DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190072479 (herein Yanik) in view of US 20110128026 (Skaling).
Regarding claim 1, Yanik teaches A corrosion detection system, comprising:
a wire formed as a single conductor and coated with an electrically insulative sheathing, wherein the wire is disposed around an exterior surface of a pipe (electrical conductor having a first end in the cavity, [0018], Fig. 1; [0012] and [0025] teaches electrical conductor extends into electrically insulative material; [0036] teaches sensor is capable of conveying a signal with a single wire),
the pipe comprising a pipe wall and a pipe liner that lines an inside surface of the pipe wall (metal pipe, liner, [0008]);
a sensor electrically coupled to the wire (sensor, [0011]), wherein the sensor is disposed distal from the exterior surface of the pipe (an exterior second end for connection to a voltage source connected to the sensor, [0011]; see Figure 1 showing ‘electrical connection to sensor’), the sensor configured to:
generate a voltage in the wire (voltage source connected to electrical conductors, [0011]); and
detect a change in a property of the wire caused by exposure of the wire to a corrosive fluid that has permeated or leaked through the pipe liner and breached the pipe wall (when corrosion has thinned the interior of the pipe sufficiently to admit fluid into the cavity, and enough of that fluid has been absorbed to render the insulative material conductive, the circuit is completed, allowing current to flow through the wire pair, [0028]; Fig. 1 shows cavity would be past the liner which corresponds to location of corrosion of the present invention).
Further regarding claim 1, Yanik not teach, “wire disposed in a groove extending circumferentially around an exterior surface of a pipe.” However, Skaling teaches it is known in the art to wrap conductor 17 within a groove around exterior of tube 16 ([0026], Fig. 2-4).
Regarding claim 2, Yanik teaches wherein the wire is disposed within the groove at a depth that corresponds to a corrosion allowance limit of the pipe (cavity is formed so that its deepest portion is at a predetermined spacing from the inner surface. This spacing is marked “corrosion allowance” in the drawing, and indicates how much of the thickness of the pipe may be corroded before the corrosion indicator detects the corrosion and generates an alarm, [0024]).
Regarding claim 3, Yanik teaches wherein the corrosion allowance limit is measured from an interface between the pipe wall and the pipe liner (This spacing is marked “corrosion allowance” in the drawing, [0024]; Fig. 1 shows corrosion allowance between liner and pipe cavity).
Regarding claim 4, Yanik teaches wherein the pipe wall is formed of metal and the pipe liner is formed of a polymeric material (the pipe is made of metal, [0022]; liner is made of a non-metallic material. In an embodiment, the non-metallic material comprises a polymeric material, [0023]).
Regarding claim 5, Yanik teaches wherein the groove is disposed less than twelve inches in a longitudinal direction from a vent that extends through the pipe wall (In an embodiment, the corrosion indicator is at least about 0.175 inches from a vent, at least about 0.5 inches from a vent, at least about 1 inch from a vent, at least about 3 inches from a vent, at least about 6 inches from a vent, at least about 8 inches from a vent, [0031]).
Regarding claim 6, Yanik teaches a control system communicatively coupled to the sensor, wherein the sensor is configured, responsive to detecting the change in the property of the wire, to transmit a signal to the control system, and wherein the control system is configured, responsive to receiving the signal from the sensor, to generate a warning or alarm indicating regarding corrosion (an alarm or other indication of the corrosion condition may be generated at the location of the corrosion indicator itself, at the pipe, or at a remote location such as an operation room for the pipe system. For instance, a message may be transmitted electronically to a remote display or processing device, [0029]).
Regarding claim 7, Yanik teaches wherein the change in the property of the wire comprises a change in at least one of resistivity or current flow of the wire (when corrosion has thinned the interior of the pipe sufficiently to admit fluid into the cavity the circuit is completed, allowing current to flow through the wire pair, [0028]).
Regarding claim 8, Yanik teaches wherein the electrically insulative sheathing is configured to corrode when exposed to the corrosive fluid or to absorb the corrosive fluid (insulative material, [0012]; the electrical conductors become electrically connected when the insulative material absorbs a predetermined amount of the fluid, [0012]).
Regarding claim 9, Yanik does not teach, “wherein the groove forms a helical coil that makes more than one circumferential loop around the exterior surface of the pipe.” However, Skaling teaches corresponding helical groove ([0026], Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Yanik teaches a second wire, the second wire electrically coupled to the sensor (second electrical conductor connected to the sensor, [0011]). Yanik does not teach, “disposed in a second groove extending circumferentially around the exterior surface of the pipe.” However, Skaling further teaches helical conductors 17 and 18 located in grooves on the exterior surface of the tube 16 such that the helical conductors are flush with the exterior surface of the tube ([0026]).
Regarding claim 11, Yanik teaches A piping system (Fig. 1), comprising:
a pipe configured to convey one or more fluids, the pipe comprising a pipe wall and a pipe liner that lines an inside surface of the pipe wall (metal pipe, liner, [0008]);
a wire formed as a single conductor and coated with an electrically insulative sheathing
a sensor electrically coupled to the wire (sensor, [0011]), the sensor configured to:
generate a voltage in the wire (voltage source connected to electrical conductors, [0011]); and
detect a change in a property of the wire caused by exposure of the wire to a corrosive fluid that has permeated or leaked through the pipe liner and breached the pipe wall, entering the groove (when corrosion has thinned the interior of the pipe sufficiently to admit fluid into the cavity, and enough of that fluid has been absorbed to render the insulative material conductive, the circuit is completed, allowing current to flow through the wire pair, [0028]; Fig. 1 shows cavity would be past the liner which corresponds to location of corrosion of the present invention).
Further regarding claim 11, Yanik does not teach, “a groove extending circumferentially around an exterior surface of a pipe”, or “a wire disposed within the groove.” However, Skaling teaches it is known in the art to wrap conductor 17 within a groove around exterior of tube 16 ([0026], Fig. 2-4).
Regarding claims 12-19, the same limitations are found in claims 2-9, respectively, and may be rejected in the same manner. Refer to rejections for claims 2-9 above.
For the above claims 1-19, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to change the shape of the cavity of Yanik into the groove of Skaling for at least the purpose of detecting corrosion in other location of a pipe or tube. Furthermore, based on MPEP 2144.04 IV B, changes of shape is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed was significant. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Note that according to § MPEP 2144, “Office personnel may invoke legal precedent as a source of supporting rationale when warranted and appropriately supported.”
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanik and Skaling as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of US 20220065726 (herein Mcnab).
Regarding claim 20, Yanik and Skaling do not teach, “a reinforcing sleeve disposed around the exterior surface of the pipe and covering the groove, the reinforcing sleeve formed of a rigid material and provided to reinforce a structural integrity of the pipe.” However, Mcnab teaches it is known in the art to protect pipes 100 using tensile armour layer 105 ([0047]). Mcnab further teaches in [0047] that tensile armour layer is used to sustain tensile loads and internal pressure, and is made of metal or carbon steel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to incorporate the armour of Mcnab into the combination of Yanik and Skaling. One would be motivated to do so for at least the purpose of resisting internal and external pressure and mechanical crushing loads ([0047]).
Claim(s) 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanik and Skaling as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of US 4863572 (herein Jasinski).
Regarding claims 21-22, Yanik and Skaling do not teach, “wherein the sensor is coupled to a stand-off pipe, and the stand-off pipe is coupled to the pipe.” However, Jasinski teaches it is known in the art to have a stand-off pipe connected to a corrosion probe (see pipe in Fig. 1 connected perpendicularly to pipe 14 and coaxial with prob 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to incorporate the stand-off pipe of Jasinski into the combination of Yanik and Skaling. One would be motivated to do so for at least the purpose of allowing permeate chemical species into the cavity and into contact with the sensor (Yanik, [0014]). Yanik then teaches, in [0018], and electrically insulative material through which the ends of conductors extend. Sheath is not
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Firstly, Applicant states, “Yanik does not disclose a wire formed as a single conductor and coated with an electrically insulative sheathing, wherein the wire is disposed in a groove extending circumferentially around an exterior surface of a pipe.” The Office disagrees. Yanik teaches a wire (as electrical connection to sensor in Fig. 1), and even though the figure shows two conductors, the instant invention does not explicitly exclude the inclusion of a second conductor. Further still, Yanik still teaches, in [0036], that the sensor is capable of conveying a signal with a single wire. Yanik further teaches the conductor is disposed in an electrically insulating material in [0019]. Even then, sheathing a conductor is known and common practice in the art, as taught by US 20190072479 (herein Himeno, previously cited in Office Action filed 5/5/2025; see wire 20 and insulative layer 22, Fig. 2). The Office has previously conceded that Yanik does not teach, “wherein the wire is disposed in a groove extending circumferentially around an exterior surface of a pipe,” but the Office presents Skaling to teach Yanik’s deficiencies regarding this limitation as presented above.
Additionally, Applicant states, “Yanik does not disclose detecting a property change in a wire caused by exposure to fluid that has leaked through the pipe liner and entered the groove.” The Office disagrees—the broadly interpreted change in ‘property’ of wire changes when it becomes electrically connected to the absorbed fluid, as taught in [0012].
Furthermore, Applicant states, “Yanik is silent with regard to a liner and monitoring fluid that has permeated or leaked through that liner and into a groove.” The Office disagrees. Yanik teaches the fluid will have leaked past the liner and between the liner and the outer pipe, in [0026]. Fig. 1 clearly shows cavity, where the monitoring occurs, between the liner and the outer pipe.
Conclusion
/WALTER L LINDSAY JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/PHILIP T FADUL/
Examiner, Art Unit 2852