DETAILED ACTION
The present application, 18296895, US 20230323301, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claims 1-24 are pending. Claims 12-19 and 21-24 are withdrawn. Claims 1-11 and 20 are examined.
Priority
The filing receipt, mailed 6/1/23, states that this application, 18296895, filed 4/6/2023, claims benefit of 63/327,888, filed 04/06/2022 and claims benefit of 63/429,886, filed 12/02/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/8/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slukvin, US 20200385676, Klemm, 2021, “Investigating mechanisms of directed neutrophil migration in vitro,” PhD. Dissertation, (Molecular and Cellular Pharmacology), University of Wisconsin-Madison, Morishima, 2014, Haematologica, vol 99, pages 19 to 27,and Massena, 2015, BLOOD, vol 126, pages 2016 to 2026.
Slukvin, US 20200385676, teaches throughout the publication and abstract, and at para [0004], [0012] method of producing modified, mature neutrophils from pluripotent stem cells, the method comprising: transiently introducing exogenous ETV2 mRNA in human pluripotent cells. Slukvin, US 20200385676, teaches, at para [0014], culturing the ETV2- pluripotent stem cells in serum-free culture medium fibroblast growth factor 2 (FGF2), to produce a population of ETV2-hemogenic endothelial cells (ETV2-HECs); culturing the ETV2-HECs in serum-free and xeno-free culture medium (b) comprising granulocyte-macrophage colony-stimulating factor (GM-CSF) and FGF2 for a sufficient time to produce myeloid progenitors; culturing the myeloid progenitors in serum-free and xeno-free culture medium (c) comprising granulocyte - colony stimulating factor (G-CSF) and retinoic acid receptor agonist for a time sufficient to differentiate the myeloid progenitors into a population of modified mature neutrophils; and at para [0012]-[0013], teaches and fairly suggests (d) selecting mature neutrophils from the population of modified mature neutrophils.
Slukvin, US 20200385676, e.g., at reference [0012], [0130], teaches UM171, as in instant claim 2; Am580, as in instant claim 6; at para [0077], teaches CD16 and CD15, as in instant claim 9.
Slukvin, US 20200385676, does not teach stem cells having (a) inhibited expression of protein tyrosine phosphatase 1B (PTP1b). Slukvin, does not teach media comprising vascular endothelial growth factor-165 (VEGF-165).
Klemm, throughout the publication and abstract, at pp. 7-10, teaches PTP1B, as in instant claim 3; at pp. 64-65, teaches CRISPR/Cas9-mediated knockout of PTP1B in human bone marrow-derived iPSC cells (Figure 3-5), as in instant claims 3-5. Klemm, at p. 78, teaches CRISPR/Cas9-mediated knockout of PTP1B increases motility in iPSC-derived neutrophils (Figure 3-6).
Morishima, at p. 20, left column, para 5, teaches neutrophil differentiation of induced pluripotent stem (iPS) cells treated with vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF) 165 (40 ng/ml, on Day 4, and replaced on day 6.
Massena, throughout the publication and abstract, teaches Vascular endothelial growth factor A (VEGF-A) recruits neutrophils. Massena, at p. 2017, left column, last paragraph, at pp. 2017-2018, bridging paragraph, teaches recombinant murine VEGF-A165, which, is taken to read on both VEGF-165, as in the instant claims, and VEGF-A, as in Massena. Massena teaches
It would have been prima facie obvious before the filing date of the instant application for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined stem cells having (a) inhibited expression of protein tyrosine phosphatase 1B (PTP1b) and media comprising vascular endothelial growth factor-165 (VEGF-165), as taught by Klemm and Morishima, respectively in methods of producing modified, mature neutrophils from pluripotent stems cells, as described by Slukvin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to have combined stem cells having (a) inhibited expression of protein tyrosine phosphatase 1B (PTP1b) in the method of Slukvin, US 20200385676, in order increase motility in iPSC-derived neutrophils, as taught by Klemm. One of ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to use media comprising vascular endothelial growth factor-165 (VEGF-165), as exemplified by Morishima, because Vascular endothelial growth factor A (VEGF-A) recruits neutrophils, as taught by Massena.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1-11 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over reference claims 1-3, 6 of Slukvin, U.S. Patent No. 12,410,401, in view of Slukvin, US 20200385676, Klemm, 2021, “Investigating mechanisms of directed neutrophil migration in vitro,” PhD. Dissertation, (Molecular and Cellular Pharmacology), University of Wisconsin-Madison, Morishima, 2014, Haematologica, vol 99, pages 19 to 27,and Massena, 2015, BLOOD, vol 126, pages 2016 to 2026.
Slukvin, U.S. Patent No. 12,410,401, (US ‘401, Patent), in reference claims 1-6, claims methods of producing in vitro derived CD 16+ CD neutrophils from pluripotent stem cells, the method comprising: introducing exogenous ETV2 mRNA in human pluripotent cells.
Slukvin, (US ‘401, Patent), does not claim method comprising mature neutrophil cells having (a) inhibited expression of protein tyrosine phosphatase 1B (PTP1b), ETV2-HEC, GM-CSF, FGF2. Slukvin, does not teach media comprising vascular endothelial growth factor-165 (VEGF-165).
Slukvin, does not teach stem cells having (a) inhibited expression of protein tyrosine phosphatase 1B (PTP1b). Slukvin, does not teach media comprising vascular endothelial growth factor-165 (VEGF-165).
Slukvin, US 20200385676, teaches, at para [0014], culturing the ETV2- pluripotent stem cells in serum-free culture medium fibroblast growth factor 2 (FGF2), to produce a population of ETV2-hemogenic endothelial cells (ETV2-HECs); culturing the ETV2-HECs in serum-free and xeno-free culture medium (b) comprising granulocyte-macrophage colony-stimulating factor (GM-CSF) and FGF2 for a sufficient time to produce myeloid progenitors; culturing the myeloid progenitors in serum-free and xeno-free culture medium (c) comprising granulocyte - colony stimulating factor (G-CSF) and retinoic acid receptor agonist for a time sufficient to differentiate the myeloid progenitors into a population of modified mature neutrophils; and at para [0012]-[0013], teaches and fairly suggests (d) selecting mature neutrophils from the population of modified mature neutrophils.
Slukvin, , US 20200385676 e.g., at reference [0012], [0130], teaches UM171, as in instant claim 2; Am580, as in instant claim 6; at para [0077], teaches CD16 and CD15, as in instant claim 9.
Klemm, throughout the publication and abstract, at pp. 7-10, teaches PTP1B, as in instant claim 3; at pp. 64-65, teaches CRISPR/Cas9-mediated knockout of PTP1B in human bone marrow-derived iPSC cells (Figure 3-5), as in instant claims 3-5. Klemm, at p. 78, teaches CRISPR/Cas9-mediated knockout of PTP1B increases motility in iPSC-derived neutrophils (Figure 3-6).
Morishima, at p. 20, left column, para 5, teaches neutrophil differentiation of induced pluripotent stem (iPS) cells treated with vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF) 165 (40 ng/ml, on Day 4, and replaced on day 6.
Massena, throughout the publication and abstract, teaches Vascular endothelial growth factor A (VEGF-A) recruits neutrophils. Massena, at p. 2017, left column, last paragraph, at pp. 2017-2018, bridging paragraph, teaches recombinant murine VEGF-A165, which, is taken to read on both VEGF-165, as in the instant claims, and VEGF-A, as in Massena. Massena teaches
It would have been prima facie obvious before the filing date of the instant application for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined stem cells having (a) inhibited expression of protein tyrosine phosphatase 1B (PTP1b) and media comprising vascular endothelial growth factor-165 (VEGF-165), as taught by Klemm and Morishima, respectively in methods of producing modified, mature neutrophils from pluripotent stems cells, as claimed by Slukvin, (US ‘401, Patent).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to have combined stem cells having (a) inhibited expression of protein tyrosine phosphatase 1B (PTP1b) in the method of Slukvin, US 20200385676, in order increase motility in iPSC-derived neutrophils, as taught by Klemm. One of ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to use media comprising vascular endothelial growth factor-165 (VEGF-165), as exemplified by Morishima, because Vascular endothelial growth factor A (VEGF-A) recruits neutrophils, as taught by Massena.
Conclusion
1. Claims are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 1-11 and 20 are rejected.
MARK L. SHIBUYA
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1631
/MARK L SHIBUYA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1631