigrahi discloses a method for vehicle charging, comprising:
receiving a message indicating that a vehicle [par. 0021] is arriving at a charging facility at a first time [par. 0042: … central control system 80, notifies the robot 50 that each vehicle 20 requiring charging has arrived at the charging stations 40, thus arrival time is implicitly known. Also par. 0044: the time it takes for the robot to traverse the gantry is known];
identifying a charging spot [Fig. 1C, space next to each of charging stations 40, par. 0026] for the vehicle based on a current location of a robotic arm [Fig. 3 step 208, par. 0041: … At 208, the control algorithm, using the central control system 80, selects an available charging station 40 from a list of available charging stations 40 for each vehicle 20 requiring charging. Par. 0056 … robot sensors 56 may include a location sensor (e.g., an NFC sensor or UWB sensor) configured to generate location information of the robot 50. Par. 0038 …In one form, the localization system 70 is configured to localize the robots 50 relative to the vehicles 20 and/or the vehicles 20 relative to the robots 50. That is, the localization system 70 is configured to convert a robot-based position of the robot 50 to a vehicle-based position of the robot 50, a vehicle-based position of the vehicle 20 to a robot-based position of the vehicle 20, or a combination thereof], wherein the charging spot has a corresponding charging station [Fig. 1C, charging stations 40];
determining a second time at which the robotic arm [Fig. 1A, Fig. 1C; each robot 50 includes a robot arm or robotic arm 52, par. 0027] is scheduled to be at the charging spot, wherein the second time is based on the first time [Fig. 3, step 216 determine charge sequence implicitly takes into account the time the vehicle will be charged, par. 0042];
moving the robotic arm [Fig. 1A, Fig. 1C; each robot 50 includes a robot arm or robotic arm 52, par. 0027] to the charging spot, wherein the robotic arm arrives at the charging spot by approximately the second time [Fig. 3, step 220 move charger to corresponding vehicle]; and
using the robotic arm, automatically connecting a charging station plug [Fig. 1C, part of charging apparatus 42, par. 0026] with a charging port [Fig. 1A, charging port 34] on the vehicle [par. 0026, par. 0027: … each robot 50 includes a robot arm or robotic arm 52, an end of arm tool (EOAT) or end-effector 54, robot sensors 56, and a robot control system 58 configured to control the robotic arm 52 and the EOAT 54 to perform one or more automated tasks … not limited to, retrieving the electric charger 42 from the charging station 40 and moving the electric charger 42 proximate to the vehicle 20 (e.g., the charging port 34), removing the charging port cover 32 to insert the electric charger 42 into the charging port 34, among other automated tasks. Par. 0032. Fig. 3, step 220. See also: par. 0030].
Regarding claim 2, Panigrahi discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving status information from the vehicle, wherein the status information includes a current state of charge of the vehicle [par. 0041].
Regarding claim 7, Panigrahi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein moving the robotic arm comprises moving the robotic arm along a track in an overhead gantry system [Fig. 1A, gantry system 60 includes overhead gantry track 74 (Fig. 1C), par. 0030].
Regarding claim 8, Panigrahi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein moving the robotic arm comprises autonomously moving a wheeled base vehicle [Fig. 1C, robot base 64 on wheels 62] attached to the robotic arm [par. 0032].
Regarding claim 9, Panigrahi discloses a system for automated fleet charging, comprising:
a plurality of charging spots [Fig. 1C, space next to each of charging stations 40, par. 0026];
a plurality of charging stations [Fig. 1C, charging stations 40], each respective charging station corresponding to a respective charging spot, wherein each charging station has a charging plug [Fig. 1C, part of charging apparatus 42, par. 0026];
a gantry track [Fig. 1A, gantry system 60 includes gantry track 74 (Fig. 1C)] spanning the plurality of charging spots and positioned in close proximity to each of the charging stations [par. 0030];
a robotic arm [Fig. 1A, Fig. 1C; each robot 50 includes a robot arm or robotic arm 52, par. 0027] configured to travel along the gantry track, wherein the robotic arm is configured to move the charging plug [Fig. 1C, part of charging apparatus 42] at respective ones of plurality of charging stations [par. 0027: … each robot 50 includes a robot arm or robotic arm 52, an end of arm tool (EOAT) or end-effector 54, robot sensors 56, and a robot control system 58 configured to control the robotic arm 52 and the EOAT 54 to perform one or more automated tasks … not limited to, retrieving the electric charger 42 from the charging station 40 and moving the electric charger 42 proximate to the vehicle 20 (e.g., the charging port 34), removing the charging port cover 32 to insert the electric charger 42 into the charging port 34, among other automated tasks. Par. 0032. Fig. 3, step 220. See also: pars. 0026, 0040].
Regarding claim 10, Panigrahi discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the robotic arm is further configured to open a charging port on a vehicle [par. 0030].
Regarding claim 11, Panigrahi discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the robotic arm includes a head portion with a clasping mechanism [par. 0030].
Regarding claim 12, Panigrahi discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the clasping mechanism is one of a pincher and a robotic hand [par. 0030].
Regarding claim 13, Panigrahi discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the clasping mechanism is configured to clasp the charging plug, and the robotic arm is configured to connect the charging plug with a charging port on a vehicle and to disconnect the charging plug from a charging port on a vehicle [par. 0030].
Regarding claim 14, Panigrahi discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the gantry track is an overhead gantry track positioned above the plurality of charging spots such that the robotic arm can traverse the plurality of charging spots traveling along the gantry track [Fig. 1A, gantry system 60 includes overhead gantry track 74 (Fig. 1C), par. 0030].
Regarding claim 16, Panigrahi discloses a system for automated fleet charging, comprising:
a plurality of fleet vehicles [Fig. 1C, vehicle 20, pars. 0021, 0023, 0040] a dispatch service [par. 0039, central control system 80] in communication with each of the plurality of fleet vehicles, wherein the dispatch service is configured to transmit a message indicating that a first vehicle from the plurality of fleet vehicles is arriving at a charging facility at a first time [par. 0042: … central control system 80, notifies the robot 50 that each vehicle 20 (including for the first vehicle) requiring charging has arrived at the charging stations 40, thus arrival time is implicitly known. Also par. 0044: the time it takes for the robot to traverse the gantry is known];
the charging facility [par. 0025], including:
a plurality of charging spots [Fig. 1C, space next to each of charging stations 40, par. 0026];
a plurality of charging stations [Fig. 1C, charging stations 40], each respective charging station corresponding to a respective charging spot, wherein each charging station has a charging plug [Fig. 1C, part of charging apparatus 42, par. 0026];
a gantry track [Fig. 1A, gantry system 60 includes gantry track 74 (Fig. 1C)] spanning the plurality of charging spots and positioned in close proximity to each of the charging stations [par. 0030];
a robotic arm [Fig. 1A, Fig. 1C; each robot 50 includes a robot arm or robotic arm 52, par. 0027] configured to travel along the gantry track, wherein the robotic arm is configured to move the charging plug [Fig. 1C, part of charging apparatus 42] at respective ones of plurality of charging stations [par. 0027: … each robot 50 includes a robot arm or robotic arm 52, an end of arm tool (EOAT) or end-effector 54, robot sensors 56, and a robot control system 58 configured to control the robotic arm 52 and the EOAT 54 to perform one or more automated tasks … not limited to, retrieving the electric charger 42 from the charging station 40 and moving the electric charger 42 proximate to the vehicle 20 (e.g., the charging port 34), removing the charging port cover 32 to insert the electric charger 42 into the charging port 34, among other automated tasks. Par. 0032. Fig. 3, step 220. See also: pars. 0026, 0040].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 15 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose or suggest, “3. The method of claim 1, wherein the charging spot is a first charging spot, and further comprising: receiving a first flag for the first charging spot, wherein the first flag indicates a first service request for the robotic arm; and receiving a second flag for a second charging spot, wherein the second flag indicates a second service request for the robotic arm”. Claims 4-6 depend from 3 and would be allowable for the same reasons.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose or suggest, “15. The system of claim 9, wherein the robotic arm is further configured to: receive a first flag for a first charging spot, wherein the first flag indicates a first service request; receive a second flag for a second charging spot, wherein the second flag indicates a second service request; determine whether the second charging spot is between a current robotic arm location and the first charging spot; and when the second charging spot is between the current robotic arm location and the first charging spot, stop at the second charging spot to attend to the second service request before stopping at the first charging spot to attend to the first service request”.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose or suggest, “17. The system of claim 16, wherein the charging facility is configured to: identify a first charging spot from the plurality of charging spots for the first vehicle based on a current location of the robotic arm; and determine a second time at which the robotic arm is scheduled to be at the first charging spot, wherein the second time is based on the first time; communicate a message to the robotic arm including the second time and the first charging spot”. Claims 18-20 depend from 17 and would be allowable for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20240391420, US 20240336234, US 20210291693 belong to the instant assignee and are cited for background relevance only.
US 20190118782 discloses a mobile robot with an arm. The robotic arm may exchange energy modules with the electric vehicle. The robotic arm may exchange energy modules with the mobile robot. The robotic arm may exchange energy modules with a human user. The robotic arm may include an effector configured to mate with a corresponding handle of the energy modules. The effector may include one or more hooks configured to be inserted underneath the corresponding handle of the energy modules. The effector may be configured to actuate the corresponding handle of the energy modules from a first position into a second position, wherein the second position may unlock the energy modules from the electric vehicle. A computerized management system may electronically receive status information from the electric vehicle. The one or more storage racks in the enclosure may be further configured to store packages from another service, and the robotic arm may be configured to deliver the packages to a user of the electric vehicle.
US 9187004 discloses a system providing a driver of an electric vehicle with the ability to exchange a depleted battery with a charged battery. Information regarding the status of an electric battery is transmitted to service stations, and information is returned to a driver indicating the location of a service station with a charged battery. The driver enters the station and is automatically positioned next to a rotating carousel. A robotic arm removes the depleted battery from the vehicle and pulls it onto the carousel, which rotates and deposits the battery onto a return conveyor belt, which carries the battery to a transportation platform for movement to a battery rack for charging. The transportation platform removes a charged battery from the battery rack and carries it to an outgoing conveyor belt, which carries it to the carousel, which rotates until the battery is next to the vehicle for insertion by the robotic arm.
CN 212219928 discloses a mobile charging device, comprising: a mobile platform, a power battery mounted in the mobile platform, and a mechanical arm mounted on the surface of the mobile platform and a communication device. the mobile charging device, receiving the user service information through the communication device, then controlling the mobile charging device to move to the target position, the charging plug installed on the mechanical arm, providing charging service for the user. When the mobile charging device reaches the target position, the user pulls the mechanical arm, the charging plug is inserted into the device to be charged, such as charging interface of the electric vehicle, charging, in the charging process, the mobile charging device sends the updating state information and the charging data to the internet of things platform; so as to ensure the communication connection state when charging.
US 9056555 discloses a robotic electric vehicle charging device operable to automatically plug in an electric charging connector to charge the battery pack of an electrically powered vehicle. The driver of the vehicle proceeds with parking the vehicle as normal and operates the release latch of the charging door if so equipped. The robot then proceeds to locate the charging connector socket of the vehicle using video cameras. The robot then moves into a position where the charging connector can reach the charging connector on the vehicle. As soon as charging is complete, the robot disconnects from the vehicle and moves out of the way.
US 20230348122 disclose a gantry mounted robotic arm configured to load and unload one or more payloads, such as swapping a battery, from a drone, the robotic arm comprising: a central body portion; one or more arm sections configured to rotate with respect to the central body portion; one or more end effectors attached to respective end portions of the one or more arm sections; one or more unlocking mechanisms configured to unlock the one or more payloads from the drone; and at least one mechanism configured to remove the one or more payloads from the drone.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be contacted at 571-272-2312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RICHARD V MURALIDAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859