DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 requires the Formula (C-1) wherein a t subscript repeating group, however applicants have failed to claim a desired range for said t subscript. For purpose of further examination, the Examiner is interpreting t to be an integer 2 to 4.
Claim 16 contain brackets or parenthesis. Parenthesis and/or brackets in claims should only be used with labels/number from the specification or drawings. It is unclear whether the applicant intends these limitations to be a part of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Irisawa et al. (US Serial No. 2020/0012190).
Regarding claims 1-3; Irisawa et al. teaches a composition comprising an alkali soluble resin (A-3, instant A), which is a copolymer resin obtained by copolymerizing methyl methacrylate, n-butyl acrylate (instant Formula A-4, wherein R3 is an alkyl group having 4 carbon atoms), and methacrylic acid in a weight ratio of 64/15/21 (weight average molecular weight of 20,000), pentaerythritol triacrylate (monomer C2-2; instant B1), 2-(2’-chlorophenyl)-4,5-diphenyl imidazole dimer (B-1, photoinitiator; instant D), and methyl ethyl ketone/ isopropyl alcohol solvent (instant E) [Table 1, Ex 11]. Irisawa et al. teaches the composition further comprises an antioxidant [0069] and a surfactant [0037].
Irisawa et al. teaches all of the above required components, however fails to explicitly disclose each in a preferred embodiment. A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including the non-preferred embodiments. See Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.); MPEP §2123. Irisawa et al. does not specifically disclose an embodiment containing the alkali-soluble resin, ethylenically unsaturated monomer, antioxidant, photoinitiator, and solvent. However, at the time of invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to prepare a composition containing the alkali-soluble resin, ethylenically unsaturated monomer, antioxidant, photoinitiator, and solvent based on the invention of Irisawa et al., and would have been motivated to do so since Irisawa et al. suggests that the composition of the present invention can contain alkali-soluble resin, ethylenically unsaturated monomer, antioxidant, photoinitiator, and solvent [Table 1, Ex11, 0069].
Regarding claims 4-5; Although Irisawa et al. teaches pentaerythritol triacrylate [Table 1, Ex 11] in the preferred embodiment, the prior art teaches trimethylolpropane triacrylate [Table 1, Ex 3] also a preferred monomer (instant Formula B-1, wherein Z1 is a alkylene group having 1 carbon atom, Y1 is CR4, wherein R4 is an alkyl group having 2 carbon atoms, and p is 3; and instant Formula B-3, wherein R4 is an alkyl group having 2 carbon atoms, subscripts q1-q3 are 0).
Regarding claim 6; the limitations of the instant claim merely further define an optional component (epoxy monomer B2), wherein Irisawa et al. teaches the ethylenically unsaturated monomer (B1).
Regarding claim 7; Irisawa et al. teaches the antioxidant may be employed in an amount of 0.01 to 20 mass% of the resin composition [0069].
Regarding claim 9; although Irisawa et al. teaches employing 2-(2’-chlorophenyl)-4,5-diphenyl imidazole dimer (B-1, photoinitiator; instant D) in the preferred embodiment [Table 1, Ex 11], other photoinitiators are contemplated, fore example, acylphosphine oxides such as 2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl-diphenyl-phosphine oxide and bis(2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl)-phenyl phosphine oxide [0051].
Regarding claim 12; Irisawa et al. teaches the composition comprises 40 to 80 mass% of the alkali-soluble resin (instant A) [0056], 0.5 to 1.5 mass% of the photoinitiator (instant D) [0057], 20 to 60 mass% of the ethylenically unsaturated monomer (instant B) [0058], and about 50 mass% of the solvent (instant E) [Table 1, Exs]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), see MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claims 13-14; Irisawa et al. teaches the photosensitive resin layer was applied to a PET film at a thickness of 15 microns [0076] and cured [0108].
Regarding claims 15-16; Irisawa et al. does not explicitly teach the cured product having a transmittance at a wavelength of 400 nm to 1100 nm being greater than or equal to 95%, nor the photosensitive properties as required by claim 16. The Office realizes that all the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. transmittance and photosensitive properties, would necessarily be a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants' position that this wouldn’t be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicants' position; and (2) it would be the Offices' position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. See In re Spada, MPEP §2112.01, I and II.
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Irisawa et al. (US Serial No. 2020/0012190), as applied to claim 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Ohashi et al. (JP 5050693), wherein the machine English translation is used for citation.
Irisawa et al. renders obvious the basic claimed photosensitive resin composition, as set forth above, with respect to claims 1 and 7.
Regarding claim 8; Irisawa et al. teaches the composition may further comprise an antioxidant, however fails to teach the antioxidant of instant Formula C-1. Ohashi et al. teaches a photosensitive resin composition comprising an antioxidant, such as IRGANOX® 1010 (hindered phenol type antioxidant) [0137]. Irisawa et al. and Ohashi et al. are analogous art because they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely photosensitive resin compositions suitable for use in manufacturing printed circuit boards. At the time of filing, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add IRGANOX® 1010, as taught by Ohashi et al., to the composition of Irisawa et al., and would have been motivated to do so since Ohashi et al. teaches IRGANOX® 1010 is suitable for use in photosensitive resin compositions for achieving increased stability (i.e. protects against thermos-oxidative degradation).
Regarding claim 10; Irisawa et al. teaches a solvent to be employed in the present invention is methyl ethyl ketone [Table 1, Ex11], however fails to teach propylene glycol monomethyl ether. Ohashi et al. teaches solvents for use in the photosensitive resin composition include, for example methyl ethyl ketone and propylene glycol monomethyl ether [0115]. Therefore, Ohashi et al. teaches that methyl ethyl ketone and propylene glycol monomethyl ether are functional equivalents for the purpose of functioning as a suitable solvent for photosensitive resin compositions. It is prima facie obvious to substitute art-recognized functional equivalents known for the same purpose (See MPEP § 2144.06).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Irisawa et al. (US Serial No. 2020/0012190), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Youn et al. (KR 20110038252), wherein the machine English translation is used for citation.
Irisawa et al. renders obvious the basic claimed photosensitive resin composition, as set forth above, with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 11; Irisawa et al. teaches the composition further comprises a surfactant, however fails to teach a fluorine-based surfactant. Youn et al. teaches the photosensitive resin composition may include additives such as fluorine-based surfactants [014]. Irisawa et al. and Youn et al. are analogous because they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely photosensitive resin compositions. At the time of filing, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add a fluorine-based surfactant, as taught by Youn et al., to the composition of Irisawa et al., and would have been motivated to do so since Youn et al. teaches fluorine-based surfactants are suitable for use in photosensitive resin compositions comprising alkali soluble resin.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 7-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-9, and 12-19 of copending Application No. 18/297004 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to the same art specific subject matter, namely photosensitive resin compositions. The essential difference between the instant application and the copending application is that the copending application further requires a thermal acid generator. A genus does not always anticipate a claim to a species within the genus. However, when the species is clearly named, the species claim is anticipated no matter how many other species are additionally named. See Ex parte A, 17 USPQ2d 1716 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990); MPEP 2131.02(II). Furthermore, a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including the non-preferred (i.e. alternative) embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.); See MPEP §2123.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Correspondence
/JESSICA M ROSWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767