DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abedini (US 20190394738 A1) hereafter Abedini.
Regarding Claim 1:
Abedini discloses:
A user equipment apparatus ([¶0281] FIG. 17 shows a diagram of a system 1700 including a device 1705 that supports a timing alignment timer in a wireless communication network in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 1705 may be an example of or include the components of device 1405, device 1505, or a MT or UE-F as described herein. In some examples, the device 1705 may correspond to a UE 115) comprising: at least one processor; ([¶0288] The processor 1740) and at least one memory storing instruction which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the user equipment apparatus ([¶0287] The memory 1730 may include RAM and ROM. The memory 1730 may store computer-readable, computer-executable code 1735 including instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to perform various functions described herein.) at least to: establish a connection with a control network node via a serving cell,([¶0128] In the control plane, the Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol layer may provide establishment, configuration, and maintenance of an RRC connection between a UE 115 and a base station 105 or core network 130 supporting radio bearers for user plane data) the control network node supporting at least one of central unit-control plane (CU-CP) functionality or a layer 3 protocol of a radio access network, wherein the serving cell is supported by a source network node which supports at least one of distributed unit (DU) functionality or a layer 2 protocol of the radio access network; ([¶0006] each AN may include a centralized unit (CU) (e.g., associated with a donor base station) and one or more distributed units (DUs) (e.g. also associated with the donor base station) for scheduling communications with mobile terminals (MTs) [¶0148] CUs of IAB donor nodes 210 may host layer 3 (L3)… DUs may host lower layer, such as layer 1 (L1) and layer 2 (L2)) receive, from at least one of the control network node or the source network node, a plurality of timing advance (TA) cell configurations for a set of timing advance (TA) cells,([¶0156] UEs 115 may receive one or more TA values and timing configurations associated with access and backhaul links of the IAB network) wherein the plurality of TA cell configurations comprises a TA-associated random access (RA) configuration for TA acquisition for a specific TA cell of the plurality of TA cells, ([¶0036] receiving the indication of resources and configurations may include operations, features, means, or instructions for receiving a periodic contention free random access (CFRA) resource and configuration, or a PUCCH resource and configuration, or a combination thereof.) wherein the set of TA cells comprises at least one of: first TA cells comprising candidate target cells with which the UE may connect,([¶0096] In some cases, disparate cell deployments may include different propagation delays associated with data communication and therefore may require different uplink TAs. Therefore, one or more serving cells with the same estimated uplink TA and downlink timing reference cell may correspond to a timing advance group (TAG)) ([¶0102] The TA request may include a request for an updated TA command and/or timer reset, or a request for configured resource allocation to perform CFRA on the first (e.g., target) link.)
Regarding Claim 2:
Abedini discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein the TA-associated RA configuration is specified in at least one of: a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order from the source network node, a media access control element (MAC-CE), or a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration. ([¶0171] At 540, DU 520-b of IAB donor 505-b may transmit DCI to MT 515 of IAB node 505-a on PDCCH. The DCI may be formatted to include scheduling for subsequent PDSCH transmission (e.g., DCI format 1_1). In addition, DU 520-b may configure an indicator within the DCI format to indicate the presence of a TA command within a MAC CE of the PDSCH transmission. The indicator may include a single bit or multi-bit indicator value configured to provide notification to MT 515 of an updated TA command for processing during PDSCH reception of the MAC CE. Based on the indication, MT 515 may receive and process the formatted DCI transmission and anticipate reception of the TA command within a MAC CE of the PDSCH. Alternatively, the DCI may provide the TA command.)
Regarding Claim 3:
Abedini discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein the TA-associated RA configuration comprises a contention-free random access (CFRA) configuration. [¶0036] receiving the indication of resources and configurations may include operations, features, means, or instructions for receiving a periodic contention free random access (CFRA) resource and configuration)
Regarding Claim 4:
Abedini discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein the TA-associated RA configuration comprises at least one of: a timer on validity of CFRA resources corresponding to the CFRA configuration, the timer comprising at least one of: a time length, a timer trigger, a timer starting point, a timer stopping point, conditions for timer reset, or conditions for timer restart; ([¶0009] UE may perform a contention-free random access (CFRA) procedure following expiration of a timer associated with a TA of an established communication link. The CFRA procedure may include transmission of a CFRA preamble by the MT of the base station or the UE on resources pre-configured by a parent node…The pre-configured CFRA resources may be allocated by the parent node of the network and delivered to the MT of the base station or the UE via RRC signaling prior to the timer expiration.)
Regarding Claim 5:
Abedini discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the user equipment apparatus at least to: ([¶0287] The memory 1730 may include RAM and ROM. The memory 1730 may store computer-readable, computer-executable code 1735 including instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to perform various functions described herein.) generate at least one of: information regarding TA cell channel quality ([¶0125] the UE 115 may report to the base station 105 an indication of the signal received with a highest signal quality, or an otherwise acceptable signal quality) or ([¶0179] the TA request may correspond to initiation of a CFRA procedure, including transmission of a CFRA preamble.
Regarding Claim 6:
Abedini discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the user equipment apparatus at least to: ([¶0287] The memory 1730 may include RAM and ROM. The memory 1730 may store computer-readable, computer-executable code 1735 including instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to perform various functions described herein.) receive, from a TA network node which supports the specific TA cell and supports at least one of distributed unit (DU) functionality or a layer 2 protocol of a radio access network, a random access response (RAR). ([¶0192] At 750, DU 720-b may then transmit the TA response to MT 715. For example, DU 720-b may transmit a MAC RAR, including a TA command value, to MT 715 on PDSCH resources of the communication link. The TA command value of the MAC RAR may be based on the RACH procedure initiated by MT 715. The TA command value may be indicated according to a 11-bit index value (i.e., value 0-1282). MT 715 may receive the PDSCH transmission and process the MAC RAR for connection re-establishment over the communication link.
Regarding Claim 7:
Abedini discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein the RAR comprises at least one of: ([¶0207] For example, DU 820-b may transmit a MAC RAR, including a TA command value)
Regarding Claim 8:
Abedini discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the user equipment apparatus at least to: ([¶0287] The memory 1730 may include RAM and ROM. The memory 1730 may store computer-readable, computer-executable code 1735 including instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to perform various functions described herein.) after a cell switch to a target cell among the candidate target cells,([¶0102] the IAB node may transmit a TA request for the associated TAG on a secondary backhaul link, or using a second RAT. The TA request may include a request for an updated TA command and/or timer reset, or a request for configured resource allocation to perform CFRA on the first (e.g., target) link. In response to the request, the IAB node may receive a response, the response including one or more of a configuration to perform CFRA, a TA command, or indication that the IAB node may continue communication on the target link with a timer reset) perform at least one of: ([¶0216] MT 915 may transmit the TA command request as part of a MAC CE, or as a data payload within a PUCCH transmission or lower layer (e.g., L1, L2) signaling mechanism on a Uu interface between MT 915 and DU)
Regarding Claim 9:
Abedini discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein a RAR reception configuration for the RAR is included in at least one of: the TA-associated RA configuration or a PDCCH order for the UE, the RAR reception configuration enabling the UE to determine where to decode the RAR. ([¶0177] For example, DU 620-b may configure preambleTransMax and/or RARwindow parametrizations specific to the CFRA procedure of the resource allocation or configuration.)
Regarding Claim 10:
Abedini discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the user equipment apparatus at least to: ([¶0287] The memory 1730 may include RAM and ROM. The memory 1730 may store computer-readable, computer-executable code 1735 including instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to perform various functions described herein.) receive a TA command in downlink control information (DCI). ([¶0171] the DCI may provide the TA command.)
Regarding Claim 11:
Abedini discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Abedini discloses:
wherein the TA-associated RA configuration ([¶0102] The TA request may include a request for an updated TA command and/or timer reset, or a request for configured resource allocation to perform CFRA on the first (e.g., target) link.) comprises gaps, for performing RF tuning and RA preamble transmission, ([¶0009] The CFRA procedure may include transmission of a CFRA preamble by the MT of the base station or the UE on resources pre-configured by a parent node (e.g., alternative intermediary base station, donor base station, etc.) The pre-configured CFRA resources may be allocated by the parent node of the network and delivered to the MT of the base station or the UE via RRC signaling prior to the timer expiration. ) based on at least one of: an RA occasion of the specific TA cell being on a different frequency than an active frequency band of the UE with the serving cell, or a RAR reception configuration specifying a frequency for receiving RAR that is a different frequency than the active frequency band of the UE with the serving cell. ([¶0009] The configured CFRA resources may be based on any combination of reference signaling provided by the MT of the base station or the UE through uplink grants on the communication link. Based on the allocated resources, the MT of the base station or the UE may perform CFRA preamble transmission without potential service delays (e.g., waiting for DCI scheduling of CFRA).)
Regarding Claim 12:
Abedini discloses:
A processor-implemented method ([¶0011] A method of wireless communication) in a user equipment apparatus, the processor- implemented method comprising: establishing a connection with a control network node via a serving cell,([¶0128] In the control plane, the Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol layer may provide establishment, configuration, and maintenance of an RRC connection between a UE 115 and a base station 105 or core network 130 supporting radio bearers for user plane data) the control network node supporting at least one of central unit-control plane (CU-CP) functionality or a layer 3 protocol of a radio access network, wherein the serving cell is supported by a source network node which supports at least one of distributed unit (DU) functionality or a layer 2 protocol of the radio access network; ([¶0006] each AN may include a centralized unit (CU) (e.g., associated with a donor base station) and one or more distributed units (DUs) (e.g. also associated with the donor base station) for scheduling communications with mobile terminals (MTs) [¶0148] CUs of IAB donor nodes 210 may host layer 3 (L3)… DUs may host lower layer, such as layer 1 (L1) and layer 2 (L2)) receive, from at least one of the control network node or the source network node, a plurality of timing advance (TA) cell configurations for a set of timing advance (TA) cells,([¶0156] UEs 115 may receive one or more TA values and timing configurations associated with access and backhaul links of the IAB network) wherein the plurality of TA cell configurations comprises a TA-associated random access (RA) configuration for TA acquisition for a specific TA cell of the plurality of TA cells, ([¶0036] receiving the indication of resources and configurations may include operations, features, means, or instructions for receiving a periodic contention free random access (CFRA) resource and configuration, or a PUCCH resource and configuration, or a combination thereof.) wherein the set of TA cells comprises at least one of: first TA cells comprising candidate target cells with which the UE may connect,([¶0096] In some cases, disparate cell deployments may include different propagation delays associated with data communication and therefore may require different uplink TAs. Therefore, one or more serving cells with the same estimated uplink TA and downlink timing reference cell may correspond to a timing advance group (TAG)) or other TA cells which are requested by at least one of the candidate target cells and which the UE may connect with in case the UE connects with the at least one of the candidate target cells; and acquire TA for the specific TA cell based on the TA-associated RA configuration and an associated TA acquisition request. ([¶0102] The TA request may include a request for an updated TA command and/or timer reset, or a request for configured resource allocation to perform CFRA on the first (e.g., target) link.)
Claims 13-22 are functionally equivalent to claims 2-11 and are therefore rejected under the same rationale as claims 2-11 respectively.
Conclusion
/HUGH MARK ASHLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/Peter G Solinsky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463