DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/03/2024, and 01/16/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 7-13, 15-17, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 14, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPGPub 2021/0168646) in view of Shen (US PGPub 2023/0038071).
As per claim 1, Luo teaches a method, comprising:
determining, by a radio access network node comprising a processor, information to be transmitted to a user equipment; (Chen, see paragraph [0007], provide the radio access function for a UE)
transmitting, by the radio access network node to a control entity, a data radio bearer establishment request (Chen, see paragraph [0012], transmitting a data radio bearer (DRB) setup request message to each of at least one second wireless communication node, wherein the DRB setup request message contains the identity of a plurality of DRBs and at least one of a Quality of Service (QoS) flow)
receiving, by the radio access network node from the control entity, a data radio bearer configuration, wherein the control entity transmitted the data radio bearer configuration to the radio access network node responsive to the data radio bearer establishment request (Chen, see paragraph [0012], receiving a DRB setup response from each of the at least one second wireless communication node, wherein each DRB setup response contains a first list of at least one of QoS flows and UE data bearers failed to be setup by a respective one of the at least one second wireless communication node and a second list of at least one of QoS flows and UE data bearers successfully setup by the respective one of the at least one second wireless communication node)
transmitting, by the radio access network node to the user equipment via a data radio bearer established according to the data radio bearer configuration, information (Chen, see paragraph [0036], aware of the potential data forwarding path and then transmits the UE context setup/modify request message to the donor DU 208 as well as each DU part of intermediate IAB node 204 and 206 along the path) and
transmitting, by the radio access network node to a user plane function, a data volume report corresponding to the updated information (Chen, see paragraph [0050], UE bearer ID might be the UL UP TEID, DL UP TED, DRB ID, LCD, or a combination of UE ID and DRB ID/LCID. The UE ID might be a gNB-DU UE F1APID, a gNB-CU UE F1APID, a C-RNTI, a STMSI, a IMSI or a UE ID assigned by donor CU 210. For the routing configuration, the destination ID might be DU ID, UE ID or UE bearer ID… used for the user plane data forwarding).
Chen doesn’t explicitly teach the information to be transmitted is updated artificial intelligence model information.
In analogous art Shen teaches updated artificial intelligence model information (Shen, see paragraph [0007], The first-type resource configuration information indicates a radio resource configuration, and the second-type resource configuration information indicates an Artificial Intelligence (AI) resource configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the teaching of Shen and apply them on the teaching of Chen as doing so would ensure proper transmission of AI resources by the terminal device (Shen, see paragraph [0005]).
As per claim 3, Chen-Shen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the data volume report comprises at least one of: a data radio bearer identifier corresponding to the data radio bearer; or one or more user equipment identifiers corresponding to one or more user equipment, comprising the user equipment, to which the radio access network node transmitted the updated artificial intelligence model information (Chen, see paragraph [0085], routing table might also contain the IAB bearer ID, which can be used to identify the different weight of IAB bearers over different paths).
As per claim 4, Chen-Shen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the data radio bearer is established between the radio access network node and the user equipment (Chen, see paragraph [0014], wherein the DRB setup request message contains the identity of a plurality of DRBs and at least one of a Quality of Service (QoS) flow and a User Equipment (UE) bearer mapped to each of the plurality of DRBs).
As per claim 5, Chen-Shen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the control entity or the user plane function are implemented by a computing component of a core network communicatively coupled to the radio access network node. (Chen, see paragraph [0050], UE bearer ID might be the UL UP TEID, DL UP TED, DRB ID, LCD, or a combination of UE ID and DRB ID/LCID. The UE ID might be a gNB-DU UE F1APID, a gNB-CU UE F1APID, a C-RNTI, a STMSI, a IMSI or a UE ID assigned by donor CU 210. For the routing configuration, the destination ID might be DU ID, UE ID or UE bearer ID… used for the user plane data forwarding).
As per claim 6, Chen-Shen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting of the updated artificial intelligence model information is via a wireless link between the radio access network node and the user equipment (Chen, see paragraph [0012], QoS flow mapped to the at least one DRB supported by each of the at least one second wireless communication node)
As per claim 14, Chen teaches a radio access node, (Chen, see paragraph [0012], first wireless communication node) comprising:
a processor (Chen, see paragraph [0014], at least one processor) configured to:
transmit to a control entity, a data radio bearer establishment request; (Chen, see paragraph [0012], transmitting a data radio bearer (DRB) setup request message to each of at least one second wireless communication node, wherein the DRB setup request message contains the identity of a plurality of DRBs and at least one of a Quality of Service (QoS) flow)
responsive to the data radio bearer establishment request, receive from the control entity, a data radio bearer configuration; (Chen, see paragraph [0012], receiving a DRB setup response from each of the at least one second wireless communication node, wherein each DRB setup response contains a first list of at least one of QoS flows and UE data bearers failed to be setup by a respective one of the at least one second wireless communication node and a second list of at least one of QoS flows and UE data bearers successfully setup by the respective one of the at least one second wireless communication node)
and
transmit, to the user equipment via a data radio bearer established between the radio access network node and the user equipment according to the data radio bearer configuration, the data. (Chen, see paragraph [0036], aware of the potential data forwarding path and then transmits the UE context setup/modify request message to the donor DU 208 as well as each DU part of intermediate IAB node 204 and 206 along the path)
Chen doesn’t explicitly teach determine data to be transmitted to user equipment.
In analogous art Shen teaches determine data to be transmitted to user equipment (Shen, see paragraph [0007], The first-type resource configuration information indicates a radio resource configuration, and the second-type resource configuration information indicates an Artificial Intelligence (AI) resource configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the teaching of Shen and apply them on the teaching of Chen as doing so would ensure proper transmission of AI resources by the terminal device (Shen, see paragraph [0005]).
As per claim 18, Chen-Shen teaches the radio access network node of claim 14 wherein the control entity comprises at least one of a session management function or an access and mobility function. (Chen, see paragraph [0031], a PDU session establishment/modify request. At step 1, in order to setup new QoS flows to support the PDU session for the access UE 202).
As per claim 19,
[Rejection rational for claim 1 is applicable].
Conclusion
/HERMON ASRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449