DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Remarks
This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed 03/23/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 03/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 20200383006 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 10, 12-13, 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3917218 A1 to T MOBILE USA INC (“T Mobile”) [provided by Applicant] in view of U.S. Publication No. 2020/0383006 A1 to TRIVISONNO et al. (“Trivisonno”) and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0212013 A1 to CHEN et al. (“Chen”).
As to claim 1, T Mobile discloses a method (figs. 6, 11, para. 0098), comprising:
transmitting, by a radio access network node comprising at least one processor to a user equipment, a bandwidth part configuration comprising first bandwidth part
resource information corresponding to a first bandwidth part and second
bandwidth part resource information corresponding to a second bandwidth part
(para. 98, slice manager 116 [fig. 1, of a network access point 104 (i.e. radio access network node), fig. 10, having a processor 1002] can determine a first combination of a network slice 112 (i.e. resource information) and a bandwidth part 114 for a first service, and also determine a second combination of a network slice 112 (i.e. resource information) and a bandwidth part 114 for a second service, fig. 11, instruct UE to use combination of bandwidth part and network slice for service; fig. 6, first BWP corresponds to first network slice, second BWP corresponds to second network slice; para. 0032, simultaneously (i.e. both are part of a communication session));
establishing, by the radio access network node with the user equipment, a
communication session comprising a first traffic flow and a second traffic flow, wherein the establishing of the communication session comprises transmitting, by the radio access network node to the user equipment, a primary bandwidth
part indication indicative to the user equipment to receive the first traffic flow
according to the first bandwidth part resource information (fig. 6, first BWP corresponds to first network slice, second BWP corresponds to second network slice; para. 0062 eMBB services (i.e. first traffic flow) and URLLC services (i.e. second traffic flow) over different slices; fig. 11, para. 0096-0097, slice manager sends an RRC connection reconfiguration message to the UE that indicates BWP and network slice for traffic for each service request);
transmitting, by the radio access network node to the user equipment, first
traffic, corresponding to the first traffic flow, via a first bandwidth part data
resource indicated by the first bandwidth part resource information (para. 0032, The UE 102 may be served by one or more network slices 112 associated with the network access point 104. As a non-limiting example, in some cases the telecommunication network may provide a first network slice 112 for eMBB services, and a second network slice 112 for URLLC services. In this example, if the UE 102 is using an URLLC service and an eMBB service simultaneously, the UE 102 may be served by both the first network slice 112 and the second network slice 112 simultaneously via the network access point 104; fig. 6, first BWP corresponds to first network slice, second BWP corresponds to second network slice);
transmitting, by the radio access network node to the user equipment, a
secondary bandwidth part indication indicative to the user equipment to receive
the second traffic flow according to the second bandwidth part resource
information (fig. 6, first BWP corresponds to first network slice, second BWP corresponds to second network slice; para. 0062 eMBB services and URLLC services (i.e. second traffic flow) over different slices; fig. 11, para. 0096-0097, slice manager sends an RRC connection reconfiguration message to the UE that indicates BWP and network slice for traffic for each service request); and
transmitting, by the radio access network node to the user equipment, second
traffic, corresponding to the second traffic flow, via a second bandwidth part
data resource indicated by the second bandwidth part resource information (para. 0032, The UE 102 may be served by one or more network slices 112 associated with the network access point 104. As a non-limiting example, in some cases the telecommunication network may provide a first network slice 112 for eMBB services, and a second network slice 112 for URLLC services. In this example, if the UE 102 is using an URLLC service and an eMBB service simultaneously, the UE 102 may be served by both the first network slice 112 and the second network slice 112 simultaneously via the network access point 104; fig. 6, first BWP corresponds to first network slice, second BWP corresponds to second network slice).
T Mobile does not expressly disclose a multi-flow communication session, corresponding to execution of an application, wherein the secondary bandwidth part indication comprises a single bit to be indicative to the user equipment of at least one decoding operation to be performed with respect to the second bandwidth part to receive the second traffic flow.
Trivisonno discloses at para 0012: the term “session” comprises an association between a UE and a Data Network (DN) through a mobile network system that provides connectivity, i.e. the ability to exchange data between the UE and the DN. A session can be a PDU session. Further at para. 0013: the term “application” comprises software entities and/or computer programs installed and executed on the UE and/or on application servers of the DN used to provide services to an end user. And at para. 0015: In an implementation form of the first aspect, the session, the application and/or the service are related to a single or multiple slices (i.e. “a multi-flow communication session, corresponding to execution of an application,” as the primary reference maps slices to flows, hence multiple slices corresponding to one PDU session is equivalent, and these pertain to an application as underlined).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the slices of Trivisonno into
the invention of T Mobile. The suggestion/motivation would have been to support multiple Quality of Service (QoS) levels for a session related to an application or service (Trivisonno, para. 0002). Including the slices of Trivisonno into
the invention of T Mobile was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Trivisonno.
Chen discloses at para. 0298: first control information is the first RRC reconfiguration message, and at para. 0299: the first control information sent by the network device to the terminal device may include first indication information, where the first indication information is used to indicate whether the terminal device adjusts the bandwidth size of the initial BWP. The terminal device performs, based on the first indication information, reselection (i.e. decoding operation as it is an operation performed after the terminal decodes the first control information) to determine the bandwidth size of the initial BWP. For example, the indication information may be 1 bit, and indicates that the bandwidth of the initial BWP is the first bandwidth or the second bandwidth. Optionally, 0 may represent the first bandwidth, and 1 represents the second bandwidth, or 0 may represent the second bandwidth, and 1 represents the first bandwidth. Further, at para. 0286: the initial BWP used for the terminal device is an initial BWP used to carry downlink data (i.e. second traffic flow, as in T Mobile where a first and second bandwidth have different traffic) sent by the network device to the terminal device.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the indication information of Chen into
the invention of T Mobile and Trivisonno. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce energy consumption of the terminal (Chen, para. 0006). Including the indication information of Chen into the invention of T Mobile and Trivisonno was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Chen.
As to claim 2, T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the establishing of the communication session further comprises transmitting, by the radio access network node to the user equipment, the secondary bandwidth part indication (T Mobile para. 0096-0097, slice manager sends an RRC connection reconfiguration message to the UE that indicates BWP and network slice for traffic for each service request). In addition, as the primary reference is used to teach the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 1 applies.
As to claim 10, T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first traffic flow corresponds to a first quality-of-service, wherein the second traffic flow corresponds to a second quality-of-service (T Mobile, fig. 5, para. 0054, services can be associated with different network slices…services may be associated with QoS levels; para. 0028, each network slide may be associated with a QoS Level), wherein the communication session comprises a third traffic flow corresponding to the second quality-of-service, and wherein the secondary bandwidth part indication is indicative to the user equipment to receive the third traffic flow according to the second bandwidth part resource information (T Mobile, fig. 6, para. 0060, three or more bandwidth parts can align with three or more network slices, i.e. a third slice/service is indicated by second bandwidth part as it will occur adjacent to it, and also corresponds to the QoS of the second network slice as it is adjacent to it as well). In addition, as the primary reference is used to teach the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 1 applies.
As to claim 12, T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first traffic flow corresponds to a first quality-of-service, wherein the second traffic flow corresponds to a second quality-of-service, wherein the first bandwidth part corresponds to the first quality-of-service, and wherein the second bandwidth part corresponds to the second quality-of-service (T Mobile, fig. 5, para. 0054, services can be associated with different network slices…services may be associated with QoS levels; para. 0028, each network slide may be associated with a QoS Level), the method further comprising: determining, based on the first traffic flow corresponding to the first quality-of-service, to transmit the first traffic flow via the first bandwidth part data resource (T Mobile, para. 0032, The UE 102 may be served by one or more network slices 112 associated with the network access point 104. As a non-limiting example, in some cases the telecommunication network may provide a first network slice 112 for eMBB services, i.e. first traffic flow, and a second network slice 112 for URLLC services. In this example, if the UE 102 is using an URLLC service and an eMBB service simultaneously, the UE 102 may be served by both the first network slice 112 and the second network slice 112 simultaneously via the network access point 104; fig. 6, first BWP corresponds to first network slice, second BWP corresponds to second network slice); and determining, based on the second traffic flow corresponding to the second quality-of-service, to transmit the second traffic flow via the second bandwidth part data resource (T Mobile, para. 0032, The UE 102 may be served by one or more network slices 112 associated with the network access point 104. As a non-limiting example, in some cases the telecommunication network may provide a first network slice 112 for eMBB services, and a second network slice 112 for URLLC services (i.e. second traffic flow). In this example, if the UE 102 is using an URLLC service and an eMBB service simultaneously, the UE 102 may be served by both the first network slice 112 and the second network slice 112 simultaneously via the network access point 104; fig. 6, first BWP corresponds to first network slice, second BWP corresponds to second network slice). In addition, as the primary reference is used to teach the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 1 applies.
As to claim 13, T Mobile discloses a radio access network node (para. 98, slice manager 116 [fig. 1, of a network access point 104 (i.e. radio access network node)]), comprising: at least one processor configured (fig. 10, having a processor 1002) to: transmit, to a user equipment, a communication session configuration, corresponding to a communication session, between the radio access network node and the user equipment, comprising a primary bandwidth part indication indicative of a first bandwidth part data resource, corresponding to a first bandwidth part, to be used to transmit a first traffic flow of the communication session and comprising a secondary bandwidth part indication indicative of a second bandwidth part data resource, corresponding to a second bandwidth part, to be used to transmit a second traffic flow of the communication session (para. 98, slice manager 116 [fig. 1, of a network access point 104 (i.e. radio access network node), fig. 10, having a processor 1002] can determine a first combination of a network slice 112 (i.e. resource information) and a bandwidth part 114 for a first service (i.e. associated with a service0, and also determine a second combination of a network slice 112 (i.e. resource information) and a bandwidth part 114 for a second service (i.e. associated with a service), fig. 11, instruct UE to use combination of bandwidth part and network slice for service; fig. 6, first BWP corresponds to first network slice, second BWP corresponds to second network slice; para. 0032, simultaneously (i.e. both are part of a communication session); transmit, to the user equipment, the first traffic flow via the first bandwidth part data resource (para. 0032, The UE 102 may be served by one or more network slices 112 associated with the network access point 104. As a non-limiting example, in some cases the telecommunication network may provide a first network slice 112 for eMBB services, and a second network slice 112 for URLLC services. In this example, if the UE 102 is using an URLLC service and an eMBB service simultaneously, the UE 102 may be served by both the first network slice 112 and the second network slice 112 simultaneously via the network access point 104; fig. 6, first BWP corresponds to first network slice, second BWP corresponds to second network slice); and transmit, to the user equipment, the second traffic flow via the second bandwidth part data resource (para. 0032, The UE 102 may be served by one or more network slices 112 associated with the network access point 104. As a non-limiting example, in some cases the telecommunication network may provide a first network slice 112 for eMBB services, and a second network slice 112 for URLLC services. In this example, if the UE 102 is using an URLLC service and an eMBB service simultaneously, the UE 102 may be served by both the first network slice 112 and the second network slice 112 simultaneously via the network access point 104; fig. 6, first BWP corresponds to first network slice, second BWP corresponds to second network slice).
T Mobile does not expressly disclose a multi-flow communication session, corresponding to execution of an application, wherein the secondary bandwidth part indication comprises a single bit to be indicative to the user equipment of at least one decoding operation to be performed with respect to the second bandwidth part to receive the second traffic flow.
Trivisonno discloses at para 0012: the term “session” comprises an association between a UE and a Data Network (DN) through a mobile network system that provides connectivity, i.e. the ability to exchange data between the UE and the DN. A session can be a PDU session. Further at para. 0013: the term “application” comprises software entities and/or computer programs installed and executed on the UE and/or on application servers of the DN used to provide services to an end user. And at para. 0015: In an implementation form of the first aspect, the session, the application and/or the service are related to a single or multiple slices (i.e. “a multi-flow communication session, corresponding to execution of an application,” as the primary reference maps slices to flows, hence multiple slices corresponding to one PDU session is equivalent, and these pertain to an application as underlined).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the slices of Trivisonno into
the invention of T Mobile. The suggestion/motivation would have been to support multiple Quality of Service (QoS) levels for a session related to an application or service (Trivisonno, para. 0002). Including the slices of Trivisonno into
the invention of T Mobile was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Trivisonno.
Chen discloses at para. 0298: first control information is the first RRC reconfiguration message, and at para. 0299: the first control information sent by the network device to the terminal device may include first indication information, where the first indication information is used to indicate whether the terminal device adjusts the bandwidth size of the initial BWP. The terminal device performs, based on the first indication information, reselection (i.e. decoding operation as it is an operation performed after the terminal decodes the first control information) to determine the bandwidth size of the initial BWP. For example, the indication information may be 1 bit, and indicates that the bandwidth of the initial BWP is the first bandwidth or the second bandwidth. Optionally, 0 may represent the first bandwidth, and 1 represents the second bandwidth, or 0 may represent the second bandwidth, and 1 represents the first bandwidth. Further, at para. 0286: the initial BWP used for the terminal device is an initial BWP used to carry downlink data (i.e. second traffic flow, as in T Mobile where a first and second bandwidth have different traffic) sent by the network device to the terminal device.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the indication information of Chen into
the invention of T Mobile and Trivisonno. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce energy consumption of the terminal (Chen, para. 0006). Including the indication information of Chen into the invention of T Mobile and Trivisonno was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Chen.
As to claim 15 T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen further discloses the radio access network node of claim 13, wherein the primary bandwidth part indication is to be indicative to the user equipment of the second bandwidth part data resource (T Mobile, para. 98, slice manager 116 [fig. 1, of a network access point 104 (i.e. radio access network node), fig. 10, having a processor 1002] can determine a first combination of a network slice 112 (i.e. resource information) and a bandwidth part 114 for a first service, and also determine a second combination of a network slice 112 (i.e. resource information) and a bandwidth part 114 for a second service, fig. 11, instruct UE to use combination of bandwidth part and network slice for service; fig. 6, first BWP corresponds to first network slice, second BWP corresponds to second network slice; para. 0032, simultaneously (i.e. both are part of a communication session). In addition, as the primary reference is used to teach the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 13 applies.
As to claim 17, T Mobile discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium (para. 0086, non-transitory medium…for storage of information, such as computer readable instructions), comprising executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a radio access network node (para. 0087, computer (i.e. processor)-executable instructions for the slice manager 116…para. 0084, network access point [fig. 1, which has slice manager]), facilitate performance of operations, comprising: receiving first traffic of a first traffic flow, corresponding to a communication session with a user equipment, to be transmitted to the user equipment and second traffic of a second traffic flow, corresponding to the communication session, to be transmitted to the user equipment , wherein the communication session ( para. 0013, UE 102 can connect to a telecommunication network to engage in communication sessions for voice calls, video calls, messaging, data transfers and/or any other type of communication, para. 0014, The telecommunication network can include, or be associated with (i.e. it is separate), a network access point 104. The UE 102 can connect to the network access point 104 to receive data from the telecommunication network and/or send data to the telecommunication network, i.e. access point receives data which is sent to UE; para. 0032, The UE 102 may be served by one or more network slices 112 associated with the network access point 104. As a non-limiting example, in some cases the telecommunication network may provide a first network slice 112 for eMBB services (i.e. first traffic flow, associated with a service), and a second network slice 112 for URLLC services (i.e. second traffic flow, associated with a service). In this example, if the UE 102 is using an URLLC service and an eMBB service simultaneously (i.e. a communication session), the UE 102 may be served by both the first network slice 112 and the second network slice 112 simultaneously via the network access point 104; fig. 6, first BWP corresponds to first network slice, second BWP corresponds to second network slice);
transmitting, to the user equipment, the first traffic via a first bandwidth part data resource (para. 0032, The UE 102 may be served by one or more network slices 112 associated with the network access point 104. As a non-limiting example, in some cases the telecommunication network may provide a first network slice 112 for eMBB services, and a second network slice 112 for URLLC services. In this example, if the UE 102 is using an URLLC service and an eMBB service simultaneously, the UE 102 may be served by both the first network slice 112 and the second network slice 112 simultaneously via the network access point 104; fig. 6, first BWP corresponds to first network slice, second BWP corresponds to second network slice); and transmitting, to the user equipment, the second traffic flow via a second bandwidth part data resource (para. 0032, The UE 102 may be served by one or more network slices 112 associated with the network access point 104. As a non-limiting example, in some cases the telecommunication network may provide a first network slice 112 for eMBB services, and a second network slice 112 for URLLC services. In this example, if the UE 102 is using an URLLC service and an eMBB service simultaneously, the UE 102 may be served by both the first network slice 112 and the second network slice 112 simultaneously via the network access point 104; fig. 6, first BWP corresponds to first network slice, second BWP corresponds to second network slice).
T Mobile does not expressly disclose a multi-flow communication session… corresponds to an application; transmitting, to the user equipment, a secondary bandwidth part indication comprising a single bit to be indicative to the user equipment of at least one decoding operation to be performed with respect to the second bandwidth part to receive the second traffic flow.
Trivisonno discloses at para 0012: the term “session” comprises an association between a UE and a Data Network (DN) through a mobile network system that provides connectivity, i.e. the ability to exchange data between the UE and the DN. A session can be a PDU session. Further at para. 0013: the term “application” comprises software entities and/or computer programs installed and executed on the UE and/or on application servers of the DN used to provide services to an end user. And at para. 0015: In an implementation form of the first aspect, the session, the application and/or the service are related to a single or multiple slices (i.e. “a multi-flow communication session… corresponds to an application,” as the primary reference maps slices to flows, hence multiple slices corresponding to one PDU session is equivalent, and these pertain to an application as underlined).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the slices of Trivisonno into
the invention of T Mobile. The suggestion/motivation would have been to support multiple Quality of Service (QoS) levels for a session related to an application or service (Trivisonno, para. 0002). Including the slices of Trivisonno into
the invention of T Mobile was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Trivisonno.
Chen discloses at para. 0298: first control information is the first RRC reconfiguration message, and at para. 0299: the first control information sent by the network device to the terminal device may include first indication information, where the first indication information is used to indicate whether the terminal device adjusts the bandwidth size of the initial BWP. The terminal device performs, based on the first indication information, reselection (i.e. decoding operation as it is an operation performed after the terminal decodes the first control information) to determine the bandwidth size of the initial BWP. For example, the indication information may be 1 bit, and indicates that the bandwidth of the initial BWP is the first bandwidth or the second bandwidth. Optionally, 0 may represent the first bandwidth, and 1 represents the second bandwidth, or 0 may represent the second bandwidth, and 1 represents the first bandwidth. Further, at para. 0286: the initial BWP used for the terminal device is an initial BWP used to carry downlink data (i.e. second traffic flow, as in T Mobile where a first and second bandwidth have different traffic) sent by the network device to the terminal device.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the indication information of Chen into
the invention of T Mobile and Trivisonno. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce energy consumption of the terminal (Chen, para. 0006). Including the indication information of Chen into the invention of T Mobile and Trivisonno was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Chen.
Claim(s) 3-9, 14, 16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3917218 A1 to T MOBILE USA INC (“T Mobile”) [provided by Applicant] in view of U.S. Publication No. 2020/0383006 A1 to TRIVISONNO et al. (“Trivisonno”) and U.S. Publication No. 2021/0212013 A1 to CHEN et al. (“Chen”) and in further view of EP 3570482 A1 to COMCAST CABLE COMM LLC (“Comcast”) [provided by Applicant].
As to claim 3, T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen does not expressly disclose the method of claim 2, wherein the second bandwidth part resource information comprises a second bandwidth part control channel indication indicative to the user equipment of a second control channel resource corresponding to the second bandwidth part to be used to obtain control information corresponding to the second bandwidth part.
Comcast discloses at para. 0197, 0202, base station transmits to a wireless device configuration parameters (i.e. resource information) for first and second active BWPs, and the wireless device monitors first and second PDCCHs sent via the first and second active BWPs to detect DCIs (i.e. second control channel resource) with various fields pertaining to active BWPs (figs. 28-30) (i.e. to obtain control information).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the monitoring of Comcast into
the invention of T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide BWP control procedures (Comcast, para. 0003). Including the monitoring of Comcast into the invention of T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Comcast.
As to claim 4, T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen does not expressly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the first bandwidth part resource information comprises a first bandwidth part control channel indication indicative to the user equipment of a first control channel resource corresponding to the first bandwidth part to be used to obtain control information corresponding to the first bandwidth part.
Comcast discloses at para. 0197, 0202, base station transmits to a wireless device configuration parameters (i.e. resource information) for first and second active BWPs, and the wireless device monitors first and second PDCCHs sent via the first and second active BWPs to detect DCIs (i.e. first control channel resource) with various fields pertaining to active BWPs (figs. 28-30) (i.e. to obtain control information).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the monitoring of Comcast into
the invention of T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide BWP control procedures (Comcast, para. 0003). Including the monitoring of Comcast into the invention of T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Comcast.
As to claim 5, T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen does not expressly disclose the method of claim 4, wherein the control information corresponding to the first bandwidth part is indicative to the user equipment of the second bandwidth part data resource, and wherein a control channel corresponding to the first bandwidth part is used to deliver the control information corresponding to the first bandwidth part and the second bandwidth part.
Comcast discloses at fig. 24A and para. 0203, element 2403A arrow starting from PDCCH of BWP1 and pointing to PDSCH of BWP2, arrow starting from PDCCH of BWP1 points to PDSCH of BWP1, and also PDSCH of BWP2.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the BWPs of Comcast into
the invention of T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide BWP control procedures (Comcast, para. 0003). Including the monitoring of Comcast into the invention of T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Comcast.
As to claim 6, T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen does not expressly disclose the method of claim 5, wherein the second bandwidth part data resource corresponds to an expiration time, wherein the first bandwidth part control channel indication is indicative to the user equipment to receive traffic according to the first bandwidth part data resource after the expiration time. Comcast discloses at para. 0200, FIG. 23C shows an example of BWP deactivation if multiple active BWPs are supported. A base station may send (e.g., transmit) a third command to a wireless device to deactivate an A-BWP2, for example, if there are at least two active DL BWPs (e.g., an A-BWP1 and the A-BWP2) of a plurality of active BWPs in a cell. The third command may be a MAC CE or DCI. The base station and/or the wireless device may deactivate the A-BWP2, for example, after or in response to an expiration of a BWP inactivity timer (e.g., associated with the A-BWP2 or associated with the cell). The deactivating may comprise transiting (e.g., switching) the A-BWP2 from active state to inactive state and/or maintaining the A-BWP1 in active state (e.g., at a time T2). The wireless device may monitor a first PDCCH sent via the A-BWP1 and/or stop monitoring a second PDCCH associated with the A-BWP2, for example, after or in response to the deactivating. The deactivating the A-BWP2 may not change the state of the A-BWP1 (e.g., the active state of the A-BWP1).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the BWPs of Comcast into
the invention of T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide BWP control procedures (Comcast, para. 0003). Including the monitoring of Comcast into the invention of T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Comcast.
As to claim 7, T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen does not expressly disclose the method of claim 4, wherein the control information corresponding to the first bandwidth part is indicative to the user equipment of the second bandwidth part data resource, wherein the user equipment comprises first radio frequency circuitry and second radio frequency circuitry, wherein the radio access network node simultaneously transmits the first traffic via the first bandwidth part data resource and the second traffic via the second bandwidth part data resource.
Comcast discloses at para. 0190 a wireless device…communicate with each other via multiple active BPs…simultaneously…eMBB data and…URLLC data. Fig. 3 illustrates communication interfaces (i.e. circuitry). Further at fig. 32, configuration parameters and DCI pertain to first BWP and second BWP.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the BWPs of Comcast into
the invention of T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide BWP control procedures (Comcast, para. 0003). Including the monitoring of Comcast into the invention of T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Comcast.
As to claim 8, T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen does not expressly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the primary bandwidth part indication and the secondary bandwidth part indication are transmitted via a downlink control information format indication message.
Comcast discloses at fig. 32, configuration parameters and DCI pertain to first BWP and second BWP, one situation being both BWP1 and BWP2 are active.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the BWPs of Comcast into
the invention of T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide BWP control procedures (Comcast, para. 0003). Including the monitoring of Comcast into the invention of T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Comcast.
As to claim 9, T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen does not expressly disclose the method of claim 8, wherein the primary bandwidth part indication and the secondary bandwidth part indication are indicative of at least one of a scheduled first control channel resource corresponding to the first bandwidth part or a scheduled second control channel resource corresponding to the second bandwidth part.
Comcast discloses at fig. 32, configuration parameters and DCI pertain to first BWP and second BWP, one situation being both BWP1 and BWP2 are active. Further, DCI is transmitted on PDCCH on the first BWP (para. 0297), i.e. a scheduled first control channel resource corresponding to the first bandwidth part.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the BWPs of Comcast into
the invention of T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide BWP control procedures (Comcast, para. 0003). Including the monitoring of Comcast into the invention of T Mobile and Chen was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Comcast.
As to claim 14, T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen does not expressly disclose the radio access network node of claim 13, wherein the primary bandwidth part indication is to be indicative to the user equipment of a control channel resource corresponding to the second bandwidth part to be used to obtain control information corresponding to the second bandwidth part.
Comcast discloses at fig. 32, configuration parameters and DCI pertain to first BWP and second BWP, one situation being both BWP1 and BWP2 are active. Further, DCI is transmitted on PDCCH on the first BWP (para. 0297), i.e. first BWP indicates PDCCH which corresponds to BWP2.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the BWPs of Comcast into
the invention of T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide BWP control procedures (Comcast, para. 0003). Including the monitoring of Comcast into the invention of T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Comcast.
As to claim 16, T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen does not expressly disclose the radio access network node of claim 15, wherein the primary bandwidth part indication is to be indicative to the user equipment of a duration of the second bandwidth part data resource and wherein the primary bandwidth part indication is to be indicative to the user equipment to adjust a receive parameter according to the first bandwidth part to receive the first traffic flow, to adjust the receive parameter according to the second bandwidth part during the duration to receive the second traffic flow, and to revert the receive parameter according to the first bandwidth part after receiving, during the duration, the second traffic flow.
Comcast discloses at fig. 47 start first BWP timer at T0 and first BWP is active, during which second BWP is active from T1-T2 (and timer is adjusted to continue counting), then after which the second BWP is inactive at T3, lastly, the first BWP timer expires (i.e. reverts to 0) at T4 and first BWP is no longer active.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the BWPs of Comcast into
the invention of T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide BWP control procedures (Comcast, para. 0003). Including the monitoring of Comcast into the invention of T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Comcast.
As to claim 18, T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen does not expressly disclose the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 17, the operations further comprising: transmitting, to the user equipment, a communication session configuration, corresponding to the communication session, comprising a primary bandwidth part indication indicative of the first bandwidth part data resource and the secondary bandwidth part indication that is further indicative of the second bandwidth part data resource, wherein the primary bandwidth part indication is indicative of a start time of the second bandwidth part data resource.
Comcast at fig. 21, para. 0163-0164, discloses transmitting RRC BWPs configuration to UE which establishes communication at 2112, which indicates BWP1 and BWP2 and the UL/DL subcarriers (para. 0063) (i.e. UL/DL configuration or subcarriers being data resource). Further (i.e. based on indication), tx/rx over BWP1, and start a BWP inactivity timer, later switch to BWP2.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the BWPs of Comcast into
the invention of T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide BWP control procedures (Comcast, para. 0003). Including the monitoring of Comcast into the invention of T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Comcast.
As to claim 19, T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen does not expressly disclose the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 17, the operations further comprising: transmitting, to the user equipment, a communication session configuration, corresponding to the communication session, comprising a primary bandwidth part indication indicative of the first bandwidth part data resource and the secondary bandwidth part indication that is further indicative of the second bandwidth part data resource, wherein the primary bandwidth part indication is indicative of a control channel resource corresponding to the second bandwidth part to be used to obtain control information corresponding to the second bandwidth part.
Comcast at fig. 21, para. 0163-0164, discloses transmitting RRC BWPs configuration to UE which establishes communication at 2112, which indicates BWP1 and BWP2 and the UL/DL subcarriers (para. 0063) (i.e. UL/DL configuration or subcarriers being data resource). Further (i.e. based on indication) receiving DCI (i.e. control information) over PDCCH (i.e. control channel resource) (para. 0018) to switch from BWP1 to BWP2.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the BWPs of Comcast into
the invention of T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide BWP control procedures (Comcast, para. 0003). Including the monitoring of Comcast into the invention of T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Comcast.
As to claim 20, T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen does not expressly disclose the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 17, the operations further comprising: transmitting, to the user equipment, a communication session configuration, corresponding to the communication session, comprising a primary bandwidth part indication indicative of the first bandwidth part data resource and the secondary bandwidth part indication that is further indicative of the second bandwidth part data resource; wherein the primary bandwidth part indication is indicative of a duration of the second bandwidth part data resource, wherein the primary bandwidth part indication is indicative to the user equipment to adjust a receive parameter according to the first bandwidth part to receive the first traffic flow, to adjust the receive parameter according to the second bandwidth part during the duration to receive the second traffic flow, and to revert the receive parameter according to the first bandwidth part after receiving, during the duration, the second traffic flow, and wherein the radio access network node transmits the second traffic flow during the duration of the second bandwidth part data resource.
Comcast discloses at fig. 47, para. 0354-0357, base station sends message(s) comprising configuration indicating a cell comprising a default BWP and multiple other BWPs in a cell, and indicate each of the BWPs being associated with a BWP specific timer and/or a BWP timer value or a cell timer value, and monitoring first or second PDCCH (i.e. resources) on first or second BWP if timers are active. Furthermore, start first BWP timer at T0 and first BWP is active, during which second BWP is active from T1-T2 (and timer is adjusted to continue counting), then after which the second BWP is inactive at T3, lastly, the first BWP timer expires (i.e. reverts to 0) at T4 and first BWP is no longer active.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the BWPs of Comcast into
the invention of T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide BWP control procedures (Comcast, para. 0003). Including the monitoring of Comcast into the invention of T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Comcast.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3917218 A1 to T MOBILE USA INC (“T Mobile”) [provided by Applicant] in view of U.S. Publication No. 2020/0383006 A1 to TRIVISONNO et al. (“Trivisonno”) and U.S. Publication No. 2021/0212013 A1 to CHEN et al. (“Chen”) and in further view of WO 2022/128286 A1 to SONY GROUP CORP (“Sony”) [provided by Applicant].
As to claim 11, T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein arrival of arrival of protocol data units of the second traffic flow at the radio access network node (T Mobile para. 0073, PDU service request, para. 0083, first and second PDU service request for first and second network slices and BWPs).
T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen does not expressly disclose is periodic in nature and corresponds to a periodicity, and wherein the secondary bandwidth part indication is indicative to the user equipment to switch from a first receive configuration used to receive the first traffic flow via the first bandwidth part data resource to a second receive configuration to receive the second traffic flow via the second bandwidth part data resource according to the periodicity.
Sony discloses at page 12, first group of services and second group of services on different BWPs, fig. 10, page 14, DCIs (i.e. indication) schedule PDSCHs (i.e. resources) on BWPs, and by performing periodic scheduling and using periodicity switch BWPs.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the BWPs of Sony into
the invention of T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to perform adaptation for idle or inactive state (Sony, page 1). Including the monitoring of Sony into the invention of T Mobile, Trivisonno and Chen was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Sony.
Conclusion
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463